• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Picture of the day: Goh CT to retire after 44 years (no tears pls)

Singapore GE2020: Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong to retire from politics after 44 years as MP
Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong during his first general election in 1976 (left). He is retiring from politics.
Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong during his first general election in 1976 (left). He is retiring from politics.PHOTOS: FACEBOOK, ST FILE
PUBLISHED
3 HOURS AGO
UPDATED
53 SEC AGO
FACEBOOKTWITTER

Joyce Lim
Senior Correspondent

SINGAPORE - Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, 79, is retiring from politics after 44 years as a Member of Parliament.
Mr Goh, who was prime minister from 1990 to 2004,
announced his decision in a letter to Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Wednesday (June 24) and PM Lee has accepted his decision to retire from politics.
In his reply on Thursday (June 25), PM Lee thanked Mr Goh for a lifetime of distinguished service, on behalf of all Singaporeans.

The exchange of letters was released by the Prime Minister's Office on Thursday.
Mr Goh said it has been his greatest honour and privilege to have served the People's Action Party, residents of Marine Parade, as well as Singapore and Singaporeans over the past 44 years. He added that he will continue to contribute in other ways.
In a Facebook post on Thursday afternoon, Mr Goh said: "Residents, party comrades and grassroots leaders have urged me to stand once more in the coming GE. It is with a heavy heart that I have decided not to. Although I am still healthy, I worry I will not have the same energy to serve after I become an octogenarian next year (sounds old, doesn't it?). It will not be fair to you."

Mr Goh assured residents that Marine Parade will be in "very capable hands" under his successor in the constituency, Dr Tan See Leng.

Stay Informed | Singapore GE
Get breaking news and updates in the lead-up to Polling Day.
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
Mr Goh said Dr Tan, 55, who has been understudying him for two years, has the "right character, temperament, motivations, values and competence to be your next MP". Dr Tan will succeed Mr Goh as PAP Marine Parade Branch chairman.
In his reply to Mr Goh's letter, PM Lee said he is glad Mr Goh's succession is well in hand. Said PM Lee: "It is in Marine Parade that you have left the most personal imprint on the lives of individual Singaporeans. You were returned as the MP for Marine Parade eleven times, in ten general elections and one by-election over almost 45 years.

"When you were first elected in 1976, Marine Parade was newly reclaimed land - a large but blank canvas on which our hopes and dreams could be projected. Today, those dreams have become reality. Marine Parade has become a vibrant waterfront town filled with warmth, which people of all ages are proud to call home," PM Lee wrote.

"The story of Marine Parade is the story of Singapore - out of nothing, we created something special. You made that happen."
Related Story
ESM Goh Chok Tong retires from politics: Read his letter to PM Lee and the reply
Related Story
Lunch With Sumiko: 'My mantra was to keep Singapore going', says ESM Goh Chok Tong
Related Story
I knew I was not to be a seat warmer: Excerpts from Goh Chok Tong's biography

PM Lee acknowledged how Mr Goh had continued to contribute to Singapore's growth after he stepped down as PM - from inculcating the values and ethics of public service in younger MPs to guiding the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) to enhance the resilience of the banking system, strengthen links with international partners, promote innovation, and protect retail consumers.

PM Lee also recognised Mr Goh's efforts in building good relationships with foreign leaders which in turn created opportunities for Singapore businesses.
In a Facebook post on Thursday, PM Lee added: "I am forever personally indebted to Chok Tong, who brought me into politics. Ours was a fruitful comradeship that spanned the entirety of my years in politics and most of his - a close friendship between two prime ministers that would be the envy of many countries."

Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat, in a Facebook post, recalled how Mr Goh had given him very valuable advice during the Global Financial Crisis in 2008, when he was deliberating hard on whether to seek approval from the President for a $150 billion guarantee on all bank deposits in Singapore, to be backed by past reserves.
Mr Heng was then the managing director of MAS and Mr Goh its chairman.

"I was glad to have the wise counsel of ESM Goh. He taught us that we must face difficult decisions head-on. Having thought through the options, we must have the courage to do what is right. It was a lesson that stayed with me and continues to guide much of my work," wrote Mr Heng.
In a Facebook post, Speaker of the 13th Parliament Tan Chuan-Jin thanked Mr Goh for being a great mentor, describing him as a "down-to-earth person with a mischievous sense of humour" who looks out for those around him and his residents.

Mr Goh, an economist by training, joined the Government's Administrative Service in 1964 and joined national shipping company Neptune Orient Lines in 1969, becoming its managing director from 1973 to 1977.

He entered politics in 1976 and was first elected to Parliament as MP for Marine Parade in the 1976 general election.
He was re-elected in nine subsequent general elections, and served as Minister for Trade and Industry, Health and Defence between 1979 and 1990. He was appointed Deputy Prime Minister in 1985, and succeeded Mr Lee Kuan Yew as Singapore's prime minister in November 1990.

Mr Goh relinquished the post of PM in August 2004 to Mr Lee Hsien Loong, and remained in the Cabinet as Senior Minister. He also served as chairman of MAS from 2004 to 2011.

He stepped down from Cabinet alongside Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew after the 2011 general election, and was given the honorary title of Emeritus Senior Minister.
He was also appointed Senior Advisor to MAS.

His successor in Marine Parade, Dr Tan, was introduced as a PAP candidate for the July 10 general election on Thursday morning by Mr Heng. Dr Tan, who was former group chief executive and managing director of IHH Healthcare, is a medical practitioner with more than 30 years of experience in the healthcare industry.

• DAA4D08E-499F-41EB-B46F-19A8BCD184DD.jpeg
    DAA4D08E-499F-41EB-B46F-19A8BCD184DD.jpeg
    617.8 KB · Views: 157
Goh Chok Tong
PUBLISHED
NOV 4, 2018, 5:00 AM SGT
UPDATED
NOV 4, 2018, 11:17 AM
FACEBOOKTWITTER

Tall Order: The Goh Chok Tong Story chronicles the political journey of Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, from his young days to his entry into politics and the highs and lows as he rose through the ranks to become Singapore's second prime minister. It also reveals the deliberations and negotiations between Mr Goh and founding prime minister Lee Kuan Yew, before Singapore's maiden leadership transfer in 1990. Written by former Straits Times news editor Peh Shing Huei and published by World Scientific, the book is the first of two volumes on Mr Goh. It contains a foreword and afterword by the Emeritus Senior Minister, and a Q&A segment in each of the book's 10 chapters. Here are edited excerpts of the Q&A between the author and Mr Goh from the book.

HIS EARLY DAYS IN POLITICS
Q Were you regarded as the top high-flier in the 1976 General Election and seen as one of the potential new Cabinet ministers?
A I would not say so. At that time, nobody expected you to be anybody. Succession was still not quite yet flaunted or talked about. How did you know the others would not be high-fliers? Nobody speculated that you would be an office-holder and there was no point in speculating because the old ministers then were still quite young. It was too early to say. Your bigwigs in politics were there - Toh Chin Chye, Ong Pang Boon, Chua Sian Chin, Jek Yeun Thong, S. Rajaratnam, E.W. Barker. They were in their late 40s, at most 50s. I was 35.

HOW HE REGARDS OPPOSITION POLITICIANS
Q Would you be friendly with long-time opposition MPs like Chiam See Tong and Low Thia Khiang too?

A I regard Chiam as a friend.
Q As a friend?
A As a friend, yes. I have seen him at dinners outside. He would come to me and I would go and talk to his wife and so on. If I see the wife, I would ask her how Chiam is. He was a gentleman politician. He had his own purpose in politics, which is to create a two-party Parliament. There is nothing wrong with that. We did not like it, but we said you try, so he tried.

Q Would that be the same towards Low?

A It is the same with Low. In fact, with most of the people, it is the same thing. We always watch. What is the purpose, their aspirations, their goals and would they bring Singapore down? Or would they be just difficult opponents for us? Then we got to be better than them. So, if they are honest and honourable and want to do good for Singapore even though it is in a different way, well, we can have a debate on that. But if your views are totally wrong in our view, like promising a welfare state and using the reserves, then we would fight you. We would fight you tooth and nail on your wrong-headed and populist approach.

Mr Goh Chok Tong and Mr Lee Kuan Yew at a press conference in September 1988 after the general election results were announced. Mr Lee asked Mr Goh over lunch in early 1990 to take over power from him. Mr Goh agreed and became Singapore's second prim
Mr Goh Chok Tong and Mr Lee Kuan Yew at a press conference in September 1988 after the general election results were announced. Mr Lee asked Mr Goh over lunch in early 1990 to take over power from him. Mr Goh agreed and became Singapore's second prime minister on Nov 28, 1990. He stepped down as prime minister 14 years later, on Aug 12, 2004, and was succeeded by Mr Lee Hsien Loong. ST FILE PHOTO

Q So who would be someone whom you would not speak to?
A Chee Soon Juan.
MR GOH AND MR LEE KUAN YEW
Q
As you approached 1990, what were your thoughts on what kind of leader you would like to be?
A The first thing you would ask yourself and your colleagues would ask you is whether you stood for change or continuity. That was also the question Lee Kuan Yew asked me. And he asked me because I was thinking of, at that time, to move into the Istana Villa and making it my office. It was very clear in my mind that I was not going to move Lee Kuan Yew out of his room.

