• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat PAP Subsidized $6.7k of My Surgery Bill! Medishield Life Pay $720 only! PAP Best!

Blogger Andrew Loh who went for a quadruple by-pass surgery has been sharing his experience with members of the public, and in an earlier post, he said that he was appreciative of the government subsidies and Medishield Life. Mr Loh advised his readers who do not contribute to Medisave (and those that do not have enough in Medisave) to find some way to contribute to it.

“It is important! If you do not, and if something untoward happens to you, you will not be covered under Medishield Life,” he said (http://theindependent.sg/a-prominen...bypass-and-explains-why-medisave-is-important)

In a new post in his Facebook today, Mr Loh shared his finalized bill for the major surgery.

“Before gov’t grants/Medishield Life/Medisave/Private Insurance = $10,727.09.

Govt grants = $6,767.09

Net amount payable (before Medishield Life, Medisave and insurance) = $3,959.19.

After Medishield Life ($720) = $3,239.19.”

“I’m a little surprised Medishield Life pays only $720,” he said.

14517622_1319655138059432_5107784099578972335_n.jpg

But said that the bill is still manageable with further deductions, which will be made from Medisave and personal insurance.

http://theindependent.sg/medishield-life-paid-just-covered-720-of-a-10k-quadruple-bypass-surgery/

Singapore has the best healthcare in the world thanks to the PAP.

I wonder what's the purpose of medishield life if at the end of the day, the government is still going to subsidize the bulk of the hospital bill before insurance kicks in, as shown by this opposition cocksucker?

Did the pap inflate the bill by 1000% then subsidise 500% and get Medishield Life to pay 100%.

That leaves you to pay $400 of the cost incurred through your Medisave and cash?

PAP is know to be excellent in creative accounting and cost accounting. They inflate everything and charge you exorbitant price

AT the end of the day, how much you pay?

How much is bill plus Medishield Life Premium?

$720? WTF! Ah Khaw only paid $8 niah!

He kena kaduk!

Did the pap inflate the bill by 1000% then subsidise 500% and get Medishield Life to pay 100%.

That leaves you to pay $400 of the cost incurred through your Medisave and cash?

PAP is know to be excellent in creative accounting and cost accounting. They inflate everything and charge you exorbitant price

This is the average cost of heart surgery in the US. It looks like the cost of surgery in Singapore is a lot cheaper even before the grant from the PAP government is factored in, let alone a secondary tier of cost reduction from insurance.

I hope Andrew Loh is grateful to PAP government for the huge grant even though he has most likely been voting blindly for the opposition all these years.

According to an American Heart Association report[1] , the average hospital charge for all common heart surgery and procedures -- not including doctor fee -- is $62,509. According to the report, plaque removal from an artery costs an average of $30,588, heart bypass costs an average of $117,094 and heart valve replacement cost an average of $164,238.

http://health.costhelper.com/heart-surgery.html

This is the average cost of heart surgery in the US. It looks like the cost of surgery in Singapore is a lot cheaper even before the grant from the PAP government is factored in, let alone a secondary tier of cost reduction from insurance.

I hope Andrew Loh is grateful to PAP government for the huge grant even though he has most likely been voting blindly for the opposition all these years.

How much does an average worker in USA get? How much does an average worker in SG get?

Why dont you compare cost of a heart surgery in China and SG?

How much does an average worker in USA get? How much does an average worker in SG get?

Why dont you compare cost of a heart surgery in China and SG?

It looks like the average white trash worker in the US doesn't get much more than a sinkie worker. The US worker may take home less after their high income taxes.

There is no reason to compare heart surgery between chinkland and Singapore because of our huge wage disparity. Besides, very few singaporeans seek medical treatment in chinkland. You trust their chink medicine?

The fact is that the healthcare system in Singapore is a lot cheaper than US. Our government grant alone reduces the medical bill by at least 50%. There probably isn't such an equivalent in USA, which is why mandatory insurance was such a huge political issue for the USA. Their new universal health insurance, obamacare, has run into snags with big insurers pulling the plug on it due to spiralling medical costs.

