• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Our school children will be singing this song from now on

What is there to investigate? You mean it was ancient Indian hymn? We stole their song arh? :o-o:

millim6868

Tks to the 61% ,enjoy it,slowly all will be holding low pay jibs for sinkies n their descendents,its happening now ,foreigners n PRs hold permanent jobs ,while sinkies are employed thru contravtors hokding temporary jobs,mark my words 10 years down the road if 61% still dumb ,its the end ,as sinkies will struggle to make ends meet

Honestly the songs are so awful India is doing Singapore a favor.
KNN as a musician my uncle think that the only leeal nice song sg worth proud of is We will get there by Stephanie sun KNN the rest all kns KNN

Also the better one is the Chinese version KNN

The song sounds catchy in Hindi. I'm sure some of our grassroots advisers have sung it at some of our past gatherings.

CPTMiller

Literally brought a tear to my eye when watching this to the end -

CECA are very creative we need more of them here to create jobs for us Singaporeans

They are so kind, leaving Mother India sacrificing their lives to come here to help Singaporeans

Dont be surprised government come knocking at your door for spreading racism info and attachment.
Even though you share the reality.

Screenshot_20210313-090702.jpg

Literally brought a tear to my eye when watching this to the end -

CECA are very creative we need more of them here to create jobs for us Singaporeans

They are so kind, leaving Mother India sacrificing their lives to come here to help Singaporeans

It's good to see moslem indians singing their love for Mother India. Most CECA brahmin believe that the moslem indian are disloyal and side with porkistan.

More versions of the songs discovered!

New Horizon Public School & Penguin Kids

Springdale school Kalyani

Eric's Little Tweets

SCHOOLOPEDIA by Chhayanshi

Dyslexic kid edition

-----

The takeaway is that the song has been incorporated into India's education system for quite some time. This is not an overnight phenomenon. Exactly who green-lighted it and what happened along the way, we may never know. :biggrin:

Hypocrite-The

What about this written years ago? By singkies

We Are Chin Kang Kor
(to the tune of 'We Are Singapore')

There was a time when people said our bus fares won't increase
But it did
There was a time when people thought our CPF won't decrease
But it did
We built a nation,
With nothing free,
Reaching out together,
To grab all our mo-ney

Chorus 1:
This is my country, this is my flat
Is there a future, or am I mad?
What of my family, what of my friends?
We are chin kang kor, chin kang kor eh lang

Singapore, our homeland
Is ruled by one party
They've just stuck us with some more
Bloody GST
We worked so hard together,
What have we achieved?
Singapore forever,
Stuck with price increase

(Repeat Chorus 1)

(Sung)
We, the citizens of Singapore
Pledge ourselves as one diffi-cult people
Regardless of haze, weather or pollution
To complain about it equally
Whether statement, law or policy
Because we have much
Unhappiness
That we cannot
Express through elections

Chorus 2:
We are chin kang kor, we are chin kang kor
We will stand together and complain some more
We will kau peh kau bu, then kau peh some more

(Repeat Chorus 1 & 2)

We are chin kang kor, chin kang kor eh lang (x2)

Hypocrite-The

This National Day, Talk Cock and Sing Song
Posted on Sunday, August 04, 2002
Topic: Local News

by Supreme Cock

In honour of National Day, we at TalkingCock.com are proud to present a songbook of alternative community songs you won't hear at the National Stadium!

Drink Our Pee, Singapore
(to the tune of 'Count On Me Singapore')

We have refreshment for tomorrow
It's our pee, it's our pee
Straight from the bowls of Singapore
Drink your shee-shee, drink your shee-shee
You and me, we'll do our part
We'll try to pee, without a fart
We'll show Malaysia that we'd rather save mo-ney
And drink our pee, and drink our pee!

