• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP flip flop says sinkies NRIC numbers CAN be fully revealed!

KNN, they say it's now okay to reveal NRIC numbers because it's tantamount to the name of the person. What a fucking blatant excuse? How can this be comparable when an NRIC number is unique to each person whilst the same name can represent many people. For example, there could be hundreds of John but the John with that particular NRIC number can only be one.
PAP expects you to accept any version they push to you since you are totally under their control.
- ridout is an obvious 'conflict of interest' situation
- NTUC Income sale U turn
- LKY's last wish on his property rubbished.
- SimplyGo ... gone?
-

The insignificant nobody me do agree with your points made.

However, in this modern age of high personal security, at least in Singapore, thanks to govtech, just a name or NRIC number is NOT enough to access a site. For a basic example:-

You will need a password, a personal handphone REGISTERED number, an OTP sent to your personal hp, & at times even FACIAL recognition....just to log into CPF board, let alone personal online banking which comes with SMS notifications on amounts drawn & even digital locking systems.

While a scammer may & WILL attempt to break thru such systems such as hijacking your phone or personal computer, the FINAL RESPONSIBLITY lays with oneself - to always check accounts regularly or have a separate phone for personal security use - such as only work & banking apps, & ANOTHER phone for recreation such as shopping, games, etc, with wallets or bank accounts that have only limited funds...

Furthermore, while scammers may know the name & NRIC of a person, just a few more personal questions from one to them on a personal or email call, such as birthdates, name of parents, schools attended, etc, will render a failure to scammers.....

It is so easy, so easy to get one's name & NRIC today - security posts, games or product discount registrations, or even posing as govt officers in uniform such as a police or traffic police, etc, if the scammer is determined enough....Should they attempt to extort from you, then 2 can play such game - report to SPF whom will have experienced officers to guide you thru. The scammers front men are only paid cut-outs, in for the money. Either money or jail term will make them talk, to REVEAL who are the big fishes in such games, & it is THEM that SPF wants, to prevent them from extorting others....Singapore is a Rule of Law Nation.

We CAN & WILL beat them at their game. Just as they will evolve, so too MUST WE, by staying connected & learning from others thru AWARENESS. They are the few, no matter how intelligent they are, but WE are the many, with FAR MORE resources than them to save each & every life & life savings....
I'm still of the opinion that NRIC numbers cannot and must not be so simply revealed. Why? Scammers will take advantage of this piece of data on their hands. For example: They will call up the victim and say: "We are from the so-and-so governmental body and we confirmed your name and NRIC as registered in our records. As such you are now under investigation for ............................"

In this manner, those ignorant, especially the elderly, will get anxious (since their names and NRIC numbers had tallied) and comply to whatever the caller will demand. Do you want this to happen? It just opens up another lucrative opportunity for these scammers.

I'm still of the opinion that NRIC numbers cannot and must not be so simply revealed. Why? Scammers will take advantage of this piece of data on their hands. For example: They will call up the victim and say: "We are from the so-and-so governmental body and we confirmed your name and NRIC as registered in our records. As such you are now under investigation for ............................"

In this manner, those ignorant, especially the elderly, will get anxious (since their names and NRIC numbers had tallied) and comply to whatever the caller will demand. Do you want this to happen? It just opens up another lucrative opportunity for these scammers.
"Do you want this to happen?"
What makes you think the PAP doesn't want this to happen?
The truth is sometimes beyond comprehension.

It is a concern when a silly woman from the cesspit that is NTUC has been appointed as the 'tech czar' of this island nation. :rolleyes:

But then again, the bar has already been set very low with the Useless Son being at the helm for two whole decades. :cool:

lol peasants were sold out to ceca for less than a song

now the highest payed is selling out peasants to scammers for
freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

nric is yr security key which not only unlocks yr bank a/c but also every other a/c u have

song boh :roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::roflmao:

PAP expects you to accept any version they push to you since you are totally under their control.
- ridout is an obvious 'conflict of interest' situation
- NTUC Income sale U turn
- LKY's last wish on his property rubbished.
- SimplyGo ... gone?
-
Its all about "messaging". Too complex for Coolie Gene Sinkies to understand so just accept the PAP version of things ok

This $35 buy a personal profile to check how many companies linked to a person has been around for donkey's years. ACRA's transaction record would reveal who bought a personal profile and is an easy catch if necessary.

