• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Profits ABOVE NATIONALISM?

Nice-Gook

<style></style>I wonder.What had this crass capitalism had indeed bred.We saw the downfall of communism.Why?Because its leaders managed to squander a noble ideology.That everyone is equal.Though equitable should be the case.Again equitability takes a back seat in pure capitalism.USA is in shit now because it bred greed in the way it advocated capitalism.Though capitalism in not an ignoble ideology per ce.If and only if its moderating factor remains the government in power.Somewhere along the line the government in power strayed.Just as communists.

So what had this to do with sinkie?It has and it is very relevant.Our government started its infancy as socialist.A close cousin of communists.It strayed too.Because power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.That explains how NTUC,a supposedly a non profit organization by the labor for the labor became a profit orientated organization hiring FT.So was the a people's bank POSB swallowed by DBS for pure capitalization.The republic of Singapore became Singapore Inc.And the ministerial pay competing with that of MNC.

Effectively nationalism is sold for profits.That begets the question of NS.Do we have a nationhood now !What say you?

DerekLeung

Excellent brief summary !

Some things, we always forget to do in our busy lifes; observation .

Certain things, we always forget to do after; expressing it .

Everyday, we must always do; to write down that one will remember and others to read .

<style></style>.The republic of Singapore became Singapore Inc.And the ministerial pay competing with that of MNC.

Effectively nationalism is sold for profits.That begets the question of NS.Do we have a nationhood now !What say you?

I believe it is more of PAP Inc than Singapore Inc. If you take away PAP, everything will be back to normal and life would be better. As long as there are PAP shareholders in that company, expect that company to squeeze every drop of blood out of peasant. Don't forget the fundamental, who get the highest paid salary? PAP people. Thus not Singaporean and cannot be Singapore Inc.

popdod

<style></style>I wonder.What had this crass capitalism had indeed bred.
We saw the downfall of communism.Why?Because its leaders managed to squander a noble ideology.
That everyone is equal.
Though equitable should be the case.Again equitability takes a back seat in pure capitalism.

USA is in shit now because it bred greed in the way it advocated capitalism.
Though capitalism in not an ignoble ideology per ce.
If and only if its moderating factor remains the government in power.
Somewhere along the line the government in power strayed.Just as communists

So what had this to do with sinkie?It has and it is very relevant.Our government started its infancy as socialist.
A close cousin of communists.It strayed too.Because power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.
That explains how NTUC,a supposedly a non profit organization by the labor for the labor became a profit orientated organization hiring FT.
So was the a people's bank POSB swallowed by DBS for pure capitalization.
The republic of Singapore became Singapore Inc.And the ministerial pay competing with that of MNC.

Effectively nationalism is sold for profits.That begets the question of NS.
Do we have a nationhood now !What say you?

Self interest is far more important than anything else.
You die is better than i die.

:o :biggrin: :o

Nice-Gook

If you take away PAP, everything will be back to normal and life would be better.

<style></style>Agree to disagree.We are indeed are our own enemy.Why?Simply because we rather let someone else do the dirty job.While we earn our keeps.It is the same all over the world.We rather let politicians rule over lives simply by voting every 5 years.And without fail the politicians screw us and keep themselves in power for the next 5 years.Look around our neighboring countries.Pretty much the same.If PAP is kicked out.How sure are you that the party that fills that vacuum is worse than PAP?

The bottom line is .We should shoulder some responsibility for our own destiny too.

DerekLeung

The bottom line is .We should shoulder some responsibility for our own destiny too.

We should impale the PAP like a beast of burden ! Alive but under our call !

Nice-Gook

We should impale the PAP like a beast of burden ! Alive but under our call !

<style></style>In quantitative term the Bush Jr administration did far more damage to humanity at large than the PAP administration.Yet Bush was neither impeached nor impaled.No! I am not implying no action.Hate only breeds hate....how than do we express our disgust?...Its a question I would like throw to this forum.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

<style></style>I wonder.What had this crass capitalism had indeed bred.We saw the downfall of communism.Why?Because its leaders managed to squander a noble ideology.That everyone is equal.Though equitable should be the case.Again equitability takes a back seat in pure capitalism.USA is in shit now because it bred greed in the way it advocated capitalism.Though capitalism in not an ignoble ideology per ce.If and only if its moderating factor remains the government in power.Somewhere along the line the government in power strayed.Just as communists.

So what had this to do with sinkie?It has and it is very relevant.Our government started its infancy as socialist.A close cousin of communists.It strayed too.Because power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.That explains how NTUC,a supposedly a non profit organization by the labor for the labor became a profit orientated organization hiring FT.So was the a people's bank POSB swallowed by DBS for pure capitalization.The republic of Singapore became Singapore Inc.And the ministerial pay competing with that of MNC.

Yes I'm talking to you.

Nice-Gook

Yes I'm talking to you.

<link rel="File-List" href="file:///C:%5CDOCUME%7E1%5CADMINI%7E1%5CLOCALS%7E1%5CTemp%5Cmsohtml1%5C02%5Cclip_filelist.xml"><link rel="Edit-Time-Data" href="file:///C:%5CDOCUME%7E1%5CADMINI%7E1%5CLOCALS%7E1%5CTemp%5Cmsohtml1%5C02%5Cclip_editdata.mso"><!--[if !mso]> <style> v\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} o\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} w\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} .shape {behavior:url(#default#VML);} </style> <![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:Compatibility> <w:BreakWrappedTables/> <w:SnapToGridInCell/> <w:WrapTextWithPunct/> <w:UseAsianBreakRules/> </w:Compatibility> <w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--><style> <!-- /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} --> </style><!--[if gte mso 10]> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman";} </style> <![endif]--> <so what="" do="" you="" really="" suggest="" for="" your="" country?="">

So why is NOT your country too?

Are you a FT...
<o></o>
[FONT=&quot]<!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shapetype id="_x0000_t75" coordsize="21600,21600" o:spt="75" o:preferrelative="t" path="m@4@5l@4@11@9@11@9@5xe" filled="f" stroked="f"> <v:stroke joinstyle="miter"/> <v:formulas> <v:f eqn="if lineDrawn pixelLineWidth 0"/> <v:f eqn="sum @0 1 0"/> <v:f eqn="sum 0 0 @1"/> <v:f eqn="prod @2 1 2"/> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelWidth"/> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelHeight"/> <v:f eqn="sum @0 0 1"/> <v:f eqn="prod @6 1 2"/> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelWidth"/> <v:f eqn="sum @8 21600 0"/> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelHeight"/> <v:f eqn="sum @10 21600 0"/> </v:formulas> <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"/> <o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"/> </v:shapetype><v:shape id="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" style='width:225pt; height:159pt'> <v:imagedata src="file:///C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtml1\02\clip_image001.png" o:title=""/> </v:shape><![endif]--><!--[if !vml]--><!--[endif]-->[/FONT]
<link rel="File-List" href="file:///C:%5CDOCUME%7E1%5CADMINI%7E1%5CLOCALS%7E1%5CTemp%5Cmsohtml1%5C04%5Cclip_filelist.xml"><link rel="Edit-Time-Data" href="file:///C:%5CDOCUME%7E1%5CADMINI%7E1%5CLOCALS%7E1%5CTemp%5Cmsohtml1%5C04%5Cclip_editdata.mso"><!--[if !mso]> <style> v\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} o\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} w\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} .shape {behavior:url(#default#VML);} </style> <![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:Compatibility> <w:BreakWrappedTables/> <w:SnapToGridInCell/> <w:WrapTextWithPunct/> <w:UseAsianBreakRules/> </w:Compatibility> <w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--><style> <!-- /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} --> </style><!--[if gte mso 10]> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman";} </style> <![endif]-->[FONT=&quot]<!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shapetype id="_x0000_t75" coordsize="21600,21600" o:spt="75" o:preferrelative="t" path="m@4@5l@4@11@9@11@9@5xe" filled="f" stroked="f"> <v:stroke joinstyle="miter"/> <v:formulas> <v:f eqn="if lineDrawn pixelLineWidth 0"/> <v:f eqn="sum @0 1 0"/> <v:f eqn="sum 0 0 @1"/> <v:f eqn="prod @2 1 2"/> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelWidth"/> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelHeight"/> <v:f eqn="sum @0 0 1"/> <v:f eqn="prod @6 1 2"/> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelWidth"/> <v:f eqn="sum @8 21600 0"/> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelHeight"/> <v:f eqn="sum @10 21600 0"/> </v:formulas> <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"/> <o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"/> </v:shapetype><v:shape id="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" style='width:87pt; height:61.5pt'> <v:imagedata src="file:///C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtml1\04\clip_image001.png" o:title=""/> </v:shape><![endif]--><!--[if !vml]--><!--[endif]-->[/FONT]</so>

DearestGodlikeWarlord

Simply put.What is your locus standing on our local issues?

Oh I can see that some of you are clearly upset with every little thing that goes in your country for all the reasons you all imagine and then come up with. I mean, your streets are clean, safe and orderly - no graffiti and all, no strikes, no demonstrations, no social unrest and no civil wars, which is all good.

And I thought your country's leadership is pretty efficient in looking after the people. This forum was introduced to me by some of my friends who, of course, are born and raised in your country. But it seems some segments of your people who form the online community, are discontent and unhappy and blames everyone but themselves for everything that has gone wrong with their lives, is it not so?

