• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

RSN ships/boats pour dirty & used engine oil into international waters

[h=2]We need to speak up to demand transparency from Govt[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
August 16th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

transparency.jpg

Azenable: Er since you stated that your understanding is for the RSN and disclaimer that army may be different. Then why are you already making accusation? Shouldn’t you understand the full fact, then write to TRE?
I am almost as frustrated as you because the state media is focusing on the burial & government condolences, more that what/how/why it happened. Where are the full facts in the state media reports?

I personally know friends who died, in 2003 while serving the NAVY. I attended the wakes & assure you that even though you think you can hold back your tears, you can NOT when you realise your friend’s corpse is lying motionless in that coffin below a HDB block.

What followed was cover-ups, media spins, edited/scripted interviews & all BS; to pacify the nation.

I wrote to TRE ASAP as I am angered that 10 years after it happened, a similar ‘accident’ occurred today.

The FACT is FIVE SINGAPOREANS have died in 2012 alone during training, of all ranks (Officer, Spec, Men) & NS status (NSF, regular, NSman) so it is clear that many things are WRONG in the SAF.

E.g. I have witnessed on many occasions that SAF RSN ships/boats pour dirty & used engine oil into international waters but my superior ordered me not to tell!!

If we, as citizens, do not express our opinions, then a transparent government might just be a vague dream (unless PAP loses power & new government digs out all PAP sh*t).
Bernard Tan Y.J.
* Comment first appeared in: Another unnecessary death in SAF – LCP Fahrurrazi

Every ship pours dirt and oil into international waters lah, what a bodoh

You're the bodoest here. He is trying to right thing but you're the one that is saying "Just let it be".

If enough ppl start snitching and expose the truth, then maybe those who perpetrate wrongdoing may just think twice before committing.

Transparency will make things better.

Dumping garbage ,dirty oil and such are norm in international water evry country with navy or merchant ship does that......:*:

It's norm for ships crew to do that cos out in the open sea can be lawless at times.

He is right. You are allowed to discharged oily waste in not only in international waters but in local waters as well but there is minimum distance from the ground. International treaties allows this. Vessels as a matter of practice discharge in international waters as there local laws and there just to many to remember so it is international waters.

You're the bodoest here. He is trying to right thing but you're the one that is saying "Just let it be".

If enough ppl start snitching and expose the truth, then maybe those who perpetrate wrongdoing may just think twice before committing.

Transparency will make things better.

in international law of the sea, there's the "act to prevent pollution from ships" (atppfs) that is being enforced by the u.s. and several other countries.

the u.s. relies on the coast guard to enforce the law when ships dock in u.s. mainland, hawaiian and alaskan ports. the navy is used to monitor and enforce violations in the ocean and territorial waters away from the mainland, e.g. samoa, puerto rico, guam, etc.

any ship owner and captain can be prosecuted if they are found to have discharge oily bilge and waste in any part of the seas and oceans. to comply with the law, ships must be equipped with pollution prevention control equipment such as a separator and purifier together with the sludge tank and the bilge holding tank. an incinerator is required to burn away excess sludge. the pollution prevention control equipment can detect and prevent discharges containing more than 15 parts per million oil.

the law requires every ship to accurately record any disposal of sludge or oil in an oil record book and present the book for inspection when it docks or enters a port. enforcers will compare information provided by engine crew (diesel volume before and after journey, lubrication oil volume before and after, cooling oil volume before and after, transmission oil volume before and after, etc.) with that of the sludge tank, bilge tank, control equipment and determine if there are discrepancies. this is no cat and mouse game. 100% of the time in u.s. juridiction, discrepancies if any are detected and ship captain prosecuted.

the use of a "magic pipe" or bypass known to violators and enforcers alike is easily busted by analyzing oil records and engine log. deliberate discharges are typically carried out by connecting the sludge tank to the bilge tank using this pipe which bypasses the pollution prevention control equipment.

obviously, what the ship captain and crew do illegally in open waters cannot be prevented unless within binocular view of an enforcer ship. but they will get caught depending on the local enforcement agency. if the sg navy closes an eye on the sg navy ship when it docks in sg, there's nothing other countries' enforcement agencies can do about it.

He is right. You are allowed to discharged oily waste in not only in international waters but in local waters as well but there is minimum distance from the ground. International treaties allows this. Vessels as a matter of practice discharge in international waters as there local laws and there just to many to remember so it is international waters.

you are definitely no tommy koh. you don't have a clue what you're talking about. :rolleyes:

The issue is that in international waters, nobody bothers, not that there are no rules.

Its a problem of jurisdiction. Too many legal loopholes, but that does not mean our navy can throw oil into the sea.

Even shipping companies have in-house rules about waste disposal. But enforcement is an issue. So again, nobody bothers unless there is undisputed evidence.

The issue is that in international waters, nobody bothers, not that there are no rules.

Its a problem of jurisdiction. Too many legal loopholes, but that does not mean our navy can throw oil into the sea.

Even shipping companies have in-house rules about waste disposal. But enforcement is an issue. So again, nobody bothers unless there is undisputed evidence.

marpol honors all local pollution control laws and allows local enforcement agencies to coordinate and prosecute on an international level. enforcement is an issue in open waters, but every ship needs to port and or dock. when a ship anchors in a foreign port with tough enforcement, the detection occurs and law is brought to bear. when an alleged violating "enforcement" ship anchors or docks in a local port and is inspected by the same agency enforcing the law, there's conflict of interest and cover-ups can occur.

a greek ship did repairs in the gulf, spewed oil in open waters, and was caught in new orleans.

Do you think Rear-Admiral Ng Chee Peng cares> The Ng brothers are the trio fo scholar generals. Few years times, they will be dumping waste as Ministers.

Actually there is an international treaty and the term oily waste is a technical term. There are also many other items that are specified and some are prohibited, others not.

Not as bad as US carrier's dumping stuff right

You know how the cook disposes of the cooking and domestic waste on board a ship?

They just throw it out the window when in open waters. In ports they collect them in plastic bags and ditto them when in open waters.

Its about time the industry cleaned up its act. We can start with the very people charged to guard them.

Not as bad as US carrier's dumping stuff right

you're supposed to be a military commentator here, and you have no clue how a cvn operate. all u.s. fleet carriers are nuclear powered, and the majority which belong to the nimitz class have two a4w reactors for power generation. no diesel, no oil, no sludge, no bilge. the fission reactors are completely sealed with a closed loop system. water is heated and pressurized to provide mechanical power to the turbines which generate electricity. there's no nuclear refueling for at least 20 years. operational life of cvn is 50 years, with 5 years in the middle and the end for decommissioning of spent rods and refueling, if necessary. circulating water is used to cool the system, and the cooling tanks are all self contained and sealed. no nuclear discharges. no discharge of cooling water. moreover, it's tactically unsafe for a nuclear warship to leave traces of their nuclear signature.

Who says i was talking about nuclear waste? What is an a-i-r-c-r-a-f-t carrier? And a ship that has 5000 sailors

human waste is stored in a sewage septic tank, different from a sludge tank. the waste is discharged in port via a 6-inch pipe to a waste facility in port. the sailor tasked with hooking the pipe has literally the shittiest job when everyone else is preparing for shore leave. welcome to the usn.