• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pay if you want to know about National Monument at Istana

Leepotism

[TABLE="width: 525"]

<tbody>[TR]

[TD="colspan: 5"]

[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

SINGAPORE: For the first time, a
guided tour will be held at the Istana to promote a deeper understanding of the
national monument - a collaboration between the Preservation of Monuments Board
and the Istana of Singapore.

The first tour will be offered on Monday at
the Istana's Lunar New Year Open House.

Whether it's a painting inspired
by a tropical plantation or a decorated ceiling, there's a human interest story
behind each art piece.

President Tony Tan Keng Yam said: "People come
here but they don't really understand the significance of the building and some
of the artefacts and paintings until somebody explains it to you. Just like
myself, I come here everyday and I pass all these things and it doesn't register
until you know what are the details."

But now you can get the chance to
hear the stories behind the 144-year-old national monument through a guided
tour.

The 45-minute tour, led by a team of volunteers, will take visitors
through Singapore during the colonial days to the tumultuous years towards
independence.

One of the art pieces that stood out for President Tony Tan
was a Balinese painting which has multiple stories playing out simultaneously
within the picture.

So one can expect to see iconic structures and
buildings of Singapore's landscape which include the Merlion, Changi Airport and
the Singapore River.

Visitors can also expect to hear stories of
individuals involved in the daily management in each of the three stately
rooms.

A banquet hall that used to be the kitchen underwent renovation to
now host State banquets held in honour of visiting heads of states and
governments. The centrepiece of the room is a chandelier weighing 220
kilogrammes.

The tour will be offered on all Istana Open House days from
9:30am to 4:30pm.

Ticket fees for the guided tour are at S$2 for children
between the ages of 4 and 12, S$4 for Singapore citizens and Permanent
Residents, and S$10 for foreigners.

At least there's a guide to explain things, and not just having you pay an entrance fee to step inside and see for yourself.

Pay to See Me? Mai la....
latestleekuanyewi.jpg

At least there's a guide to explain things, and not just having you pay an entrance fee to step inside and see for yourself.

Just to explain what the monument means, they also want money.

Will the guided tour include the LKY illegally built squatter house?

Use that $4 to good use by buying yourself a hot plate of Char Kway Teow and cup of Kopi O..

Better make your tummy full instead of giving it to the PAP for some fucked tour at the Istana..

they should issue $10/- capmall voucher to be used at PlazaSing for foreigner.

sinkies & PRs ? hand written receipt perhaps

why not free entry for sinkies ? or perhaps free 2 x mandarin oranges for sinkie showing pink peasant ID ?

I dunno wtf could be bothered?

history written by the PAP is all distorted propaganda bullshit....

everything said there always ends up with them being the hero lor....wdf....

Probably at the next open house, visitors will be charged $5/- per handshake with the President.