Landed is precious now.
Any good developments to recommend? I saw some cluster houses by KSL but they were joined at the rear to the unit behind, I think flow through ventilation would be bad.
Landed is precious now.
Good link.
A bit surprised Frankfurt is so expensive as far as office is concerned but I am not too sure about the residential properties.
German property laws also blur blur a bit.
In Germany, tenants are king. It is difficult to raise rent due to rent control or chase away errant tenants.
E.g. http://www.citylab.com/housing/2015...rent-control-laws-are-already-working/398087/
In Malaysia, when the your property is being compulsory acquired for public good, like road widening for example, will you be compensated at market rate or based on state valuation.
Recently, I was at Bukit Chagar area, there is this not too old apartment block there with banners sticking out from so many units seeking buyers, wondering if the owners were seeking exit before possible compulsory acquisition for the proposed RTS development.
I'm seeing slight softening in asking prices in Johor, in line with Johor's and Singapore's weakening economy.
The next bubble in next 1-2 years should be the commercial properties follow soon by industrial properties in Johor.
Those who want to buy Johor properties can wait until next year for some firesales. If you are born with a silver spoon and "made" $1 mil before turning 30, Johor is not the place for you. Singapore luxury properties are where you should place your bets.
You might be surprise.. now LIV on wilkie at Singapore District 9 can be selling for 2000 psf versus 15xxpsf at northpark yishun. which do you think will be better buy?
For me i rather buy at District 9 if same price.. when price up, i beleive the price will rise faster..
In my view, if JB is so unsafe, then it is unsafe whether you bought a property here or you are a habitual rental person who wants to enjoy JB without the risks and apparent silliness of buying a property or two here. Robbers and murderers do not have the means to single out those who have invested in JB properties or those who are just on vacation or are renting new condos as a lifestyle. In other words, people who invest in properties in Iskandar are not anymore at risk than those who come here on vacation or day trips or just renting condos to stay. You can be staying here for years and not have an incident or it could be your first trip to JB as well as your last..
My point is, if I get robbed as a tenant in JB I will most probably leave JB without having to carry the baggage that I have to go back and stay in JB as I still have a property there.
I don't agree with this again. Ok in a humble way, not disagreeing for the sake of it.
Having a property in JB clearly means the person (Singaporean) has chosen to live there long term and will move in and out of SG-JB very often, say every day. It's the probability of being robbed that we are talking about. The exposure to something bad happening is naturally higher.
Sure, anyone can be unlucky anywhere. If today, an unlucky person walks under HDB flat and some mad guy at that point in time decides to drop a brick from a high floor and it hits the head, he can die. But we are talking about probability. Yes, it can happen but the likelihood of this happening is low. Why? Because thankfully, mad people who do such things are not so common in SG. There are strict laws for killer litters. And it is not always we walk under HDB flats.
Again, remember, I'm not saying the above can't happen. But it's all about the likelihood of such unfortunate things happening.
As for the comparison of a person renting in JB, I don't see why a Singaporean will want to hang around there for as long as one who has bought a property there. I won't want to rent or stay in JB for more than 2 or 3 days as I have no business there. Maybe go in once or twice a year. So exposure wise, it's less dangerous for me. Not saying nothing bad will happen *touch wood* but it's a lot less in probability.
Ok, robbery aside, for tenants, it's their paradise in Iskandar. Rents are dirt cheap. Probably all the more so when the thousands of condos are ready in 2017/18. As a tenant, if I don't like, I can quit and choose other properties to rent. For investors/landlords, you can't drop everything at the snap of your fingers. You are buying an expensive place to serve these people. You know what's the worst part? When you find you've had enough of losing money from your property, you decide to sell it away but no one wants it no matter how much you reduce in price! You're stuck for good.
But as I've always said, if you have worked out the risks, willing to accept them, or you think the pros outweigh the cons when living in JB or Iskandar, then that's your personal choice. Stick with what you believe in.
What I find amusing is those people who refuse to face the music or admit that there are strong problems with investing in Iskandar residential properties when data is available to prove it. If they can see it, admit it, but yet have convincing reasons to back themselves, I say ok, fine. But to go with the herd mentality blindly, that's dangerous.
Anyway, do read this everyone.
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/t...ut-management-says-cctv-not-working-they-cant
Here's another new case of a Singapore car disappearing in JB yet again. I've lost track how many times we have seen such reports in just the last few months. When you read what the JB authorities tell the frustrated owner of the car, it's even more scary.
Hmmm...from what gather it seems that your point is more a "when I get robbed..." instead of "if I get robbed" in JB.
What if you get robbed in Singapore? Won't happen? Chances of happening is lower? Be that as it may, once it happens the argument from probability vanishes. Probability is just that...you can't rely on a statistic for your own safety. You can't predict what will happen, so what we do is to employ common sense personal safety or security measures, whether we are in Singapore or in JB, or anywhere else for that matter.
You might be surprise.. now LIV on wilkie at Singapore District 9 can be selling for 2000 psf versus 15xxpsf at northpark yishun. which do you think will be better buy?
For me i rather buy at District 9 if same price.. when price up, i beleive the price will rise faster..
I strongly Advise "Kiasu", "Kiasi" & Kia Gui" Singaporeans PLEASE stay in SG better…
Pls dun go to Msia/Jb as Probability says u are gonna get carjacked, robbed etc etc…
Only SG is a such a freak country that is so SAFE at all times…
Msia is just like any other country that has crimes committed everyday.
So Pls dun Go to JB… Will help lessen the JAMs… Kam sia.
Arikato
Hmmm....on the other hand should encourage more to go in...spread out the risk and probability of Singaporeans being mugged or murdered.:p
Singapore's luxury property prices have fallen too hard. There are good bargains now.
There are those who frown upon investing in Iskandar but tout about investing in KL because of higher rental yields, but they probably don't know that KL is more dangerous, statistically speaking. http://www.valuewalk.com/2013/11/malaysia-among-the-most-dangerous-countries/
Another voice here http://www.establishmentpost.com/moving-iskandar/
I won't speak for others, but for me the decision to move to JB was not made with utter disregard for personal or family safety. We have heard of crime stories. That's why we choose to live in guarded and gated communities. We have heard of children being abducted, which is why we stick to our children as close as possible. We have heard of cars being stolen or broken into, which is why we install security tinted windows or use steering wheel locks. In short, we do what we can common-sensically to avoid being a target of criminals or minimise the exposure. Don't give opportunity to those who are just looking for that window. We do what we can, and leave the rest to God.