• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Permanently disabled' taxi driver sues Government

$$$$$$$$$$$$

Were cabby's ailments known at licence renewal?

I REFER to the article, 'Cabby opts for jail before heart treatment' (ST, Jan 4).

Wed, Jan 09, 2008

The Straits Times

I REFER to the article, 'Cabby opts for jail before heart treatment' (ST, Jan 4).
The article says taxi driver Lee Yuet Kong 'has a history of heart failure and a host of other ailments including hypertension and diabetes'.

I would like to pose the following questions to the authorities and any organisation involved in granting taxi licences and employing taxi drivers:

When was Lee's licence last renewed?

Which of his ailments, if any, were known at the time of renewal?

What health, age and general criteria are applied to allow someone to drive a public transport vehicle, and for a taxi company to employ such a driver?

While it is generally true that relatively few employment options are open to people in their late 60s, the public should know that sufficient precautions are taken for the sake of public safety.

The article made it clear that the reported ailments were Lee's attempt at mitigation. However, readers will not believe the reported ailments could have suddenly surfaced after April 9 last year, the date of the collision in which Lee was involved.

Implicitly, there may be more drivers with a history of hypertension, diabetes and heart ailments, taking tourists to and from the airport in their vehicles, driving housewives home from the market, and perhaps ferrying our children to school.

Agnes Png (Mdm)

$$$$$$$$$$$

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Woman, angry with cabby, plonks herself in front of his taxi

Madam Lee Geok Hiok, a cleaner, was parking her car along the road behind

People's Park Centre at 11.30pm on Tuesday when the taxi driver sounded his

horn. -ST

Khushwant Singh

Tue, Apr 29, 2008
The Straits Times

A 60-YEAR-OLD woman was so enraged by a taxi driver showing her an obscene sign, she planted herself in front of his taxi.

Madam Lee Geok Hiok, a cleaner, was parking her car along the road behind People's Park Centre at 11.30pm on Tuesday when the taxi driver sounded his horn.

She said: 'I gestured to him to wait and he made this rude sign with his finger.'

She marched to his stationary taxi, opened the driver's door and asked him why he showed her the bad sign.

'He tried to deny doing so but then apologised,' she said.

She called the police and held onto the door to prevent him from driving off.

When he moved his taxi forward, she fell onto the road, bruising her right knee.

When the taxi was about to exit from Havelock Square, the feisty woman stood in its way in front of the Family and Juvenile Court.

The taxi then reversed and sped pass her. Police arrived soon and interviewed her and several witnesses.

In April last year, financial adviser Alex Lim, 30, died after he stood in front of the taxi driven by 68-year-old Lee Yuet Kong along Scotts Road.

Mr Lim wanted to get Lee's particulars after a minor collision but Lee drove away, throwing him onto the bonnet.

When the cab braked abruptly, Mr Lim fell backwards and hit his head on the road. He died a month later in hospital.

Lee was jailed for a year and banned from driving for life for reckless driving.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Lee was jailed for a year and banned from driving for life for reckless driving.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Thanks Yip Hon for the update. If for me, I would say that fucking cab driver Lee deserves nothing less than a life imprisonment, if not death sentence. Imagine a 60's killing a 30's who is at his prime years, by using his vehicle as a weapon of destruction.

I do hope that Krafty won't end up in the same situation because of his stress build-up after his long hours of driving.

+++++++++++++++++++++

sorry to say accidents sometimes do happened :

eg :

Driver suspended after bus ploughed into Eunos bus stop
By Saifulbahri Ismail | Posted: 18 April 2010 1451 hrs

Photos 1 of 1

SBS bus rams into bus stop at Eunos Link

Related News

• SBS bus rams into bus stop at Eunos Link, 21 injured

SINGAPORE:

The driver of the SBS Transit bus that ploughed into a bus stop in Eunos Link on Saturday has been suspended from his duties while investigations are being conducted.
The bus collided with several vehicles before crashing into the bus stop, causing 21 passengers to get injured.

Fifteen of them were sent to Changi General Hospital and the remaining six, all children, were sent to KK Women's and Children's Hospital.

One victim had head injuries and was semi-conscious but is now in stable condition.

The rest, including the driver, suffered light injuries such as cuts and bruises.

A spokesperson from SBS Transit said that most of the injured received outpatient treatment, and SBS Transit would pay for all their medical expenses.

- CNA/pw :(

++++++++++++++++++++=

allow me to correct myself, there is insurance coverage by Taxi companies for both hirers and relief drivers,including hospitalization bills.

Regarding STA,they will help him to file claim provided he is STA member. As for procedure wise,it's advisable to check with STA themselves.

hi,bro,thanks,不敢当。。。:D

What I know is drivers have to buy their own insurance,so far never hear that taxi co will compensate. there is Spore Taxi assoc. but I dun know how they will help him...(That's all I know). But I can find out more and let you know soon.

Both party at also wrong. If vehicle travel 6okm/h sure have enough time to slow down. How come the accident become so serious?
No need to blame on what colour of the car sure they have headligh ON at night.
I always hate bus/taxi and lorry on the road. Bus thinking the are the king because of the bus lane. Taxi driver speed like they are the racer. The lorry fucking travel in 2nd lane travel 70~80km/h slowing down the traffic.

Both party at also wrong. If vehicle travel 6okm/h sure have enough time to slow down. How come the accident become so serious?
No need to blame on what colour of the car sure they have headligh ON at night.
I always hate bus/taxi and lorry on the road. Bus thinking the are the king because of the bus lane. Taxi driver speed like they are the racer. The lorry fucking travel in 2nd lane travel 70~80km/h slowing down the traffic.[/QUOTE]

what i always do is to overtake those cb lorry and drive even slower in front of them:D:D:D

LOL. Those money sucking lawyers must be believing that Land Rovers can also do drifting. They must have watched too much of Fast & Furious. WTF?

I am really surprised that both sides did not subpeona the police who arrived at the scene to testify. Too bad they don't have accident reconstruction units in the SPF.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Today Papers , as quoted here :

"An interlocutory judgment has been entered which means both sides will share liability for the collision... "

.. the judge has given his judgement that both side

share liablity for the collision ...

Frankly , there was No mentioned of DB=Detention Barrack ( u Mean ? )

in the newspapers ...

If the taxi driver is given a choice of DB ( a few months maybe )

or body Paralysis . Surely he will chose DB ...:(

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Of course there is no mention of DB. What, did you expect real investigative journalism in S'pore?. The SOP for the SAF is if any driver got into accident with a civilian vehicle, the SAF driver is ALWAYS wrong regardless of who caused the accident and is courtmartialled. I was involved in a few court martialled with these drivers. I don't agree with this policy, it shows no loyalty to your men. But I remember one case when an SAF ambulance was rushing a soldier injured in Area D to ALexandria hospital. One stupid woman driving a Toyota Corolla collided with the ambulance even though the ambulance had all its emergency lights and siren on. When asked why she did not give way to an ambulance, she said she did not think that was a real ambulance!! Needless to say, ambulance driver got DB even though its not his fault. This is the SAF for you. They expect you to die for your country, but they will give u up if they can.

nothing against taxi drivers. BUT! a lot of them are mother fucker who think they are driving F1 on the road! a lot of time i turn out to the main road and keep to the left lane. those mother fucker taxi driver will speed to my front and stop. since they are stopping, why cant they stop behind me? fucking stupid idiot! i think traffic police should have some plain cloth officers with unmarked cars to do an operation on taxi drivers! yes! targets on taxi drivers only! my wife had an accident with a taxi before and i was at the passenger seat. the fucker cutting into my lane but slower than my car, ended up left front of my car contacted his right back of his car. im going straight and he is cutting into my fucking lane just after a traffic junction! the best thing is he dare not stop immediately, but moved to the side of the road. if he stop immediately at the point of contact, it will show that he is cutting into my lane. asked 50 from me, i told him to fuck off. fuck you all taxi drivers!

PS. i think i will write to the TP to suggest to them to do it. unmarked car target on taxi drivers ONLY. i will ask more of my friends who kena from taxi drivers to do it. i think its time for TP to clamp down on taxi drivers way of driving. nothing against taxi drivers but their way of driving.

well, you may be right but most taxi drivers drove like the road belong to them, suddenly jam brake to pick up customer, stopping in the middle of road to drop them off etc. SAF vehicle usually have a vehicle commander & its very unlikely for both driver and commander to commit such a serious offence like driving in oppsite direction

Jam brake to pick up customer, stopping in the middle of the road to drop off passenger..

Tell me, who's the one at fault REALLY? The taxi driver (who wants to stop in the middle of the road, and want to jam brake pick up customer), or the passenger (who wants to stop there and then in the middle of the road, or wave last minute at taxis cruising by)?

Much as I have seen my fair share of reckless taxi drivers, I have to say that there are times when it is the passengers themselves who "chu" pattern by trying to flag the taxi at the weirdest of all locations along the road and enticing the taxi driver with a fare to stop at illegal areas along the road (double yellow zig-zag lines, zebra crossings, yellow boxes, etc). Or the passenger suddenly realise he/she's reached the destination, and exclaim to the driver to STOP HERE STOP HERE!

confirm plus guarantee e taxi @ fault... 22 yr old rover drive wun haf e balls 2 do a turn @ such speed. N is e rover even capable of dat? Taxi drivers r good @ 1 thing...lying.
Knn they rly believe they r king of e road.
Gt 1 taxi cut into my lane din signal den i hit its side. Fcuker come out 1st qn ask y i never give way. Wtf?

22 yr old rover driver won't have balls? Not a valid statement. I once knew of a NSF driver who tried to pull off a stunt and impress the VC.

What he did: He turned off his engine when going down a steep slope and let the rover cruise down the slope without the brakes.

Who he was trying to impress: the MTO from his own MT line.

What he got: DB, of course. (How many years, I forgot.)

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Of course there is no mention of DB. What, did you expect real investigative journalism in S'pore?. The SOP for the SAF is if any driver got into accident with a civilian vehicle, the SAF driver is ALWAYS wrong regardless of who caused the accident and is courtmartialled. I was involved in a few court martialled with these drivers. I don't agree with this policy, it shows no loyalty to your men. But I remember one case when an SAF ambulance was rushing a soldier injured in Area D to ALexandria hospital. One stupid woman driving a Toyota Corolla collided with the ambulance even though the ambulance had all its emergency lights and siren on. When asked why she did not give way to an ambulance, she said she did not think that was a real ambulance!! Needless to say, ambulance driver got DB even though its not his fault. This is the SAF for you. They expect you to die for your country, but they will give u up if they can.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

My time national service used to be 2.5 years .

Mow it is 2 yrs only .

With x 1 driver and x 1 VC , if accident happened

then detention barrack i think is fair ( i mean after

BOARD OF INQUIRY )

allow me to correct myself, there is insurance coverage by Taxi companies for both hirers and relief drivers,including hospitalization bills.

Regarding STA,they will help him to file claim provided he is STA member. As for procedure wise,it's advisable to check with STA themselves.

========================================

Bro , how are n ? biz good ?

STA = ?

TOA = Taxi Operator Assn

i am doing other things at the moment,will drive only when i feel like it.

STA= Spore Taxi assoc.

btw,may i ask why you are so interested about taxi's trade?

========================================

Bro , how are n ? biz good ?

STA = ?

TOA = Taxi Operator Assn