So, I want to see if any of you are of any real political caliber to handle things better like you believe you would. You are most free to prove me wrong, of course.

PS I studied political science at Harvard.

Tiu-leh-see-fart

so you see things good in singapore.
And our Ministers deserve colossal salaries .
President keeping the reserves---nearly $400k per month.
The rest of the top dogs about $300 K per month.

So clean streets, no protest, etc......and they deserve it.

You know so much of this island?

NS for sporns, jobs for FTs---you no hear before?

be a singaporean, serve the army, buy the expensive HDB pigeon holes, live here.....and perhaps we can talk deeper .
Now you see the cover, i see the inside, no argument will get us anywhere.

A chinese saying, every family has its own problems. You may see it small.

Oh I can see that some of you are clearly upset with every little thing that goes in your country for all the reasons you all imagine and then come up with. I mean, your streets are clean, safe and orderly - no graffiti and all, no strikes, no demonstrations, no social unrest and no civil wars, which is all good.

And I thought your country's leadership is pretty efficient in looking after the people. This forum was introduced to me by some of my friends who, of course, are born and raised in your country. But it seems some segments of your people who form the online community, are discontent and unhappy and blames everyone but themselves for everything that has gone wrong with their lives, is it not so?

So, I want to see if any of you are of any real political caliber to handle things better like you believe you would. You are most free to prove me wrong, of course.

Nice-Gook

<style></style>By the way you are not too smart in hiding your agenda .Suggest you get back to the very basics-how to spin doctor with finesse....Now,tell me why should a foreigner curb the local freedom of speech?....

Let me educate you.The party that governs this land's position is very simple.Foreigners should keep out of local topics or politics.It is not my position but that of our government's.You may check up with FEER and many other publications of international repute who paid heavily to learn that.I charge you no fees for this consultancy.

Having said that.You may enjoy the glitter of the golden cage we are in.But you have no right to shut our mouth.

Man in the streets

it is not true that there is no protest in singapore.

it is the PAP bastards that implement rules to stave off protest.

if the rules allow, see who will be the next Seng Ah tong, kNN!

talk cock saying singapore is clean.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

so you see things good in singapore.
And our Ministers deserve colossal salaries .
President keeping the reserves---nearly $400k per month.
The rest of the top dogs about $300 K per month.

So clean streets, no protest, etc......and they deserve it.

You know so much of this island?

NS for sporns, jobs for FTs---you no hear before?

be a singaporean, serve the army, buy the expensive HDB pigeon holes, live here.....and perhaps we can talk deeper .
Now you see the cover, i see the inside, no argument will get us anywhere.

A chinese saying, every family has its own problems. You may see it small.

Well I believe that people should be paid top dollar for doing their job really well. So far I'm really impressed. The British Prime Minister and the President of the United States and their cabinets may not draw as big salaries, but you should come to England at least if not also America, and see what's it like here. The health care services are terrible, and so are some of its privitazied services, like water and utilities for example. And did you hear about the Tube bombing a couple of years back? The threat of terrorism here, is realer than real. The police are fighting a constant battle with these extremists, and there is a number among them who are getting really tired of it and have already applied for overseas positions in Oceania and elsewhere.

Simple phrase in English: "you pay peanuts and you get monkeys."

Also, unlike these countries Singapore doesn't have drugs running freely on its streets, or a people of drinkers (unlike in England where alchohol is so common that it's priced even lower than that of mineral water), and there are no communal and religious riots. Really peaceful. And I did serve time in the military when I moved to America, so please don't play that card with me.

Tiu-leh-see-fart

i dont play card with you.

you live in your fairy tale, i live a singaporean life. You serve your USA army is your problem, i dont vote for Obama, i vote for oppo party in singapore..

sori hor, whoever you are, a local singaporean or a foreigner, if PAP is God to you, good luck to you .
Be s good USA citizen, Obama will make change. hehehe....how i wish i can move to America like you who loves singapore so deep.

Well I believe that people should be paid top dollar for doing their job really well. So far I'm really impressed. The British Prime Minister and the President of the United States and their cabinets may not draw as big salaries, but you should come to England at least if not also America, and see what's it like here. The health care services are terrible, and so are some of its privitazied services, like water and utilities for example. And did you hear about the Tube bombing a couple of years back? The threat of terrorism here, is realer than real. The police are fighting a constant battle with these extremists, and there is a number among them who are getting really tired of it and have already applied for overseas positions in Oceania and elsewhere.

Simple phrase in English: "you pay peanuts and you get monkeys."

Also, unlike these countries Singapore doesn't have drugs running freely on its streets, or a people of drinkers (unlike in England where alchohol is so common that it's priced even lower than that of mineral water), and there are no communal and religious riots. Really peaceful. And I did serve time in the military when I moved to America, so please don't play that card with me.