• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PUB: We are "investigating" the Water Splashing Festival now

kojakbt

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30773.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>latest reply from PUB...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

from Kathleen LEE <[email protected]> hide details 9:05 am (2 hours ago)
to: BT Kojak <[email protected]>
cc: PUB QSM <[email protected]>
date: Mar 29, 2010 9:05 AM
subject: Fw: Enquiry on Public Utilities Act (Chapter 261) - Request for views"water splashing" in public places

Dear Sir/Madam

I refer to your email dated 24 Mar 10 which was forwarded to PUB by Attorney-General's Chambers on 25 Mar 10.

2 We note your concern regarding the "water splashing" festival organised by Bukit Batok Grassroots Organisation.

3 We are currently looking into the matter.

4 Please feel free to contact me at Telephone No. 67313929 if you have any queries or require any clarification or assistance.

Thank you and best regards.

KATHLEEN LEE
ENGINEER (WATER DEMAND MANAGEMENT)
for DIRECTOR
WATER SUPPLY (NETWORK) DEPARTMENT
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30773.2 in reply to 30773.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>From: BT Kojak <[email protected]>
Date: Mar 25, 2010 6:23 PM
Subject: Re: Enquiry on Public Utilities Act (Chapter 261)
To:
[email protected]

To: PUB,

Dear Sir,

I've been referred to you by the Attorney-General's Chambers (see email below).

I am enquiring if the "water splashing" festival for foreigners organized by Bt Batok grassroots ([URL="http://bukitbatok.sg/node/45"]http://bukitbatok.sg/node/45[/URL])<!--<WBR />--> infringes on the Public Utilities Act (Cap 261), Section 50(1)(b)?

On the Bt Batok grassroot website, it is stated:

"Come celebrate it at Bukit Batok! Have fun! Have a splashing time! When someone splashes water on you at the festival, your troubles will be washed away and you will have good luck through the year!"

It is noted that Dr Yaacob is also against wasting water in Singapore (ie, using water for entertainment or fun). Dr Yaacob said (reported on CNA on 21 Mar 2010): “Singaporeans’ response to the dry spell last month was to use even more water. This is certainly not desirable should Singapore experience a prolonged dry spell. It is therefore timely to remind ourselves of the need to use water wisely.”

The Public Utilities Act (Cap 261), Section 50(1)(b) states:

PUBLIC UTILITIES ACT
(CHAPTER 261
)

Unauthorised connection with main, contamination, wastage, etc.

50.(1) Any person who —

(a) lays or causes to be laid any pipe or line to communicate with any main, pipe, standpipe, hydrant or line belonging to or under the management or control of the Board without the consent of the Board;

(b) wastes any water;

(c) causes contamination to water supplied by the Board; or

(d) wilfully does any act which interferes with or disrupts the supply of the water of the Board,

shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $50,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 3 years or to both and, in the case of a continuing offence, to a further fine not exceeding $1,000 for every day or part thereof during which the offence continues after conviction.
I guess if PUB doesn't mind Bt Batok grassroots organizing the "water splashing" festival for foreigners, likewise you wouldn't mind Singaporeans splashing water among ourselves in public places all for the "fun" of it in future?

I would like to hear your official view on this matter. Thank you.

Best rgds

Kojakbt

---------- Forwarded message ----------
[email protected]>
Date: Mar 25, 2010 4:27 PM

Subject: Re: Enquiry on Public Utilities Act (Chapter 261)
To:
[email protected]

Dear Sir / Mdm,

We refer to your email dated 24 March 2010.

2 We regret to inform you that we are unable to assist. The Attorney-General's Chambers are the legal advisers to the government and, as such, cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. However, you may wish to refer the matter to the Public Utilities Board (PUB). They are contactable at Tel: 1800-738 3656 . E-mail:
[email protected]. Website: [URL="http://www.pub.gov.sg/"]http://www.pub.gov.sg[/URL].

Best Regards

Quality Service Manager
Attorney-General's Chambers

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30773.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>latest reply from PUB...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

from Kathleen LEE <[email protected]> hide details 9:05 am (2 hours ago)
to: BT Kojak <[email protected]>
cc: PUB QSM <[email protected]>
date: Mar 29, 2010 9:05 AM
subject: Fw: Enquiry on Public Utilities Act (Chapter 261) - Request for views"water splashing" in public places

Dear Sir/Madam

I refer to your email dated 24 Mar 10 which was forwarded to PUB by Attorney-General's Chambers on 25 Mar 10.

