• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Orchard Road Business Association- "We're disappointed with Vivian PUB"

Time for the opposition to show their mettle and ask some tough questions at the next parliamentary sitting. The government has thus far avoided the Marina Barrage issue and instead tries to deflect by talking about the weather. I'm sure we've had similar rainfall before the barrage was built with no Orchard Road floods occurring. This is a serious matter of national concern and the "no sacred cows" approach must be made to get to the cause of flooding. If it is the barrage, then fix it instead of fudging it.

In the case of the Orchard Floods, Mas Selamat and YOG, the PAP men and the NCMPs actually hatam more questions then both Chiam and Low. The 2 were almost non existent during most of these but to be fair, Low was consistently been hitting out at the million dollar salary. I'm actually hoping to see some improvement since got more opposition MPs this time round

Vivian Balakrishnan: What flood alarm system you want? You want fast alarm, slow alarm or false alarm?

1. bro, fast alarm cost xxx, slow alarm cost xx, false alarm cost xxxxx.
2. no monies no talking leh!

1. honest, i am so eager waiting for the annual orchard rd flood next yr.
2. i know i shall not be "disappointed".
3. well done, sheep!

All these barricades built, are just pushing the water around.

First it was lucky plaza, Liat towers, ION. After they fixed it with the road-raising works and flood gates barrier, the problem shifted west towards Tanglin Mall.

Now Tanglin Mall gonna build their own flood control measures, the water will have to go somewhere else (to the next shopping mall that doesn't have it's own flood control).

It's a zero-sum game... the water HAS to go somewhere.

Kinda reminds me of the ERP solution, where they erect gantries wherever there's a traffic jam. End up the jam diverted to somewhere else, and then that new stretch gets a new gantry too!

I was reading the flooding of the Missippi while I was in the US. They actually have a few areas designated to flood in a worse case scenario if the flood system is overwhelmed. The pictures of the recent US floods may look really bad but the thing is as far as the system is concern it is working great. Those areas where the flood water goes were well within the their expected scenario and pple were told to evacuate

We do not have the luxury of having designated flood areas but I think they should look into building massive water storage areas and allow the water to flow there until the rain subsides.

On another note, the so called 50 yr rain here happened 3 times in 2 years. I still think it's a climate change thing coz in the US, their so called 20 yr type flood happened more then 7-8 times in the last 12 years

The ERP logic was to charge less money at certain gantry to encourage some of the traffic to use that route. It was a sound plan but the execution is left wanting. Most important factor is drivers have no way of checking which route is cheaper on the fly so everyone just continue to take the usual route

I was reading the flooding of the Missippi while I was in the US. They actually have a few areas designated to flood in a worse case scenario if the flood system is overwhelmed.

11131982af27e67c49abc95b1d6d13463359a808.jpg

"I like the way u put it. It's definitely different from RonRon's style but still carries the same message. Hahahaha"

11131982af27e67c49abc95b1d6d13463359a808.jpg

"I like the way u put it. It's definitely different from RonRon's style but still carries the same message. Hahahaha"

Dunno what RonRon said but if U are referring to the current flood, nope those are not "designated flood area". I wasn't referring to the current flood when I wrote that, I was referring to what can/should be done in the future.

One of the PAP man(can't remember who) claims that no among of human engineering can beat nature. I don't fully agree, yes there is a limit to human engineering but more can and should be done. Right now it's still not too late to improve the system

1. honest, i am so eager waiting for the annual orchard rd flood next yr.

Why are you waiting until 2012:confused:
It now only June, chances are that there will be more floods in Orchard Rd.

Lucky tourists who come for the Great Spore Sale can experience the Orchard Rd flood:rolleyes:

I was reading the flooding of the Missippi while I was in the US. They actually have a few areas designated to flood in a worse case scenario if the flood system is overwhelmed.
Ya man, they can actually use the entire basements of Ion for so called retention pond or underground storage tank to avoid flooding Orchard road

good suggestion. uncle botak...
we then can go fishing ...

I dun think they will go crazy and ask ION for that kinda permission. Orchard Road is a very developed area, very hard to find land to build a water storage facility. I was thinking more along the line of using the Botanical Garden(Already got pond so just make it larger or empty some water from there) or a more radical idea is to use the Istana. So much space there but none of our president really stay there so I dun think they will mind too much if we build an enormous swimming pool there

I
On another note, the so called 50 yr rain here happened 3 times in 2 years. I still think it's a climate change thing coz in the US, their so called 20 yr type flood happened more then 7-8 times in the last 12 years

fat ass,

i tot u said in another post that the flood only happened 3 times or so in the last decade?? why now change it to happened in last 2 years. happy happy from 2 years can beome a decade :oIo::oIo:

fuck u fat ass. all your data and info is rubbish. everytime can change like the weather. stupid like fuck. now i understd why u said cpf ms only increase by 6.1% from 2003 to 2011 when the actual increase is 80k to 131k (63.75%). u pap dog no brains at all. :oIo::oIo::oIo:

Once in fifty years has been shorten to once in fifty weeks! A Job well done! PUB will also have a worst case scenario planned, the next flood occurs, worst place scenario, PUB will sack some project manager! HAHAHA!!!!!!