• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Political space has opened up substantially? Fuck you K. Shamugam!

FuckSamLeong

Political space has opened up substantially: Minister

By Jeremy Au Yong

THE space for political expression in Singapore has expanded substantially since 2000, and it is in this context that the new public order rules should be viewed. Second Home Affairs Minister K. Shanmugam said this when responding to Nominated MP Siew Kum Hong on the Public Order Bill which gives police more effective powers to maintain public order.

Mr Siew had contended that the need to obtain permits for assemblies - though a long-standing rule - 'emasculated' the right to freedom of assembly.

Mr Shanmugam, who is also Law Minister, disagreed.

He said: 'I hope Mr Siew would be generous enough to accept that... since 2000 there has been a series of changes that have substantially liberalised the political space.'

In opening the debate on the Public Order Bill, he charted the path to liberalisation taken by the Government, adding that it was a continuing process.

He earmarked the opening of Speakers' Corner nine years ago as the start of the process. In 2000, Hong Lim Park was opened up to allow citizens to speak in public without a permit, except on race or religion issues.

That same year, restrictions were also lifted on speeches by elected MPs at community events. The events had to be constituency events, organised for their constituents and where the intended participants were from that constituency.

A year later, constituency activities organised by or on behalf of MPs and held in the constituency were exempted from having to obtain police permits. However, these must comprise only of music, singing or dancing, any magic show or comedy show, transmission of recorded music or organised competition at games of skill.

In 2004, the exemptions at Speakers' Corner were extended to performances and exhibitions.

That year, political activities conducted indoors also became exempt from permits. New societies were given automatic registration unless their activities fell within a list of specified interests, such as race, religion or political association.

Last year, rules for Speakers' Corner were eased further to allow for demonstrations there, not just speeches.

Last month, the outright ban on party political films was lifted.

Mr Shanmugam said all these added up to an opening up of political space while at the same time ensuring stability and public safety.

'Have we gotten the balance right?' he asked the House.

'Well, ask yourself two questions: in our region, which country would you rather be in? And among the countries in the world which became independent in the 1950s and 1960s, which country would you rather be in?
'The answer to these two questions will answer the main question.'

khunking

None of the above.

Political space has opened up substantially: Minister

By Jeremy Au Yong

Mr Shanmugam said all these added up to an opening up of political space while at the same time ensuring stability and public safety.

'Well, ask yourself two questions: in our region, which country would you rather be in? And among the countries in the world which became independent in the 1950s and 1960s, which country would you rather be in?

Political space down to zero is opening up substantially? Only pappy dogs bark loudest!

He deliberately used the wrong choice of word to make PAP look good and have Straits Times bold it up for him to con 66.6% of sinkies.

takcheksian

Political space down to zero is opening up substantially? Only pappy dogs bark loudest!

why not? baldy sham is right.

Zero, multiplied by a substantial sum of 115 billion, is still zero. but since the non-elite brainless 66.6% failed their maths o levels, they can't tell.:smile::smile::smile:

mscitw

The regime has denied peasants the right to protest by tightening rules and giving the Gestapo powers to detain peasants if the Gestapo thinks they are going to create a scene!

Minion Shan is lying, his ancestors should roll in their graves.

funglung

He deliberately used the wrong choice of word to make PAP look good and have Straits Times bold it up for him to con 66.6% of sinkies.

DO NOT WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TIME
THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW!

TALK TO YOUR FRIENDS AND YOUR RELATIVES.

SUPPORT OPPOSITION PARTIES WITH YOUR TIME AND MONEY AND STAND BY THEM AND WITH THEM.
THEY SPEAK FOR YOU AND TRY TO SPEAK FOR YOU.

LKY AND PAP HAVE BEEN USING THEIR KANGAROO COURTS TO TRY TO BANKRUPT THEM TO SILENCE THEM.

IF YOU DO NOT STAND WITH THEM AND STAND BY THEM, CAN YOU STAND ALONE AGAINST LKY?