Just Vote PAP out in next GE.

Gen X, Y & Z all have year of birth which would reveal our farking age once this NRIC is revealed. These farkers don't even have an inkling of sensitivity to realise this.

NBPCB, PAP really needs to be farked deep deep in next GE to wake up.

The point is -

1. Even with the NRIC masked, STILL thousands of innocents were scammed & hundreds of million dollars in hard earned life savings lost. Thus, had NRIC masking proven effective?

2. What happened to PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY?

The govt is not Superman who is everywhere & anywhere within a second. Taxpayer funds are used to create resources for you - education, life long learning courses, social media, advertising campaigns, SPF, our Courts, etc.

So why blame our govt, instead of blaming scammers & CRITICALLY - oneself for being a fool?

Perhaps the solution to fight scams may come from better community bonding thru sharing experiences & knowledge...

The point is -

1. Even with the NRIC masked, STILL thousands of innocents were scammed & hundreds of million dollars in hard earned life savings lost. Thus, had NRIC masking proven effective?

2. What happened to PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY?

The govt is not Superman who is everywhere & anywhere within a second. Taxpayer funds are used to create resources for you - education, life long learning courses, social media, advertising campaigns, SPF, our Courts, etc.

So why blame our govt, instead of blaming scammers & CRITICALLY - oneself for being a fool?

Perhaps the solution to fight scams may come from better community bonding thru sharing experiences & knowledge...
Malaysia radio station got broadcast scam advisory, our SPF go door to door give scam advisory but somehow still a lot of people here still kena scam

The point is -

The crux is now the government is going to make it even much easier for scammers to trick their victims. Do you want such a scenario? Why make something which the state has been trying to prevent/minimize all along, even easier now for the scammers? It's like taking a step backward.

Hahaha, ACRA so scared until they hang up the phone. call the hotline now don't even jump to the automated voice system, straightaway get cut off with "line busy"

all sitting there waiting for instructions on what to say

The crux is now the government is going to make it even much easier for scammers to trick their victims. Do you want such a scenario? Why make something which the state has been trying to prevent/minimize all along, even easier now for the scammers? It's like taking a step backward.

Your points are valid, & so too mine. It will be up to the elected authorities to decide on what's best & the next steps to take.

The masking of NRIC was only an immediate temporary stop-gap measure to prevent scams years back when scammers were just street corner artistes.

However today, the present generation of scammers are far more highly evolved & grown richer, with even base camps openly operating in Cambodia. With their scammed wealth in the billion$, they can even afford USD$20,000 PER HOUR for contract work done by PhDs to fine tune their operations in matters relating to technology & legal issues, & more....

Should they one day be able to get hold of Quantum chips & build a Con.Generative AI system, then innocent Humankind would be in deep trouble. No secure systems would be secure anymore, as such systems need not operate on line connections but even thru the electromagnetic sphere such as commonly known Wi-Fi, to penetrate into any computer systems to retrieve information, from one's birth to current history, let alone the mere NRIC - every second of one's life stored in its Qubit memory banks......to use & abuse innocent others at will...

To prove my point on how ADVANCED AI generated systems can be:-

1. Most Banks, financial institutions & even military organizations uses the AES 128bit encryption systems to protect their computer networks. It would take millions if not billions of years to crack such encryption using normal or even Deep Blue supercomputer.

2. However, with Quantum computers, all it takes is only a few seconds to crack the much touted AES 128bit encryption codes.

Once such codes are decrypted, every single data stored on servers is an open book - one's birth records, education record, medical records, employment records, bank records, judicial records, even EVERY phone conversation records, etc, as such are Humankind's reliance & dependence upon keeping records in digital forms.

https://it.umd.edu/news/quantum-computing-how-it-changes-encryption-we-know-it

However, all is NOT lost. NOT even the best Quantum computer can beat the brain power of a Human. All it takes is for Humankind to be educated & the Quantum computer, even if used by the nefarious, will stand no chance against Personally Responsible Humankind. Thus Education, which is a life long learning journey, is CRITICAL...

The Quantum computer is only good at specific tasks, but the Human brain is capable of muti tasks at the same moment - different perspectives, questions, logic, reasoning from different angles of perceptions than the Quantum computer can respond cohesively under normal circumstances of time....