• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAPee Puzzled Why Nobody Takes Cab Nowadays

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Nov 13, 2009
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Taxi ridership sinking <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Demand expected to pick up next year with big events, IRs opening </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Maria Almenoar
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
a14-1.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Taxis waiting at the taxi stand in Cairnhill Road, near The Heeren. A cabby who declined to give his name said he had been waiting in line for 20 minutes. Ridership numbers recently sank to their lowest levels in six years. Over the three months from June to August this year, daily average ridership plunged to below 840,000 - a level not seen since the Sars outbreak in 2003. -- ST PHOTO: MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->COMMUTERS continue to shy away from taking taxis, with ridership numbers sinking to their lowest levels in six years.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story -->RELATED LINKS
<!-- Audio --><!-- Video --><!-- PDF -->
ico_pdf.gif
FEWER TAKING TAXIS
<!-- Photo Gallery -->
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Taxi drivers had it the worst over the three months from June to August this year, when daily average ridership plunged to below 840,000 - a level not seen since the Sars outbreak in 2003.
Compared to the same period last year, it was just under 10 per cent down.
[email protected]

Read the full story in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Anymore doubt the dire economic situation in Peesai? And the PAPee's complete divorce from reality?

Latest comments
</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>With peak hour surcharge, CBD surcharge, peak hour ERP surcharge of $4, phone booking surcharge etc. unchanged while salary and wages are cut, taxis becomes a luxury which can be done without.

What did the boss of Alibaba, Jack Ma, said? "It is your customers and employees - not your shareholders - that matters in times of crisis. Shareholders are traders. How can we trust them?". Bosses of taxi companies take note.

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: hubhubhub at Fri Nov 13 10:05:58 SGT 2009

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Read below, sent to me by a 7 month pregnant sister-in-law yesterday!

Just wanna vent my frustration. Hailed a cab SHB3276X this morning. The moment I opened the door,

Driver: Hurry hurry, bus coming!
Me: Qiqi, quick, quick. (Qiqi is 2 year old)
Driver: Hurry hurry!
Me: She's still young, cannot be too fast
Driver: You carry her lah!
Me: I'm pregnant. and carrying 2 bags (mine & Qiqi's)

Got into the cab, closed the door.

Driver: Go where?
Me: Tampines Blk 460. (Hail the cab from Blk 285)
Driver: Cannot U-turn in front! (harsh tone)
Me: Turn into the road in front then turn out at the traffic light! (angry tone too)
Driver: I dunno how to go!

I opened the door and got down. Regretted not slamming the door.

Called CITICAB service centre to complain liao.

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: st3phy at Fri Nov 13 09:51:56 SGT 2009

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>What is happening? The bus company also complained that the ridership dropped and now the taxi companies are complaining. Where have all the people gone?
This would mean all are buying their own vehicle or bicycles or leg power.

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: anthonlibeth at Fri Nov 13 09:47:11 SGT 2009

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>I wonder why could it be at times they refuse to take people where they need to go. Drivers need to stop picking and choosing where they are going. The other problem I have found is Driver's don't know Singapore and how to get to places around Singapore. I got into a Taxi's the other day and the Driver had no Idea where Vivo City was.

Also get the older Taxi's off the road sometime I feel like the taxi is going to brake down be before I get there.

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: Bigbearsg at Fri Nov 13 09:35:50 SGT 2009

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>The message is clear : It is time to abolish all those additional charges (peak hours, CBD, etc) on top of the normal charges ...

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: Someone01 at Fri Nov 13 09:33:03 SGT 2009

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

cooleo

Some of the taxi drivers really deserve to get screwed...

- some cab drivers will geh siao and park at the side of the road and put ON CALL sign and wait for people in the long queue at places like Vivo City to call for cab. Then viola! Immediately they appear!

- always change shift and choose locations to go to. KNN... if u drive cab and about to change shift, then u dun stop and ask where the customer can go la! I ever encountered from Bugis go to Aljunied. He say "sorry too far!"

- drive like a menace on the roads. It's no surprise that most drivers hate cab drivers. They whiz in and out of lanes, and will just hack their way to pick up passengers.

Equalisation

Some of the taxi drivers really deserve to get screwed...

- some cab drivers will geh siao and park at the side of the road and put ON CALL sign and wait for people in the long queue at places like Vivo City to call for cab. Then viola! Immediately they appear!

- always change shift and choose locations to go to. KNN... if u drive cab and about to change shift, then u dun stop and ask where the customer can go la! I ever encountered from Bugis go to Aljunied. He say "sorry too far!"

- drive like a menace on the roads. It's no surprise that most drivers hate cab drivers. They whiz in and out of lanes, and will just hack their way to pick up passengers.

.... not to mention deliberately travelling the longer way to earn more !:mad: