• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rubbish

What To Dabao From Telok Ayer

Chuan Hung

1643982271012.png

Bedecked in bamboo and wooden accents, Chuan Hung is a cosy restaurant that will satisfy your curiosity about Mian Yang rice noodles and feed your need for a piping hot bowl of warmth.

1643982292909.png

The highlight of Chuan Hung is their noodles, and a bowl that got us slurping in an instant was their King Prawns With Vine Pepper (S$15.50). The only dish made with the chicken-based broth, the peppery soup was robust and numbingly shiok. What we enjoyed about these special noodles was that they remained semi-firm and not soggy even after it was left swimming in the broth for a good 15 minutes.

1643982339747.png

During your visit to Chuan Hung, don’t forget to try their Chicken Innards (S$3.50) and Fried Crispy Pig Intestines (S$5.50). Surprisingly, both dishes were neither gamey nor pungent, making them enjoyable side dishes that complement most of the noodles on the eatery’s menu.

51A Telok Ayer Street, #01-01, Singapore 048441
+65 9788 7417
Mon to Fri: 10.30am – 3pm & 5pm – 9pm
Sat & Sun: 10.30am – 9pm

51 Soho

For a dining spot fitted with high-speed WIFI that will enable you to grab a bite while juggling the demands of your job, 51 Soho is the place to visit.

1643986132662.png

While the restaurant’s indoor area is more suited for intimate dinners to spend time over a quality meal, the alfresco dining area allows for natural light, soft breeze and a laid-back venue to grub and network.

It’s tough to put a label on the kind of cuisine served here at 51 Soho as their menu caters to all hours of the day, but one thing we are sure about is that the dishes here are certainly steeped in Asian influences.

1643986163889.png

One dish that we particularly enjoyed was the Soho Burger (S$28), a scrumptious stack that was also a powerhouse of textures. Loaded with house-made pulled beef, kimchi slaw and shoestring fries seasoned with salt and chives, this is one burger that you wouldn’t be able to put down once you’ve had a taste.

1643986187431.png

Cocktail lovers should also give their Prosperity Cup (S$11) a shot. The drink is made with Chinese rice wine, rockmelon, and chocolate, but what really amused us was the edible CNY100 (made of rice paper) that was served together with it. The drink itself might not have much of an impactful flavour, but it was the novelty that tickled our fancy. After all, dining is about having fun, don’t you agree?

51 Telok Ayer Street, #01-01, Singapore 048441
+65 9755 1058
Mon to Thu: 10am – 9pm
Fri: 10am – 10pm
Sat: 10am – 8pm
Closed on Sun

Dumpling Darlings

1644074693823.png

Open by the people behind Lola’s Cafe, Dumpling Darlings is an inconspicuous restaurant at Amoy Street that stood out with its dark minimalistic exterior and simple logo. Besides being known for their variety of noodles and dumplings with unique flavours, Dumpling Darlings has also been garnering attraction for their creative cocktail mixes.

To make the most out of your penny, opt for their Lunch Set. Priced only at S$16, Dumpling Darlings Lunch Set comes with a bowl of noodles, a set of four dumplings and an iced beverage of your choice.

1644074754594.png

If you are a fan of all things spicy, why not challenge yourself to their Sichuan Pork Noodles and pair it with its corresponding Spicy Sichuan Dumplings? Otherwise, their Miso Mushroom Noodles and the Fried Pierogi also makes for a great combination for those of you who enjoy a mixture of earthy umaminess and smoky sweetness.

44 Amoy Street, Singapore 069870
+65 8223 9249
Tue to Sun: 11.30am – 3pm & 5.30pm – 10.30pm
Closed on Mon

Miss G’s Grill & Bar

1644075934135.png

Located just a stone’s throw away from Telok Ayer MRT is Miss G’s Grill & Bar, a mouth-watering bar grub serving an array of Japanese-inspired comfort food.

1644075957373.png

Usual bar bites like fries and wings aside, the eatery’s California Maki Dip With Wanton Skin (S$12) also makes for an excellent complement to go with their extensive selection of alcoholic beverages.

The dip is a mix of crabmeat, cucumber, avocado and mayonnaise, garnished with some spring onions and a generous portion of tobiko. Paired with the crisp, deep-fried wanton skins, it was a simple yet highly-addictive dish that you unknowingly will wipe clean even before you realise.

