• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Overpriced Spring Chicken Shop To Close On Dec 31! Fairprice Roast Chicken Cheaperer!

Same here.

This guy is the classic shop and timeless flavor.

But their method and flavor changed since their grandpa days, when their original version were wrapped with thick grain salt inside. The chicken of older days are not farmed alike present more natural and healthier. I like that skin.

Now regulatory and supplier changed, their method also modified after 3 generations. Bad thing there is none in the future. Their attractive fragrance can be felt in the entire vehicle when you bring a few wrapped and packed.

Present version had more taste not from their salt but soya sauces I think.

Type of salt I suspect had changed because the best ymmy salt got banned for food health reasons.

The chicken was wrapped in oily grease paper, with the thick grain salt, " cho yim" & smell good & taste yummy when eaten. Back then, our chicken were raised in farms here, either in common cages or free range & we have the kampung chicken too, other than the commercial type bred for the table. There was a farm near where I lived, it was the "last of the mohicans" before it was acquired for housing development, we buy fresh chicken from the farm plus fresh eggs & all sort of other eggs fresh.

Nowadays the chicken arrive from Malaysia in cages by lorries, taken to the abattoir, then chilled & distributed, they are frozen. The meat taste different from fresh slaughtered chickens or other fowls.

We can't get the taste anymore of food we use to know, as it passes down generations, it gets lost in 'translation' the original is still the best,have to leave with that, we can't get it anymore. Anything else we are paying too much for the so called "brand" & hyped.

maybe just stingy bastard. or paranoid people steal recipe. sinkieland full of these
my uncle say yes a self inflicted sinkie loser part 2 - the got money type. But my uncle say now he is wise to wind down the shop and rest as he know his life is more important than having lots of money.

swine_flu_H1H1

Same everywhere last days for good old brand golden tastes. Gone with the wind. 2018 will begin year without good food.

https://tw.news.yahoo.com/永康街燒臘店今歇業-民眾朝聖吃不到-102145714.html

永康街燒臘店今歇業 民眾朝聖吃不到

三立新聞網 setn.com

7.1k 人追蹤
三立新聞網
2017年12月30日 下午6:21
生活中心/綜合報導

台北永康街一家營業20年的知名燒臘店,被評為是台北最好吃的燒臘店,但老闆找不到接班人接棒,日前宣布於今(30)日歇業,讓許多顧客很不捨,今天是最後一天,店門前出現長長人龍,民眾搶著趁老闆「封刀」前要大嗑一番。

9cbc4fc5fb5e200e7f7541ff8fa5d9f5

檢視相片
▲永康街知名燒臘店今最後一天,門口湧現大批排隊人潮。(圖/網友提供)

這間傳說級燒臘店,除了賣燒鴨、油雞、脆皮燒肉,招牌燒肝飯更是讓饕客吃了永難忘懷,而老闆是位香港人,曾跟葉問的兒子葉準學習詠春拳,算是詠春拳第三代,因為店裡學徒不打算承接,老闆因此決定收掉店面,日前貼出「老闆封刀」的公告,宣布12月30日要結束營業。

921a51f4a9063dd312042566b20bafc9

檢視相片
▲永康街知名燒臘店今結束營業。(圖/翻攝自臉書)

今天是最後一天營業,早上燒臘店還沒開門,就已經有很多民眾在排隊,有網友表示他排了3個小時才買到,不過許多趕來朝聖的民眾都撲了空,直呼「太誇張啦!根本買不到」。

更多三立新聞網報導
員工餐超豪華 網友見這道菜暴動應徵
房仲吃肉圓插隊比YA 還嗆:快拍呀
打開便當看到「3胞胎」 網友怒了!

★想看LIVE直播明星名嘴、超夯高清動漫、影劇影音、電競直播,就上Yahoo TV!一起看、一起聊
看這些話題的相關文章:

swine_flu_H1H1

You can see the boss son standing behind, he is never the type that look like can work 16HR a day like his father to bake salt chicken lah.

His grandpa and great grandpa would had worked even longer hours and produced yummy chicken with much harder works. SG53 gone case with new generation and CB PAP education craps.

You can see the boss son standing behind, he is never the type that look like can work 16HR a day like his father to bake salt chicken lah.

His grandpa and great grandpa would had worked even longer hours and produced yummy chicken with much harder works. SG53 gone case with new generation and CB PAP education craps.

I am certain supermarkets produce yummier and much cheaper roasted spring chickens. I notice they enjoy brisk business too for a fraction of those long hours of work.

rectmobile

Maybe the son is a vegetarian and disapprove his father's line of business.