Bhai,
for lady DJ,
Yes, is the guy still alive?Anyone remembers Paul Cheong?
Wow... Champs lah u.Bhai,
You are 1 min ahead of me pressing "post reply".
Dey Brother Muthu. Long time no see. You and me probably queue up together last time to enter Zouk. LOL. Late 90s until mid 2000s were great times to be in Zouk especially when smoking still allowed inside. Nowadays I mellow down on my music taste. Jazz and some symphony music,Do we know in each other in real life?
Phuture was launched in 1997-1998, one of my best time in zouk. BIG BEAT.
Lush 99.5 was also best with X'HO. indie folks, down tempo...
He might have been the one you punched before... Fights were common at Zouk those days.Dey Brother Muthu. Long time no see. You and me probably queue up together last time to enter Zouk. LOL. Late 90s until mid 2000s were great times to be in Zouk especially when smoking still allowed inside. Nowadays I mellow down on my music taste. Jazz and some symphony music,
Ha ha no lah I well behaved when clubbing. Yeah fights common at Zouk. My Mat security friend working there would always bring me to the back of the car park for some smoke and chit chat. Ambulance and police would always be called at regular intervals. I remember one girl coming out from the back with a big lump on her forehead crying. Ambulance medics attended to her. Boyfriend was pulled to one side by the bouncers as they wait for the police. Apparently the girl was smoking with another guy inside when the jealous boyfriend saw and punched her.He might have been the one you punched before... Fights were common at Zouk those days.
Used to hate Zouk for being too commercialised until it became the only place that hosted my favourite international DJs. Local venues are just too expensive and the CNB was always watching over the scene I guess. There's simply nothing like going for an outdoor rave in early spring .. with good friends high on alphabets and good DJs playing until sunrise. My best memories of my early 20sHa ha no lah I well behaved when clubbing. Yeah fights common at Zouk. My Mat security friend working there would always bring me to the back of the car park for some smoke and chit chat. Ambulance and police would always be called at regular intervals. I remember one girl coming out from the back with a big lump on her forehead crying. Ambulance medics attended to her. Boyfriend was pulled to one side by the bouncers as they wait for the police. Apparently the girl was smoking with another guy inside when the jealous boyfriend saw and punched her.
Ya, he started out in the hotel scene (hi-lite / the lobby lounge at oberoi imperial amongst others) and was quite an sought-after mc, around the time when joe chandran & experiments, jerry fernandes & neu faces, derrick & the thunderbirds, alban & tania at pebble bar, louis tan trio, peyton place etc were top entertainers / scene at that time.Wow... Champs lah u.
Find that this Paul Cheong is a good compere..
I remember the Peppermint at the top of Parkway ParadeAnyone remembers this mall "The Promenade" in the middle of Orchard rd where there was this cool discotheque @The top floor?
It's called "Key West" apparently....Anyone remembers this mall "The Promenade" in the middle of Orchard rd where there was this cool discotheque @The top floor?
Oh ya, the Pinoy bands were good..I remember the Peppermint at the top of Parkway Parade
Back then through another fellow clubber, we get to know this Mat chap. We called him Mat Ganja. Mat Ganja was then in his late 30s. He the one who used to sell weedt to some of the Zouk clubbers. He would always sit at Zion Road hawker centre from 9 pm until midnight. We would meet him there before entering Zouk. We would buy the already rolled up joints and hid it in our socks. Last heard Mat Ganja sadly up lorry when he was involved in a fatal bike crash in Lombok Indonesia some 7 years back.Used to hate Zouk for being too commercialised until it became the only place that hosted my favourite international DJs. Local venues are just too expensive and the CNB was always watching over the scene I guess. There's simply nothing like going for an outdoor rave in early spring .. with good friends high on alphabets and good DJs playing until sunrise. My best memories of my early 20s
Ironically ganja is more dangerous to use in sg because of the unique smell and it's fat soluble so it remains detectable in the body for months.Back then through another fellow clubber, we get to know this Mat chap. We called him Mat Ganja. Mat Ganja was then in his late 30s. He the one who used to sell weedt to some of the Zouk clubbers. He would always sit at Zion Road hawker centre from 9 pm until midnight. We would meet him there before entering Zouk. We would buy the already rolled up joints and hid it in our socks. Last heard Mat Ganja sadly up lorry when he was involved in a fatal bike crash in Lombok Indonesia some 7 years back.
Tan Swee Leong too. Passed away one or two years ago.Bhai,
Your uncle should have heard of Larry Lai and Eric (not sure if surname is Lim).
Ah, those perpetual star lit nights!I remember the Peppermint at the top of Parkway Parade
most financially important decision for sinkie boomers is to buy gcb at $6.9m in the 70s/80s and sell for $69m now. around $63.69m profit with no capital gains tax.I always envy the uncles who were born in the late 60s. Besides graduating into the most prosperous and innovative 90s era you also lived through the golden age of local indie rock ..
X Ho and many other local bands like Humpback Oak, Opposition Party, Lilac Saints, Oddfellows etc were making waves. Also had your own zine BigO. Too bad all died off by the time I was old enough to go out.
In addition, I aslo remember the Mambo Jambo q can go all the way to the back carpark on Wed night. Sibeh classic.Dey Brother Muthu. Long time no see. You and me probably queue up together last time to enter Zouk. LOL. Late 90s until mid 2000s were great times to be in Zouk especially when smoking still allowed inside. Nowadays I mellow down on my music taste. Jazz and some symphony music,