• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Reddit] - Canadian expat asking for advice on moving to Sg for work

UltimaOnline

Go to the Reddit page to post directly if you wanna contribute with your comments :

Expat word was coined by white trash angmoh only live and work outside 5 eye with high pay and high level job.

If u are not white you are not expatriate...

If he's white meat, there are a lot of yellow SPG pussies waiting.

tumblr_mgov6bTcki1r3wzyeo1_400.gif

If he's brown shit, he should fuck back to India, we have enough filth here.

If he's white meat, there are a lot of yellow SPG pussies waiting.

tumblr_mgov6bTcki1r3wzyeo1_400.gif

If he's brown shit, he should fuck back to India, we have enough filth here.
What if he is yellow? Or black? Brown latino? White Middle Eastern? Brown Malay? Yellow Korean? Yellow Uzbekhinstan?

Singapore like to call itself "multicultural, multi ethnic"

Actually Canada is the true multi culture and multi ethnic! Really all kinds of culture and ethinic groups here! All kinds man! Singapore is mostly Chinese, Indians and Malay only. Not representative of the variety in the entire world! Canada more representative!

What if he is yellow? Or black? Brown latino? White Middle Eastern? Brown Malay? Yellow Korean? Yellow Uzbekhinstan?

Singapore like to call itself "multicultural, multi ethnic"

Actually Canada is the true multi culture and multi ethnic! Really all kinds of culture and ethinic groups here! All kinds man! Singapore is mostly Chinese, Indians and Malay only. Not representative of the variety in the entire world! Canada more representative!

Other colors in between are not in demand nor held in high regard.
I heard Scat is in lately over in SG, some low grade SPGs are going for shitskins..

Singapore is a wannabe without much depth, a few Thai, Viet, Italian, Spanish, Japanese, Korean restaurants around is enough for them to claim the multi culture/ethnic label shamelessly.

Racial harmony is another farce, that's a much bigger issue.

Other colors in between are not in demand nor held in high regard.
I heard Scat is in lately over in SG, some low grade SPGs are going for shitskins..

Singapore is a wannabe without much depth, a few Thai, Viet, Italian, Spanish, Japanese, Korean restaurants around is enough for them to claim the multi culture/ethnic label shamelessly.

Racial harmony is another farce, that's a much bigger topic.

The other thing Singapore is very "proud" of is the food.

But it is mostly just Malay food and South East Asian fare.

I don't see food representing food from all over the world very much. And also somehow a lot of the other cuisine tends to have the SEA twist to it in Singapore.

Cuisine from Greece? Lebanon? Ukraine? Middle East eg Shawarma? African? Russian?

Left right centre you go in Singapore is chicken rice, mee pok, CKT, laksa, hokkien mee, duck rice, nasi lemak, mee rebus, mee siam, roti prata......all ASIAN food lah.

For some of these foreigners if they dont like Asian food they will say Singapore actually doesnt have much variety. LOL!

I don't see food representing food from all over the world very much. And also somehow a lot of the other cuisine tends to have the SEA twist to it in Singapore.

Cuisine from Greece? Lebanon? Ukraine? Middle East eg Shawarma? African? Russian?

Left right centre you go in Singapore is chicken rice, mee pok, CKT, laksa, hokkien mee, duck rice, nasi lemak, mee rebus, mee siam, roti prata......all ASIAN food lah.

For some of these foreigners if they dont like Asian food they will say Singapore actually doesnt have much variety. LOL!
sinkie food can’t cut it big time in the u.s. without sambal chili, it’s dead in the water, yet americans can’t tahan sambal chili, especially when it has belachan. it’s like stir fried shit for americans.

Yup!

Singaporeans will say ang moh stupid dunno how to enjoy food.

It is not who clever or smart. it is just what you are used to eating. What you grew up with. No right or wrong.

You can see that in Singapore the lack of a vibrant variety of different cuisine from the world makes Singapore and Singaporeans same like everyone lah.

I find that generally people like to go back to eating what they are used to. Or something similar. Not too out of ordinary.

Yup!

Singaporeans will say ang moh stupid dunno how to enjoy food.

It is not who clever or smart. it is just what you are used to eating. What you grew up with. No right or wrong.

You can see that in Singapore the lack of a vibrant variety of different cuisine from the world makes Singapore and Singaporeans same like everyone lah.

I find that generally people like to go back to eating what they are used to. Or something similar. Not too out of ordinary.
two words. comfort food.

Food in Singapore by Singaporeans is largely represented by the cheap hawker fare at the expense of some individuals, which will be coming to an end soon since there's no continuation for this trade.

knn

but we very madly siaolang creative
we have hainanese chicken burger ....
.... now we have bcm with hums :biggrin::roflmao:

knn

but we very madly siaolang creative
we have hainanese chicken burger ....
.... now we have bcm with hums :biggrin::roflmao:

Yup basically is still kind of eating THE SAME FOOD!!!!

So when Singaporean go abroad and say wah lau food cannot make it etc........

don't criticize the foreigner go to Singapore don't like SEA food and say food scene is "boring". All the same. Looking for food they are familiar with, grew up with.

Yup basically is still kind of eating THE SAME FOOD!!!!

So when Singaporean go abroad and say wah lau food cannot make it etc........

don't criticize the foreigner go to Singapore don't like SEA food and say food scene is "boring". All the same. Looking for food they are familiar with, grew up with.