Q Why?
A Because too much of him was in there. I did not want to take over the room. I mean, it is not a joke, but to me, the room would smell of Lee Kuan Yew. Everything there would have his spirit. You could not operate. Also, out of respect for him, he should stay there; it had been so many years. But it is the thought that you were stepping into something which was his - it was like going into his home to run the family of Singapore - it was very difficult. So, I was thinking of moving the Prime Minister's office (PMO) out. I was thinking that I could go to the Villa. I quite liked the idea of a small PMO in a villa instead of at the Istana main building.

During Lee Kuan Yew's time, the staff strength was very small; and my time, it was very small. There was just myself, a PPS (principal private secretary), a press secretary who was based in MCI, and two secretaries. That was all my staff. That was also the staff for Lee Kuan Yew. That was Singapore's "White House". The Cabinet secretaries are not part of your inner staff. They handle Cabinet papers and they are more administrators. The Singapore system is that the PM would deal directly with the ministers and ministries. So, if I had to do something on economy, I would go through the minister and the minister has the whole ministry. So, it is a very lean PMO. Of course, the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau (CPIB) and a few other places come under PMO - that is different. Election's Office - that is different. But the Istana staff was very small. So, this was all I had and I was thinking it would be very nice to go to the Istana Villa. It would be a very cosy kind of a PM's office.

So, I gave Lee Kuan Yew my view and I told him continuity in policies. He advised that if I was for continuity, then do not move out. If I moved out to a new place, I was signalling change. And I would be distancing myself from the old regime. He said he wanted me to take over his room, it is the PM's room. I said no, I did not want to take over.
PREPARED TO DO THE JOB
In my heart, I knew that Lee Kuan Yew never meant for me to be a seat warmer. Politicians must have some thick skin and be able to laugh it off because in my view, that is not what Lee Kuan Yew regarded me as. You must have self-respect. If Lee Kuan Yew used me for his own purpose, then what is the point for me? History would laugh at you, isn't it? I have the self-confidence. I was prepared to do the job and I knew he was honest with me, my strengths and weaknesses.
MR GOH, on how he knew that he was not to be a seat warmer for Mr Lee Hsien Loong.
Q If you had taken over his office, where would he have gone?
A In other countries, that was their problem, not the PM's problem. You are out, you are out in the streets. John Major and Tony Blair - they are out, going all over the place. That is the system. Ours works out differently and very well now; there is a certain system in looking after the former PM. At that point, there was no experience. So, I said, stay where you are. Seeing that I would not change my mind, Lee Kuan Yew told me that there was a place available above his office. It was his dining room. The whole floor was empty and only a little corner was marked out to be his dining room. The place was quite big and I could use it. I asked him where he would then have his lunch. He said that there was no problem - he created a small room on a different level from his office to be his lunch room. We are all very practical; we are not looking for grand things. So, the third floor was renovated to be my office. I decided on the carpet and picked the furniture.

Q How were you able to have such a relationship with him, especially after how he criticised you publicly?
A We were quite frank with each other. I trusted him. I never doubted his honesty, motive and integrity. I never doubted that he wanted me to succeed. If anything, he was exasperated with my lack of public communicative skills. And if he wanted Lee Hsien Loong to be in charge, he would have told me. That was why I could work with him. I came to the conclusion early that he did not want the son to take over from him, and he was looking for somebody other than Loong. That was quite clear. The public conclusion was that he wanted me as a seat warmer. But I knew him and I went in knowing I was not to be a seat warmer and I was to be in charge for as long as I could. In other words, he was looking for a real successor outside his family.

Q How did you know that you were not a seat warmer?
A It was interaction and confidence in him. If I suspected that he was just putting me to be a seat warmer for his son, and just for two, three years, what is the point? Then I would have said 'let us find a way for Lee Hsien Loong to take over from you'. There was no need to have me. There was no point. But I never worried about the seat warmer joke. In my heart, I knew that Lee Kuan Yew never meant for me to be a seat warmer. Politicians must have some thick skin and be able to laugh it off because in my view, that is not what Lee Kuan Yew regarded me as. You must have self-respect. If Lee Kuan Yew used me for his own purpose, then what is the point for me? History would laugh at you, isn't it? I have the self-confidence. I was prepared to do the job and I knew he was honest with me, my strengths and weaknesses.
His friends and grassroots leaders have tried for years to get Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong to write a book. When he hit 75, he decided there were lessons he could share from his experiences.

