• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Peking Duck thread

Anyway, Beijing (Peking) duck originates from Beijing. If you don't like the Beijing version, what else is there to like about it? :confused:

don't know leh...i was brought to the "most famous" duck store in Beijing but I remember it is different...the skin is not so crispy and thicker...
maybe kena smoked by my friends..

Sichuan Dou Hua restaurant at the top of uob building. They cut and serve u on the spot and also meat served as well..

It was a dish concocted to con the emperors. The imperial livestock farm could rear very good quality duck of course. Emperors' meals were lavishly wasteful with 64-dish standard, of which they just ate a little of each dish. The cooks realised the duck meat was delicious and nutricious, and kept it for themselves and to bribe the eunuchs, served only the skin to the emperors with some sweet sauce and paper-thin bun. There were so many dishes that the emperors didn't bother to notice and the skin was actually quite good anyway.

Foreign tourists, diplomats and dignitaries thereafter are being conned the same way until it attained international status symbol when peasants with some money start conning themselves too, much to the delight of duck merchants and restauranteurs. Eat skin? What the hell is that logic? Even an idiot knows how to spit out skin and eat meat.

Eat skin? What the hell is that logic? Even an idiot knows how to spit out skin and eat meat.

Skin is just another organ of the body. If one can enjoy chicken feet or pig liver/intestines/kidney's soup, I don't see anything wrong enjoying duck skin and esp the layer of fat under the skin.

:)

don't know leh...i was brought to the "most famous" duck store in Beijing but I remember it is different...the skin is not so crispy and thicker...
maybe kena smoked by my friends..

You're not the only one. Back in 02 I was on a package tour and they took us to this place supposedly "famous" for this dish. The rest of the group thought it fantastic except my wife, me, and a HK couple. The rest were Caucasians. So to me, the crappiest Peking Duck I ever had was in Beijing. And the best Peking Duck ever was at Prima Towers.

Having said that, the eel at that restaurant was super fantastic.

BTW, how come people say Prima Revolving Restaurant? It doesn't turn. Must be too much XO.

Skin is just another organ of the body. If one can enjoy chicken feet or pig liver/intestines/kidney's soup, I don't see anything wrong enjoying duck skin and esp the layer of fat under the skin.

Yup. Some people like Fish Lips (not me though). Duck skin, Pork Rinds, and even fried fish skin - I like. Blardy unhealthy though.

I gotta friend who likes Pig Brains! This one really - To Each His Own.

Yes like I've said, different strokes for different folks. Even pigskin can be palatable for kway chap and yong tau foo. Talking about pig, the traditional Chinese roast pig is all about skin too, much like the Peking duck. Once again, another con job to save the meat for the poorer folks from being wasted the wealthies and royalties. To be fair, both Peking duck and roast pig have to skilfully and tediously done to be palatable.

Then how about your stupid goat head ?? ... u recommend steamed or barbecued ?? :eek: Hahahaha ....:D

Hmm...Incidentally, for Cantonese roast pork, I also go for its crispy skin and the fatty layer. I'd give the lean part a miss usually.

I am a skin person I guess. :)

Then how about your stupid goat head ?? ... u recommend steamed or barbecued ?? :eek: Hahahaha ....:D

Goats Head Soup - Rolling Stones (1973)

B000000W5B.01._SCMZZZZZZZ_.jpg

Best cooked by Angie.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXRExocnpUw

Looks like it's Prima Revolving Restaurant which got the most stars.

Alritey, I'd give it a try then. Thanks!

P/S Does it really revolve?

This type best to invite for makan. Fish heads go only for meat behind head, letting others enjoy the eyeballs. KFC only go for chicken breast. Served caviar go for cracker and leave out the black black part. Decline goose liver because scared of cholesterol. Beijing duck go only to ta pau flesh home.

Eat skin? What the hell is that logic? Even an idiot knows how to spit out skin and eat meat.

Looks like it's Prima Revolving Restaurant which got the most stars.

Alritey, I'd give it a try then. Thanks!

P/S Does it really revolve?
Revolve 1rp10mins...obviously can't be too fast! Their dimsum is also very good but must do booking during the wkends!

It was a dish concocted to con the emperors. The imperial livestock farm could rear very good quality duck of course. Emperors' meals were lavishly wasteful with 64-dish standard, of which they just ate a little of each dish. The cooks realised the duck meat was delicious and nutricious, and kept it for themselves and to bribe the eunuchs, served only the skin to the emperors with some sweet sauce and paper-thin bun. There were so many dishes that the emperors didn't bother to notice and the skin was actually quite good anyway.

Foreign tourists, diplomats and dignitaries thereafter are being conned the same way until it attained international status symbol when peasants with some money start conning themselves too, much to the delight of duck merchants and restauranteurs. Eat skin? What the hell is that logic? Even an idiot knows how to spit out skin and eat meat.

WAH all the all knowing ram shows his infinte wisdom again and again and again and again :eek::eek::eek:

Yes you are correct. What fools we all have been eating the duck skin.

We shall all be enlightened folks and not order duck skin dishes ever! :rolleyes: