• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Passengers lost items in luggage, Tiger Airways say too bad not their problem

SNAblog

Whatever position the airline takes, shouldn't they at least respond to the emails from the victims, instead of ignoring them? Anyway, Tiger's bad reputation for service is not something new, so those who decide to take this airline will have to bear the consequences.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1068562/1/.html

10 Tiger Airways passengers lost items in luggage
By Zhao Quan Yin, Sharon See | Posted: 09 July 2010 2156 hrs

SINGAPORE : In the past six months, some ten passengers who flew on a particular Tiger Airways flight have filed claims for missing items from their luggage.

They said they discovered this when they arrived at their destination.

Passenger Steven Liang said: "The security lock on my suitcase was missing. I opened my suitcase and saw that it was very messy inside. My brand new iPhone was missing. I bought it in Hong Kong."

Mr Liang said this happened when he flew to Shenzhen, China on Flight TR2952 on May 26.

He said he had asked the airport staff in Shenzhen for help. He was shown a chart containing information on luggage arrivals from international flights.

From the information on the chart, he realised that there had been 10 cases of missing items on this particular flight since December. The highest amount lost was 10,400 renminbi, which is more than S$2,000.

The budget carrier states on its website that it tries to respond to letters within 21 working days.

It lists its hotline and fax numbers as well as mailing address on its website, but does not provide an email address for feedback or complaints.

However, MediaCorp understands that several of the victims who had contacted Tiger Airways still have not heard from the airline.

Tiger Airways told MediaCorp it had received the complaints, but said it was not responsible for the loss of items.

Apparently, Rosalynn Tay has conveniently forgotten her pledge made last Sept.

http://www.travelweeklyweb.com/article/Tiger_Airways_sets_up_customer_service_taskforce.html

Tiger Airways sets up customer service taskforce

2009-09-08

SINGAPORE – To get a better idea about important issues that need greater attention, Tiger Airways Singapore boss, Rosalynn Tay, has met with existing and potential passengers to discuss what matters most to the people who count – customers who buy Tiger Airways tickets and those who are keen budget travelers.

Tiger said in a statement that is has decided to take this direct approach in engaging with its customers rather than spending hundreds of thousands of dollars engaging research companies to do its work.

Tiger invited interested people to register at www.tigerairways.com in July 2009. Over 500 responded in just over a week. Those that were selected to be part of the Tiger Taskforce met recently with the managing director and her senior team to discuss issues that are relevant to them.

“These are our customers and when it comes to finding out how we can enhance our product to meet their needs and creating value for money in our offers, I don’t want anyone to filter out the raw facts. That is why I am involved and engaging directly with our consumers. This is why I have included our customers as part of The Taskforce. Particular issues that I am interested in discussing are customer service, destinations, and product offering,” Tay said.

“We’re pleased that feedback has shown we are already on the right track for our projects. And we will study the new ideas raised to see how we can apply them to our product. We have already started on improving our web interface with customers and we’ve seen a positive drop in the number of queries regarding our web storefront. We are now in the next phase of improvements and more details will be announced shortly,” Tay added.

Tiger is taking a leaf from the PAPzis book. Haven't you noticed how the PAPzis effectively said the two floods in two weeks were none of their business? This was especially so after the second flood and the deluge of letters from the public.

Tiger Airways told MediaCorp it had received the complaints, but said it was not responsible for the loss of items.

What can you do???

Left hand out right hand in economy.. You won't expect any kind of redress in this kind of issues..

If this occurs in America, be sure the lawyers will be ravenous and seek appropriate compensation for the consumers

wahlaneh...
thot changi airport got this "lost baggage counter"?
not in use ah?

I can say that in this case, it should not be Tiger's fault. baggage handling is done by other companies contracted by Tiger, probably SATS in this case. Its highly probable that SATS has a bad apple or a team of bad apples who target baggages while they are in Changi Airport. Tiger should be notifying the baggage handling services or direct the complaints there. But they are too stupid to do so.

how is it not tiger's fault? when you buy an air-ticket, do you get to choose the baggage handling company?

Tiger airways is the one contracting with the handlers, not the customers.

the customers are right to take it up with tiger; tiger should take the baggage handlers to task separately, it is not the customer's problem.

so if its not tiger's fault, do you expect the passengers to write to SATS to complain??!?!?

If it's only the baggage handlers' fault, we would hear complaints from passengers of many airlines.
However, we don't.
Bryan is right, it's up to the airlines to sort this out for the passengers. The passengers are the customers of the airlines. not customers of the baggage handling company.
It would appear that some of the "mission statements" were just pre IPO rhetoric.
Nowadays, when people tell me that they are interested in buying the airlines shares which have just been listed, I merely smile benignly.

Juz have to be careful. It happens to all airlines. There are professionals in the baggage handling sections that are expert in opening various brands of lauggage.

Why the hell people still travel by Tiger? I am not able to understand this stupid behavior? There are other options....

wahlaneh...
another typical case of dingdong here dingdong there lor.
when things like this happen, all those taiji masters will suddenly come out liao.
"PUSH!!!":D

so if its not tiger's fault, do you expect the passengers to write to SATS to complain??!?!?

Passenger should write to STOMP :D

Stomper may sometimes appear to be whiners but it's the only body where Sporeans can complain to for free. Complaining to NTUC costs $$$.

The passenger claims to have lost an iPhone which was in the luggage. This guy is an idiot for, #1 flying Tiger & #2 not storing the phone in his carry-on luggage:rolleyes:

never ever take Tiger Airways. Their 99c offers actually come out to more expensive than Airasia's and Jetstar's. If given a choice , I would support Singapore but if the company is out to screw you , why bother to support them?

I am ashamed to admit Airasia is the best budget carrier around.

never ever take Tiger Airways. Their 99c offers actually come out to more expensive than Airasia's and Jetstar's. If given a choice , I would support Singapore but if the company is out to screw you , why bother to support them?

Why ashamed to admin Airasia best?

You think the local carriers will be damn glad you feel for Singapore?
You don't give money to them to earn I think they feel more :D

PAP should be the ones ashamed lah.

Con & cheat people with their so called "subsidies". Thank god for Airasia, that they are able to offer superior services to that of Tiger in the same back yard.

I remember when Airasia first started they only operated out of the JB airport & the Spore gov't put all kinds of obstaceles to prevent the ferrying of customers from Spore to JB :mad:

Underpaid . And no accountability since government also like tat !

That is not the issue. Its Tiger's lack if empathy or desire to help which they are now famous for. The whole world knows that these things happen all over and in all airlines at one time or another.If the Tiger can't be bothered, it continues while other airlines who are responsive get it addressed and these crooks will prey on the same airlines.

Why can't you guys can't seem to distill simple issues to pick the point to address.

Maybe you want to explain how to be careful - ride with your baggage in the cargo hold, keep valuables with your hand carry luggage, cellotape the whole bag, etc.

Juz have to be careful. It happens to all airlines. There are professionals in the baggage handling sections that are expert in opening various brands of lauggage.

Air Asia used to be cheap n reliable to fly with..... but I have stopped flying with them now because I cannot stomach the stench. :(

They have become an Ah Neh airline now (I'm not being racist here)..... take a look at their passenger mix and the Ah Nehs often outnumber the other races. :mad:

Air Asia used to be cheap n reliable to fly with..... but I have stopped flying with them now because I cannot stomach the stench. :(

They have become an Ah Neh airline now (I'm not being racist here)..... take a look at their passenger mix and the Ah Nehs often outnumber the other races. :mad:

Why would you need to put the disclaimer that u're not racist when it's the shit skins whom are the ones creating discomfort with everyone else?

This is terrible. Shit skins.