SINGAPOREANS MUST UNITE AND SUPPORT ALL THE OPPOSITION PARTIES.

DO NOT JUST WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TO VOTE

VOTE OUT LKY AND HIS BASTARDS IN WHITE WHO ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY AND TO FUCK YOU.

IF NOT FOR YOURSELF, THEN FOR THE FUTURE OF YOUR CHILDREN

THERE WILL NOT BE AN OBAMA AS PRESIDENT OF USA IF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT THERE WAS INTIMIDATED BY BEATINGS AND LYNCHINGS IN THE PAST.

THE TOBBLING OF LKY WILL NOT BE EASY, AND CAN BE BLOODY AS WELL.
THEY WILL NOT GIVE UP THE BILLIONS THAT THEY SUCKED FROM YOU AND CAN CONTINUE TO SCREW FROM YOU NOW AND IN FUTURE.

ONLY YOU HAVE THE POWER TO SAY 'NO MORE OF THAT' AND THROW EVERYONE OF THOSE BASTARDS OUT

Already 400-500++ billions got sucked and bled by LKY into his Temasick and GIC.
HOW MANY OTHER BILLIONS GOT SUCKED AND USED BY THEM IN GLC WHERE THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS AND MINISTERS AND BASTARDS IN WHITE ARE CHAIRMAN AND CEOS?

EVEN IF NO ELECTIONS, SINKIES MUST SPEAK WITH ALL THEIR FRIENDS AND ALL THEY KNOW

STAND UP TO THAT BASTARD LKY AND PAP BLOODSUCKERS

STAND WITH ALL THOSE THAT FIGHT BASTARD LKY

OR STAND UP YOURSELF IN YOUR CONSTITUENCY

DONT BE BULLIED BY THAT FUCKING COWARD LKY USING HIS CORRUPT KANGAROO COURTS AND ALL THAT HE CAN, AND WILL THROW AT YOU

You will fear them only if you allow yourself to fear them.

Just because THEY want you to fear them, must you fear those fucking bastards?

THEY ONLY CAN RULE YOU , AND BLED YOU , THROUGH FEAR AND INTIMIDATION.

SINKIES,

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM.
THEY WILL THEN FEAR YOU.

AND YOU REGAIN YOUR MONEY AND YOUR FUTURE AND YOUR CHILDREN FUTURE.

DO NOT LET OUR MONEY GO TO FUND PAP DOGS FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

DO NOT DIE IN OLD FOLK HOMES IN JB.

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM

LEE KUAN YEW LOST AND LOST DUNNO HOW MANY BILLIONS IN TEMASICK AND GIC

EVEN MORE BILLIONS HE THREW AWAY TO HIS DOGS AND COCKROACHES SO THEY CAN TAKE FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

LKY NEED MORE BILLIONS FROM SINKIES WHO VOTED FOR HIM AND FROM THOSE WHO VOIDED THEIR VOTES

EVEN IF YOU VOTE AGAINST HIM, NO DIFFERENCE.

COLLECTIVE PUNISHMENT AS SINKIES DID NOT TRY HARD ENOUGH TO KICK OUT THAT VAMPIRE BASTARD LKY

SO EXPECT EVERYTHING IN SINGAPORE TO GO UP AND UP

BASTARD LKY NEED YOUR $$$$$

HE SCREW YOU AND DEMAND THAT YOU THANK HIM FOR HIS FUCKING 'SUBISIDIESD BULLSHIT' AND 'AFFORDABLE' CON-TALK.

GO ALL OUT TO KICK ALL THOSE BASTARDS OUT

ALL OF THEM

takcheksian

The regime has denied peasants the right to protest by tightening rules and giving the Gestapo powers to detain peasants if the Gestapo thinks they are going to create a scene!

One minor correction my friend.

Gestapo was a real tough secret police.

Our poodles are only capable of bullying cowed locals and intellectuals like CSJ. When a bad guy punches a teenager in the MRT, they don't dare investigate. When a tough guy wacks a doctor in Geylang, they siam tiok. When Banglas show up at MOM, all poodles zhao and hide.

