• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Pedestrians should always keep left to maintain order on the streets

bic_cherry

Pedestrians should always keep left to maintain order on the streets

(Just like when using the SMRT escalators), so that there can be safe and orderly use of footpaths and PMDs users can safely overtake pedestrians en route instead of causing a mini traffic jam/ miscommunication accidents because pedestrians and PMD users do not know which side to take (like deer in headlights) whenever passing each other by.

Many more will be using PMD like bicycles and e-scooters and even e-wheelchairs for transport/ work like food/parcel delivery services, elderly persons with amputations/ weak knees also need space so that their e-wheelchairs can pass/ overtake. It is important for pedestrians to be considerate and keep to the left at all times and not walk in a zig zag fashion based upon the road pattern of tree shade.

Singaporeans need to learn to care and share more with each other and not adopt the entitlement mentality wherever they go.

FYEYi7r.jpg

E bikes and bicycles should not be allowed on pedestrian walk.

my uncle say keep left, heads up, mobilephone in pocket, give way to others.

Another iteration of the same pedestrian keep left rule is practised at Orchard Road so that pedestrians expeditiously cross the road, although evidently, many Singaporeans are unfamiliar with orderliness/ being considerate to others.

Grange Road crossing at Orchard Road, towards 313 Somerset:
DpwilnC.jpg

christmas (sgclub) said:
Very difficult to implement. Furthermore bicycles are everywhere on the pavements.

Pedestrians will have to obey in due course when more of these signs are displayed along shared footpaths all over Singapore ...

If PAP doesn't enforce the pedestrian keep left rule, then the car lite push and by extension, the 6.9 million population aspiration will fail.

Dockless rental bikes should be parked on grass verge/ designated parking areas to avoid blocking shared footpath traffic.

trucks and buses should just roll over pedestrians..... there's too many self entitled dumbfark on the road just like red algae destroying the sea. education is wasted resources

They should start a stop looking at your phone while crossing the road campaign

Ebikes can go fuck themselves.

not only them, motorcycle also.
today saw one delivery rider cut through against traffic , mount onto footpath and drive onto void deck hdb.
i understand they need to earn $$ but also must respect traffic.

E bikes and bicycles should not be allowed on pedestrian walk.

Pedestrian walks should only be used by pedestrians.Short and simple! All forms of mobility devices whether self-propelled or electric should brave the traffic and confined to the roads.

hfourhappy(sgfuck) said:
Why create problem then solve the problem?
Pmds should be on the road and not on the pavement in the first place.

e-PMD (besides e-wheelchairs) all weigh UNDER 20kg and speed limit is only 25kph. Some pedestrians alone are more than 20kgs overweight.

PMD cannot travel in excess of 25kph.

The lightest possible mass production cars and motorcycles are in the region of 750kg and 150kg respectively.

Also, PMD include electric wheelchairs which whilst able to travel ar 25kph if not speed restricted, is likely to be used by disable person unlikely to travel on excess of normal walking speed.

PMD are also considered effective last mile transport vehicles, thus, PMD users also do not carry helmets so it is unsafe to use the road and carrying unnecessary bike helmets and other bulky accessories around would delay boarding/ alighting when using public transport.

Just as Singaporeans embraced the lithium battery powered handphone without question, Singaporeans must also embrace the LITHIUM POWERED PMD (and dockless rental bicycles) on SHARED FOOTPATHS without any surprise or question.

As long as pedestrians are educated to keep left and not walk zigzag/ abreast/ on wrong side, there is more than enough space on shared footpaths for all to SHARE.

hfourhappy(sgfuck) said:
In the past, we don't have pmds, everybody walked in the pavement safe and sound.
Now, with this pmds coming into the picture, they should not be in the pavement.
Anyway, now, seem like it is getting out of hand.
Everywhere also can see pmds on the pavements and roads.

In the past, before motor cars/ handphone were invented, nobody got killed by cars/ distracted driving, so cars and handphones should be banned or only allowed to be used on the moon or on no-man's island so that Singapore can remain "safe and sound "...

???!!!???!!!!!!

Just as there can be order on the vehicular roads, there can be order and efficiency on shared footpaths as well, so long as all users keep left unless overtaking, look out for others and change path/ direction only when safe to do so....

FYEYi7r.jpg

Vritsme(HWZ) said:
The authority waiting to have high death toll of pedestrians killed by PMD users on walkway, foot path then they do something to disallow them use walkway and foot path.

Perhaps some accidents are due to miscommunication or young PMD users doing contemporary internet age jobs like Uber/ Food Panda delivery etc in a hurry because they had earlier been blocked by some inconsiderate pedestrians refusing to give way by walking as if it were their grandfathers footpath.

Just as the vehicular roads have directional and overtaking rules, so should shared use footpaths, so that there can be order and efficiency amongst all users without having to dangerously zig zag because some inconsiderate / anti-social pedestrians walk whilst answering emails on their handphones ...

People should also be more law abiding, such as at crossings along Orchard Road , where direction of travel arrows and respective waiting areas are painted to facilitate pedestrian traffic on the footpath.
DpwilnC.jpg

FYEYi7r.jpg

fatboi666(HWZ) said:
why the hell pmd should be allowed on footpath in the first place?
then why not name it "pmd path"?

chiu want ppl to follow, all keep left to walk.
then i want to overtake how? i late for appointment and want to walk faster how? i signal by raising my hand to behind pmd saying i want to overtake front pedestrian? :s13::s13::s13:

in the first place, pmd should not even be allowed for users other than disabled. got leg dont want to use then chop off lor.:s22:

Safe PMD users when passing a pedestrian will make a short "I am passing" type ring or sound. Do not overtake until the PMD has passed before moving sideways to avoid collision, check back and also check blind spot as u would do when changing lanes whilst driving on vehicular roads.

Modern new e-commerce jobs like Uber Eats and food Panda, Alibaba etc delivery services which are fast, efficient and cheap require an army of delivery crew who use PMD to deliver at all times of the day, thus, just as citizens wish to enjoy such modern day conveniences, citizens will also have to learn to be considerate pedestrians and always keep to the left most side of the shared footpath unless overtaking, even then, still keeping to the left and giving way to oncoming pedestrians or PMD traffic so as not to hinder efficient deliveries in the contemporary era of ecommerce now.

azz909(HWZ) said:
You already said foot path. So yeah its for ppl who walk, not for wheels. Even bike path has limit of 15km/h. these esccoter ppl can go faster than that on pavement. Want to talk about law abiding then those escooter users shld give normal pedestrians more way because it a foot path. Also nowadays I see alot of these users using full face helmets. What a joke. What does that signal also? That it's quite dangerous to be on those things. They protecting themselves but what abt normal ppl? I know its convenient and fun to be on one but don't try to preach to other pavement users to give way. By law you guys shldn't be on the pavement in the 1st place.

In the internet age of ecommerce, it is called SHARED PATH. The helmet is probably for travelling at 25kph on park connectors or main road as the case maybe depending on PMD type (racing bicycle users can easily exceed 40kph on straight roads for which helmets are highly recommended).

As usual, there are some black sheep around using illegally modified or PMDs whose specifications exceed the legal limits of weight, speed, width etc.

The authorities will have to deal with these errant users with fines and other disincentives.

However, in the age of maturity of the ecommerce delivery business, the use of PMDs on SHARED FOOTPATHS is a bygone conclusion and pedestrians just need to improve their social skills so that greater efficiency and productivity can be yielded by all citizens from considerate and cooperative SHARED FOOTPATH use.

azz909(HWZ) said:
Want to share can. You slow down give signal and we give way. But asking for ppl to always keep left is ridiculous. Most pavements already quite narrow, a group of ppl walking together how? All line up in 1 straight line to the left and walk? Like robots. And do you always keep left when walking? I bet no.
Same as the main road lah, if people overtake, will be on the right, then keep left ASAP.

If there is oncoming pedestrian or PMD, will also pass on the opposite's right given to fact that each party is keeping to the left most side of the path (according to the direction he is traveling).

Those who do not keep left will be by default forced to do so due to overtaking or oncoming traffic.

Pedestrians who do not enjoy being honked at will in time learn to be more considerate, don't walk around like zombie on the phone and keep to the left most side to avoid banging into others/PMD users.

Some pedestrians are really like zombies with eyes glued to phone, cannot blame the PMD when the pedestrian walks into them, those type, even stationary lamp post also will bang into them.

As for PMD on shared paths, it is more efficient to do multiple small food/goods deliveries/ move around on PMD like escooters, bicycles and other modern day devices, especially for distances longer than 500m , thus, in the age of lithium battery power and ecommerce, PMD are definitely here to stay as has always been the case (I think that the recently rescinded no cycling on foot path laws (which were never really imposed except for accident cases) was just to scare cyclist from reckless riding; many kids cycle (i.e. tricycles for 5-12yrs old etc): and doing so on the road would be unsafe; so just like the 377A laws against sodomy, nobody gets arrested unless one really goes overboard like public solicitation or producing public videos involving the immoral/obscene act.

And yes, i always keep left when walking, so that when PMD users pass me by, they can all overtake me efficatiously.

very hard for americans to remember as habitually we keep right. but majority men park their ranjiao left.

All cars who run over ebikes and company should not be liable. HOTA will only be a success because of such heroes. Illegal road users with zero jnsurance should not have even been allowed . The knly worth they have as human beings is their organs. Give those for someone who seeks life

Another iteration of the same pedestrian keep left rule is practised at Orchard Road so that pedestrians expeditiously cross the road, although evidently, many Singaporeans are unfamiliar with orderliness/ being considerate to others.

DpwilnC.jpg

Is that education, culture or DNA?. Some years back, I have to work for a short while in Kuala Lumpur, so I have to commute by LRT/Mono Rail/KTM Intercity Trains, at rush hours. I noticed that the people there queue orderly while waiting for the trains, without any drawn lines like Singapore, but when the doors open, it is every 'animal' for themselves. They do give up seats for the elderly, but it is every 'animal' have the right to sit. They are polite all right, so is it education, culture or DNA. You can't blame the Singaporeans for not obeying social thing like that box, for it does not come with FINE %$%^&!, so they don't care...that is the PAP education.

cwcyenk(HWZ) said:
This is a very stupid rule to begin with.

If I keep left, then what do I do if the PMD or bicycle is coming towards me in the opposite direction who is riding on the right side? I go to the right?

Which brilliant scholar come up with this idea?

The same reason why vehicle drivers need to pass highway code, pedestrians and shared path users also have to be educated even if no formal licensing test is conducted to use shared paths.

Thus, reminder posters are hung on lamp posts, painted on the floor etc, so that all users can be educated about DIRECTION OF TRAVEL RULES, and as mentioned, so that streets can be ORDERLY and efficiently used.

In your case of facing an errant PMD user/pedestrian who does not keep to the correct side of the shared path, you may stand your ground and refer to the poster or directional arrow markings on floor (if any) and explain his error (even blind people can keep to the left although they may not have seen the signs/ their association may not have informed them yet).

DpwilnC.jpg

FYEYi7r.jpg