Well, if anyone is intending to go to bangkok to view properties with the intention to retire there in future (Beyond AEC or not), let me know.. maybe i tag along and see as well.. thank you..
Hi all, just to check with you guys, if i go through a property agent in Singapore to purchase a condo in Thailand, the price listed is SGD 70k, what other hidden fees do i need to take note?
The link is here.
I've been reading what others have written & many recommend renting a place first to find out if you like an area & if it is a condo, if the management is good. Unlike in Spore it seems that in LOS buying can be more complicated. Condo managers can be lazy, dishonest, etc. In places with a nice view, you might find new structures popping up spoiling the view.
So owning a property can be a liability.
siao one. thailand property becoming as mad overpirced as sinkie, and some more soon to be civil war(AGAIN). u still want to buy. if their prices were realistic, they should be plummeting!! u think u hoe-farmer ching or temasacks holdings issit? can buy high sell low, and win all the time?
Johnny, you are right on the rent before buy first. Many projects started very nice but ended up becoming not such a nice neighbourhood. Also need to consider transportation and ammenities.
The other thing I consider is privacy and quietness.
You have lived there so you understand the life there
Many Sporeans only know about life in Spore. So they are going to experience some culture shock. Even buying property in LOS is not so clear cut and they may end up getting cheated, overpaying, buying lemons,..
Many foreigners have successfully made the move there. So it is not that hard.
Just did a DIY Outdoor Air Cooler using 22 inch fan. Copper piping cost me THB 550, aquarim pump THB 200, Styroam box 130, 15 Kg of Ice 20 Baht. Very happy with the result except now neighbors all kay poh come and look at my house. ..
Why DIY when there are ready made ones? I think I saw the air coolers being sold in a home hardware store in Central Pattaya Rd. The store is next to the Supermarket.
I wanted to get some American Standard bathroom fixtures for my home in Spore
Anyone notice that the the baht is really down, 1 SIN=26+ baht
Never seen it so low.
Ok guys.
I think Thailand is a great place to retire. forget about the political problem, life bloody goes on, let them fight.
when I say Thailand is a great place to retire I mean that one must be willing to live local and its less than S$1.5k per month you will need in Thailand I mean in Bangkok. Places like in Hua Hin, Pattaya, Phuket and other touristic places I dare not say, sure damn expensive and you pay "farang" prices of course but in Bangkok if you know how to live S$1.5k is too much. Medical is also very cheap. If you want details you can find it in the Thai thread. Othe places like angmoh countries please be careful of medical costs. Ok just to give you some examples - endoscopy + colonscopy costs about $1.5k, dental is $30, full medical is $500 (detail one la) etc etc.
I think Thailand is a perfect place for sinkies because its near, come on, many farangs are building Japanese Villages, Dutch Villages, Koreans Villages, German Villages etc etc surely they are not wrong right? Only I've not seen sinkie village but I guess sinkies are very smart and well blend into Thai culture which is why you don't find sinkie village anywhere.
I believe this is a great place for sinkies, afterall Singapore is just so close.
Please let me know if anyone need help I should be able to link you to a good guy to help you apply for your visa.