Poodles are NOT gestapo. Poodles are small, irritating running dogs who lick their PAP masters' feet! If a chow ah beng meets poodle in a Geylang alley, confirm poodle will kenna wacked. That's why poodles don't dare stop prostitution in geylang!

Watchman

Error: Host Not Accessible

The web host www.sammyboy.com is not accessible.

Possible sources of this error:
The host name is invalid
There was a DNS error
The web site may be unavailable
You may not be connected to the internet

Please edit the URL, or search for it using Google.

When you see a cobra & an I............ WHICH DO YOU SHOOT FIRST!:biggrin:

littlefish

How the fuck are these two questions relevant to the new bill? Does that mean that if we want to be in Singapore, then we should just accept any new laws they want to pass? If so, it looks like Singapore belongs to PAP and PAP only. As we all know very well, past performance is no indication of future success.

ChaoPappyPoodle

'The answer to these two questions will answer the main question.'[/COLOR][/B]

I didn't know that ex-divorcee K Shanmugam was around in the 1950s and 1960s and even more mind boggling is the thought that he initiated laws during the said era!

And what relevancy has the the second question to do with the law being initiated? Is he implying that Singapore has prospered because of laws that inhibit individual freedom and prohibit public show of dissent?

As usual, the media lacks a backbone to question such spurious allegations from a pappy.

We have paid a high price for the poor laws and decisions created by the pappies without allowing for citizens to be heard. How can this be a democracy when people cannot voice their concerns and dissatisfaction? The pappies idea of democracy is to cower their citizens into voting once every 4-5 years and then to use that vote as a sign that the pappies have full control of the country and need not ponder with citizens on the merits and lack of, of the various laws and socio-economic decisions that affect the country.

methink

<<He said: 'I hope Mr Siew would be generous enough to accept that... since 2000 there has been a series of changes that have substantially liberalised the political space.'

In opening the debate on the Public Order Bill, he charted the path to liberalisation taken by the Government, adding that it was a continuing process. >>

Could he please chart the number of people arrested under ISA since LKY came to power? And since 2000, the number of people investigated and charged for 'political activities' like speaking in public, "illegal assembly", distributing flyers, etc...?

This is liberalisation?

methink

Written by Ng E-Jay, based on information compiled from mainstream media and alternative media reports, as well as detailed clauses in the Public Order Act 2009 recently passed by Parliament,
http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=2672

Parliament passed on Monday 13 April 2009 the Public Order Act of 2009.

Unlike previous legislation which defines an illegal assembly or illegal procession as one that involves 5 or more persons, the Public Order Bill criminalizes public activities held without a police permit by ANY number of people which in the view of law enforcement authorities compromise public order.

Law Minister and Second Minister for Home Affairs K Shanmugam told Parliament on Monday that the Public Order Act is needed prevent trouble at major conferences such as the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation summit to be held in Singapore in November this year.

The Law Minister also cited the recent example of political unrest in Thailand in which protesters eager to compel the ousting of Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva laid siege on the ASEAN Summit hotel, Royal Cliff Beach Resort, as well as other top-end popular resorts along the Pattaya Beach.

“The backdrop of current events in Thailand, with the international leaders having to leave the conference by helicopter hurriedly, showed very tellingly the need for this legislation,” said Mr K Shanmugam.

He also said that “the approach is to seek the optimal balance between the freedom to exercise political rights while not affecting public safety security and not affecting stability”.

However, opposition NCMP Sylvia Lim offered her view that the Government was taking advantage of political struggle in Thailand to “justify the implementation of draconian laws to inhibit the basic rights of Singaporeans further.”

She said: “As long as this Government respects and upholds democracy, the problems now we are seeing in Thailand will not happen here … … But if the government wants to tinker with individual freedom and democracy to an oppressive level, it will actually become the source of public order problems.”