I can't fathom Sinkies who go overseas searching for laksa and macdonalds either.....

It is ok. I am just saying people in general will go searching for their comfort food they are familiar with.

Ang moh like burgers. Steaks. Ribs. Hot dogs. Pizza. Wings.

Those people grow up in coastal area will be more into fish and chips also.

Singaporeans like the usual fare we already mentioned.

The problem is I find Singaporeans a bit like the French and Italians. Will put down other culture food. ATAS thinking.

Don't lah.

Asian western food been in singkieland since the beginning.

Wolf down chicken chop, pork cutlets and more at excellent Western food spots in Singapore
Photography: British Hainan
No confit or sous vide here – it’s old school Western food that Singaporeans love. Think fish and chips or chicken cutlet paired with baked beans, eggs and coleslaw!
When we talk about Western food in Singapore, we’re usually referring to a humble yet delish plate of fish and chips or grilled meat accompanied by coleslaw, fries, baked beans and a toasted bun. An amalgamation of Hainan influence and British food, the old school Western fare is a reflection of our colonial past. And it can be found at most hawker centres across the island. History lesson aside, here are our top picks for your Western food fix.

Best Western food in Singapore
1. British Hainan
Nestled in a private estate at Joo Chiat, British Hainan is a blast from the past. Step in and you’ll be whisked down memory lane. The cafe is decked out in a hodgepodge of antiques in a way that almost feels like a museum. Take your time to look at vintage telephones and radios, black and white photographs of old Singapore, and beautiful portraits of legends from yesteryear. But don’t miss out on the signature traditional oxtail stew, grilled rosemary lamb shank, Hainanese pork chop or mutton soup!
British Hainan, 75 Carpmael Road, Singapore 429812

2. Colbar
Colbar | Western food in Singapore
Photography: Singapore Tourism Board via Facebook
History takes centre stage at this humble spot. Previously a canteen for the British Army back in 1953, Colbar serves Hainanese-style Western food. Tasty highlights include sirloin steak with chips, egg and peas, bacon sammie, pork chop and cutlet. We say stay and enjoy the nostalgic ambience with a couple of beers. From the clay roof tin and timber walls to the historic photos of Colbar Football Club and the vintage knick knacks adorning the place, this hidden gem delivers a slice of old Singapore. Psst: don’t forget to check out the nearby Wessex Estate for its black and white colonial buildings.
Colbar, 9A Whitchurch Road, Singapore 138839

3. Western Barbeque
Here’s an example of what to expect from a popular hawker stall: snaking queues and a collage of media newspaper clippings and certifications plastered on its stall front. Not to mention, this Old Airport Road Food Centre stall has been around the block for decades. Go for the mixed grill platter, which features a trio of meats: pork, chicken and lamb alongside crinkle-cut fries, sunny-side-up and coleslaw. Don’t forget to pair them with the famed homemade garlic sauce.
Western Barbeque, #01-53, Old Airport Road Food Centre, 51 Old Airport Road, Singapore 390051

Have you tried these iconic local dishes?
4. Apollo Western Food
Located at Hainanese Village Centre at Hougang, Apollo Western Food needs no introduction, having been in the business for over 30 years. Whether you’re in the mood for something grilled or deep-fried, you can’t go wrong with dishes like pork chop drenched in gravy or chicken cutlet, which is crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. All mains are paired with fries, baked beans and a fluffy toasted bun.
Apollo Western Food, #02-32, Hainanese Village Centre, 105 Hougang Avenue 1, Singapore 530105

5. Wow Wow West Genuine
Wow Wow West Genuine | Western food in Singapore
Photography: Wow Wow West Genuine via Facebook
It’s a little out of the way for those of us who don’t live in the Queenstown area but we say it’s worth the jaunt. Starting out as a canteen stall at Raffles Institution in 1999, Wow Wow West is now a mainstay at ABC Brickworks. Most of the items on the menu are well under $10, including the chicken chop, pork chop and fish and chips. Plus, the portions are huge!
Wow Wow West Genuine, #01-133, ABC Brickworks, 6 Jalan Bukit Merah, Singapore 150006

6. Ye Lai Xiang, Tasty Barbecue
This massive dining enclave is home to over 100 food stalls, all with a focus on different specialities. But if you’re in the mood for simple Western grub, make your way to Ye Lai Xiang, Tasty Barbecue. The secret sauce to its popularity? Well, it’s literally a secret sauce. The sweet and savoury brown sauce is sloshed on every plate before it’s served. And don’t be shy to ask for an extra serving – you won’t be the first to do so.
Ye Lai Xiang, Tasty Barbecue, Maxwell Food Centre, 1 Kadayanallur Street, Singapore 069184

7. Tiong Bahru Hot Plate Western Food
Now, here’s an excuse to head to this ‘hip hood… not that we need one. Situated in Tiong Bahru Market, the stall takes things up a notch by serving Hainanese western goodness on sizzling plates. Enjoy classics like chicken chop with slightly charred bits that hit the spot. Just expect to wait in line during peak dining hours!
Tiong Bahru Hot Plate Western Food, #02-54, Tiong Bahru Market & Food Centre, 30 Seng Poh Road, Singapore 168898

Which Western food spot is your fave in Singapore?

CAQ said we cannot discriminate based on nationality. Everyone has the right to come here and get a job.