Actually they told only the half story. As usual, using stats to twist n turn. Of the 330K, only 142K has been approved while the rest are still pending approval . Of the 142K, NOT all are built ! In fact developers are holding back !
Also, they say IM condos are more than SG, but conveniently omit the fact that more than 70% of Sg are HDB . Total housing is 1.2m if u include HDB. So IM units are still lesser than SG units in totality !
Good point though I'm not sure of the actual details.
Statistics and figures can be easily misquoted but I think there is truth to the oversupply.
I somehow think there is a bigger personal agenda regarding why there is so much emphasis on this by the SG government. Just imagine, Temasek has a big stake in Iskandar. Our billionaire Peter Lim has also pumped in money there. Why would Iskandar be bad in the long term?
I suspect the SG government is just afraid Singaporeans become over-commited, all rush in blindly to buy and lose money. SG government never believes they should take care of their citizens. So if we are in trouble financially, it will implicate them also.
Having said that, I have slowly also begun to realise many don't have that much confidence in the Msia government and that's why the outlook on Iskandar now is very poor. Even the HSR sounds like an impossible dream to achieve. If Iskandar is part of Singapore and wholly controlled by PAP, I tell you it's almost a no-brainer boom town where you can put your last dollar on!
I can't imagine Singapore in 20 years' time, where most of our children (and for some of you, grandchildren) will be adults and get married. What kind of housing in SG do you think they will live in and how much will they cost?
In a short span of time, PAP has already caused small HDB flats to shoot up to easily half a million and now many more bigger flats are hitting the $900k or more limit. Good for sellers. They say HUAT AH! Cos they make money. But have they considered the commoners' kids who need to buy flats of their own? 20 years' time, in land scarce SG, maybe 3-room flat will sell for $800k? Possible I think. By then, that's when Iskandar properties may be more attractive.
But for the next 5 years or more, I think many Iskandar properties will be very jialat in terms of resale value or for investment. Worst case, leave it to your children/grandchildren. Some may think about working in SG and living in Iskandar. But the hassle of traffic and toll to pay to come in and out... Don't think it's worth it for many. To retire there, maybe it's a much better idea.
Personally, if I can let go of mine now, I will! But the loss is not worth it. Bought liao so just see how it goes.