• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S’porean nurses relates how they were ostracised for being in uniform & taking the lift to go to work

no leh... he not after doctor paycheck. He himself said that he doesn't want to be a doctor again.

Fake? I dunno haven't met him yet. But probably not. He talks like one and answer like one. Likely to be one gone through doctor training and life.

Balless? :laugh: Ok, this one I leave between you and him.

Someone said that serving NS kena bully kena castrated.

I would say being doctor kena bully even more by patients! Way worse than NS. At least NS there is rank. So if you are better than private wont get bully by private.

As a dr bully by senior drs. And patients can bully any dr including senior consultants!

Asian patients are the worst.

15 years as a nurse myself all I can say is these nurses deserve the criticism...they should make an effort to change after their shifts...understaffed as always and probably too tired to do so, but still...also our hospitals (including nursing homes) are cheap af they do not subscribe scrubsuits (not all do) for the nurses, mostly only for doctors...and no, nurses salary is not low considering you only need 30 points plus for the o levels to do a nursing diploma in sg and the starting salary is at least 2.5k...just that have to do shifts

The elephant in the room should be why are nurses/medical personel allowed to wear their Scrubs in public? Imagine wearing the scrubs and taking public tpt to Hospital etc picking up the germs/bacteria/viruses in public and than attending to the sick. Than in the hospital attending to patients etc than going home taking public tpt passing the germs etc back to public. For a country that wants to be a medical hub,,even the basics are not there,,,,where is the freaking common sense?

The proper procedure should be Nurses etc go to hospital in normal clothes...young chio ones should wear sexy clothing...power dressing etc..Go to hospital, shower and change to uniforms...than work. After work, shower and change back to civies than fuck off. However to cut costs etc,,,showers and all that costs money,,the gahmen not willing to pay..and lets say 8 hour shift...they are in the hospital for 9 hours...and paid 9 hours, 30 mins to shower and change before and after the shift...is that too much of a cost for hospitals to bear? The uniforms and scrubs should be cleaned by hospital laundry services,...that is for staff and public welfare.

Instead of the public kpkb about nurses in uniform being 'dirty' and nurses kpkb about being discriminated in public,,why don't the public and nurses and Oppos complain about having dedicated showers and change and medical laundry services for the medical stuff? this is just freaking common sense ,,,are singkies that dense?

Nurses In Uniform: Is It Okay to Wear Scrubs In Public?
July 21, 2017
Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Save

Frankly, no.
While scrubs come in different colors, styles and patterns, these are not enough reasons for you to flaunt them out of your workplace. Not only is it considered a major fashion blunder, it can actually be a hazard.
Now, before you argue, here are some good points to consider before heading out in your scrubs.
Where you’ll be going
wearing scrub suits in coffee shops
Via newsworks
If you will be going out for shopping in your scrubs, that can be considered an attention-seeking behavior. But, if you’re just going out for a quick bite or grabbing a few essential items in the grocery after work, you can consider that as being practical.
How your scrubs look
Before you actually head out, always check your scrubs. Make sure that there aren’t any stains and spots. Wearing dirty scrubs in public isn’t only gross, it can also run you the risk of spreading infections and bacteria. It can throw people off, too.

See Also: 10 Tips & Tricks To Keep Your Nursing Scrubs in Great Shape
Where you work
If you know you are handling highly contagious patients or you work in a sterile environment, don’t think twice. Only wear your scrubs in the hospital to avoid contamination. You can wear your regular clothes, change into your scrubs for work and change back to your regular clothes before leaving the hospital. This way, you’ll be able to contain the pathogens in the hospital.
As for exposure, you don’t actually have to be in direct contact with contagious patients to acquire harmful bacteria. There are pathogens you can get from the surrounding air and your own bacteria ridden hands.
isolation nurse meme

Now, before you tell off the other people you see in public wearing scrubs, keep in mind that not all who wear them are in the medical field. Anyone can buy a pair of scrubs today and just wear them for comfort and convenience.

Reasons Why People Wear Scrubs in Public
People who work in the hospital and medical field are believed to have a higher status in society. If you are seen wearing one, you’re likely to experience a boost in ego.
Apart from that, media has also conditioned people to believe that wearing scrubs to work is completely acceptable. There are TV programs that practically shows nurses and doctors wearing scrubs in public.
scrub suits depicted in tv

Wearing your scrubs is like wearing your pajamas. They are breathable and comfortable. They give you a lot of space to move around and do your job.
Because of these things, a lot of people feel tempted to just wear their scrubs when running errands after work.

