• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee says too many issues on the national agenda right now - by election must wait

†††††

No fixed time within which by-election must be called: PM Lee
By Joanne Chan | Posted: 15 February 2012 2108 hrs
display_image.php

SINGAPORE : Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has said there is no fixed time within which he must call a by-election.

Responding to media queries over the Workers' Party's expulsion of its MP for Hougang, Yaw Shin Leong, Mr Lee said an election is a very serious matter and noted that Singapore just had a General Election less than a year ago.

Mr Lee said: "Now, the Hougang SMC is vacant, as a result of what Mr Yaw Shin Leong has done, and the way the WP has handled the matter".

He said that "the WP has let down the voters of Hougang".

On whether a by-election in Hougang will be held, and the timing, Mr Lee said he "will consider the matter carefully".

He added that "there are many other issues on the national agenda right now".

- CNA/ms

Re: PM Lee says too many issues on the national agenda right now - by election must w

PM Lee is absolutely right! WP is wasting HG's voters time and resources. PM Lee should reject the by election!

Re: PM Lee says too many issues on the national agenda right now - by election must w

Even the PM is taking a dig at Yaw and WP.

Yaw has seriously undermined WP's effort and merit in the 2011 GE!

PM Lee is absolutely right! WP is wasting HG's voters time and resources. PM Lee should reject the by election!

By-election will have to be done sooner or later

please correct me if i'm mistaken: whether WP has let down the voters of Hougang or not, it will show through the vote count, no? :D:D:D

PAP knows they cannot win.....chances of lower percentage is likely....lose-lose situation

please correct me if i'm mistaken: whether WP has let down the voters of Hougang or not, it will show through the vote count, no? :D:D:D
Agree. Hougang voters are smarter than the national average. With the shit that's been happening since last May.....PAP definitely will get lower percentage.

Yeah they are so smart that they voted in Yaw :rolleyes:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/zLqSnJCmUQk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Smart move. This thing should drag on to make WP look bad. Also, he is waiting for the right timing in order to win. 时机未到。

Why? What did he do? Was he not up to his job? Did he not meet people and help them? Did he not look after his ward? Was he not efficient? Tell me in what way was it a bad idea to vote for him? Don't shoot off something you cannot comprehend because you sound just like a self-righteous piece of shit!

This thing should drag on to make WP look bad.

not likely, Hougang SMC and Aljunied GRC have their TC housed under one roof if i'm not mistaken. MTPS can still carry on as long as the other 5MPs split their load. folks get their voices heard, things get done.
administrative issues wouldn't matter a single bit.

as of moral issues... guessed WP made their stand rather clear enough, guessed they have done their sums to cut loose Yaw. any substantial delay reflects poorly on the incumbent instead, i.e. they lack the drive to win Hougang back :D:D:D

Why? What did he do? Was he not up to his job? Did he not meet people and help them? Did he not look after his ward? Was he not efficient? Tell me in what way was it a bad idea to vote for him? Don't shoot off something you cannot comprehend because you sound just like a self-righteous piece of shit!

The government mule still brays. We have a village insect and now this. Bad infestation.

lianbeng noted lee hsien loong boh eng lah.:D

They smart because they didn't vote for the wear white one, what's his name:confused::rolleyes:

Screwing around was not WP's manifesto, it's Yaw's personal addiction. It's Yaw who let down the voters Hougang, not WP.

wp is partially to blame for keeping this wanker for too long and promoting him over the years. singledhandedly he might have renamed wp as the wankers party.

Mr Lee said: "Now, the Hougang SMC is vacant, as a result of what Mr Yaw Shin Leong has done, and the way the WP has handled the matter".

Mr Prime Minister, you are residing in the posh Istana.. Who are you to say that the Workers Party has let down the humble HDB Sinkie peasants in Hougang..??? Have a By election there and you'll then know the sentiments of these Hougang residents.. Please send your best clown there ASAP.. A Heavyweight Cabinet Minister would also be ok..:D

This just shows PAP is running scared,,,with the price rises and everything else PAP is not going to benefit from YSL Gate,,,

A Heavyweight Cabinet Minister would also be ok..:D

bro,

corrections, don't think any current Ministers can fit the bill.

1. if he/she is a currently a minister, i.e. the person would have already be chosen as an MP from the last GE to begin with.
2. don't think a person can hold MP-ship at 2 places right?

do correct me if i'm mistaken :p:p:p