You can charge everybody but once you started to target a certain group, it becomes discrimination. Who knows one day this restaurant might do it to Sinkies or other nationalities?News
Notice of 104% tax on American diners removed from S'pore Chinatown restaurant
The restaurant claimed it was someone pulling a "prank".
April 11, 2025, 03:49 PM
![]()
A restaurant in Chinatown in Singapore had apparently put up a notice declaring a 104 per cent surcharge for American diners.
A TikTok by user sgwhatsup of the notices was viewed over 400,000 times.
The notice said in English: "Americans will be charged a 104% surcharge while dining at the restaurant."
The notice of the 104 per cent “tax” is the same amount that United States president Donald Trump had slapped on Chinese imports as announced on Apr. 8.
The notices were no longer up when Mothership visited the restaurant, Xie Lao Song at Pagoda Street, on Apr. 10 evening.
![]()
What restaurant said
A personnel at the restaurant declined to go on record when queried about the notices.
Over a subsequent phone call, a person at the restaurant said in Mandarin: “We’ve been operating for over a decade, we would not commit such a lowly mistake.”
The restaurant will be investigating the matter and is not ruling out lodging a police report if the situation escalates.
The restaurant personnel also mentioned it was "prank".
The personnel said on Apr. 11 afternoon after that there were Americans dining at the restaurant at that time and there was "no surcharge whatsoever".
A worker at the restaurant separately told The Straits Times it was a "malicious prank".
Staff at the eatery refused to comment publicly on the matter when asked about the notices by CNA.
The restaurant beside Chinatown MRT station's Exit A is known for its crayfish and crab dishes.
Responses
Many online commenters slammed the discriminatory nature of the sign.
However, others also supported it as they said it was up to a business to charge "surge pricing".
CNA reported that there does not appear to be a law in Singapore that addresses discriminatory pricing based on nationality.
Singapore Management University law professor Eugene Tan said he does not think it is illegal, "but it clearly raises ethical questions
Fucking CCP owners of this restaurant should fuck back to China!
Restaurant claimed it was done by 小粉红The owner is anti Americans.
Racial and Religious Harmony laws lai liao.
No lah. It's done by 東廠 K 字輩 編號一九七六Restaurant claimed it was done by 小粉红
She a 小太监No lah. It's done by 東廠 K 字輩 編號一九七六![]()
Do it in China but dont do it in our land. Who are they to do this? Go back China & do it in their country.
Now we can really see the invasion of ATs right at our doorstep.
They don't even think they are just guests in another country. You go to someone's home & you hold a protest card there. Something is wrong with them.Those brainwashed delulu patriotic Tiongs can't help themselves. They have to express such sentiments wherever they are: Japan, Taiwan, major cities and Chinatowns in angmoh countries.![]()
Tiongs are shamelessThey don't even think they are just guests in another country. You go to someone's home & you hold a protest card there. Something is wrong with them.
Not only shameless. They are damn fucking noisy. They need to shout across the whole MRT train to talk. Fuck CCP people.Tiongs are shameless
Wow .. you really talk like you got AMDK father ... stepfather only lah. 555Not only shameless. They are damn fucking noisy. They need to shout across the whole MRT train to talk. Fuck CCP people.
Yeah! I rather go eat bak chor meeAiya this kind of leestoran mostly are patronised by own people lah.
I don't want will tam jiak ter nao sinkie will jiak there but for me is a no no.
They will kenna ban in JR lines.Not only shameless. They are damn fucking noisy. They need to shout across the whole MRT train to talk. Fuck CCP people.
Oily and salty food. Eat already die faster. Better don't patronise.Aiya this kind of leestoran mostly are patronised by own people lah.
I don't want will tam jiak ter nao sinkie will jiak there but for me is a no no.
125% and ccp said no higher as they gave up. no more tariff increases from ccp as it becums meaningless and loses its effect. ccp capitulates.Tiong towkay needs to update his sign... it's 145% now.
![]()
US treasury bonds in deep shit and USD tanking...125% and ccp said no higher as they gave up. no more tariff increases from ccp as it becums meaningless and loses its effect. ccp capitulates.
BCM jhjYeah! I rather go eat bak chor mee
AMDK stepfather also buay pai deh...Wow .. you really talk like you got AMDK father ... stepfather only lah. 555