I fully concur with Sylvia Lim, who has put across the main point of contention very succinctly. I am also pleased to know that Sylvia Lim voted against the Bill.

A summary of what is involved in the Public Order Act 2009

1. The new Public Order Act rationalises the existing two Bills — the Public Entertainments and Meetings Act (PEMA) and the Miscellaneous Offences Act (MOA). According to media reports, under the new Bill, three types of activities will require permits: those that demonstrate support for or against views or actions of any person, group of persons or any government; those that publicize a cause or campaign; and those that mark or commemorate any event.

In reality however, public actions made to promote a cause or campaign, or commemorate any event, are ALREADY subject to the need for a police permit, as explained here, here, here, here, here and here. The new Public Order Act thus merely formalizes existing subsidiary legislation in this area, which the authorities have already been selectively using against peaceful demonstrators, and manifestly for political reasons rather than for reasons involving public safety.

Many sporting and recreational activities will be exempted.

2. The penalty for participation in an assembly or procession without permit has increased. The maximum fine for first time offenders is raised to $3,000 and that for repeat offenders is now $5,000.

3. The Act will also give police officers new powers to issue pre-emptive “move-on” orders, which will be in written form, ordering demonstrators not to congregate at the intended rally area, or give them a chance to leave without getting arrested.

A Channel News asia report claims that currently, police can only observe and warn a person if an offence has been committed and follow up with investigations after the event. The report further claims that the police can only arrest the person on the spot if it is a seizable offence such as for carrying weapons. (See here.)

The media report however is misleading. Police have already made on-site arrests of peaceful protesters, such as the Tak Boleh Tahan protest on 15 March 2008, or the protest by four SDP CEC members outside the Istana in 2007 concerning Singapore’s military weapons trading with the Burmese junta.

4. The police will also formally get special powers for international events, which Mr Shanmugam describes as “trophy targets for terrorists”, where they can search people and personal property, including articles of clothing and the contents of vehicles. Law enforcement personnel can also require entrants of designated areas to declare their names and place of residence, as well as the reasons for their presence, before they are permitted entry.

Again, I must point out that law enforcement personnel have already been using such powers before the Act was introduced. For example, Ms Chee Siok Chin of the SDP was abducted by the police, bundled into an unmarked van, and unceremoniously driven away while she and John Tan were on their way to Shangrila Hotel on the evening of 20 November 2007. (See here.) The police used the excuse that Shangrila Hotel had been gazetted as a Protected Area under the Protected Areas and Protected Places Act (Chapter 256) in connection with the ongoing ASEAN Summit that was held in Singapore at that time. Other passersby could proceed without hindrance at the same location. Clearly the law applies only to some and not to all.

5. The police will also have powers to stop the filming of ongoing security operations and seize such materials. The police can also take such a person, who is believed to have such a film or picture, into custody if he refuses to stop filming or surrender his materials. But this rule does not apply to routine police duties, which means citizen journalists are now prohibited from filming civil disobedience acts, but can continue filming law enforcement personnel giving summons to illegally parked cars or scenes of police officers lazing on the job, for instance.

Also read Stop misleading the public on the Public Order Act - http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=2680

I remember when Tharm Shagyourmama first appeared on the political scene. he told everyone that he was more independent minded and tried to free up the political scene. Now he is nothing but a PAP mouthpiece.

funglung

I remember when Tharm Shagyourmama first appeared on the political scene. he told everyone that he was more independent minded and tried to free up the political scene. Now he is nothing but a PAP mouthpiece.

Anyone with stinking fuckhead LKY is nothing but another self serving bastard all out to enrich themselves and to keep power to themselves so that they can continue to enrich themselves by robbing and bleeding you.

JUST LOOK AT WHAT THEY DO ALL THE TIME

DO NOT WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TIME
THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW!

TALK TO YOUR FRIENDS AND YOUR RELATIVES.

SUPPORT OPPOSITION PARTIES WITH YOUR TIME AND MONEY AND STAND BY THEM AND WITH THEM.
THEY SPEAK FOR YOU AND TRY TO SPEAK FOR YOU.

LKY AND PAP HAVE BEEN USING THEIR KANGAROO COURTS TO TRY TO BANKRUPT THEM TO SILENCE THEM.

IF YOU DO NOT STAND WITH THEM AND STAND BY THEM, CAN YOU STAND ALONE AGAINST LKY?

SINGAPOREANS MUST UNITE AND SUPPORT ALL THE OPPOSITION PARTIES.

DO NOT JUST WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TO VOTE

VOTE OUT LKY AND HIS BASTARDS IN WHITE WHO ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY AND TO FUCK YOU.

IF NOT FOR YOURSELF, THEN FOR THE FUTURE OF YOUR CHILDREN

THERE WILL NOT BE AN OBAMA AS PRESIDENT OF USA IF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT THERE WAS INTIMIDATED BY BEATINGS AND LYNCHINGS IN THE PAST.

THE TOBBLING OF LKY WILL NOT BE EASY, AND CAN BE BLOODY AS WELL.
THEY WILL NOT GIVE UP THE BILLIONS THAT THEY SUCKED FROM YOU AND CAN CONTINUE TO SCREW FROM YOU NOW AND IN FUTURE.

ONLY YOU HAVE THE POWER TO SAY 'NO MORE OF THAT' AND THROW EVERYONE OF THOSE BASTARDS OUT

Already 400-500++ billions got sucked and bled by LKY into his Temasick and GIC.
HOW MANY OTHER BILLIONS GOT SUCKED AND USED BY THEM IN GLC WHERE THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS AND MINISTERS AND BASTARDS IN WHITE ARE CHAIRMAN AND CEOS?

EVEN IF NO ELECTIONS, SINKIES MUST SPEAK WITH ALL THEIR FRIENDS AND ALL THEY KNOW

STAND UP TO THAT BASTARD LKY AND PAP BLOODSUCKERS

STAND WITH ALL THOSE THAT FIGHT BASTARD LKY

OR STAND UP YOURSELF IN YOUR CONSTITUENCY

DONT BE BULLIED BY THAT FUCKING COWARD LKY USING HIS CORRUPT KANGAROO COURTS AND ALL THAT HE CAN, AND WILL THROW AT YOU

You will fear them only if you allow yourself to fear them.

Just because THEY want you to fear them, must you fear those fucking bastards?

THEY ONLY CAN RULE YOU , AND BLED YOU , THROUGH FEAR AND INTIMIDATION.

SINKIES,

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM.
THEY WILL THEN FEAR YOU.

AND YOU REGAIN YOUR MONEY AND YOUR FUTURE AND YOUR CHILDREN FUTURE.

DO NOT LET OUR MONEY GO TO FUND PAP DOGS FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

DO NOT DIE IN OLD FOLK HOMES IN JB.

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM

LEE KUAN YEW LOST AND LOST DUNNO HOW MANY BILLIONS IN TEMASICK AND GIC

EVEN MORE BILLIONS HE THREW AWAY TO HIS DOGS AND COCKROACHES SO THEY CAN TAKE FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

LKY NEED MORE BILLIONS FROM SINKIES WHO VOTED FOR HIM AND FROM THOSE WHO VOIDED THEIR VOTES

EVEN IF YOU VOTE AGAINST HIM, NO DIFFERENCE.

COLLECTIVE PUNISHMENT AS SINKIES DID NOT TRY HARD ENOUGH TO KICK OUT THAT VAMPIRE BASTARD LKY

SO EXPECT EVERYTHING IN SINGAPORE TO GO UP AND UP

BASTARD LKY NEED YOUR $$$$$

HE SCREW YOU AND DEMAND THAT YOU THANK HIM FOR HIS FUCKING 'SUBISIDIESD BULLSHIT' AND 'AFFORDABLE' CON-TALK.

GO ALL OUT TO KICK ALL THOSE BASTARDS OUT

ALL OF THEM