Related Story
Lunch With Sumiko: 'My mantra was to keep Singapore going', says ESM Goh Chok Tong
Related Story
New book tells of how ESM Goh felt after public criticism from Mr Lee

Q
How did Lee Kuan Yew tell you that he was ready to hand over to you?
A I was quite happy he was doing the job of PM. He was still young and I was in no hurry. But in early 1990, over lunch, he told me that I should take over now. I was to pick a date and take over. So, the man was true to his word that he would hand over. He could not do so at 65 as he felt I was not ready. In 1990, he just said I was to take over. So, I said yes. That was all. That was how transition took place in Singapore. Elsewhere, they fought and so on. He added that he thought he should stay on in Cabinet. Was it because he wanted to play a role or was he not fully confident in me? I think he was not fully confident. Indeed, he would not be immediately confident in anyone taking over from him. He wanted to guide and help; not to direct or control.

Q When he said he should stay on in Cabinet, did that come as a surprise to you?
A Not really. I was quite happy. It was better to have Lee Kuan Yew inside than outside! Remember his remark about rising from the grave if things went wrong? If things went wrong, would he have kept quiet? Would he have said that this is a new PM, he would watch and he would not interfere right away? In 1988, I was very relieved he was going to carry on for two more years. By 1990, I was ready. In my heart, I was ready.
Tall Order: The Goh Chok Tong Story is available at major bookstores at $56 (hardcover) and $37 (paperback), excluding GST.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Sunday Times on November 04, 2018, with the headline ''I knew I was not to be a seat warmer''. Print Edition | Subscribe

A seat warmer who vehemently denied that he's a seat warmer.

Fucking prick should have left politics when he stepped down as PM. Good riddance.

fuck off. Wooden was a loyal dumb dog of LKY to hold the throne when LHL wasn't ready.

I can't believe the 158th presstitutes didn't use this picture in their farewell fluff piece for Woody Goh. :biggrin:

The fact that he could 骗吃骗喝 at Marine Parade for so long as a de facto 太上皇 is an odious legacy of LKY. One party rule is so wonderful, right? :rolleyes:

tYsJXoX.jpg

He can only fully retire if he goes thru the incinerater....

It is my belief that Lee Hsien Loong has done far greater harm to the country that Goh Chok Tong ever did. This should not be misconstrued as defending Goh Chok Tong.

The fact that he had to address questions of whether he was a seat warmer is amusing. Some things are best left unsaid.

His resignation letter is absolute crap. He was hoping against hope he will be
roped in. When it was obvious, he "resigned" today - and it was accepted
immediately. Wayang. Didn't the PAP central committee need to meet and
agree whether his resignation is accepted?

His greatest accomplishment was setting a low bar for the next bench warmer PM Heng

isn't this wooden prick the one who open the floodgates for foreigners to influx sinkieland and cause sinkies to be displaced in our carrers and forever rising cost of living?
fuck him

CBL still talk like he is great, knn , lucky as 70% sinkies are dumb as stated by CCS.I agree with CCS that most sinkies are dumb.

Singapore GE2020: Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong to retire from politics after 44 years as MP
Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong during his first general election in 1976 (left). He is retiring from politics.
Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong during his first general election in 1976 (left). He is retiring from politics.PHOTOS: FACEBOOK, ST FILE
PUBLISHED
3 HOURS AGO
UPDATED
53 SEC AGO
FACEBOOKTWITTER

Joyce Lim
Senior Correspondent

SINGAPORE - Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, 79, is retiring from politics after 44 years as a Member of Parliament.
Mr Goh, who was prime minister from 1990 to 2004,
announced his decision in a letter to Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Wednesday (June 24) and PM Lee has accepted his decision to retire from politics.
In his reply on Thursday (June 25), PM Lee thanked Mr Goh for a lifetime of distinguished service, on behalf of all Singaporeans.

The exchange of letters was released by the Prime Minister's Office on Thursday.
Mr Goh said it has been his greatest honour and privilege to have served the People's Action Party, residents of Marine Parade, as well as Singapore and Singaporeans over the past 44 years. He added that he will continue to contribute in other ways.
In a Facebook post on Thursday afternoon, Mr Goh said: "Residents, party comrades and grassroots leaders have urged me to stand once more in the coming GE. It is with a heavy heart that I have decided not to. Although I am still healthy, I worry I will not have the same energy to serve after I become an octogenarian next year (sounds old, doesn't it?). It will not be fair to you."

Mr Goh assured residents that Marine Parade will be in "very capable hands" under his successor in the constituency, Dr Tan See Leng.

Stay Informed | Singapore GE
Get breaking news and updates in the lead-up to Polling Day.
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
Mr Goh said Dr Tan, 55, who has been understudying him for two years, has the "right character, temperament, motivations, values and competence to be your next MP". Dr Tan will succeed Mr Goh as PAP Marine Parade Branch chairman.
In his reply to Mr Goh's letter, PM Lee said he is glad Mr Goh's succession is well in hand. Said PM Lee: "It is in Marine Parade that you have left the most personal imprint on the lives of individual Singaporeans. You were returned as the MP for Marine Parade eleven times, in ten general elections and one by-election over almost 45 years.

"When you were first elected in 1976, Marine Parade was newly reclaimed land - a large but blank canvas on which our hopes and dreams could be projected. Today, those dreams have become reality. Marine Parade has become a vibrant waterfront town filled with warmth, which people of all ages are proud to call home," PM Lee wrote.

"The story of Marine Parade is the story of Singapore - out of nothing, we created something special. You made that happen."
Related Story
ESM Goh Chok Tong retires from politics: Read his letter to PM Lee and the reply
Related Story

PM Lee acknowledged how Mr Goh had continued to contribute to Singapore's growth after he stepped down as PM - from inculcating the values and ethics of public service in younger MPs to guiding the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) to enhance the resilience of the banking system, strengthen links with international partners, promote innovation, and protect retail consumers.

PM Lee also recognised Mr Goh's efforts in building good relationships with foreign leaders which in turn created opportunities for Singapore businesses.
In a Facebook post on Thursday, PM Lee added: "I am forever personally indebted to Chok Tong, who brought me into politics. Ours was a fruitful comradeship that spanned the entirety of my years in politics and most of his - a close friendship between two prime ministers that would be the envy of many countries."

Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat, in a Facebook post, recalled how Mr Goh had given him very valuable advice during the Global Financial Crisis in 2008, when he was deliberating hard on whether to seek approval from the President for a $150 billion guarantee on all bank deposits in Singapore, to be backed by past reserves.
Mr Heng was then the managing director of MAS and Mr Goh its chairman.

"I was glad to have the wise counsel of ESM Goh. He taught us that we must face difficult decisions head-on. Having thought through the options, we must have the courage to do what is right. It was a lesson that stayed with me and continues to guide much of my work," wrote Mr Heng.
In a Facebook post, Speaker of the 13th Parliament Tan Chuan-Jin thanked Mr Goh for being a great mentor, describing him as a "down-to-earth person with a mischievous sense of humour" who looks out for those around him and his residents.

Mr Goh, an economist by training, joined the Government's Administrative Service in 1964 and joined national shipping company Neptune Orient Lines in 1969, becoming its managing director from 1973 to 1977.

He entered politics in 1976 and was first elected to Parliament as MP for Marine Parade in the 1976 general election.
He was re-elected in nine subsequent general elections, and served as Minister for Trade and Industry, Health and Defence between 1979 and 1990. He was appointed Deputy Prime Minister in 1985, and succeeded Mr Lee Kuan Yew as Singapore's prime minister in November 1990.

Mr Goh relinquished the post of PM in August 2004 to Mr Lee Hsien Loong, and remained in the Cabinet as Senior Minister. He also served as chairman of MAS from 2004 to 2011.

He stepped down from Cabinet alongside Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew after the 2011 general election, and was given the honorary title of Emeritus Senior Minister.
He was also appointed Senior Advisor to MAS.

His successor in Marine Parade, Dr Tan, was introduced as a PAP candidate for the July 10 general election on Thursday morning by Mr Heng. Dr Tan, who was former group chief executive and managing director of IHH Healthcare, is a medical practitioner with more than 30 years of experience in the healthcare industry.

ESM Goh was a great man, a true patriot, a true Son of Singapore. On behalf of all samsters here, I would like to wish ESM Goh a happy retirement and may you live a long and healthy life.

I can't believe the 158th presstitutes didn't use this picture in their farewell fluff piece for Woody Goh. :biggrin:

The fact that he could 骗吃骗喝 at Marine Parade for so long as a de facto 太上皇 is an odious legacy of LKY. One party rule is so wonderful, right? :rolleyes:

tYsJXoX.jpg
This picture of Pinky wearing only a Spandex to cover his modesty tells a thousands words...