• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAPee Purposely Discourages Hiring of NSmen. WHY?

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Reimbursing NSmen's pay: Help with employers' CPF contributions too
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I AM happy the Government is doing more to recognise the contributions of national servicemen ('In-camp NSmen can stay connected to workplace', Aug2 8).
As a manager in a small business employing NSmen, I have always wondered why the Government reimburses businesses for the gross salary of the NSman during his period of absence, but not the employer's CPF contribution on that gross salary.
Currently, the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) reimburses businesses only for the NSman's gross salary, which includes his take-home pay and employee CPF contribution. The employer's CPF contribution, which is usually 14.5 per cent of gross salary, is not reimbursed.
Because businesses claim the full gross salary for the NSman during his in-camp training, the total employment cost of the NSman during his period of in-camp training is in reality not fully borne by Mindef.
Imagine if Mindef paid only 80 per cent of gross salary as reimbursement, there would be a hue and cry from businesses.
Currently, employers are reimbursed for only 87.3 per cent of total employment cost (100/114.5).
When I checked with the Mindef NS Pay hotline, the customer service officer told me this was the employers' contribution to the overall defence of Singapore.
He also said this was mandated by the CPF Act and outside the jurisdiction of Mindef.
Businesses already take pains to rearrange work schedules to cover for the NSman during his in-camp training. Why must they be taxed with the employer's CPF, especially when the NSman is fully in Mindef's employ during this period? Why must businesses contribute to the nation's defence in monetary terms, when we already provide jobs, expand overseas and raise productivity?
For longer periods of in-camp training, employers sometimes have to hire temporary staff to cover for absent NSmen. In this case, the employer has to pay the employer's CPF twice, once for the NSman and again for his stand-in.
I suggest that this be brought back under the jurisdiction of Mindef. Doing so would allow the Committee to Recognise the Contribution of Operationally Ready National Servicemen (Record) to review the matter. Currently, this occupies a no-man's land between two ministries, and neither has a ready explanation.
Chang Yue Chang

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Its good that you raised this issue. In my mind, its probably a gap in the policies that no one had considered completely before. I too think its only fair that MINDEF also covers the Employer CPF contribution portion as well.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: nmahendrn at Fri Sep 11 12:30:06 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Well said. While not directly related to the FT problem, this NS pay issue would surely motivate employers to hire foreginers at the expense of citizens with NS liability.

In other countries, citizens are given higher priority over foreign workers. Only in Singapore are citizens (and employers of citizens) disadvantaged for the benefit of these so-called foreign "talents" whom Singapore doesn't need anyway!
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: streader12 at Fri Sep 11 09:21:30 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Those idiots and MIW who said they are sick of us complaining FT this and that, the above letter is a good example of why we complain, and for a good valid reason =====> citizen are simply in a disadvantage position when comes to job opportunties as in the above letter. everything else being equal (same skills, qualification), a employer simply would go for PR and FT than a citizen.

so u idiots and MIW out there, pls dun always said we complain too much hor..
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: millionaire394 at Fri Sep 11 04:23:16 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>