Laziness is one good reason, too. Doctors and nurses spend hours in the hospital attending to their patients’ needs. At times, they are just too tired to even think of changing their clothes before heading home.
Do’s And Dont’s Of Wearing Scrubs Outside Of Work
Some people say never to wear your scrubs in public as they carry deadly bugs. Other people argue that it’s just blown out of proportions. You can wear them outside if you can just be sensible and if you can use proper judgment.
Do’s
Wear scrubs if you are grabbing a cup of coffee or a snack before work. Just make sure that you won’t be wearing the same set of scrubs to the OR or when handling immunocompromised patients.
Wear your old scrubs when doing house work, like painting or cleaning. Wash and disinfect them properly before wearing them.
Don’ts
Avoid wearing scrubs when visiting a friend in the hospital. Apart from creating confusion, there’s also the risk of transmitting bad microbes to the patient.

Don’t wear soiled and stained scrubs.
See Also: 7 Easy Stain Removal Tips Every Nurse Needs To Know
Don’t wear your scrubs in parties, not unless it’s Halloween or a costume party. And if you’re really decided on wearing one as your costume, make sure it’s properly sanitized or you’re wearing a new pair.
scrub suits in halloween party

The Solution?
Hospitals and similar institutions should provide a clean space where nurses, students, doctors and other workers can change their clothes. Another great idea is to have a laundry service that’ll be dedicated to washing these people’s scrubs. This way, their scrubs won’t have to leave the hospital. After all, at least 44% of bacteria can remain in scrubs that are washed at home.

If those things sound too ambitious, then employees should be more responsible in looking after themselves. If you know you’ll need to go somewhere after work or even if you don’t, you should consider bringing some extra clothes with you and change into them right after your shift. And don’t forget to wash your hands before leaving, too.
In summary
Wearing scrubs is a matter of common sense and proper work ethics. If you really need to go to some place or attend an event after your shift, pack a few extra clothes and change into them. It will take some time getting used to and a lot of discipline. However, considering the dangers of wearing scrubs in public, the benefits far outweigh the inconveniences.

15 years as a nurse myself all I can say is these nurses deserve the criticism...they should make an effort to change after their shifts...understaffed as always and probably too tired to do so, but still...also our hospitals (including nursing homes) are cheap af they do not subscribe scrubsuits (not all do) for the nurses, mostly only for doctors...and no, nurses salary is not low considering you only need 30 points plus for the o levels to do a nursing diploma in sg and the starting salary is at least 2.5k...just that have to do shifts

How many nurses are that lowly educated? Minority lah.

Nurses are those that cannot qualify to be doctors,,,,however in some countries,,,nursing has better career opportunities that Doctors like in Pinoyland

PH doctors working as nurses abroad
Jenny Soriano, 22 Aug 2016

Even before, doctors are one of the looked upon professions in the healthcare industry. Having to study to become a doctor may require much of a person’s time and effort but the result would be truly rewarding. Thus, many have dreamt of becoming a doctor one day.

Sadly, Executive Director of the Association of Philippine Medical Colleges Dr. Fernando Sanchez said a few years ago, “The once popular profession of medicine has lost its glitter.”

Many doctors are retraining to become nurses as they are attracted to the higher compensation that awaits them abroad. Further, many do so to expand their specialties and stay competitive. This phenomenon is the so-called “reverse education” and the doctors becoming nurses are called “nurse medics”.

According to a previous study, approximately 2,000 doctors have studied to become nurse medics in 2001. By 2005, about 4,000 doctors were enrolled in different nursing schools in the country. Further, between 2002 and 2005, more than 9,000 of them have left to work as nurses abroad.

In the same study, the nurse medics attributed such career shift to the low compensation, poor working conditions and political instability in the country. The attractive benefits, better job opportunities, and career growth are what pulled them to migrate and work abroad.

Most of the target countries PH doctors work in as nurses include the United States, United Kingdom and Middle East. As these countries offer way higher salaries than what they receive in the Philippines, it is not surprising that they took a risk and work even not as a doctor.

This reverse education and brain drain have caused significant impact in the healthcare system in the Philippines. The shortage of doctors and nurses is to blame for the closing of more than 200 hospitals and for the increasing number of unattended Filipinos needing medical attention. As a result, about 70% of deaths during the peak of nurse medic migrations have occurred.

This phenomenon, if left unmanaged, may lead to what others call a "medical apocalypse". But after evaluating this situation a few years ago, the government and other organizations had debates regarding a proposal to address this. They pushed to oblige PH doctors to work for at least three to four years in the country first before they can practice abroad.

