• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PR spent $48000 for a 3 person dinner

Jack Neo

For more than two decades, he was a tailor. Then in 1999, he took a bold step, diversifying into high-end watch retailing after he secured the rights to distribute Swiss watch brand Parmigiani Fleurier in Singapore.

'I wanted to invest in something that I could pass down to the next generation,' said Mr Iwan Hew, 59.

'As I already had a very good base of clients from my tailoring business, I wanted to offer them something that would add value to them - something that was personal, intimate, valuable and beautiful.'

That step has paid off handsomely. Moving into fine timepieces opened up a whole new world for Mr Hew - one where collectors are prepared to invest huge sums in high-end creations.

Today, he owns Yafriro, which holds exclusive distribution rights to nine luxury watch brands in Singapore, Bangkok, Jakarta and Kuala Lumpur. These Swiss brands include Greubel Forsey and Jacob & Co, whose timepieces carry price tags of up to $1 million apiece.

In addition to his 2,000 sq ft flagship boutique at Paragon, Mr Hew has watch boutiques in Kuala Lumpur, Jakarta and Bangkok. In upcoming months, Yafriro will be launching three new boutiques at Marina Bay Sands. Leviev, which will sell exquisite diamonds, is set to open next month, while another Yafriro watch boutique and a Scavia outlet offering fine Italian jewellery will open in June.

A Malaysian who is now a Singapore permanent resident, Mr Hew stopped schooling after Secondary 2. He moved to Singapore in 1971 when he was 21. Although his father owned rubber plantations in Kluang, Johor, where he grew up, he decided to come here to carve out a niche for himself because he wanted to do something truly his own.

Once here, he serviced air-conditioners for about a year before becoming a trainee tailor in Katong in 1972. He then worked in Justmen's, a tailor shop at Tanglin Shopping Centre, for five years before opening his own tailor shop, Iwan's Creation at Lucky Plaza, in 1977 with $57,000. He still owns the shop.

Mr Hew is married to housewife Chen Seow Mooi, 53, and they have three children - Yijun, 30, Woong Yong, 28, and Lijun, 32.

Q: Are you a spender or saver?

I am not a spendthrift by nature. But whenever I see a good investment opportunity, I will consider whether to take it up. And when it comes to my family or my business, I will spare no expense to ensure they get nothing but the best.

In the past, I seldom saved money. One reason was that I had 'sidelines' - selling imported fabrics, jewellery and watches - even when I was an employee, so I knew I would always have money. But I could save when I had an objective in mind, like setting up my own firm. I would save more than 50 per cent of my pay till I reached the amount I needed.

Q: How much do you charge to your credit cards every month?

I have several cards but I do not use all of them. I use them for the larger transactions, at restaurants, and so on. My average monthly bill is about $30,000. I pay off my bills at the end of every month.

I do not own an ATM card. At any one time, I have about $200 in cash.

Q: What financial planning have you done for yourself?

I have not engaged a financial planner. As I am focused on building my business, that's where most of my investment is. I also have investments in properties. I like them for the capital appreciation and stable rental income flow.

I used to own stocks but I liquidated them in 2001 because I wanted to focus on my businesses. I do not have much personal insurance but I do have insurance for my business.

Q: Moneywise, what were your growing-up years like?

I grew up in a large family. I have eight siblings and I'm No. 6. My mother was a housewife, and my father owned and managed a few rubber plantations in Malaysia. There was never much emphasis placed on money as my parents always made sure we were comfortable. We lived in a 5,000 sq ft double-storey house in Johor.

I have had an enterprising streak since I was a kid. I would find ways to earn my own pocket money, catching spiders and guppies and selling them to friends. My mum would proudly tell my aunts and her friends that she knew I would become a successful businessman one day.

Q: How did you get interested in investing?

Although I enjoyed my days as a tailor's apprentice, I knew even then that I did not want to remain just an employee, working for someone else. I wanted to set up my own business. Looking beyond my tailoring business, I finally found my niche in watches.

Q: What property do you own?

In Singapore, I own two apartments, one in Katong and the other in River Valley. I also have several properties in Malaysia.

I bought the 1,600 sq ft condo unit in Katong more than 20 years ago for nearly $1 million. In 1990, I bought another 1,600 sq ft condo unit, the one in River Valley, for $2 million.

In Malaysia, I own more than 10 three- and four-storey shophouses in Kluang, Johor. They were bought for about RM800,000 (S$337,000) each, more than 10 years ago, and are all rented out. I also have a two-storey, five-bedroom house in Johor, bought around the same time. The land area is about 8,000 sq ft. I paid RM1 million.

I own five pieces of bare land in Johor, each about 4ha. I bought them in the 1990s for about RM2 million to RM3 million each. I do not know the current value of the properties.

Q: What's the most extravagant thing you have bought?

I once spent $48,000 on dinner with two of my clients at Shangri-La Hotel here. That was in 2007. We had so much fun and we ordered several bottles of French wine with our meal. I have no regrets, as one cannot put a price on friendship.

Q: What's your retirement plan?

I don't have one. I'll retire when the time is right, when I've achieved all that I've set out to do.

This includes ensuring the success of the business and a smooth handover to my successor. I also want to make sure that those around me - my family and staff - are well looked after. I have been donating to my hometown Kluang, and about eight years ago, I spent RM800,000 of my savings to build a school there.

I will need about $15,000 to $20,000 a month for my wife and myself in my golden years.

Q: Home is now....

The apartment in Katong.

Q: I drive....

A black Mercedes S500.

Very showy and how lian person. Even our billionaires also do not give such interviews or answers or cite a $48,000 dinner for 3.

Anyway for those that think he made his own money, please read the article properly.

His father owns rubber plantations. So he is from a VERY RICH family background. Somewhere along the way he probably got help from his rich family. maybe inheritance? Who knows. But very how lian and sia lun from his answers.

MORAL OF MY STORY IS TO TAKE ALL THESE "SUCCESS" STORIES PUT OUT BY THE 154TH WITH A HUGE PICH OF SALT.:oIo:

Always remember, there is a golden mountain that helped paved the way to success. be it a rich family, a rich benefactor, or simply striking big lottery or A CRIME; be it drugs or loansharking. I am not using these examples for this case but highlighting things at large. No successful person will ever tell you this

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

MORAL OF MY STORY IS TO TAKE ALL THESE "SUCCESS" STORIES PUT OUT BY THE 154TH WITH A HUGE PICH OF SALT.:oIo:

If better take a swim in the red sea .
And don't read the Straits Times except for current affairs .
It makes one silly and stupid !

For more than two decades, he was a tailor. Then in 1999, he took a bold step, diversifying into high-end watch retailing ...

'I wanted to invest in something that I could pass down to the next generation,' said Mr Iwan Hew, 59.

Although his father owned rubber plantations in Kluang, Johor, where he grew up, he decided to come here to carve out a niche for himself ...
funny! ...

his papa pass down 2 him lubber plantations he dunwan ... but he wants 2 pass down his watches ...

$48k big deal? i had a friend who bought a S class Mercedes and a Posche convertable just for show to park in his garage.

ask your friend showcase his big cannon story at next week paper la...:p:D:oIo:

While Sporns need to serve NS and years of reserve duty to ensure that he makes his bucks in a safe and sound environment. Well done, FAPee Traitors!

Cannot compare leh. Car got shelf life of few years, but dinner only for 1 night. So in terms of which Big Cannon Fairy story is more captivating, I have to go for the $48k dinner for 3!

Mr Hew is married to housewife Chen Seow Mooi, 53, and they have three children - Yijun, 30, Woong Yong, 28, and Lijun, 32.

=> No NS?

I have been donating to my hometown Kluang, and about eight years ago, I spent RM800,000 of my savings to build a school there.

=> Sporns serve NS, so that he can make his bucks and donate it to his hometown in Msia? Nice!

Anyway I am an acquaintance of his son. V nice chap, and no airs at all. Less showy than his dad . Only drives Mazda.

This is the kind of FT that LKY needed in Singapore, and he can not care the fuck about us the common Singaporeans.

He said we have to receive lower pays and increase productivity to serve this kind of scums who are LKY's rice bowls.

:oIo::oIo::oIo:

lanchiao lah , ninpei auction bid $ 5million for 1 hour lunch with Warren Buffett in 2006

ST's interviews is like a template merely filling the blanks, e.g. "Q: Are you a spender or saver?"

Sian

IRAS better investigate

This kind of expensing needs to be given a second look

Now he said this to ST, so even easier

Q: Are you a spender or saver?

I am not a spendthrift by nature. But whenever I see a good investment opportunity, I will consider whether to take it up. And when it comes to my family or my business, I will spare no expense to ensure they get nothing but the best.

In the past, I seldom saved money. One reason was that I had 'sidelines' - selling imported fabrics, jewellery and watches - even when I was an employee, so I knew I would always have money. But I could save when I had an objective in mind, like setting up my own firm. I would save more than 50 per cent of my pay till I reached the amount I needed.

He is inviting the taxman to check on him.