• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

President rejects clemency petition for Yong Vui Kong

Donaldson

Yong Vui Kong’s death sentence “should stand”, the Principal Private Secretary (PPS) to President Nathan said in a letter from the Istana. In a one-sentence response to the petition for clemency for Yong, which was sent to the President a month ago by members of the Singapore Anti-Death Penalty Campaign (SADPC), the President’s PPS said:

“I am directed to refer to the petition for clemency of Yong Vui Kong and to inform you that the President, after due consideration of the petition and on advice of the Cabinet, has decided that the sentence of death should stand.”

Yong, a Malaysian and who was 19 when he was arrested, was sentenced to death in January 2009 for trafficking 47g of heroin into Singapore in June 2008. He was convicted under the Misuse of Drugs Act which carries a mandatory death sentence for anyone caught trafficking more than 15gm of heroin, 30gm of cocaine or 500gm of cannabis.

All three of Yong’s appeals have now been rejected.
In a statement in response to the President’s rejection of the appeal, members of the SADPC say Yong is expected to be hanged the week after next. Yong has also agreed to donate his organs, the SADPC statement says.

Yong’s lawyer, Mr M Ravi, faced some difficulties with the Singapore Prison Service in gaining access to his client last week. However, his application to see Yong has now been approved and he is expected to visit Yong in the forthcoming week.

Singapore has one of the highest rates of State-sanctioned executions in the world. Anti-Death Penalty campaigners and Human Rights activists, both here and abroad, have highlighted the shortcomings in the law and in the procedures in determining guilt.

The Singapore government, however, has always stood by its stand that capital punishment is a deterrent, for example, to drug traffickers.

—–

The following is a statement from the SADPC.

The President has responded to the petition for clemency of Yong Vui Kong sent in by the Singapore Anti-Death Penalty Campaign (SADPC) through his Principal Private Secretary Mr Tan Eng Beng.

“I am directed to refer to the petition for clemency of Yong Vui Kong and to inform you that the President, after due consideration of the petition and on the advice of the Cabinet, has decided that the sentence of death should stand.”

According to the date stated on the letter, the statement was issued on 20 November 2009. M Ravi, lawyer for Yong and co-campaigner of the SADPC, received the letter on 26 November 2009.
Yong has also signed a document agreeing to donate his organs.

Although no date has been fixed yet, he is expected to hang the week after next.

M Ravi has been allowed to talk to his client and will do so in the week to come. Further legal action to save Yong in this short amount of time, is being planned. Let’s all hope for the best.

ChaoPappyPoodle

He was only 19 when he committed the crime. This is shocking!

I think more can and should be done to help safe him. I can't belive this one bit! If it was a violent crime I would understand but this is ridiculous especially when you consider that the head of the drug running group is still free and all they have is this 19 year old.

The fact that little is done to catch the real bigwigs makes this entire sentence sickening and unjust.

And he donates his organs, even more the pappies will want to hang him. He should give his organs to people from a country that do not support the death penalty for no-violent crimes.

Debonerman

<Yong has also signed a document agreeing to donate his organs.>

That's stupid! The more reason to hang him as soon as possible. Someone in the elite hierarchy is on standby to receive the organs having jumped queue based on the PAP governance's Concept of Meritocracy.

shelltox

He knows the penalty for the trafficking is the death , why did he want to take .
China was known as the " sickmen of the east" becos of the scourge of opium.
When china refused to open her ports to the ang mos for the importation of opium, the brits declared war resulting in the numerous opium wars. Hong Kong and Macau were ceded to the ang mos. Do you remember the Bruce Lee show 精武门 , at one of the parks , there was a sign "Dogs and Chinese are not allowed into the Park“

tiulehloumoh

Assholes here talk about saving this drug pest life........because they might one day be one of them.....tiued.......:oIo:

ChaoPappyPoodle

Assholes here talk about saving this drug pest life........because they might one day be one of them.....tiued.......:oIo:

when elites get caught, they get away without the death penalty. the law is sickening in such cases. poverty and hunger and many other things drive people to crime. his crime is not condoned but the punishment also doesn't serve justice nor human life which the law is suppposed to be based on.

with a single sentence the ex-kempetei killed another Malayan. this ex-kempetei must have seen many such deaths during his time with the kempetei to the extent that only a single sentence is what the worth of this man is worth to an ex-kempetei.

a honourable man would have gone to greater lengths to explain his position. this ex-kempetei is a shameful being. If you cannot appreciate human life, a 19-year old one at that then you certainly don't deserve to be in a position to make such decisions.

batman1

when elites get caught, they get away without the death penalty. the law is sickening in such cases. poverty and hunger and many other things drive people to crime. his crime is not condoned but the punishment also doesn't serve justice nor human life which the law is suppposed to be based on.

with a single sentence the ex-kempetei killed another Malayan. this ex-kempetei must have seen many such deaths during his time with the kempetei to the extent that only a single sentence is what the worth of this man is worth to an ex-kempetei.

a honourable man would have gone to greater lengths to explain his position. this ex-kempetei is a shameful being. If you cannot appreciate human life, a 19-year old one at that then you certainly don't deserve to be in a position to make such decisions.

In this farking country,there is no second chance unless u are connected to the power-in -control. Don't forget,Burmese powerful druglords can come in and out of this red dot like nobody's business.

yellow people

It amazes me to see you replying to this troll whose probably a low key civil clerk :p Too bad you won't get to see his reply any sooner else he uses his other new clones. Talk about clones, he will lose in the numbers game against me. Like to ass forumers here but now he is being assed by me. :p:biggrin::p:biggrin:

KuanTi01

considering that he is still so young, it is hard to understand why he cannot be given a second chance to live. Life imprisonment cannot meh!

theblackhole

considering that he is still so young, it is hard to understand why he cannot be given a second chance to live. Life imprisonment cannot meh!

this is a chance to show how compassionate we can be...but sad...he was only 19!....i hope heaven will redeem him.

tiulehloumoh

___________Hi asshole!

Your timely appearance is good for a kick in the ass! Too bad i won't get to see your reply any sooner, tata... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

[/SIZE]

Ha Ha ha , assing asshole like you anytime will do lah...... don't have to find a special day to ass your whole family you know.......he he he.....:biggrin::biggrin:

He was only 19 when he committed the crime. This is shocking!

I think more can and should be done to help safe him. I can't belive this one bit! If it was a violent crime I would understand but this is ridiculous especially when you consider that the head of the drug running group is still free and all they have is this 19 year old.

A nineteen year old is fully capable of understanding the consequences of his actions.

He also should be fully aware that drugs can ruin the lives of those even younger than himself.

He did the crime. He should face the consequences like a man.

Lee5604

Found this at www.yeocheowtong.com

The Elite of Singapore

Dinesh Bhatia They should have hanged the bum, but Dinesh Bhatia gets one year jail term! Spoiled Singapore brat and dilettante playboy, Dinesh Bhatia, 35, has been sentenced to one year of jail for consuming cocaine. Bhatia's lawyer, Member of Parliament K. Shanmugam (the shameless), had told the court that Bhatia was not an addict but was given the drug by a friend. Even though Bhatia did not know that it was cocaine, and had a 'fleeting suspicion' the substance could be illegal, he took it on impulse. Yeah, sure!

As a bonus for getting Dinesh off the hook (gallows), K Shanmugam (the shameless) is now Singapore's Minister of Law!!!

Bhatia's father was a judge, and his mother a former Singapore Member of Parliament. Escape from Paradise was right -- Singapore condones drugs for the elite, as Shanmugam, who aspires to become Solicitor-General (above), comes to Bhatia's defense!

Then what happens?

Mob Judge
V K Rajah
THE STRAITS TIMES, April 7, 2005 - Bhatia, 35, appealed against his 12-month sentence last month, asking for a heavy fine to be imposed instead.

Calling the previous sentence "excessive", Justice V K Rajah said yesterday that the district judge erred by not tailoring the sentence to fit the offender and failed to "attach adequate weight and merit to all the relevant mitigating factors".

For example, the judge did not adequately consider the fact that Bhatia's consumption was neither planned nor purchased, said Justice Rajah. Bhatia's sentence was reduce to 8 months. Huh?

And then what happens?

THE STRAITS TIMES, July 7, 2005 - Dinesh Singh Bhatia, 35, who was sentenced to eight months in jail for cocaine consumption after his arrest in a high-society drug raid last October, is out of prison and is serving out his sentence at home, wearing an electronic tag he cannot remove. Click!

Shanmugam (the shameless) is a board member of Singapore Technologies, along with Peter Seah, Chairman, former banker to CIA-connected S. P. Chung, one of the characters in Escape from Paradise. All in the family!

Bathia's father, former judicial commissioner and Senior Counsel at Khattar Wong & Partners, Amarjeet Singh, was instrumental in the caning of American Michael Fay. Bhatia spoke out in support of the Michael Fay caning, saying "You know, once you loosen up or the laws become lax, everything comes in. The floodgates are opened. It doesn't pay to mess around with the system." Well, Bhatia, now it's your turn!

Senior Counsel K Shanmugam of Allen and Gledhill

Lawyer for the mob - How many youngsters will take to drugs thanks to this bum?

Former Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong's lawyer, Senior Counsel K Shanmugam of Allen and Gledhill, and a member of Singapore's Parliament is defending coke head Bhatia. What a conflict of interest! Is Singapore's Parliament condoning drugs for the elite?!

Government chemists will extract impurities from the drugs such as chemicals added to cocaine before it sells on the street, possibly reducing the weight to below the limit that warrants a death penalty in cases of trafficking, the lawyers said.

From Escape from Paradise...

"In Singapore, a mere 15 grams of heroin, 500 grams of cannabis, 30 grams of cocaine, or 250 grams of methamphetamine will get you the hangman’s noose. There are no jury trials in Singapore, as juries had been abolished by Lee Kuan Yew.

The defendant, who is not entitled to a public trial, faces a lone judge, a government appointee, who hands down his sentence quickly. The system is very efficient, no waiting around for an appeal, no hanging out on death row for years.

Singapore does everything with excellence, and the pre-dawn Friday morning hangings are no exception. Mercifully, our high tech gallows use the “long drop,” so, the prisoner, hooded, and with arms and legs bound, dies instantly, in a snap.

The gallows can accommodate up to seven people at a drop, a great convenience when you are hanging fifty or more people every year.

Ironically, drugs are readily available in Singapore. A favorite place for “scoring” drugs is the Newton Circus Hawker Centre, a favorite late night haunt of open-air food stalls popular with young Singaporeans and foreigners, alike.

More importantly, Singapore, boasting the world’s largest port for shipping tonnage, and the most Asia-Pacific air-links, is a major transit point for drugs.

The bulk business of drug distribution is not done by small-time couriers, but by the big boys, who never touch the drugs, and are never touched by them."

littlefish

A nineteen year old is fully capable of understanding the consequences of his actions.

He also should be fully aware that drugs can ruin the lives of those even younger than himself.

He did the crime. He should face the consequences like a man.

Ah Sam, haven't you done crazy things when you were young? Even for the 20+, they can still be playing pranks, just think of those undergrads at university.

Even if he knew that this was serious business, a person at that age could be easily influenced by many factors.

In this day and age, some culpability must also be assigned to the drug addicts. They know full well the danger of taking drugs yet they chose to do so. Of course, I do not object to harsh penalties for those who flout this law but I am against the death penalty unless he has murdered someone directly.

For a person that young, unless he has a string of serious criminal offences, I would be very much inclined to give him a second chance. I understand that the death penalty is mandatory in cases like this but surely, clemency from the President can be expected?

cheekenpie

Our government is very efficient wan. If all mandatory life imprisonment, sentosa must become prison liao instead of bangla and prc resort.