Nursing jobs abroad indeed have its push and pull factors for many professionals in the country. In fact, even some businessmen, lawyers and engineers were getting ready to enter the healthcare industry as nurses. MIMS

The diploma is a prerequisite for being a staff nurse and the course is conducted by both nanyang and ngee and polytechnics with a bachelors from nus as well for a levels...there is another course at ite for those wishing to take up a career as an assistant nurse...not too sure what u mean by lowly educated

The elephant in the room should be why are nurses/medical personel allowed to wear their Scrubs in public? Imagine wearing the scrubs and taking public tpt to Hospital etc picking up the germs/bacteria/viruses in public and than attending to the sick. Than in the hospital attending to patients etc than going home taking public tpt passing the germs etc back to public. For a country that wants to be a medical hub,,even the basics are not there,,,,where is the freaking common sense?

The proper procedure should be Nurses etc go to hospital in normal clothes...young chio ones should wear sexy clothing...power dressing etc..Go to hospital, shower and change to uniforms...than work. After work, shower and change back to civies than fuck off. However to cut costs etc,,,showers and all that costs money,,the gahmen not willing to pay..and lets say 8 hour shift...they are in the hospital for 9 hours...and paid 9 hours, 30 mins to shower and change before and after the shift...is that too much of a cost for hospitals to bear? The uniforms and scrubs should be cleaned by hospital laundry services,...that is for staff and public welfare.

Instead of the public kpkb about nurses in uniform being 'dirty' and nurses kpkb about being discriminated in public,,why don't the public and nurses and Oppos complain about having dedicated showers and change and medical laundry services for the medical stuff? this is just freaking common sense ,,,are singkies that dense?

Nurses In Uniform: Is It Okay to Wear Scrubs In Public?
July 21, 2017
Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Save

Frankly, no.
While scrubs come in different colors, styles and patterns, these are not enough reasons for you to flaunt them out of your workplace. Not only is it considered a major fashion blunder, it can actually be a hazard.
Now, before you argue, here are some good points to consider before heading out in your scrubs.
Where you’ll be going
wearing scrub suits in coffee shops
Via newsworks
If you will be going out for shopping in your scrubs, that can be considered an attention-seeking behavior. But, if you’re just going out for a quick bite or grabbing a few essential items in the grocery after work, you can consider that as being practical.
How your scrubs look
Before you actually head out, always check your scrubs. Make sure that there aren’t any stains and spots. Wearing dirty scrubs in public isn’t only gross, it can also run you the risk of spreading infections and bacteria. It can throw people off, too.

See Also: 10 Tips & Tricks To Keep Your Nursing Scrubs in Great Shape
Where you work
If you know you are handling highly contagious patients or you work in a sterile environment, don’t think twice. Only wear your scrubs in the hospital to avoid contamination. You can wear your regular clothes, change into your scrubs for work and change back to your regular clothes before leaving the hospital. This way, you’ll be able to contain the pathogens in the hospital.
As for exposure, you don’t actually have to be in direct contact with contagious patients to acquire harmful bacteria. There are pathogens you can get from the surrounding air and your own bacteria ridden hands.
isolation nurse meme

Now, before you tell off the other people you see in public wearing scrubs, keep in mind that not all who wear them are in the medical field. Anyone can buy a pair of scrubs today and just wear them for comfort and convenience.

People who work in the hospital and medical field are believed to have a higher status in society. If you are seen wearing one, you’re likely to experience a boost in ego.
Apart from that, media has also conditioned people to believe that wearing scrubs to work is completely acceptable. There are TV programs that practically shows nurses and doctors wearing scrubs in public.
scrub suits depicted in tv

Wearing your scrubs is like wearing your pajamas. They are breathable and comfortable. They give you a lot of space to move around and do your job.
Because of these things, a lot of people feel tempted to just wear their scrubs when running errands after work.

Laziness is one good reason, too. Doctors and nurses spend hours in the hospital attending to their patients’ needs. At times, they are just too tired to even think of changing their clothes before heading home.
Do’s And Dont’s Of Wearing Scrubs Outside Of Work
Some people say never to wear your scrubs in public as they carry deadly bugs. Other people argue that it’s just blown out of proportions. You can wear them outside if you can just be sensible and if you can use proper judgment.
Do’s
Wear scrubs if you are grabbing a cup of coffee or a snack before work. Just make sure that you won’t be wearing the same set of scrubs to the OR or when handling immunocompromised patients.
Wear your old scrubs when doing house work, like painting or cleaning. Wash and disinfect them properly before wearing them.
Don’ts
Avoid wearing scrubs when visiting a friend in the hospital. Apart from creating confusion, there’s also the risk of transmitting bad microbes to the patient.

Don’t wear soiled and stained scrubs.
See Also: 7 Easy Stain Removal Tips Every Nurse Needs To Know
Don’t wear your scrubs in parties, not unless it’s Halloween or a costume party. And if you’re really decided on wearing one as your costume, make sure it’s properly sanitized or you’re wearing a new pair.
scrub suits in halloween party

The Solution?
Hospitals and similar institutions should provide a clean space where nurses, students, doctors and other workers can change their clothes. Another great idea is to have a laundry service that’ll be dedicated to washing these people’s scrubs. This way, their scrubs won’t have to leave the hospital. After all, at least 44% of bacteria can remain in scrubs that are washed at home.

If those things sound too ambitious, then employees should be more responsible in looking after themselves. If you know you’ll need to go somewhere after work or even if you don’t, you should consider bringing some extra clothes with you and change into them right after your shift. And don’t forget to wash your hands before leaving, too.
In summary
Wearing scrubs is a matter of common sense and proper work ethics. If you really need to go to some place or attend an event after your shift, pack a few extra clothes and change into them. It will take some time getting used to and a lot of discipline. However, considering the dangers of wearing scrubs in public, the benefits far outweigh the inconveniences.
They are not issued scrubs in the hospitals, many still wearing the old school uniform...if they are issued scrub at work they can change before going home like most operating theatre staff...but of course that increases costs

Lol. So doctors wearing shirt and pants go to work in that and come home in that. What's the difference?

Ah the difference is you dont know where his shirt and pants has been and he looks like an office worker.

The diploma is a prerequisite for being a staff nurse and the course is conducted by both nanyang and ngee and polytechnics with a bachelors from nus as well for a levels...there is another course at ite for those wishing to take up a career as an assistant nurse...not too sure what u mean by lowly educated
"nurses salary is not low considering you only need 30 points plus for the o levels to do a nursing diploma in sg and the starting salary is at least 2.5k...just that have to do shifts " - O level requirements is low education mah.

KNN to overcome this issue simply make a standard scrubs for every medical workers in hospitals KNN why do you need to segregate doctor scrub with nurse with physiotherapist with cleaners KNN a scrub is a scrub KNN change all to same and see the result KNN

Nope nurses heal whereas drs diagnose and prescribe, in the past nurses did the allied health part of the job like conduct physio etc...think of their as an engineer to lay the blue prints wherea the technicians and assistant engineers carry out the plan

"nurses salary is not low considering you only need 30 points plus for the o levels to do a nursing diploma in sg and the starting salary is at least 2.5k...just that have to do shifts " - O level requirements is low education mah.
Not too sure where u are from but almost everyone goes through the o levels, from there u go a levels polytechnic or overseas to continue your education

KNN to overcome this issue simply make a standard scrubs for every medical workers in hospitals KNN why do you need to segregate doctor scrub with nurse with physiotherapist with cleaners KNN a scrub is a scrub KNN change all to same and see the result KNN
If a doctor asked you KNN you asked me wear same scrub as cleaner ? KNN just say KNN you care more about hygiene or your status KNN

They are not issued scrubs in the hospitals, many still wearing the old school uniform...if they are issued scrub at work they can change before going home like most operating theatre staff...but of course that increases costs
In the grand scheme of things,,these basics how much do they costs? If the hospital kiasu,,,ok buy the scrubs in bulk and sell them at costs to the nurses,,since there are fugly as well as chio nurses. Laundry services etc integrated into the hospital will cut costs etc as bed sheets etc still needs to be washed,,I am talking about the basics,,and for a 1st world country this is a freaking disgrace,,and u say u are a nurse,,,how come the nurses are not KPKB about these lack of amenities ? instead kpkb about being discriminated in public? guess the victim is just as dense as the public,,

And one other point,,,this issue was bought up during SARs and till date nothing has been done,,guess singkies are that dense

If a doctor asked you KNN you asked me wear same scrub as cleaner ? KNN just say KNN you care more about hygiene or your status KNN
To add crass to the Doctors,,,they can wear the same scrubs,,but they get a bonus, they get to wear a lab coat,,,so that way the whole world knows they are Doctors,,its equivalent to having a Crab on the shoulder like SAF where everyone wears a number 4

Paiseh KNN on 2nd thought that wouldn't solve the problem KNN they will still hook a stethoscope for the rank with the cleaners scrub KNN my uncle wonder why doctors need to hang stethoscope when going lunch etc is it to anticipate cardiac arrest or rank status KNN

Froggy would have given her a big hug and thank her for her service to the nation.

Sigh that is soo sad,,,,I expected u to wine and dine them,,,put the food porn images up of the makan u had with her,,,and hopefully get into 3rd base like in those AV movies starring nurses...

I oso ostracize NSmen in their fuck four. Why nurse be any different? Smelly and dirty u know! :sick: