• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Race a Taboo Subject? Lets discuss.

why i lurk around expat forum ? u think i SPG ar ? no, i want to see if there are conflicts due to culture clash betw ourselves & ppl from other countries ...

expat forum is quite peaceful these days, but in the past, there were lots of exchanges that went like this - (quite entertaining though) ...

western expat - i don't like to be called 'angmo' ...

local (presumably chinese) - its ok, harmless, angmo means 'red hair'

[actually angmo means 'red devil' as in manchester united, but alot of locals don't know this either]

western expat - still i don't like to be called by my physical characteristics, do u like to be called 'slant eye' ? ...

local - slant eye ? u r so rude ! angmo is nothing offensive, it means red hair, said with affection sometimes ...

western expat - stop calling me that ! stop highlighting race, oh u (chinese) are so racist ...

local - u r the ones who are racist and act superior, go to changi airport and take the first plane out ...

western expat - u have no right to tell me to leave ...

... and so on and so forth until board admin comes in to blow the whistle ...

sometimes its good to know what other races think of us local chinese ... ;)

You are fat, lah. Mat Sallehs are too sensitive and stupid. The Japs call them gaijin (when it should be gaikokujin), and the Hongkies call them kweilo (foreign devils).

Sure, if they don't like angmo then we'd affectionately call them kweilo, or yang gui, or yang gui zi like the mainstream Chinese. Not a problem.

Hello SGMalay

I appreciate your postings. We need more non-Sinkie Chinese to express their views in order to have better communication.

I can't say I agree with you completely; nor do I disagree with you largely.

With regards to employment issues, I think Chinese have a slavish mentality to work. This makes them more hardworking than any race on earth.

I don't personally like the Chinese attitude. And I think many angmohs in angmoh countries are also very worried. Chinese are willing to work like energizer bunnies for very little pay. Anytime a Chinese becomes a boss (or gets to rule the country, e.g. Singapore or HK), the Chinese boss starts exploiting his workers and forcing everyone to work super long hours.

I have been hearing many Sinkie Chinese employers complain that Sinkies, especially Malays, are not 100% commited to their work.

But why should anyone be 100% committed? Do you work for a living, or live to work? With Chinese, I regret to say that too many Live to Work.

Malays also have a problem with their famous 'narrow communalism' as Mahathir put it.

Being concerned about the Community is a good thing. Being too concerned is not. Many Malays, especially those in lower level occupations, take too much time off work to visit relatives in hospitals or attend communal events. They spend too much time with their extended families and their community, especially in religious events, without realizing that the world does not owe them a living.

Hossay was expressing a prejudice that many Chinese employers have against Malays. I don't agree with him, but I am sorry to tell you that too many Chinese rely on the cheap labour, Lim Sway Sway model. They would go bankrupt if they didn't act like slavedrivers.

In personal experience I have found Malays (local Muslims as well as Filipinos) in service occupations very good. They tend to be more polite, patient, and service oriented. Indians are a mixed bag; Chinese tend to be more brusque and impolite.

My positive view of Malays in service occupations ranges from the lowly paid, such as waiters, to the middle paid like nurses, to the highly paid such as architects. So my positive view applies to the whole Malay community.

Malays actually have good cultural strengths. I think it makes them better architects and accountants. Unfortunately Service Orientation doesn't get rewarded in our economy, which is focused on the idiotic PAP-MIW-LimSwaySway faster-cheaper model.

As long as our economy continues trying to compete with cheap labour China, the Chinese way of business will prevail. The Malays will suffer. If we switched to a more relaxed, more high end, Switzerland-like services oriented economy, I think Malays will do better.

I have re-read most of your posting, your honesty is questionable.

I commented accordingly to what "Hossay" has posted.
By citing another example, it does not mean to create diversion.

It is about trust from one race to many.

If you dislike, you can choose to turn-off this thread or any other means, while I have to put a aside for others to debate or take side with you.

Thank you for your interest.

Hello SGMalay

I appreciate your postings. We need more non-Sinkie Chinese to express their views in order to have better communication.

With regards to employment issues, I think Chinese have a slavish mentality to work. This makes them more hardworking than any race on earth.