2 We note your concern regarding the "water splashing" festival organised by Bukit Batok Grassroots Organisation.

3 We are currently looking into the matter.

4 Please feel free to contact me at Telephone No. 67313929 if you have any queries or require any clarification or assistance.

Thank you and best regards.

KATHLEEN LEE
for DIRECTOR

kojak

an engineer has replied to ur email

not even a manager bothers to give a shit abt ur complaint..

the heavenly scholars are sitting in their mercs and counting big bucks again

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30773.4 in reply to 30773.2 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE width="100%"><TBODY><TR vAlign=top><TD width="41%">BT Kojak <[email protected]> 24 Mar, 2010 07:37 PM
<TABLE><TBODY><TR><TD width="55%">
To: Attorney-General’s Chambers ([email protected])

Dear Sir,

It has come to my attention that the Bt Batok grassroot organizations will be organizing some sort of "water splashing" festival for foreigners living in Bt Batok:
[URL="http://bukitbatok.sg/node/45"]http://bukitbatok.sg/node/45[/URL].

It is stated on the website:
Come celebrate it at Bukit Batok! Have fun! Have a splashing time! When someone splashes water on you at the festival, your troubles will be washed away and you will have good luck through the year!

In places like Thailand, Cambodia, Myanmar and Laos, I'm sure they can afford to splash as much water as they want since they have sufficient water resources. But can we say the same for our little island home Singapore?

Furthermore, Dr Yaacob has also said (reported on CNA on 21 Mar 2010): “Singaporeans’ response to the dry spell last month was to use even more water. This is certainly not desirable should Singapore experience a prolonged dry spell. It is therefore timely to remind ourselves of the need to use water wisely.”

I also noted that there is a law enacted by the parliament against wasting water:

PUBLIC UTILITIES ACT
(CHAPTER 261
)

Unauthorised connection with main, contamination, wastage, etc.

50.(1) Any person who —

(a) lays or causes to be laid any pipe or line to communicate with any main, pipe, standpipe, hydrant or line belonging to or under the management or control of the Board without the consent of the Board;

(b) wastes any water;

(c) causes contamination to water supplied by the Board; or

(d) wilfully does any act which interferes with or disrupts the supply of the water of the Board,

shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $50,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 3 years or to both and, in the case of a continuing offence, to a further fine not exceeding $1,000 for every day or part thereof during which the offence continues after conviction.

Since the AGC is the key upholder of the law in Singapore, I would like to seek your view if such a "water splashing" celebration constitutes an offence under the Public Utilities Act (Cap 261), Section 50(1)(b)?

Yours sincerely,

Kojakbt

kojak

we shall see... bros, help to spread the msg on the net....

If they are alright with Mynamese FT spalshing water in public places for the fun of it, next time, we Singaporeans should be able to do it too... we can always splash water and have fun in front of the Istana...

we shall see... bros, help to spread the msg on the net....

If they are alright with Mynamese FT spalshing water in public places for the fun of it, next time, we Singaporeans should be able to do it too... we can always splash water and have fun in front of the Istana...

Nah they have special treatment for FT
They call it cultural differences

We call it double standards

NS for singaporeans, jobs for FT
water tax for singaporeans, water games for FT

KATHLEEN LEE
for DIRECTOR
reminds me of dat mcdonald silly toys case ...

scapegoat
4 director

What a priceless sentence from the AG Chambers Quality Service manager:-

"...
The Attorney-General's Chambers are the legal advisers to the government and, as such, cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. ..."

LOLL !:oIo:

What a priceless sentence from the AG Chambers Quality Service manager:-

"...
The Attorney-General's Chambers are the legal advisers to the government and, as such, cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. ..."

LOLL !:oIo:
Reply to the AGC Quality Service Manager as follows:

"Members of the public decide who the government should be and as such, will decide who you should provide legal advice to."

"We are currently looking into the matter" sometimes means passing a document around 3 or 4 desks and then filing it.

<TABLE class=mhc cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=fhr><TD class=hn>from <TD class=hp>
smlnopresence.gif
<TD class="hv au">low anna <[email protected]> <TD class="hw h" id=mm><TD align=right> hide details <TD align=right> 2:01 pm (3.5 hours ago) <TR><TD class=cbln><TD class=hn colSpan=2>to <TD class=hp>
available_white1.gif
<TD class="hv hw" colSpan=4>[email protected] <TD class=cbrn> <TR><TD class=cbln><TD class=hn colSpan=2>date <TD class=hp><TD class="hv hw" colSpan=4>Mar 29, 2010 2:01 PM <TD class=cbrn> <TR><TD class=cbln><TD class=hn colSpan=2>subject <TD class=hp><TD class="hv hw" colSpan=4>FW: Bukit Batok grassroots Water Festival <TD class=cbrn> <TR><TD class=cbln><TD class=hn colSpan=2>mailed-by <TD class=hp><TD class="hv hw" colSpan=4>hotmail.com <TD class=cbrn> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=cbln>

<HR>From: [email protected]
To: [email protected]
Subject: Bukit Batok grassroots Water Festival
Date: Mon, 29 Mar 2010 05:53:10 +0000

Hi Kathleen Lee

The ball has been passed to your Organisation, too bad is it?
Please do not practise double standards, one for the ordinary people and the
other for PAP members, else you lose integrity and respect. Wasting precious
water is a crime, whether by citizens or PAP grassroots according to the Water
Act. In the 80s some Thai workers were stopped in their tracks by police when they
celebrated their water festival. What are you going to do this time about this
matter.
As a tax-paying citizen, i resent my tax money being used on unnecessary activities,
and I resent the wastage of water at this period where there is a world drought,
including an unusually dry February this year in Singapore. Otherwise when we are
caught wasting water we would point fingers at your organisation for practising
double standards and bullying ordinary citizens and letting the political elites off
when they do the same.

Anna Low

kojak

1. bro, i share the same sentiment man!
2. one engineer and not even a hod or scholar "investigating" into sheepish resources.
3. btw, what's there to investigate, just say a big NO to splash sheepish waters.
4. period!

kojak

Bro, I happen to know that in PUB, managerial post in technical field are held by senior engineer or above.

By the way, lower post staff in Public Service usually don't get to reply to member of public's query in offical manner.

Just to share..

Na Bei Chee Bye, this is a FUCKING Domestic issue concerning Singaporeans islandwide and that has nothing to do with any technicality. PUB just has to find out if there was indeed any advertisement about this event via RC Notice Board, Flyers, etc and that's it!

If any of u out there did see the event on the notice board or flyers, just snap a pic of it with ur hp and post the pic here!

Kojakbt many of these workers work day and nite to do jobs sinkies dun want to do..just let them have a day of fun pls check with PUB how much water bill they will be using. I will pay for their bill

Kojakbt, it is a good thing that you are raising voice over this issue, and even if there is no action from the governing bodies related to this case; ministry, police, pub, at least this case is on 'file' on the internet (make sure it goes into a blog or something).

And next time double standard happens in an opposition ward and the police come and kajiao kajiao, then there is really something to talk about.

Carry on the good work!

Kojakbt many of these workers work day and nite to do jobs sinkies dun want to do..just let them have a day of fun pls check with PUB how much water bill they will be using. I will pay for their bill

I work day & even night earning a living while we are being made fun of paying for water borne fee in our untility bill, whereas the grasslooters are allowed to organize water splashing festivals for people from another country (ies); wheras i not only have to pay for what they deem that I (we) waste water, but will get fined if we waste water like that.

Will you want to pay for my PUB bill?, the water usage part?:eek:

A crime is a crime, regardless of whether anyone is willing to pay compensation for it, regardless of whether the criminal is very poor.

If I break into your house and steal your money, but next week come back and return your money and pay for damaging your lock, that does not wipe out my crime of burglary.

If you've extra cash, why don't you help the many fellow destitute Sporns out there leeplaced by FTrash?

Na Bei Chee Bye, this is a FUCKING Domestic issue concerning Singaporeans islandwide and that has nothing to do with any technicality. PUB just has to find out if there was indeed any advertisement about this event via RC Notice Board, Flyers, etc and that's it!

If any of u out there did see the event on the notice board or flyers, just snap a pic of it with ur hp and post the pic here!

Which part of Bukit Batok having the event?
This afternoon I went round the Bukit Batok area from Little Guilin to WestMall to Driving Centre but never see any banners or posters promoting the event leh....... have they been taken down? :confused: