• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PRs face a permanent disadvantage

MarrickG

AS A long-time resident (I first came here in 1981) and a permanent resident since 2001, I read with much interest last Saturday's Insight article, 'Minding the gap between the pink and the blue'.

One key difference that was not mentioned is that the status of a 'permanent resident' is nothing like permanent.

The re-entry permit attached to the status is renewable and each time, it is renewed only for a specific number of years. I am currently on a 10-year PR re-entry permit.

Will it be renewed? I do not know. Many years ago, a friend of mine saw her re-entry permit renewed for one year.

Many of my Singaporean friends are under the impression that being a PR means that one can live and work in Singapore for as long as one likes.

They also think that permanent residents enjoy all the advantages of citizenship without the requisite obligations and commitment. I believe this is pretty much the reason for this wave of public opinion on PRs.

Most Singaporeans seem unaware that a PR may live here for the greater part of his life and give much to the country (as I believe I have), without ever having the certainty of being able to truly stay here 'permanently'.

One might have constructed an entire life but see it crumble because of a sudden change in administrative policy.

The important and decisive difference in permanence between a PR and a citizen should be studied by Singaporeans - and the media - who complain about privileges accorded to permanent residents.

Gilles Massot

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Story/STIStory_447295.html

wow, this guy is really feigning ignorance. The natural step for a SPR is to get citizenship. He has been a PR all this time and yet he doesn't want to get SG citizenship.... why? because he wants to keep his foreign citizenship and balik kampung when the time comes.... If he wants to stay her permanently, he should just get SG citizenship then!

Then construct your life elsewhere, stinking Ang Moh!

Anytime your hairy ass ang moh government likes, they can withdraw a green card or work permit and expel a foreigner. If we apply your own laws to you, confirm you kpkb nonstop.

The moron doesn't even have the right to complain. If they REALLY want to stay here permanently, they should have converted to citizen and not remain as a PR. There is NO EXCUSE for someone who wants to stay here permanently not to convert to citizenship. Difficulty in visiting their former home country is not an excuse, SG passport allows one to travel to most countries without the need of Visa application. So unless the Asshole have plans to go back to his country of birth in the first place which is why they choose to remain PR, they should be converting to citizen, hence they have no rights to complain if our country treat them like they will leave anytime

wow, this guy is really feigning ignorance. The natural step for a SPR is to get citizenship. He has been a PR all this time and yet he doesn't want to get SG citizenship.... why? because he wants to keep his foreign citizenship and balik kampung when the time comes.... If he wants to stay her permanently, he should just get SG citizenship then!

Same with Singaporeans in Australia, Canada and elsewhere.
They get PR, but dont want to take up citizenship in that country.

Taking up citizenship has more to do with several constraints,
extended family ties and so on.

Har? What's his point? Where's the argument?

Why did SPH publish this kind of zero-substance letter? Because the writer is angmo???

Same with Singaporeans in Australia, Canada and elsewhere. They get PR, but dont want to take up citizenship in that country.

Taking up citizenship has more to do with several constraints,
extended family ties and so on.

I do not know of any Sporean who holds a PR in a develop country & not eventually becoming a citizen. Why would they want to do that:confused:

There's so many advantages: able to take out CPF, their kids don't have to do NS,.....

Even if they have extended family ties in Spore there's still a strong reason to go. Once they are settled outside Spore they can sponsor their extended family & help them out of Spore.