I don't personally like the Chinese attitude. And I think many angmohs in angmoh countries are also very worried. Chinese are willing to work like energizer bunnies for very little pay. Anytime a Chinese becomes a boss (or gets to rule the country, e.g. Singapore or HK), the Chinese boss starts exploiting his workers and forcing everyone to work super long hours.

I have been hearing many Sinkie Chinese employers complain that Sinkies, especially Malays, are not 100% commited to their work.

But why should anyone be 100% committed? Do you work for a living, or live to work? With Chinese, I regret to say that too many Live to Work.

Malays also have a problem with their famous 'narrow communalism' as Mahathir put it.

Being concerned about the Community is a good thing. Being too concerned is not. Many Malays, especially those in lower level occupations, take too much time off work to visit relatives in hospitals or attend communal events. They spend too much time with their extended families and their community, especially in religious events, without realizing that the world does not owe them a living.

Hossay was expressing a prejudice that many Chinese employers have against Malays. I don't agree with him, but I am sorry to tell you that too many Chinese rely on the cheap labour, Lim Sway Sway model. They would go bankrupt if they didn't act like slavedrivers.

In personal experience I have found Malays (local Muslims as well as Filipinos) in service occupations very good. They tend to be more polite, patient, and service oriented. Indians are a mixed bag; Chinese tend to be more brusque and impolite.

My positive view of Malays in service occupations ranges from the low, such as waiters, to the middle like nurses, to the high such as architects.

Malays actually have good cultural strengths. I think it makes them better architects and accountants. Unfortunately Service Orientation doesn't get rewarded in our economy, which is focused on the idiotic PAP-MIW-LimSwaySway faster-cheaper model.

As long as our economy continues trying to compete with cheap labour China, the Chinese way of business will prevail. The Malays will suffer. If we switched to a more relaxed, more high end, Switzerland-like services oriented economy, I think Malays will do better.

This is a more balanced view point. Good and bad points from every race.

It's strange that now the chinese propensity to work like energiser bunnies are actually frowned upon.

I understand your sentiments. I'm chinese and i hate working 100%. My life consists of more than my work.

I would assume u to be chinese. That's one point i have been harping all along. Chinese are willing to self critique. They can take their own strengths and see them as weaknesses.

The only way to resolve this ambicably is for both sides to clap. Both hands have to clap not just 1. The day i see a at least 1 malay accepting both sides of the story rather than simply pointing fingers will finally be that day, then hopefully more will follow.

To clear your doubt, like many malay, I was in the Police force for 2 1/2 years and until today I am still serving for reservist duty, and this is how I know cases like Criminal Breach of trust are commonly committed by the capable mostly singaporean chinese but there are small numbers committed by malaysian chinese.

Straits times is another media release for public to know that government take seriously for offenders like this.

Count yourself lucky chinese still clean from criminal record.

Do stay away and be good citizen.

Okay i'll take your word for it.

Btw what is the next sentence supposed to mean count myself lucky chinese still clean from the record?

You mean i should be lucky that chinese still do not really commit crimes? 2 parts here. Firstly since chinese are still clean from the record i guess you mean most crimes are not comitted by chinese correct? Mostly by malays? Is this a self admission? Secondly what do you mean count myself lucky? Why should i count myself lucky? If another chinese commits a crime what does it have to do with me? The way you put it is like all the chinese are a single entity if one commits a crime the entire community is at fault.

What do u mean stay away and be a good citizen? I have never been a bad one btw. :mad:

so stop comparing races unless u reveal what's behind the agenda of this thread.

Fei zai,

You are very chim man. Even we, who hate politics and the garbage electorate, also suspect some sort of an agenda behind this seemingly-innocent classroom discussion.

But of course, this insidious dog would not tell us what his agenda is, let alone directly. Let's just enjoy watching this martyr-c omedian and his followers perform the show for us. ;)

The Chinese example is the same as the Japanese.

Hello SGMalay

>> I accept neutral views rather than taking side aimlessly.

>> Lets say chinese are extremely hardworking, the question, do other races must follow to that extreme?