1644075983089.png

For a wholesome dish that will surely satisfy, go for their Iberico Charsiew on Rice with Onsen Egg and Chilled Kang Kong (S$18.90). The thick, melt-in-your-mouth slices of Iberico char siew were juicy and flavourful. With uneven charred bits on its surface, every bite will leave a robust smoky aroma lingering on your taste buds!

44/45 Pekin Street, #01-01, Singapore 048775
+65 6980 3018
Mon to Fri: 11.30am – 10.30pm
Sat: 5pm – 10.30pm
Closed on Sun

Kafe Samsa

Many of you might have heard of The Nomads, but did you know that hidden within the restaurant itself is a cafe area called Kafe Samsa?

1644080283824.png

While The Nomads offers Central Asian cuisine reimagined with ingenious and modern little twists, Kafe Samsa’s menu is honest and simple. On its one-page menu are various savoury and sweet samsas alongside a range of house-made jars of butter and jams.

1644080307284.png

Amongst the samsas we had, the Chicken Samsa (S$7) was the most succulent yet delicate tasting. Wrapped within flaky and buttery puff pastry was a mountain of minced chicken bursting with juicy sweet flavours of caramelised onions.

Whilst the Chicken and Beef Samsas are safe choices, food adventurers should try their Lamb Samsa (S$8). Kafe Samsa’s Lamb Samsa pays homage to the traditional spices used in the Central Asia region with its signature house-blend of aromatics. Balancing the meat’s natural gaminess were the intense herbaceous flavours of cumin and pepper—hearty and very authentic.

70 Telok Ayer, #01-01, Singapore 048462
+65 6977 7057
Tue to Sat: 11.30am – 2.30pm & 6pm to 10.30pm
Closed on Mon & Sun

Genius Central

Sceptical about healthy food and think that they are limited to salads and grain bowls? Then let Genius Central change your perception.

1644163447180.png

Handsomely furnished with its chic bronze exterior and warm lighting, the restaurant is a 150-seater establishment akin to a cavernous department store. From vegan to gluten-free options, Genius Central’s menu will surely have a dish to accommodate and suit the liking of everyone around your dining table.

1644163471767.png

A great sharing option would be their Pumpkin Ricotta Pizza (S$20). This vegan pie won our heart over with ease, as the sweetness of the roasted butternut squash and caramelised onions contrasted perfectly with the saltiness of the cheese. It’s a medley of flavours that will make you drool for now even as you think back to it—a sign of pizza done the right way.

1644163499061.png

Elsewhere, there is the Khichdi (S$16), a one-pot rice and lentil dish cooked with dal to a thick, mushy texture. Plentifully seasoned, each spoonful is warm, comforting, and equally luscious. This is undoubtedly an incredibly hearty and scrumptious dish that will leave your tummy full and your heart even fuller.

7 Amoy Street, Far East Square, #01-01, Singapore 049949
+65 8940 1200
Mon to Thu: 8am – 8.30pm
Fri & Sat: 8am – 9.30pm
Sun: 8am – 4pm

Cheek Bistro

1644248138315.png

The delectable glory of Michelin-starred Cheek By Jowl, lives on in Cheek Bistro—its playful, eclectic sibling. The chartreuse green booths, industrial bulbs and paintings evince tastes of its signature modern Australian fare in comforting, bistro-style cooking.

1644248162225.png

For a palate primer, their Waffle with Chicken Liver Parfait (S$12) changes the game of waffles, in small fluffy wedges and creamy, savoury parfait. It’s an interesting take that doesn’t stray too far off the norm, while serving up creativity in a palatable way.

1644248185821.png

Comforting mains like Lamb Ribs (S$36) boast a deliciously glazed and seared protein and charred eggplant, married with yoghurt and mint oil for added zest to the umami rich dish. Their Fish & Chips (S$34), too, is a familiar dish that reminds you of how red snappers should be cooked. Featuring meaty and sweet flesh coated in a thin, crisp and seasoned batter, it’s definitely a hearty one, together with a slather of tartar and green peas. Also, their fries tossed in rosemary seasoning is an appetising one that’ll get you hooked.

21 Boon Tat St, Singapore 069620
+65 6221 1911
Tue to Fri: 12pm – 2.30pm & 6pm – 9.30pm
Sat & Sun: 11am – 3pm & 6pm – 9.30pm
Closed on Mon

What To Dabao From Hong Lim Market & Food Centre

Ji Ji Wanton Noodle Specialist

1644328150352.png

A favourite amongst the lunch crowd, Ji Ji Wanton Noodle Specialist has been serving up delicious and affordable wanton noodles for years now.

1644328173541.png

While the Wanton Noodles here start as low as S$3, we decided to go big with the S$5 portion.

The result was a generous portion of noodles tossed in a fragrant oil and black sauce with tender char siew. The wantons here were huge, well-marinated and came with small shrimp in the mix as well.

The stall owner let us in on a little secret: the meat pork filling is made with lean fat containing only 2% fat, whereas other places use as much as 60% fat. Indeed, each bite was smooth with no chewy lumps of fat at all.

#02-48/49/50
+65 6532 2886
Daily: 7.30am – 7pm

Famous Sungei Road Trishaw Laksa

1644330063313.png

Having received the Michelin Bib Gourmand award consecutively every year since 2016, Famous Sungei Road Trishaw Laksa was an eatery located at Hong Lim Market & Food Centre which we were most excited to try.

To our surprise, aside from their signature Asia Delight Laksa (S$5/S$9 with crayfish), the hawker also sells an interesting dish called the Fruit Juice Mee Siam (S$4/S$5/S$9 with crayfish).

1644330103123.png

The most noticeable thing about the Asia Delight Laksa has to be its broth; it is milder and less cloying than, say, the Katong laksa-style which features a much more lemak-filled gravy. Even with only a subtle hint of coconut milk, the broth remained very rich and creamy. It was so addictive we finished every last drop of it!

Aside from this, the fresh prawns and cockles were also a lot more succulent and sweeter than that found in most stalls around the neighbourhood. If you’re craving laksa but worried about your calorie intake, you know where to go.

#02-66
+65 9750 8326
Mon to Sat: 10.15am – 3pm
Closed on Sun

Heng Kee Curry Chicken Bee Hoon Mee

1644412754222.png

Embroiled in a rivalry with another curry chicken noodle stall on the second floor, many consider Heng Kee Curry Chicken Bee Hoon Mee to be the original hawker of the ‘Heng’ name.

Priced from S$5.50 a bowl, our Chicken Curry Mee arrived with a heap of ingredients. While I’ve heard accounts of the broth here being less rich than its rival above, I actually found it to be satisfyingly thick without being too cloying. In fact, it was addictive.

However, it turned out that it was this thick because I visited when they were about to close for the day, which meant that their gravy had been greatly reduced. So fair warning, if you prefer thick curry, try to visit when they’re closing.

1644412785856.png

The noodles here are nothing to shout but the generous serving of chicken slices, despite its dry appearance, was actually decently moist and tender. The potatoes, having been slow-cooked for hours, were extremely soft as well.

This is definitely a dish curry lovers should not miss!

#01-58
+65 9278 0415
Mon to Sat: 10.30am – 2.30pm
Closed on Sun

Tuck Kee (Ipoh) Sar Hor Fun

1644414579200.png

With 40 years worth of history and notable long queues, it’s not difficult to spot Tuck Kee Ipoh Sah Hor Fun at Hong Lim Food Centre. Serving up delectable hor fun at affordable prices, feel free to opt for prawn-topping options starting at S$6 while the crayfish-prawn option will only set you back S$10.

1644414602736.png

The thing that struck us first was how large the prawns were in our plate of Crayfish Prawn Hor Fun (S$10). Sweet with a light crunch, they were also halved to make it a little easier to eat.

Here, the vibrant-coloured crayfish roe was a pleasant bonus as it managed to elevate the texture of the entire dish. Similar to the classic Hong Kong shrimp roe noodles, you can choose to mix the roe into the hor fun for an added crunch.

Apart from the well-executed crayfish, the seafood stock used in this plate of hor fun also impressed us with its intense and savoury aroma. Generously drenched on the silky smooth rice noodles, the gravy elevated the flavour of the entire dish, resulting in addictive slurps that will keep you going till the very last bite.

#02-39
Mon to Sat: 11.15am – 2.30pm
Closed on Sun

Granny’s Pancake

1644418561723.png

Opening from 7am till they sell out, Granny’s Pancake sells affordable ban chang kueh and has a pretty group of loyal customers as well. When we reached around 1.45pm, they were already down to their last three pancakes.

1644418584060.png

The Peanut Butter Pancake (S$1.20) was fluffy and slightly moist while the amount of peanut fillings were decent for its price too. The additional peanut butter gave the peanut filling and the pancake a creamy texture that was different from the peanut pancake.

If you are someone who enjoys different dimensions of texture in your food, you will fall in love with this. Just be sure to get there early or you might not get your preferred filling!

#01-58
+65 9278 0415
Mon to Sat: 7am – 7pm (or till sold out)
Closed on Sun

Tai Wah Pork Noodle

1644587601746.png

Related to the Michelin-starred Hill Street Tai Wah Pork Noodles, the Tai Wah Pork Noodle at Hong Lim Market & Food Centre is probably the closest you can get to the Michelin-starred taste sans the insane queue.

While the smallest serving of Ba Chor Mee (S$6) may seem a little steep, keep in mind that you are paying a premium for a bump in quality compared to your run-of-the-mill ba chor mee stall.

1644587626212.png

The noodles here were springy and well-coated in the fragrant soy-vinegar sauce base. The slivers of pork liver were soft and tender as well.

The meaty dumplings, while an uncommon topping in ba chor mee, was a welcome one with its well-marinated minced pork. The only gripe I have was the toughness of the pork slices; it came either overcooked, really lean, or a combination of both.

Otherwise, it was still a great bowl of noodles.

#02-16
Tue to Sat: 8am – 7.30pm
Sun: 8am – 3pm
Closed on Mon

Ma Bo Lor Mee

1644593872973.png

With several branches around Singapore, Ma Bo Lor Mee prides itself on serving great tasting and affordable lor mee to the masses. With the smallest potion going at just S$2.50, we were certainly convinced.

1644593903813.png

The standard Ma Bo Lor Mee (S$2.50) came with a single fish fillet, thick yellow noodles, fish cakes, half an egg and braised pork. Not only was it extremely fragrant, it looked exceptionally appetising, whetting our appetites with just its appearance alone.

While most of the ingredients here seem pretty average and common, what made this dish stand out was the taste of its gravy. Viscous with a starchy gooey consistency, the sauce was immensely satisfying with a hint of sweetness that stood out beautifully in the sea of savouriness.

#02-04
Daily: 8.30am – 6.30pm

Outram Park Fried Kway Teow Mee

1644684940471.png

With seemingly never-ending queues that can keep you waiting for as long as 90 minutes, Outram Park Fried Kway Teow Mee is one stall at Hong Lim Market & Food Centre where you can’t use the ‘I’ll-wait-till-the-queue-gets-shorter’ approach simply because the queue only gets longer.

1644684972626.png

Filled with the smokiness from the wok hei, the hawker’s Char Kway Teow (S$4) boasts sweet and savoury noodles fried with an intensely aromatic dark sauce as well as a generous amount of cockles. Sadly our only disappointment was the lack of pork lard that was fired into our plate.

Compared to other char kway teow, Outram Park Fried Kway Teow Mee’s noodles are definitely wetter thanks to the owner’s unique method of frying the noodles with the eggs first, resulting in a creamier texture which thankfully made up for the absence of our favourite porky bits.

#02-17
+65 9838 7619
Mon to Sat: 6am – 3.30pm
Closed on Sun

Belly Lucky Noodles

1644928228436.png

Unlike its competitors in Hong Lim Market and Food Centre, Belly Lucky Noodles stands out by serving up a different breed of wanton mee: the fusion kind.

Ordering here is simple enough, since the hawker only offers two dishes: Char Siew & Dumpling Noodles (S$5), and Dumpling Soup (S$3). Presentation-wise, the plate of Char Siew & Dumpling Noodles might not be the prettiest, but the size of the dumplings in the accompanying soup was what really impressed us. Each dumpling was bursting at the seams, stuffed with minced meat, diced prawns, water chestnuts, and mushrooms.

1644928279961.png

Here, the noodles were springy and firm without the uncomfortable alkaline after-taste. However, the star of the dish had to be the char siew. Glistening slices of fatty pork awaited on the plate. They were well-marinated, sweet and savoury, the kind of taste and texture that will leave you craving for more.

#02-25
+65 9711 1456
Mon to Fri: 11.30am – 2.30pm
Closed on Sat & Sun

Cantonese Delights

1644931588488.png

A cosy stall located at a corner selling a variety of noodles and rice, Cantonese Delights is a stall that you will never miss during your visit to Hong Lim Market and Food Centre. By the looks of the snaking queue forming at the storefront, you can be reassured that you will be in for a treat.

1644931613479.png

Lovers of heat and spice will definitely enjoy the eatery’s Curry Fried Chicken Cutlet Rice (S$4), a heapful of white fluffy rice dreached in curry and topped with golden brown slices of fried chicken.

The chicken cutlet was juicy, smoky, and soft. Encasing the succulent pieces of white meat was a thin crust—savoury and crisp to perfection. Elevating the brilliance of this dish was the curry gravy. Don’t forget to request for your plate to be drenched with this fiery orange goodness as the fragrance and richness will blow your socks off just like it did to ours.

#02-03
Sat to Thu: 10.30am – 2pm
Closed on Fri

Dong Fang Hong Sotong Ball Seafood Soup

Love yourself a bowl of warm and comforting soup on a cold rainy day? Head to Dong Fang Hong Sotong Ball Seafood Soup.

1644933587871.png

The eatery prides itself on its handmade sotong, fish and meat balls which are proudly showcased in the only item on their menu, the Sotong Ball Seafood Soup (from S$4.50). Uneven in shape, the trio of balls in the soup are freshly made daily to ensure its taste and quality.

1644933613542.png

The ball that impressed us the most was none other than their sotong balls. Prepared using specially sourced squid paste, these balls had an intense briny flavour and a unique chewiness that captured our hearts.

If you can’t decide on a staple to go with this immaculate tasting bowl of soup, take our advice and try it with the Ee Mee (+S$0.50). We kid you not, but these eggy noodles perfectly complemented with everything the humble dish had to offer!

#01-47
Mon to Thu: 11am – 2pm
Closed on Fri to Sun

Eddy’s

Duck confit from a hawker stall? You heard that right. Nestled in the upper floor of Hong Lim Market & Food Centre, Eddy’s serves up exciting fusion cuisine at affordable prices.

1644942191601.png

To make things interesting, each dish is spiced up a notch with the addition of unique ingredients like mala spices and hae bee hiam, an addition that gives spices the food up with a local touch.

1644942214750.png

The most eye-catching menu item would be the Duck Confit (S$10), a classic western dish that involves cooking duck in its own fat over long periods of time. At Eddy’s you can opt to have your piece of duck with either the Aglio Olio Spaghetti or Mashed Potato as your carb pairing. If that’s not enough, the dish comes served with corn on the cob and a side of coleslaw!

If you’re hankering for pasta, fret not. The Mala Shrimp Spaghetti (S$7.50) also offers a spicy and savoury mix of flavours that is sure to whet your appetite. Served with mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, and broccoli, you’ll definitely get a well-balanced and filling meal here at Eddy’s.

#02-52
Mon to Fri: 10.30am – 7pm
Sat: 10.30am – 3pm
Closed on Sun

Where To Dabao Fish Soup

Jin Hua Sliced Fish Bee Hoon

1645027057986.png

Maxwell Food Centre is home to many delicious stalls, but if we’re looking for a comforting bowl of fish soup on a cold rainy day, look no further than Jin Hua Sliced Fish Bee Hoon.

Apart from the regular sliced fish and deep fried fish options, there is also a special menu of Grouper Fish Head Noodles and Big Prawn Noodles available for diners as well too. Fish fanatics, of course, make a beeline for the Grouper Fish Head Noodles for its deeper flavours — watch out for bones though as you work your way through and you’ll be rewarded with sweet fish meat and gelatinous skin. The soup here is also different from the cleaner, Teochew style of fish soup. Here, they use a mixture of old hens, yellow beans and fish bones to create a more savoury flavour profile.

Address
1 Kadayanallur St, #01-77, Maxwell Food Centre Singapore 069184