• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rochore soya bean/ham chi pang rip off !

hossey

I am a regular at Rochore soya bean store at Selegie where the 2 warring brothers sell soya bean products including Ham chi pang etc. Had a rude shock this morning when they increase their prices by 10cents ( drinks and toufa ) and 20 cents for all fried products ( ham chi pang , butterfly etc ) . Cost of production so low for such products using flour and soya beans coupled with using low cost labour ( old aunties and china gals which they are paid peanuts ) reaping huge profits yet got cheek to increase price substantially.

When told price increased by 10 to 20 cents , I just walked off , that will be my last visit to these stores selling soya bean and ham chi pang products. Hope patrons will take notice of this rip off practice and ban them so that they will understand the plight of consumers . If every consumer practice this habit of banning unscrupulous hawkers, restaurants ,food courts from raising prices unreasonably , things will not be too expensive.

Life is short. Don't get flustered over this kind of 10 or 20 cents things. Enjoy the food which u like while u are healthy.

it's only 10cents... besides the fact that you have patronized them for a long time shows that you like their stuff right? Personally, I will not patronize a stall if (1) their quality of food sucks.... (2) their hygiene levels are really bad or (3) their service is just plain rude.....

Life is short. Don't get flustered over this kind of 10 or 20 cents things. Enjoy the food which u like while u are healthy.

Not only price increasing....... they oso changing the oil used to frying the fritters to lower quality :( ......... as a result the ham chin pang is tasting "funny" :confused:

Flour price went up by 100%, soya bean price soar, sugar price up, egg price up, rental up, wage up....how not to up price?

For fussy eaters. They can make their own using fresh ingredients and enjoy the product of their effort.

Aiya, knn not only rochor lah, all the fucking soy bean drink all damn diluted nowadays..even Mr Bean also taste like shit.. i make my own tau huay chwee at home...damn shiok and cheap ;)

Are you referring to the Albert Str Food Centre near Waterloo KuanYin Temple ? The one recently renovated reopened on 1 Dec ?

If you are, then that famous fried been hoon / peanut porridge / cheecheongfun stall (Hup Kee I think) always got people queue one - that stall also raised from 60c to 70c.

Boh Bian Lah, at 70c still nice & worth it IMO :confused:

Not if they increase every quaterly/half yearly, which seems to be in practice throughout the industry.:mad:

Leo

:D Very sensible comments. Will up your points if I could !:oIo:

You are right people must relax, so tensed-p for what? Relax and live longer, healthier.

If can afford eat the same, if cannot afford the price hike just eat less.

Can skip deep fried oily food for better health, time to eat less if feeling unhappy
over price hike of junk food no need to even find excuse.

Jump over 10 cents and 20 cents hike? If fuse blow, sure die faster.

Increase of 10-20 cents make u DU LAN. If gahment hike GST to 10%, u go and stab someone meh?

You are so rite Cooleo, after all, gotta put up with Spore Power's quarterly electricity tariff increase & hearing their pathetic oil price up excuse , annual public transport 5c - 10c increase approved by PTC, so many instance of inflation, wahlau, if dun relac, early early up lorry oredy :cool:

Heeheehee maybe he go set his MP on fire. :D

But joke aside we all know GST will go up to 10% just a matter of when.

... When told price increased by 10 to 20 cents , I just walked off , that will be my last visit to these stores selling soya bean and ham chi pang products. ...
u can c ppl increase their price by 10-20¢ ... u got c ze gahmen increase their rent anot? ... wen gahmen anyhow hike rental fees, dey can dun increase their hum chin piang price meh? ... lidat dey eat wat? ...

but wat u did is rite la ... not happy 2 pay, wok away ...

but oso, nowadays, evry hawker oso got 2 increase their price ... if u boycot tis, u boycot dat bcos of price increase, very soon, u oso got nothing 2 eat outside! ... :eek:

u can c ppl increase their price by 10-20¢ ... u got c ze gahmen increase their rent anot? ... wen gahmen anyhow hike rental fees, dey can dun increase their hum chin piang price meh? ... lidat dey eat wat? ...

but wat u did is rite la ... not happy 2 pay, wok away ...

but oso, nowadays, evry hawker oso got 2 increase their price ... if u boycot tis, u boycot dat, very soon, u oso got nothing 2 eat outside! ... :eek:

Then he will start to cook at home. But then 1 small problem....buy veggies at market, price also increase how?

:( Sigh ! Thats why so many Sporeans jump MRT Track !:mad:

I am a regular at Rochore soya bean store at Selegie where the 2 warring brothers sell soya bean products including Ham chi pang etc. Had a rude shock this morning when they increase their prices by 10cents ( drinks and toufa ) and 20 cents for all fried products ( ham chi pang , butterfly etc ) . Cost of production so low for such products using flour and soya beans coupled with using low cost labour ( old aunties and china gals which they are paid peanuts ) reaping huge profits yet got cheek to increase price substantially.

When told price increased by 10 to 20 cents , I just walked off , that will be my last visit to these stores selling soya bean and ham chi pang products. Hope patrons will take notice of this rip off practice and ban them so that they will understand the plight of consumers . If every consumer practice this habit of banning unscrupulous hawkers, restaurants ,food courts from raising prices unreasonably , things will not be too expensive.
If you object to any retailer's price or quality, that's exactly what you should do.

Yesterday i just bought a cup soya bean drink at
the Kallang Airport HC, besides the famous Lor. 21
goreng pisang, @$1, no increase in price.