>> I've worked with chinese by leadership, in my experience, chinese good at giving instruction but not working as a team. Whenever non chinese makes small mistake or slower, chinese often critics rather than showing us best possible way to execute our work efficiently. but however, if it is opposite, they tend to help each other and/or cover up what is left undone.

In the meeting room, non-chinese opinion was taken as doesn't really matter but to chinese, they will take seriously with their opinion/feedback.

This is why majority of malays dislike about chinese who very commading instead of working as a team.

Non-chinese felt like a slave, rather than being treated as human being.

For that reason, I begin to try out with company that lead by the whites. I am happy to work for the whites who takes his employee seriously regardless of their position. What matter most is, objectives and goals to succeed.

>> I can't agree fully, but I do admit that they are some malay who tend to be lazy in the work place, likewise for chinese, they also have the lazy one but smarter than the malays. The moment the boss or supervisor is not around, they would take advantage either to work slower (taking own sweet times) or doing non-related work.

>> This is the point, whatever chinese are doing, they expect others to follow. It is as good as, if chinese to commit suicide, non-chinese should follow as well.

>> Yes, indeed you are right, but bear in mind, it is not all malays are the same just like chinese too. Otherwise, you would see less malay working in the government sector.

>> This is very unfortunate for the malays working with chinese, in my observation, chinese tend to watch closely towards the malay, instead of looking/treating all races as one. This is very disappointing, one sded observation i must say.

>> I beg to differ, perhaps you may have overlooked "Hossay" posting. Perhaps we can discuss this later when you have clearer picture in his posting.

>> There are some chinese who are as nice and polite, I've spoken a few and very pleasant to speak with chinese customer service so far.

My positive view of Malays in service occupations ranges from the lowly paid, such as waiters, to the middle paid like nurses, to the highly paid such as architects. So my positive view applies to the whole Malay community.

>> Thank you for your honest feeback, while I must admit, malay can be as good if they are coach properly, but in sales which I still find that malay have long way to learn from chinese.

If given oppotunity, surely malay would love to learn from the chinese but the question, how can the malay achieve without chinese sincerity?

>> The malays have already pushing their limits to work our way up, often we were depress from chinese. we know the chinese will feel threaten if other race to be in the same league as them.

My wish has always been this, if all races can come together to work out best for our living and home (Singapore) and to prepare for our future next generation to take over from us, by eliminating favoritism and discrimination act, we can change our history for better and our future generation can learn from our history to keep racial harmony and peace regardless how government trying to monopoly our one singaporean strength.

Last but not least, we should join stength to stength to avoid from individual influence who are determine to break up our peace and believes towards other races.

As the matter of fact and sorry to say, chinese is the race started discrimination. but the question is, how many chinese can change?

Lets not compare with Malaysia, this is singapore problem, nothing to do with malaysia. in fact, I'm not very pleased with their approach towards the minority.

If we singaporean can lead by example, we can embarras them with our success.
If this can happen, take my words, Singapore will not just belongs to the Malay. It is belong to you and me, and to every birth right singaporeans ragardless of their skin colors.

Thank you.

Thanks for your contribtuion bro. Very matured and thoughtful observations.

Hello SGMalay

Comparison with Malaysia cannot be avoided. Too many relatives, friends, mates on both sides. It will always be used.

However do agree with the rest of comments on striving in Singapore and using it as a model.

Lets not compare with Malaysia, this is singapore problem, nothing to do with malaysia. in fact, I'm not very pleased with their approach towards the minority.

If we singaporean can lead by example, we can embarras them with our success.
If this can happen, take my words, Singapore will not just belongs to the Malay. It is belong to you and me, and to every birth right singaporeans ragardless of their skin colors.

Thank you.
[/B]

Indians - my views

I tend to see Indians as 2 distinct groups and I am not talking about new FT Indians. There is well educated, usually professionals in the first group and with a significant gap the rest fall in another group. Typically Sri Lankans and the those from Kerala tend to dominate the top group. It might reflect that they were a minority within a sub-group and therefore had to work hard than the rest. They filled the perm sec, head of depts in Hospitals, Lawyers in the past etc.

The second group however seem to struggle to rise above their station.

I am told that the Indian society tends to be fatalistic - assuming fate will decide their future. The word aspiration seem to be non-existent for the second group. They are also drawn to govt and the civil service and generally struggle in business. More interestingly as a communal group they are not into politics or as some people tend to point out that cooperation and consensus is something that is not part of the Indian pysche. Its common knowledge that Sinda is essentially a govt initiative and continues on the basis of volunteers invited to do something for their people. There is no drive or passion similar to that seen of leaders in the Chinese, Malay and even the Eurasian self groups. I get the impression that the Sinda directos and leaders is asked to transform the Singapore Zoo, will approach with the same passion and regiour that they do for Sinda as another National project. Divisions tend to dominate within the Indians. Interestingly Indians as individuals tend to be better in their vocations and where they engage in politics, they carry weight.

Some notable traits of Indians is the use of racial discrimination to satisfy failure in their vocation etc. I have no doubt that racial discrimination do exist and like any other society, the majority will always write the rules and interpret it their way. However the constant mention of colour bar when one does not meet basic merits can be a self serving prophersy. They should shake this off and strive harder.

Note the above reflects on the predominantly South Indians who became Singaporeans decades ago.

I used to be a Race Queen but now age and weight catch up so no more...

If you think singaporean still wants to be compare with malaysian, the more the reason the rights of malay must be honour in accordance with UN constitutional agreement.

I choose not to compare with our neigbour for good, they have their own problem and so we are.

Like I've said many times, we malay knows what is our right but we never even want to demand to be serve within.

We, as the native malay is only asking fair oportunity (job) among with other races, especially with the chinese, we also willing to accept (so not to cause too much unpleasant) if it may not be equal.

but dont disaggregate us with the chinese counter-part to that extreme.

We are human being too.

Comparison with Malaysia cannot be avoided. Too many relatives, friends, mates on both sides. It will always be used.

However do agree with the rest of comments on striving in Singapore and using it as a model.

As the matter of fact and sorry to say, chinese is the race started discrimination. but the question is, how many chinese can change?

As a matter of fact no one race is free from the crime of racial discrimination. Just because you have had a number of bad brushes with some Chinese does not mean every Chinese is such.

Just as there are a few nut jobs who support JI, does that mean every Malay is secretly supportive?

The best way to deal with racism is targeting the person and not the race he belongs to.

Yes, you are right, pardon me if you have misunderstood in my messages.

Obviously, I did not mean all Chinese are bad, I have a few great and good Chinese friends for decades, and they are the only Chinese people whom I keep good ties even though some are far apart from Singapore.

Sadly, company Human Resources mostly made of Chinese race, and often practice job opportunity discrimination.

As far as my Face book counts, there are more than 200 Malays affected with job discrimination (before foreign job invasion takes place this year)

If I am the only one, then there's really something is wrong with my brain.

As a matter of fact no one race is free from the crime of racial discrimination. Just because you have had a number of bad brushes with some Chinese does not mean every Chinese is such.

Just as there are a few nut jobs who support JI, does that mean every Malay is secretly supportive?

The best way to deal with racism is targeting the person and not the race he belongs to.

If you think singaporean still wants to be compare with malaysian, the more the reason the rights of malay must be honour in accordance with UN constitutional agreement.

I choose not to compare with our neigbour for good, they have their own problem and so we are.

Like I've said many times, we malay knows what is our right but we never even want to demand to be serve within.

We, as the native malay is only asking fair oportunity (job) among with other races, especially with the chinese, we also willing to accept (so not to cause too much unpleasant) if it may not be equal.

but dont disaggregate us with the chinese counter-part to that extreme.

We are human being too.

What makes you think there's no equal opportunities? Are you willing to work? Remember your earlier post where u stated if there was another way for chinese not to work so hard? You want us to slow down to allow you to catch up correct?

This should be like the US. Do u know in the US many military tests are dumped down to allow more blacks to join? In many public schools they slow down the teaching curriculum to allow blacks to catch up and of course the whites and everyone else cannot improve.

Yes, you are right, pardon me if you have misunderstood in my messages.

Obviously, I did not mean all Chinese are bad, I have a few great and good Chinese friends for decades, and they are the only Chinese people whom I keep good ties even though some are far apart from Singapore.

Sadly, company Human Resources mostly made of Chinese race, and often practice job opportunity discrimination.

As far as my Face book counts, there are more than 200 Malays affected with job discrimination (before foreign job invasion takes place this year)

If I am the only one, then there's really something is wrong with my brain.

Glad to hear that.

Actually Human Resources these days are pretty much useless. They don't do much only shuffle papers. The actual hirers are the dept heads so blame them.

Personally I think the real reason why sometimes Malays are discriminated against may be due to religion (the time-off for friday prayers, I believe most companies practice is 1 hour).

Hello SGMalay

I appreciate your reply at “Yesterday, 07:06 PM”. Although I don’t understand how come part of it is quoted inside and part is quoted outside. Apologies if I have mistakenly assumed you replied to my “Yesterday, 05:12 PM” post by writing inside the quoted area as well as outside.

You said:>> Lets say chinese are extremely hardworking, the question, do other races must follow to that extreme?

I agree: cultures are all different and people have different values. Chinese, Korean and Japanese work ethics are similar. People work like energizer bunnies. Malays are closer to Filipino.

I would not be happy if the whole planet converted to Chinese or Japanese work ethics. Everybody would be dying of karoshi (Japanese for Death From Overwork).

You said: >> I've worked with chinese by leadership, in my experience, chinese good at giving instruction but not working as a team. Whenever non chinese makes small mistake or slower, chinese often critics rather than showing us best possible way to execute our work efficiently. but however, if it is opposite, they tend to help each other and/or cover up what is left undone.
[COLOR="_______"]
I reply: that kind of employment situation is prejudiced. I’ve experienced the same thing from Ang Mohs. It is not a good employment environment. Fortunately, the more prejudiced a workplace is, the less it can succeed as a Team. You’re right to point out ‘not working as a team’. If teammates are not treated as equal, it will affect morale and teamwork.

Eventually talented people will flow to other teams or employers where they are treated with respect. In this globalized world, racists will lose out. Malaysia is having a big talent drain because Chinese, Indians and liberal Malays are not happy with racist Malays. Singapore has already lost a number of Malay intellectuals who teach abroad, e.g. in Australian universities, because they feel they cannot succeed in Singapore. I also know that many Malay accountants or finance industry people prefer to work for MNC or international employers. They don’t get treated well by old-school conservative Chinese with prejudices, so they head for better firms!

You said: In the meeting room, non-chinese opinion was taken as doesn't really matter but to chinese, they will take seriously with their opinion/feedback.

This is why majority of malays dislike about chinese who very commading instead of working as a team.

Non-chinese felt like a slave.

I reply: Fortunately not all Chinese will be commanding slave owners. Those racist, frog in well Sinkie Chinese have obviously not worked abroad and haven’t received the same treatment that Chinese and Koreans get in Ang Moh lands. Oh yes, Asians in general are treated like slaves by many Ang Mohs. They expect us to be submissive. Fortunately again, the best Ang Moh workplaces, the most open and multicultural companies, are not like this.

You said: >> This is the point, whatever chinese are doing, they expect others to follow. It is as good as, if chinese to commit suicide, non-chinese should follow as well.

I reply: hahaha! Well said! I have always disagreed with Chinese conformist attitudes. Most people would not like working for Chinese, Koreans or Japanese. These are extremely stifling, conformist companies.

We should DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN RACE AND CULTURE here. Race is linked to culture, but not exactly the same. Nobody can help his race, but everybody can refrain from exercising their culture in an oppressive way.

I know many educated Malaysian Malays feel oppressed at the hijab being worn everywhere. How do non-Muslims feel? Even more oppressed. Similarly, Chinese or East Asian conformism can be oppressive to independent minded Chinese. It is obviously even more oppressive to non-Chinese.

Cosmopolitan-minded Malays no longer exercise the worst aspects of Malay culture. Similarly, I think you would have less problem with an internationally minded Chinese race employer who doesn’t show the negative things about Chinese culture.

You said: >> I beg to differ, perhaps you may have overlooked "Hossay" posting. Perhaps we can discuss this later when you have clearer picture in his posting.

My reply: I now realize that Hossay made several posts and there are actually 2 threads about race.