Why flush something down our bowl that is so tasty
It's eco-friendly, and comes straight from our kidney
There's a toilet over there
Let's make a drink that we can share
But we're going to call it something else that's more catchy
Instead of pee, instead of pee

Drink our pee, Singapore
Drink our pee, have a glass or more

Count on me, to help the state
It's patriotic to urinate
Let's all achieve the Singaporean dream
Drink from our stream, drink from our stream

Drink our pee, Singapore
Drink our pee, it's cheaper than Pepsi
Drink our pee, Singapore

Drink our pee together Singapore,
Together Singapore, Singapore

Tudung
(to the tune of 'Geylang')

Tudung, take off your tudung (tudung!)
Tudung is not worn in schools
We'll kick
You right out of class
For causing a fuss
Here in our strict schools

And even though
The Bhais all can
Put on their turbans
Here we make the rules

Single Bola
(to the tune of 'Singapura')

Single bola, oh single bola
Land of cowards
Set in the sea
Only one ball
In our family

All of us
Really are
A bunch of chickens
At elections
We're panic-stricken!

This explains our
Whole demo-cra-cy.

In Annabel Chong
(to the tune of 'Di Tanjong Katong')

In Annabel Chong
Came many guys to screw
A Singaporean school girl
Who wore white and blue
It's no big surprise
How she got screwed up
It's our education
That first fucked her up

In our education system
We must fight to make the cut
So even when it comes to orgies
We'll work our ass off
To be
The top slut

In Annabel Chong
A gifted kid we know
A Singaporean school girl
Now the biggest ho
We're all just like her
Admit it, we all must
To get screwed and like it
Is what our schools teach us

Ang Mor One So Long
(to the tune of 'Bengawan Solo')

Ang Mor one so long
Our char bor they chee hong
And our jobs they all potong
And make us all chin buay song

Ang Mor one, tolong
They spend the whole day long
Togo un-til they gong-gong
But still their pay is more tok kong

The Gahmen calls them foreign talent
And don't see irony in this:
After gaining independence,
To re-import colo-nia-lists

Ang Mor, hear our song
We welcome you as long
You help to make our country strong
If not, then please balik kampong

We Are Chin Kang Kor
(to the tune of 'We Are Singapore')

There was a time when people said our bus fares won't increase
But it did
There was a time when people thought our CPF won't decrease
But it did
We built a nation,
With nothing free,
Reaching out together,
To grab all our mo-ney

Chorus 1:
This is my country, this is my flat
Is there a future, or am I mad?
What of my family, what of my friends?
We are chin kang kor, chin kang kor eh lang

Singapore, our homeland
Is ruled by one party
They've just stuck us with some more
Bloody GST
We worked so hard together,
What have we achieved?
Singapore forever,
Stuck with price increase

(Repeat Chorus 1)

(Sung)
We, the citizens of Singapore
Pledge ourselves as one diffi-cult people
Regardless of haze, weather or pollution
To complain about it equally
Whether statement, law or policy
Because we have much
Unhappiness
That we cannot
Express through elections

Chorus 2:
We will stand together and complain some more
We will kau peh kau bu, then kau peh some more

(Repeat Chorus 1 & 2)

We are chin kang kor, chin kang kor eh lang (x2)

Hambali Bomb
(to the tune of 'Chan Mali Chan')

Di mana dia, Hambali al Qaeda?
Hambali al Qaeda
Want to bomb Yishun station
Di mana dia, the terrorist besar?
The terrorist besar
Hide in Indo-ne-si-a

Hambali bomb (Oi! Oi!)
Hambali bomb
Singapore go chi-ba-boom!

Di mana dia, kawan Osama?
Kawan Osama
Also in Malay-si-a
Di mana dia, kawan Osama?
Kawan Osama
Tolong, jangan kachau gua!

Hambali bomb (Oi! Oi!)
Hambali bomb
We should all balik kampong

New Stars Arriving
(to the tune of 'Five Stars Arising')

There are new stars arriving,
To take o-ver our ci-ty
They're bright and smart and have degrees
From uni-ver-si-ties
They're all here to run the show
The rest of us had better go
There are new stars arriving,
To rule both you and me

There are new stars arriving
All with a pedigree
They have spe-cial qualities
They're from a dynasty
At school they all scored straight As
Plus they have the DNA
They are new stars arriving
To rule both you and me

There are new stars arising
Out from the fami-lee
They're all here to administer
Our great huge GLCs
Just accept that it's our fate
So let's all go and emigrate
Before more stars start rising
To rule both you and me

With thanks to the many contributors who submitted variant versions, which we edited and integrated. More additions to our songbook are welcome! Please email them to us at: [email protected]

Hypocrite-The

View attachment 105785

SINGAPORE — The Ministry for Culture, Community and Youth (MCCY) on Friday (12 March) said it is investigating unauthorised versions of "Count on Me, Singapore" for potential copyright infringements.

