• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PUB: Stop Blaming Marina Barrage!

Jul 21, 2010

Barrage 'won't affect Orchard'

<!-- by line -->By Victoria Vaughan
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
ST_16528725.jpg
Suggestions that it was somehow responsible for the flooding along Singapore's premier shopping street recently are off-base, PUB, the national water agency. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN

<!-- story content : start -->
THE Marina Barrage can prevent flooding only in low-lying areas, and not in places such as Orchard Road, which lies above sea level.
So suggestions that it was somehow responsible for the flooding along Singapore's premier shopping street recently are off-base, national water agency PUB said on Tuesday.
Mr Tan Nguan Sen, PUB's director for catchment and waterways, said: 'Orchard Road is very far upstream and 4m or 5m above sea level, and it cannot be affected by the barrage, which prevents the Marina area from being flooded by keeping out the high tide.'
In response to media queries, he explained that the barrage did not affect the way rain drained into the canals, which are built to slope down towards the Marina Reservoir.
Before the barrier was built, low-lying areas such as Little India were more flood-prone when a high tide coincided with heavy rain.
Mr Tan said the barrage did what it was supposed to do very well last Saturday, when Singapore was lashed by a storm and widespread flash flooding occurred over the central and eastern parts of the island. Without the barrage, things would have been much worse, he said, as the storm occurred just as a high tide was receding.
Read the full story in Wednesday's edition of the Straits Times.
<!-- story content : end -->
c.gif

Wah wah ..........

THE Marina Barrage can prevent flooding only in low-lying areas, and not in places such as Orchard Road, which lies above sea level.
So suggestions that it was somehow responsible for the flooding along Singapore's premier shopping street recently are off-base, national water agency PUB said on Tuesday.
Mr Tan Nguan Sen, PUB's director for catchment and waterways, said: 'Orchard Road is very far upstream and 4m or 5m above sea level, and it cannot be affected by the barrage, which prevents the Marina area from being flooded by keeping out the high tide.'

Now PUB play Tai Chi.
Where do they get the ideas. Prevent flood low area not high area?
The canal and river is less than 3km away to Marina barrage reservoir. How can this happen is not because of Marina barrage?

If they don't lower gates or pump water out, the water has to go somewhere, so ended up in Orchard :eek:

I would have believe them if they had not tell us the first flood in Orchard Road was due to choked drain.

"Fool me once and you will never fool me again" - George Bush

Jul 21, 2010

In response to media queries, he explained that the barrage did not affect the way rain drained into the canals, which are built to slope down towards the Marina Reservoir.

These highly paid civil servants must learn to explain better. I can't see from their explanation the connection between Marina Barrage not preventing flood at Orchard Road to Marina Barrage not causing flood at Orchard Road.

Since water from Orchard Road flows into Marina Reservoir and if the reservoir gets overfilled because water is not being released into the open sea, Orchard Road will get flooded won't it?

Not bad mah, the water sport at the barrage can be extended to orchard road. That is a good attraction. can do boat rowing and shopping at the same time. wonderful...

Blame the giant menstural pad on Marina Bay Sands...its not Whisper...bluff people, not super absorbent.:D

Heck, all these while, I had been taught the wrong thing, that water flow from higher plane to lower plane.

This Marina Barrage thingy taught me that water on high ground WILL STAY THERE AND FLOOD THE AREA !

I will need to tell those school book publishers to rewrite the theory.

HELLO MOE AND TEACHERS ! ARE YOU LISTENING ?

Heck, all these while, I had been taught the wrong thing, that water flow from higher plane to lower plane.

This Marina Barrage thingy taught me that water on high ground WILL STAY THERE AND FLOOD THE AREA !

I will need to tell those school book publishers to rewrite the theory.

HELLO MOE AND TEACHERS ! ARE YOU LISTENING ?

Only in SINgapore, they can rewrite the geography books, the HIStory books...the law books for there is no one dare to stop them....lightning will strike you!!;)

....lightning will strike you!!;)

Lightning please don't strike me leh. I only learning from the masters who can create excuses to cover the previous excuses.

BTW, what did the old man said about Marina Barrage when it was launched ? Did he said it will solve all floods, in general, or did he specifically said only solve problem in low lying areas ?

Lightning please don't strike me leh. I only learning from the masters who can create excuses to cover the previous excuses.

BTW, what did the old man said about Marina Barrage when it was launched ? Did he said it will solve all floods, in general, or did he specifically said only solve problem in low lying areas ?

He is the lightning god...he says it solve all floods, 'all the tok tau ku' will say yes! ( nodding turtles).....all the sheep will say, "yes sir!, yes sir!, three bags full....will meet you at the cul de sac...and give you an electrifying experience...:rolleyes:

Either Tan Nguan Sen can't articulate or there is little that he can do. His upstream argument seems diifficult to comprehend.

What was the difference in rainfalll or its intensity
Why is Stamford canal an issue and not the barrage
Why was PUB pleased with the clogged garbage the 1st time
Why the PUB Chief did not address the press on the later occasions.

Spot on. Remember for years, the history books gave the impression that we chose to part with Malaysia as opposed to been kicked out.
Only in SINgapore, they can rewrite the geography books, the HIStory books...the law books for there is no one dare to stop them....lightning will strike you!!;)

I am puzzled as well. His explanations did not help. He might as well have kept quiet. Note the PUB Chief disappeared. After the first flood, the chief was confident that they uncovered the blockage.

These highly paid civil servants must learn to explain better. I can't see from their explanation the connection between Marina Barrage not preventing flood at Orchard Road to Marina Barrage not causing flood at Orchard Road.

Since water from Orchard Road flows into Marina Reservoir and if the reservoir gets overfilled because water is not being released into the open sea, Orchard Road will get flooded won't it?

I am puzzled as well. His explanations did not help. He might as well have kept quiet. Note the PUB Chief disappeared. After the first flood, the chief was confident that they uncovered the blockage.

of course. he is busy collecting his super scale civil servant pay....

Its a trademark of the scholars. They learn early and will never associate themselves with bad news. Very poor leadership skills. Completely disappeared. Now this clown made it worse as he can't explain the situation.

of course. he is busy collecting his super scale civil servant pay....

Its a trademark of the scholars. They learn early and will never associate themselves with bad news. Very poor leadership skills. Completely disappeared. Now this clown made it worse as he can't explain the situation.

Eh, are you predicting Yakult will be gone?

if they say marina barrage will not affect orchard, then it will also be ineffective in preventing flood to orchard..

CCB PAP dun tallk cock. either MB will affect orchard or it will be ineffective to prevent flood in orchard. it cannot be both ways :oIo::oIo:

This info may be of interest to all here. Posted on 3in1kopitiam:

Some good folks in Stomp did us a favor by compiling the flood areas. We can see from the map other than Bedok, all flooded areas are in close vicinity of stamford, rochor, alexandra, geylang and kallang river, the canals/rivers flow towards kallang basin and then to the marine barrage, the MIWs are turning a blind eye to all tell-tale signs.

Example:marine parade is flooded and the nearest river in marine parade is geylang river which goes right into kallang basin and then towards the marine barrage or u guys call it the CHEE BYE.

Map of Flooded Areas

Marina Reservoir and Canal Map