You said: >> Thank you for your honest feeback, while I must admit, malay can be as good if they are coach properly, but in sales which I still find that malay have long way to learn from chinese.

If given oppotunity, surely malay would love to learn from the chinese but the question, how can the malay achieve without chinese sincerity?

My reply: Regretably, sincerity is a Personal Thing. You will have the chance to learn a lot if your employer is good. You will learn nothing if your employer is bad. I have known people who treated their Indonesian maids like shit. I have also known people who taught their Indonesian maids more in 2-4 years than their Indonesian maids had ever learnt in their entire lives in Indonesia.

I’m afraid a line like ‘how can the malay achieve without chinese sincerity’ groups people into two separate races. Actually sincerity has nothing to do with race. It’s like wondering ‘how can PRC China achieve without USA sincerity’.

You said: >> The malays have already pushing their limits to work our way up, often we were depress from chinese. we know the chinese will feel threaten if other race to be in the same league as them.

My reply: feeling threatened if other races were equal is a backwards, racist way of thinking. Ang mohs think like that all the time, that’s why they hate to have us Asians rise up. China only has 1/10 the per capita income of USA, and already Americans tak boleh tahan.

These feelings vary from person to person. I don’t personally care if a lot of Malays were richer than me. I would care, however, if these Malays started invoking religion everywhere.

You said: My wish has always been this, if all races can come together to work out best for our living and home (Singapore) and to prepare for our future next generation to take over from us, by eliminating favoritism and discrimination act, we can change our history for better and our future generation can learn from our history to keep racial harmony and peace regardless how government trying to monopoly our one singaporean strength.

I say: Our country is owned by one family. It isn’t our home. It is a slave factory for PAP and MIW, which practices favoritism and discrimination for their race, the Orang Putih. As long as they remain in power, we have no control over our history. We won’t even have a next generation, since we can’t afford to get married and get a house. PAP will keep importing low wage labour to replace us, so our kids have no future. We imported 1.5 million foreigners in 10 years. We will be majority PRC in one generation.

Oh yes, FamiLEE likes that. They love Energizer Bunnies to do all the work without complaint or saying ‘this is our land’. But we will all suffer.

You said: As the matter of fact and sorry to say, chinese is the race started discrimination. but the question is, how many chinese can change?

I say: I am not optimistic. Although we were evolving towards a single nation in the 1980s and 1990s, some negative trends have occurred that cannot be easily reversed. Malays are becoming Islamicized and Arabized like Muslims everywhere. They are isolating themselves from other races and becoming focused on Islamic ways of thinking. They are closing their minds to other races. They are even eliminating the older, Hindu-Buddhist-indigenous Malay traditions if these are seen as un-Islamic. How many Malays wear sarong kebaya versus how many wear Arab clothes? How many watch wayang versus how many watch Arabic programs?

At the same time China has become the prime mover of the global economy. Chinese are starting to see China as the center of the world again. They are becoming less sensitive to other cultures, less respectful, less understanding. They are starting to see China as the start and end of everything, and anything outside China as dirty, uncivilized, backwards, and so on. In the past at least some people studied Malay because they respected our need to live in a Malay area. Now everybody wants Mandarin because they see us as an extension of China. But we are Singapore, Singapura, not Special Administrative Region of Xinjiabo!

Malay terrorists were unknown before 1990. Today we can take it for granted that at least a few hundred Singapore Malays will happily blow up Changi Airport and massacre non-Muslims.

PRCs assimilated into local Chinese before 1990. Now there are so many PRCs that they will never assimilate. They will expect you to follow their culture. You can’t even call a PRC woman ‘Miss’ (Xiaojie) because ‘Miss’ is communist slang for prostitute. SGMalay, I warn you, the negative things about Singapore Chinese are multiplied 100x in PRCs. A PRC dominated country will be totally rude, obnoxious, chauvinistic and insensitive towards Malays. They will treat you even more like a slave. They will want you to conform even more. We are heading for trouble.

We have the worst leadership, the lousiest political system in the developed world. We are coming up against two of the great trends defining our generation – Islamic Chauvinism and the rise of China. If this goes on, Singapore will eventually split apart.[/COLOR]