In a Facebook post, the ministry wrote that it is aware of such versions of the 1986 National Day Parade tune, "one of our beloved national songs", being circulated online.

"We are investigating the matter for potential copyright infringements," it added. "We thank Singaporeans for coming forward to express your sense of ownership and pride over this song."

This comes after a version, "Count On Me, India", posted on YouTube last year, came to attention in the past few days. The rendition replaces the word "Singapore" with "India' or "Mother India". The video has since been taken down.

"Count On Me, Singapore" was performed by local singer Clement Chow and composed by Canadian songwriter Hugh Harrison, who also wrote "Stand Up for Singapore" and "We are Singapore".

More at https://sg.news.yahoo.com/mccy-inve...sions-of-count-on-me-singapore-141215356.html
THis was written 20 years ago,,,will the gahmen take action?

Drink Our Pee, Singapore
(to the tune of 'Count On Me Singapore')

We have refreshment for tomorrow
It's our pee, it's our pee
Straight from the bowls of Singapore
Drink your shee-shee, drink your shee-shee
You and me, we'll do our part
We'll try to pee, without a fart
We'll show Malaysia that we'd rather save mo-ney
And drink our pee, and drink our pee!

Why flush something down our bowl that is so tasty
It's eco-friendly, and comes straight from our kidney
There's a toilet over there
Let's make a drink that we can share
But we're going to call it something else that's more catchy
Instead of pee, instead of pee

Drink our pee, Singapore

Count on me, to help the state
It's patriotic to urinate
Let's all achieve the Singaporean dream
Drink from our stream, drink from our stream

Drink our pee, Singapore
Drink our pee, it's cheaper than Pepsi
Drink our pee, Singapore

Thus is based on data and historical records. The europeans stopped indians from trading with china and other countrues.. And indian consumers forced to buy from european trading houses. THe english literally destroyed indian businsses and economy. From no 2 to third world.
Blame on BE again and not their own weaknesses

Pinkieslut

Non-Singaporean composed Singapore national day songs
Jul 29, 2013
20130729_hughharrison_hughharrison.jpg

SINGAPORE - Many Singaporeans don't seem to like their new National Day songs, but they hold fond memories of old favourites like Stand Up For Singapore, Count On Me Singapore and We Are Singapore.

The irony is that these all-time favourites were not written by a Singaporean, but by Canadian ad-man Hugh Harrison, now 62.

When we asked 10 Singaporeans, only one knew that Mr Harrison was behind those songs. While some were surprised that a non-Singaporean had written them, all of them had no issue with that.

MoneySmart.sg
Mr Harrison was happy to remain in the background for nearly 30 years - until now, when he opened up to The New Paper on how he came to write the songs.

He was working for the McCann-Erickson advertising agency when the then Ministry of Culture asked a number of big-name advertising agencies to come up with a campaign for the 25th anniversary of self-governance in 1984.

Recounting his experience writing Stand Up For Singapore, he said: "I was given the brief on a Friday and spent a weekend conceptualising an appropriate theme."

The Monday after, he was recording a Coca-Cola advertisement at Lion Studios, which is now partially owned by jazz musician Jeremy Monteiro.

Mr Harrison, who used to play at Canadian jazz bars, said: "I sat down at the piano and laid down a demo version. I can only think that the words must have flowed quite naturally from the theme and the music flowed from the words."

Mr Harrison's agency won the tender.

He did not expect such a positive response to the song, which was even performed by the New York Philharmonic Orchestra at the National Stadium in September 1984.

He said: "It was a total surprise to me that the song was suddenly deemed worthy of public performance."

Mr Harrison had expected it to be played only on TV.

Shortly after writing the song, he left for a job in Hong Kong. While there, he got word that the Government wanted a new song "that was directed at the country's youth".

He said: "On the plane from Hong Kong to Singapore, I had a vision of young people standing together resolutely shouting to their leaders 'You can count on us!'"

And so Count On Me Singapore came to be. It was written over a weekend.

Mr Harrison moved back to Singapore in September 1986.

Shortly after, he was asked to write a third song. He said: "The ministry had asked for a grander production and I had visions of a multi-part song."

"However, it became harder for me to find lyrical inspiration this time around. "After all, it's pretty hard to envision grandness when thinking of Singapore, mostly due to its small size."

Considering that he had difficulty by the time he wrote his third national song, We Are Singapore, Mr Harrison knows first-hand the challenge of writing new ones.

He said: "If some of the songs don't hit home as well as others, it would be only natural. After all, how many ways can you say Singapore's a great nation?"

But he does not think that we should stop coming up with new songs. He said: "I think it's still a fun idea to create a new song every year."

Back in 1987, the parade committee liked the song, but wondered if a Singaporean should be given a chance to compose the National Day song.

Competition winner

A competition was announced and We Are Singapore was placed alongside other songs, only for it to emerge the winner about eight months later.

Mr Harrison left Singapore in 1991 and travelled the world. He eventually settled in Thailand, where he worked as a creative director.

About a year ago, he moved back to Canada with his Thai wife and two children.

Mr Harrison acknowledges that not many Singaporeans know that these songs were written by a foreigner.

He said: "I would never want to diminish the sentiments many Singaporeans may attach to these songs.

"(But) I'm pleased to see that young Singaporeans have taken over the reins since," he said, referring to the newer songs.

He adds that he does not think the reason a foreigner wrote these songs then was a lack of qualified local musicians.

He said: "It's just that the National Day song movement only came about following the introduction of the first three songs, which for whatever reason just happened to have been written by me.

"These songs were not written as 'national songs', but instead were just written as songs that later attained 'national song' status." After he wrote the songs, he asked Mr Monteiro to help arrange them.

Mr Harrison wrote the tune and the words, and Mr Monteiro wrote the parts for the various instruments used in the background music.

Asked what he remembers best about working with Mr Harrison, Mr Monteiro said: "He used to love to spend time with Singaporeans in bars, hawker centres and visiting friends in HDB flats.

"He immersed himself in Singapore culture and I think that's why he struck a chord."

Reflecting on the impact his songs has had on Singapore, Mr Harrison said: "I will always feel honoured to have been given the opportunity to contribute to a small degree towards Singapore's nation-building process."

While he has not written songs in a while, concentrating instead on writing books, he said: "I have a couple of keyboards in my study. Maybe I'll turn back to music when I finish my books."

Really, a Canadian?

Did you know that Stand Up For Singapore, Count On Me Singapore and We Are Singapore were written by a Canadian? Nine out of 10 Singaporeans asked by The New Paper didn't. Here are some responses:

"For a foreigner to capture the essence of the Singapore identity is surprising."- Corporate communications executive Julian Soh, 28

"The songs resonate with people, so I don't think we need a Singaporean to write it. (After all) people don't remember who writes the songs but only the memories they have of it." - Student Colin Tan, the only person who knew Mr Harrison was the composer. He said he found out from a friend.

Mr Teo said: "I think it would have been better if it was written by a local, so as to support the local music industry." "How can it be a Singapore National Day song when it wasn't written by a Singaporean? I guess... we didn't have enough creative people to write such songs then." - Undergraduate Charmaine Koh, 21

Get The New Paper for more stories.

Many Singaporeans don't seem to like their new National Day songs, but they hold fond memories of old favourites like Stand Up For Singapore, Count On Me Singapore and We Are Singapore.

That's because the new songs are trash. And forgettable.

Just another indicator of slipping standards in Sinkieland e.g. crumbling infrastructure, botched healthcare etc.

Surely MCCY has a heart to allow an Indian mother to teach her retarded son how to speak/sing the song lyrics? :unsure: