• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Opposition picking new leaders

cass888

so you are saying - NSP is ruled by the Secretary General like SDP.

always thought the Chairman is the leader of the party who appoint the secretary general to run the party affairs on his behalf.

You caught me before I corrected my post. NSP's leader is the president, not the SG. Unlike the other parties.

Perspective

You caught me before I corrected my post. NSP's leader is the president, not the SG. Unlike the other parties.

That depends on each's constitution. I have not read all of them but in reality none of them from what I know state who is the paramount leader. Instead the constitution holds the entire CEC as leadership under the law while the paramount leader is recognised by the party but not the authorities. NSP often takes their President as leader but during Steve Chia's time as Sec Gen Chia showed up as he was NCMP in parliament.

Virtually all the time the constitution merely states the role of each (Chairman, Sec Gen, Treasurer etc) what powers they have etc. But naturally, the paramount leader is usually either President/Chairman or Sec Gen. Hardly anyone recognised as paramount leader becomes Treasurer.

elephanto

Traditionally, the Secretary-General of a democratic socialist party is the most powerful.

Even during Communist Era, USSR CCCP General Secretary is Brezhnev, Andropov, Gorbachev....

Only in China, it becomes corrupted - Chairman Mao is the biggest shot.

At the end of the day, True Power doesn't rest on titles alone ... implicitly, the inner circle knows who's Big Boss ....

sinren67

You're pretending to miss my point. The NSP's SG is like the PAP or WP Chairman .... not the rightful leader of the party. In the PAP and WP's case it is the SGbut in the NSP's case it is the President, not the SG.

My reply remain unchanged - it doesn't matter. What i feel in my bone is NSP Seb Teo is more open than WP LTK.

QXD

Go go Goh! Go go Goh! Go go Goh! Go go Goh!

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Representing NSP, Secretary-General GOH MENG SENG,

FRESH FROM THE OVEN .......
one of the powderful 6 Party Secretary-General in Singapore !

Better mai lao kwee, ok, ah Meng Seng ? :cool:

Congratulations !

p.s. pssssst check make sure yr hard disk no naked porno pix tat ex-nsp ncmp steve chia is well known for , okie.... since u spend so much time on the net, dun kenna sabo...

Virtually all the time the constitution merely states the role of each (Chairman, Sec Gen, Treasurer etc) what powers they have etc. But naturally, the paramount leader is usually either President/Chairman or Sec Gen. Hardly anyone recognised as paramount leader becomes Treasurer.

Exactly. In NSP the paramount leader can be either the President or the Sec-Gen. Just like in PRC. Zhu Ronji or Hu Jintao or Wen Jiabao etc. Deng Xiaoping was also official paramount leader even without official office rank. So at NSP, who's the one now? Depends on the times and people. At the moment, it's quite clear that GMS has couped successfully.

Perspective

Deng Xiaoping was also official paramount leader even without official office rank. So at NSP, who's the one now? Depends on the times and people.

I think it depends on the party itself not people. Most of the time people have no preference on who leads the party, they are more concerned with who leads them.

Anyway, the opposition movement can't really move forward without someone like Captain Goh helming at least a sizeable opposition party. Please support and vote for him and his team if you happen live in an area that they contest.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I am not holding any coup.

In NSP, the President has more power than the SG but we are in a situation of co-leadership. We play our roles together to sail the ship in the right direction.

The responsibility of being a SG is very great as I would not be just concentrating on Tampines alone from now on. It is not just glory and fame as people tend to see it, there will be a lot of pain and sweat.

Goh Meng Seng

popdod

Please support and vote for him and his team if you happen live in an area that they contest.

1st of all...must go through the checklist...

1. Any indecent incidents in the past?? eg..take pictures with naked maid?
2. School results any "F" or bad conduct?
3. Any dementia symptoms?? like always forgetting something? eg. filling forms?

coz if the ruling party find anything that is worth broadcasting
...they will make it into the headlines.

And thatz it wif Ah Goh.

:o :biggrin: :o

methink

My reply remain unchanged - it doesn't matter. What i feel in my bone is NSP Seb Teo is more open than WP LTK.

True. Hopefully SG GMS can steer NSP into more open challenging territory than WP. Being a WP look-a-like and a misnomer is not what sinkies expect of a truly opposition party.

WP is a carbon copy of the PAP. For sinkies, no difference!

Hawkeye1819

NSP now has a much higher profile compared to when Goh first joined a couple of years back.

As for WP, they have lost candidates to NSP and other parties so they need to step up in this aspect. They should take a leaf from other parties like NSP how the party profile can be raised in between election periods while not losing credibility.

SDA is even more silent than WP. Still playing by the same rulebook that got Chiam into parliament so many decades back. They need to realize this is a new century and you have to go out to do things before things will get done.

True. Hopefully SG GMS can steer NSP into more open challenging territory than WP. Being a WP look-a-like and a misnomer is not what sinkies expect of a truly opposition party.

WP is a carbon copy of the PAP. For sinkies, no difference!

sinren67

Seb Teo does not have quite have the mobilizing ability of LTK.

I don't disagree on that.
There used to say NSP has no icon, beside the ex-ncmp Chia. Finally they got one - GMS. With that, Seb Teo shd be lauded as well since he has shows that he is a selfless man.