If only USA was ruled by PAP and Ah Gong. Our CPF and government grants alone would provide affordable health care for all the serfs.

In the September 2014 Census Bureau report on income and poverty in the U.S., the median household income in America across all jobs was $51,939. That reflects 2013 information; 2014 data will be out in September of this year. That figure was not statistically different from 2012, reflecting continually stagnant wages.

http://www.foxbusiness.com/features...mericans-median-salaries-for-common-jobs.html

There are 2 parts to this ;

One is the govt "subsidy" of $6,767.09 which gives the impression that is a enormously generous grant. It is actually the money that come from taxpayers - personal, company, GST etc. Its the same bullshit that is applied to HDB flats where the govt gives "subsidies" giving the impression that buyers got the flat below market price or even below cost both if which are untrue.

The second part is the Medishield Life Insurance cover. This I think is the surprise - $720 is beyond ridiculous. I can only think that the scheme is either making significant profits or used to cross-subside other areas that should not happen in the first place.

Peter Lim, Dennis Foo and their cronies did exactly the same thing with their club house - they oversold it with no care in the World. They pocketed millions on the opening day, no of the facilities - parking, cafes, gyms, function rooms and even staffing could not handle the load. It was not even a member's club and the so called "members" had no say. Their standing was no different to buying a perpetual pass to HJC.

I have an integrated shield plan from GE. So do most of my extended family. Recently my cousin had prostate surgery at a private hospital. Bill was close to $20000 but in all, only had to pay $3500 from his medisave because he is covered from first dollar except for coinsurance portion. Medishield life alone is known for giving very low payouts. It simply does not make sense given that premiums have increased so much compared to the old medishield plan.

Blogger Andrew Loh who went for a quadruple by-pass surgery has been sharing his experience with members of the public, and in an earlier post, he said that he was appreciative of the government subsidies and Medishield Life. Mr Loh advised his readers who do not contribute to Medisave (and those that do not have enough in Medisave) to find some way to contribute to it.

“It is important! If you do not, and if something untoward happens to you, you will not be covered under Medishield Life,” he said (http://theindependent.sg/a-prominen...bypass-and-explains-why-medisave-is-important)

In a new post in his Facebook today, Mr Loh shared his finalized bill for the major surgery.

Govt grants = $6,767.09

Net amount payable (before Medishield Life, Medisave and insurance) = $3,959.19.

Some old folks may not afford SGD720 too. How many cans or cardboard they need to collect to earn that amount to pay for their medical bill?

I insist that the bill should be zero amount for the elderly and cut the wayang of medishield and subsidy and ended up the patient still must pay.

This Andrew Loh should explain how he arrived at the $720. Show the workings or you are smearing the good name of PAP which gave you so much government grants. Don't be an ingrate and a half-fucked blogger!

You are good that, I admitted 7 days cost me 4K++

Achieving good health requires the balancing of numerous factors. It is a complex task but because the PAP is so good they have done a superb job.

The best measure of any system is the outcome it produces and Singapore is officially the healthiest nation in the whole world.

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-s...country-uk-fails-to-make-top-20-a6716281.html

You really need to be fact-checked. Andrew Loh's quadruple heart bypass, though running well over 10,000 only received a $720 payout from Medishield life. If not for ad hoc govt subsidies which are by no means guaranteed or even permanently instituted, he would have to fork out the remainder which is substantial.

Govt grants = $6,767.09

14517622_1319655138059432_5107784099578972335_n.jpg

But said that the bill is still manageable with further deductions, which will be made from Medisave and personal insurance.

http://theindependent.sg/medishield-life-paid-just-covered-720-of-a-10k-quadruple-bypass-surgery/

He did not live a healthy lifestyle in the first place......
Being a blogger, it's all day on the keyboard.....
No wonder he ended up with all these bypass......

One question in mid though, Medishield will only apply, before or after the Govt Subsidy.
In his case, seems to be after.......
If its before, premiums is going through the roof......