• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Red Dot vs Red Cliff, Old Dog Thief vs Older Thief Cao Cao

techiedick

the more he argues, the more I think how shallow this discussion is becoming.

Someone with Political ambition to rule SG can blabber vulgarities, if one day elected to Parliament we can knn kpkb etc... in parliament just like in taiwan.

We will be a laughing stock...

I think its time to stop embarrassing yourself in this forum...:biggrin:

If you think about it, Kong Ming is cool and calm in alll situations and everything is well planned and anticipated. Thats why till today well respected. I dun expect this to come out of the Demented Xiao Gou Party.

uncleyap

火烧小赤点,怎么不缺东风了?我一个月之前(左右)就准确预见了。:biggrin:

I accurately predicted some one month ago regarding the burning of little red (or brown) dot just like the movie Red Cliff. Burns on further it might turn into a little black dot. :eek::rolleyes::wink:

<hr width=50%">

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/409394/1/.html

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="596"><tbody><tr><td valign="top" width="5"> </td> <td colspan="2"> <!--//START com_dotcom_view_afp_rel.tpl--> <script language="JavaScript1.2"> g_fPlayMode = 0; g_iimg = -1; g_imax = 0; g_ImageTable = new Array(); function ChangeImage(fFwd) { if (fFwd) { if (++g_iimg==g_imax) g_iimg=0; } else { if (g_iimg==0) g_iimg=g_imax; g_iimg--; } Update(); } function getobject(obj){ if (document.getElementById) return document.getElementById(obj) else if (document.all) return document.all[obj] } function Update(){ getobject("_Ath_Slide").src = g_ImageTable[g_iimg][0]; getobject("_Ath_FileName").innerHTML = g_ImageTable[g_iimg][1]; getobject("_Ath_Img_X").innerHTML = g_iimg + 1; getobject("_Ath_Img_N").innerHTML = g_imax; } function Play() { g_fPlayMode = !g_fPlayMode; if (g_fPlayMode) { getobject("btnPrev").disabled = getobject("btnNext").disabled = true; Next(); } else { getobject("btnPrev").disabled = getobject("btnNext").disabled = false; } } function OnImgLoad() { if (g_fPlayMode) window.setTimeout("Tick()", g_dwTimeOutSec*1000); } function Tick() { if (g_fPlayMode) Next(); } function Prev() { ChangeImage(false); } function Next() { ChangeImage(true); } function omniPrint(myID, myTitle) { //{sample_id} {sample_title} s.prop3=s.prop1 + ":" + s.prop2 + ":printpage" s.prop4=s.prop1 + ":" + s.prop2 + ":printpage:" + myID s.prop5=s.prop1 + ":" + s.prop2 + ":printpage:" + myID + ":" + myTitle s.hier1=s.prop1 + "|" + s.prop2 + "|printpage|" + myID + ":" + myTitle s.pageName=s.prop1+ ":" + s.prop2 + ":printpage:" + myID + "_" + myTitle s.linkTrackVars='events,eVar29'; s.linkTrackEvents='event15'; s.events='event15'; s.eVar29='print'; s.tl(this,'o','print article'); void(s.t()); } ////configure below variables///////////////////////////// //configure the below images and description to your own. g_ImageTable[g_imax++] = new Array ("/imagegallery/store/phpQBycei.jpg", "Singapore's central business district shrouded in haze on 13 February 2009."); g_ImageTable[g_imax++] = new Array ("/imagegallery/store/phpB8jmga.jpg", "Toa Payoh estate shrouded in haze on 13 February 2009."); g_ImageTable[g_imax++] = new Array ("/imagegallery/store/phpwKxMIw.jpg", ""); //extend the above list as desired g_dwTimeOutSec=4 ////End configuration///////////////////////////// if (document.getElementById||document.all) window.onload=Play </script> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="591"> <tbody><tr> <td class="newstitle" width="328">Singapore News</td> <td colspan="3" class="newstitle" align="right" valign="bottom" width="263"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="259"> <tbody><tr> <td align="right" width="143"> </td> <td width="99"> </td> <!-- Add 13 Nov 2008 Start --> <!-- <td width="28"> </td> <td width="28"> </td> --> <!-- Add 13 Nov 2008 End --> <!--<td width="58"> </td>--> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="4" style="background-color: rgb(204, 204, 204);">
shim.gif
</td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table>
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="596"> <tbody><tr> <td colspan="3" height="26"> </td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" width="5"> </td> <td colspan="2" valign="top" width="591">Dry spell causes bush fires to surge to record numbers
By Cheryl Frois, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 16 February 2009 1827 hrs
<table align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="260"> <tbody><tr> <td align="right" width="20"> </td> <td align="right" width="240">
phpB8jmga.jpg
</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="60" valign="top"> </td> <td class="update" height="60" valign="top"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="138">Photos </td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="47">2 of 3</td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" onclick="Prev();" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="19"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" onclick="Play()" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " onclick="Next();" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

Toa Payoh estate shrouded in haze on 13 February 2009.</td> </tr> <tr> <td> </td> <td class="update"> </td> </tr> <tr> <td> </td> <td> <table style="background-color: rgb(204, 204, 204);" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="240"> <tbody><tr> <td valign="top" width="100%"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="1" width="100%"> <tbody><tr style="background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);"> <td> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td valign="top">Related Videos </td> </tr> <tr> <td bgcolor="#cccccc" valign="top">
shim.gif
</td> </tr> <tr> <td align="left" valign="top"> <table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr><td> <table border="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td valign="top"> Singapore sees highest number of vegetation fires in decades</td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> <tr> <td align="left" background="images/dotline_240.gif" valign="top">
shim.gif
</td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table>

SINGAPORE: Singapore has recorded the highest number of vegetation fires in decades due to the dry spell.

In the first two weeks of this month, 106 fires have been recorded. This follows a record 182 in January, well above the average of 26 cases for the month over the past decade.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) has described this as unprecedented and said it is installing dry hydrant systems to provide water supply in areas with dry vegetation like Tampines and Fort Road.

Smoke from these vegetation fires has contributed to the particle build-up in the air, resulting in Singapore experiencing slightly hazy conditions since last Friday.

The weak winds have also contributed to the bleary conditions, as they are unable to blow the smoke particles away.

The National Environment Agency said Singapore's 24-hour Pollutant Standards Index (PSI) crept up to the "moderate" range of between 53 and 57 over the weekend, rising from the "good" range the week before.

The haze is leaving many Singaporeans hot under the collar.

"Even at night, it's really hot, even turning on the air-con doesn't help," said a member of the public.

"Exercise is out of the question, movements out in the open are restricted," said another.

"I couldn't breathe. I've been coughing, because I'm quite allergic to the haze," said a third.

"Even the poor doggies at home" are feeling the heat, said a fourth.

The haziness and hot weather is expected to persist over the next three days, as wind conditions continue to be light.

- CNA/ir
</td></tr></tbody></table>

neddy

the more he argues, the more I think how shallow this discussion is becoming.

Someone with Political ambition to rule SG can blabber vulgarities, if one day elected to Parliament we can knn kpkb etc... in parliament just like in taiwan.

We will be a laughing stock...

I think its time to stop embarrassing yourself in this forum...:biggrin:

If you think about it, Kong Ming is cool and calm in alll situations and everything is well planned and anticipated. Thats why till today well respected. I dun expect this to come out of the Demented Xiao Gou Party.

I disagree.

All politicans I know "blabber vulgarities" once in a while because they are human too ... and sometimes, if they do them the right way, they are cool.
Taiwan legistration may be a laughing stock under Ah Bian, but so is Singapore's. Watching Singapore parliament is like watch amateur secondary school budding debate team on a courtesy campaign drive.

In fact, I cannot help laughing at how Singaporeans are so "chicken" when it comes to politics. Very embarassing as well.

images

ex-PM John Howard's salute to a policy proposal by an opposition.

Next time, please son't use the PAP line and 154th con articles too much

lancheowman

In Chinese history 曹操 led 魏 of the tri-state (三国) phase of history, on land territory it was the largest of all 3, with the most resources including military and economic strength over the other 2 competitors.

This 1st because 魏 had directly inherited from the broken 汉 dynasty in terms of resources. The military economic and human resources of 汉 fell into the hands of 曹操 including the fucking useless last emperor of 汉。

That was how the bastard 曹操 could exploit the capacity as Prime Minister 丞相 and abuse the power of emperor 挾天子 and try to order army and generals and war lords under his own will 号令天下。He used emperors' imperial army 天子之兵 to attack and demolish his opponents.

吴 & 蜀 are not just smaller and less resourceful, they occupied more undeveloped and low population rural areas, and are politically considered as rebels against the imperial central government 汉室.

The lands of nation 魏 was larger than East + West Malaysia. Population should be more than the population level of whole Malaysia of 1960s - the independent fights' era.

The movie Red Cliff showed the era during the alliance of 吴 & 蜀 to counter much stronger 魏 。 While Singapore federated with Malaysia in much more than an alliance, it was a full constitutional and sovereignty merger recognized globally. It was a total join governance, and there should be only one head of state and one Prime Minister.

Old Dog Thief LKy was supposed to have the title of Chief Minister of Singapore, but he cheated and audaciously want to be called Prime Minister, because this Ah Beng's ego is bigger then British Empire. Penang where Cow Boon Wan came from is another Island of Malaysia which until now still retain the Chief Minister post. Old Dog LKy was fighting Tunku to have the seat of Federal PM in KL. The bastard old dog stired too much shit and got kicked out of the Federation.

For those who want to compare LKy with 曹操, bastard 曹操 did not get kicked out of any alliance like bastard LKy. 曹操 lost some wars but never lost political power he in fact had gained territories and power in the opposite of Old Dog Thief LKy. If compared, LKy got kicked out of Malaysia and then left with only a tiny red dot as tiny as 荆州 - a famous town in history borrowed by 刘备 and never returned, the war field of many famous battles.

If 曹操 was as fucked up as Old Dog Theif LKy, then he would had been ousted from capital and vast land of 魏 to be left with only a tiny red dot as tiny as 荆州。:eek::rolleyes::biggrin:

If old dog thief LKy was half as good as 曹操 in terms of political and military abilities, he should had established control and united entire Malaysia at the very least.

Instead Old Dog LKy was entirely USED by Tunku Abdul Rahman to FISH in resource rich Sarbah & Sarawak into Malaysian federation. They tried to fish in Brunie at first but failed. Dr. M must thank Stupid Old Fool LKy indeed that he had Petronas & oil + gas from Sarawak as resources to develop his huge projects like KLCC Petronas Twin Towers.

Not only LKy was used to fish in resourceful states, Tunku booted him out after using him to fish in valuable lands and resources. LKy is pethatically a political failure and sucker. If he was half as good as 曹操 then he should had even eaten Brunie or even entire Thai Kingdom. That was exactly what 曹操 did, he eliminated & swallowed 吴 & 蜀 with terrotory larger than Thai Kingdom - via military and political fights.

If 曹操 was as fucked up as Old Dog Thief LKy he would had been chased out to a tiny town like this Red Dot after the battle of Red Cliff 赤壁。:biggrin::biggrin::rolleyes:

曹操 is a great statesman and a leading poet of the day. pls get your facts right. He did not inherit anything from the dying Han dynasty. whatever resources he had, it was from his own conquests and efforts. there as no "imperial army" which he took over.

Nobody really knows the territory of Wei except that it controlled the north but it is quite clear that the relative strengths of the three kingdoms changed with time. Liu Bei was certainly strong enuff at one point to attack both Shu and Wei after Red Cliffs.

and 荆州 is not a town, it is an entire province.

uncleyap

曹操 is a great statesman and a leading poet of the day. pls get your facts right. He did not inherit anything from the dying Han dynasty. whatever resources he had, it was from his own conquests and efforts. there as no "imperial army" which he took over.

Nobody really knows the territory of Wei except that it controlled the north but it is quite clear that the relative strengths of the three kingdoms changed with time. Liu Bei was certainly strong enuff at one point to attack both Shu and Wei after Red Cliffs.

and 荆州 is not a town, it is an entire province.

曹操is nothing but one of the most notorious piece of crap in history. A poet womanizer and greedy bastard.

丞相曹操,亲率天子之兵,平定荆楚、吴越.
Do you know what does that mean? :wink:
The bastard grab the all land agricultural & economic resources in the north, and even hijacked the emperor to order all the troops. Troops includes those who surrendered to the bastard as well as those recruited in the northern territory he grabbed. Imperial Army is the title he placed on his troop, which is again abusing the power of the abducted emperor. So call emperor is nothing more that Prata Nathan, who is entirely controlled and manipulated by bastard 丞相曹操 aka PM/MM. :biggrin: The territories of the era is given in this map. 魏 is larger than 吴,吴(same word as GCT) is larger than 蜀 which is smallest within 三国 tri-state.

http://www.imagebee.net/images/eluh9t1uicrh1cbsban.jpg

eluh9t1uicrh1cbsban.jpg

If you are not happy with the territory divisions pse protest the Election Dept:

mapofspore.jpg

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

you are right, there was a province by name of 荆州, but not the one in my context. This is my context: 4.6sqkm only. The castle enclosing a town which 刘备borrowed to house his tiny forces at that time. A famous piece in history:
http://baike.baidu.com/view/7427.htm
荆州古城

,又称江陵城,是我国历史文化名城、全国重点文物保护单位之一,是楚文化的发祥地之一,是著名的三国古 战场,历史上“刘备借荆州”、“关羽大意失荆州”等脍炙人口的三国故事都发生在这里。 荆州古城地处连东西贯南北的交通要塞,历来均为兵家必争之地,荆州城屡毁屡建,现在的荆州古城最后一次修建是在清朝顺治三年(1646年),依原址而建, 保存至今,是“我国南方不可多得的完壁”。 荆州古城总面积4.6平方公里,分为三层,最外层为水城、中间是砖城,里面是土城,水城(护城河)全长10500米,宽30米,水深4米,西通太湖,东连 长湖,与古运河相连;城墙四周原有东门(迎宾门)、小东门(公安门、水门)、北门(拱极门)、小北门(远安门)、西门(安澜门)、南门(南纪门)6座城 门,除小东门外,其它五座城门都由两道门组成,有瓮城,建国后,又新开3座城门,分别是新东门、新南门、新北门,均无瓮城,原来6座城门上都有城门楼,分 别是宾阳楼、望江楼、九阳楼、曲江楼、朝宗楼、景龙楼等,其中以曲江楼和景龙楼最为出名。

I found an aerial video of this TINY old town 荆州 showing the original walls built for defending the historic battle field of old town 荆州 [smaller than Tanjong Pagah GRC indeed!] :

http://space.tv.cctv.com/video/VIDE1212388202163512

lancheowman

丞相曹操,亲率天子之兵,平定荆楚、吴越.

This means he lead his troops in the name of the emperor to wage war on jing Chu and Wu Yue.

none of those troops belong to the emperor. they were his own. if the emperor had an army, do u think cao can control him...you can read chinese but you do not know chinese history

techiedick

bro lancheow,

like i say, he is very shallow always checking and dun understand what the background of the story and he sees movies and think he knows it all.

There is the fiction : romance of the 3 kingdoms and fact :the chronicles of the 3 kingdoms. He reads only the fiction and thot its the fact.

Like i mentioned in my earlier posting, 枭雄或英雄是一线之差

You have said Cao Cao is capable man I totally agree and his foundation in building up WEI is commendable which was able to sustain the wars and finally win over SHU and WU.

A similar capable man was WEI YANG during QIN circa 400 B.C. He was tough in his policies yet QIN from weakest and poorest to the most powerful and united China 200 years later.

He dun have to be nice but greatly well respected even till today.

Another fact: JINGZHOU is modern day parts of Hubei and Hunan. He is all mixed up reading from some unreliable source.

lancheowman

bro lancheow,

like i say, he is very shallow always checking and dun understand what the background of the story and he sees movies and think he knows it all.

There is the fiction : romance of the 3 kingdoms and fact :the chronicles of the 3 kingdoms. He reads only the fiction and thot its the fact.

Like i mentioned in my earlier posting, 枭雄或英雄是一线之差

You have said Cao Cao is capable man I totally agree and his foundation in building up WEI is commendable which was able to sustain the wars and finally win over SHU and WU.

A similar capable man was WEI YANG during QIN circa 400 B.C. He was tough in his policies yet QIN from weakest and poorest to the most powerful and united China 200 years later.

He dun have to be nice but greatly well respected even till today.

Another fact: JINGZHOU is modern day parts of Hubei and Hunan. He is all mixed up reading from some unreliable source.

you mean SHANG YANG the legalist?

techiedick

商鞅 or 商君 is the title given to him after his passing away.

Original name is 衛鞅 or 公孫鞅

From my view is one of the greatest social change thinkers of China.

He is a thinker far ahead of his times, he introduce socialism during the period 200 B.C which feudalism is the norm.

He divided land to the farmers to increase prodcutivity and everything is based on merit not on aristocratic birth.

If he is a revoluationary thinker in his own right just like greeks, romans, engels, adam smith etc..

Is the American way of democracy is the only way? or the SDP wholigan way the one way ??

techiedick

legalist or not, his practices in modern days is socialist in nature.

legaiism = everything goes by the book. socialism and marxism or communism tries to ensure equal status for all by enforcing tough laws and regulations so does legalism.

lancheowman

legalist or not, his practices in modern days is socialist in nature.

legaiism = everything goes by the book. socialism and marxism or communism tries to ensure equal status for all by enforcing tough laws and regulations so does legalism.

first of all, legalism does not try to ensure equal status or benefits for all but only to those who excel and socialism does not necessarily equate to tough laws and regulations. dun confuse socialism with Bolshevik communism or fascism.