• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Primary School Math

Jokes aside, helping kids with their Maths is quite a workout these days, helps prevent Alzheimer's!

can always depend on a game of mahjong :p:p:p

the entire education system is just another mill, sieve out the elite & develop them, the rest can remain as serfs and the ignoramus... what ever happened to analytical & critical thinking? creative & inventive thinking seemed to have gone down the drains, not forgetting lateral thinking as well. lack of initiatives and requires instructions to function. little wonder we need foreign talents... tsk tsk tsk... :(:(:(

And the government wonders why we do not want to have kids.

bro,

social engineering had been part of their business all these while. the only fact they failed to realise is this: humans are social animals, you can group them together and manipulate their behavior when they are small in numbers.

you cross that critical mass and no amount of incentives and or corrective orders will reverse a burst dam. the last thing me wish is to have mob rule here in Singapore :o:o:o

The problem Singapore kids have is that the schools alone cannot provide enough to enable the average kid to pass their PLSE. Resorting to extra tuition is a burden to most parents unless they are rich and wealthy parents are willing to pay as much as 1k a month for their kids to have tuition.

That is why the poor should not have kids as they cannot provide the means for their kids to excel.

I scored an A in math, but I agree this is too difficult for a primary school student, sec 1 or 2 also might have problem....

I scored a B(ed) in S(ex) Sch. Too bad, they say it couldn't count as an O Level credit. Had I inisisted on appeal, I might be charged for underaged sex. I said forget it. Then I went on to Police Academy. It taught the best triple A in the world, arithmetic, algebra and algorithm. If faced with a question how many counts of crimes that bugger committed, how many accomplices he had and how much of the loot he shared with them, no need math or calculator, just beat him up until he told.

Honestly, I did not know you cannot use algebra; the question did not state that either. I just did a Google and Primary 5 syllabus does includes algebra. How would you solve it by units/blocks?

one of the bro demo how to solve it by their standard already. really have to use it that way if not the teacher might even mark it wrong

When I was in Primary 1, I was taught, Tuck Yew have six marbles, he gave 2 marbles to Osman, 1 marble to Gopal, 2 marbles to Ah Lan, how many marbles, would Tuck Yew have!. You give me those question above, I would loose my 'marbles', Oh! I forgot, my parents weren't Bsc, Phd stock!

I scored a B(ed) in S(ex) Sch. Too bad, they say it couldn't count as an O Level credit. Had I inisisted on appeal, I might be charged for underaged sex. I said forget it. Then I went on to Police Academy. It taught the best triple A in the world, arithmetic, algebra and algorithm. If faced with a question how many counts of crimes that bugger committed, how many accomplices he had and how much of the loot he shared with them, no need math or calculator, just beat him up until he told.

This is POLICE BRUTALITY!! how many below 16 have you scored?

OK, think the problem with such mathematics problem is that the student need to know how to visualize the scenario and put it on paper. And before he can even visualize the scenarios, he need to understand the question in English. So to solve this maths problem, he need to be good in:

1. Visualization
2. Art (Need to draw units and blocks)
3. English (of course)

lianbeng noted nowsday even K2 kids must solve maths problem liao.:D

Daddy gives u 2 apples but Mommy takes away 1 apple, then Grandma gives u 2 more apples but Daddy gives u 1 more. How many to do u have?:D

can always depend on a game of mahjong :p:p:p

If you have a hand of 3 x ten thousand, 1 x twenty thousand, 1 x thirty thousand, 1 x forty thousand, 1 x fifty thousand, 1 x sixty thousand, 3 x seventy thousand, 1 x eighty thousand and 1 x ninety thousand, how many tiles can you wait for to game the hand?

If you have a hand of 3 x ten thousand, 1 x twenty thousand, 1 x thirty thousand, 1 x forty thousand, 1 x fifty thousand, 1 x sixty thousand, 1 x seventy thousand, 1 x eighty thousand and 3 x ninety thousand, how many tiles can you wait for to game the hand?

Now you know why old aunties and old uncles of past generations could figure out complicated tontine, lottery, gambling, loansharking etc. odds and interests.

This is POLICE BRUTALITY!!

We didn't have to DIY all the time. Sometimes we just had to throw the bugger into the same cell with a crazy violent bugger and wink, fix him, just don't kill him. The crazy bugger would be given better coffee and cigarette and even be considered a softer charge if legally possible. The bugger being fixed would want out of lockup a.s.a.p. and would confess to everything that could be confessed. That's not police brutality. That's police reality.

Sometimes, there were no crazy violent buggers available in the cells and we had to DIY. One of the most violent officer is (still is, not was) I believe the last of Mohicans in my batch. Handsome studious looking besptacled guy, you wouldn't believe how violent he could get when he bashes up accuseds.

He's just about the only one who embarked on police life as his lifelong career and rosed all the way from Constable to Divisional Head of Investigation whilst the rest of my batch of Mohicans as far as I know had resigned and quite a few died in line of duty. He was the one who picked up the body parts in Kallang River in the murder and disememberment case of a PRC factory girl by a Singaporean supervisor who kept her as mistress but she wanted to break up.

how many below 16 have you scored?

Classified top secret to protect the identities of those below 16 at the time it happened. :D

If you have a hand of 3 x ten thousand, 1 x twenty thousand, 1 x thirty thousand, 1 x forty thousand, 1 x fifty thousand, 1 x sixty thousand, 3 x seventy thousand, 1 x eighty thousand and 1 x ninety thousand, how many tiles can you wait for to game the hand?

If you have a hand of 3 x ten thousand, 1 x twenty thousand, 1 x thirty thousand, 1 x forty thousand, 1 x fifty thousand, 1 x sixty thousand, 1 x seventy thousand, 1 x eighty thousand and 3 x ninety thousand, how many tiles can you wait for to game the hand?

first hand wait 1万,4万,7万. 3 types of tiles
second hand 1万 to 9万. 9 types of tiles
correct? :D:D:D

one of the bro demo how to solve it by their standard already. really have to use it that way if not the teacher might even mark it wrong

That's something seriously wrong and speaks of how uncreative and dumb our teachers are. If the kids are able to use algebra to solve it, why must it be only in blocks and unit. How practical or realistic is that?

Kids should be taught there are many ways to look at a question and get to the answers.

[video=youtube;zDZFcDGpL4U]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDZFcDGpL4U[/video]

first hand wait 1万,4万,7万. 3 types of tiles
second hand 1万 to 9万. 9 types of tiles

If this type of math questions appear on exam papers, will parents complain, huh?

If you have a triplet of ten-thousand tiles, a triplet of one-bamboo tiles, a triplet of one-roundel tiles, a pair of wind tiles of your wind, a pair of wind tiles not of your wind, one animal and you draw a fourth ten-thousand to complete a quaruplet entitling you to bonus payout and another draw of the tile. You draw your own wind to game your hand. How many doubles can you claim, assuming no preset limit?

If faced with a question how many counts of crimes that bugger committed, how many accomplices he had and how much of the loot he shared with them, no need math or calculator, just beat him up until he told.

I'd love to add to your reputation but was told I need to spread it around first. I like this. If a guy comes up to me and say "hey, you're supposed to get these marbles but if I give you 10 less and I will have 5 times more, how many marbles should I give you?" - I would fuck that guy up, punch him in the nose, cut of his legs and take all the marbles.

Now I know why kids nowadays have fantasies to fuck their female teachers and beat up their male teachers.

If this type of math questions appear on exam papers, will parents complain, huh?

If you have a triplet of ten-thousand tiles, a triplet of one-bamboo tiles, a triplet of one-roundel tiles, a pair of wind tiles of your wind, a pair of wind tiles not of your wind, one animal and you draw a fourth ten-thousand to complete a quaruplet entitling you to bonus payout and another draw of the tile. You draw your own wind to game your hand. How many doubles can you claim, assuming no preset limit?

砰砰,臭1-9 各2台
花,花上,风 各1台
playing at my house, even no limit is a mere 7台 win :o:o:o

砰砰,臭1-9 各2台
花,花上,风 各1台
playing at my house, even no limit is a mere 7台 win :o:o:o

7 doubles still mere only? Your house play very big. I don't dare to go and play.

Another math question for PSLE. You play $1*$2 stake at 5 doubles limit. One player has nine bamboo tiles showing on table, one triplet and two suits without animal or flower. You throw another bamboo tile and he gamed all-bamboo. How much is your damage?

This type of question we must teach pri. sch. kids. Otherwise all nowadays grow up gong-gong.

7 doubles still mere only? Your house play very big. I don't dare to go and play.

Another math question for PSLE. You play $1*$2 stake at 5 doubles limit. One player has nine bamboo tiles showing on table, one triplet and two suits without animal or flower. You throw another bamboo tile and he gamed all-bamboo. How much is your damage?

This type of question we must teach pri. sch. kids. Otherwise all nowadays grow up gong-gong.

aiyo... full color 4台,gunner pays $32.00 loh :)

That's why I say your house play very big. If got flowers and animals, 7 doubles already $256 based on $1*$2. If sway sway kena two hands like that broke already. If up stake to $2*$4 and/or up limit to 6 doubles or above or no limit...siao liao...:*: :( Anyway, you can be math teacher to educate the young generation. ;) :)

heheh...
all in a matter of perspective, bro
my house only play 10cents/20cents with 5台 limit, max payout by being a gunner only $12.80 :D:D:D
ai lai mai? :p:p:p