• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Opposition Party - Lack of Mkting skills/Beneficial Policies/Talent?

iamtalkinglah

Frankly, I don't know why I should vote for the opposition party (other than the fact that you are unhappy about PAP polices). I don't even know their objectives and their plans or what they want to do for us or their strengths.

If you want people to vote for you, you must sell yourself to the voters.
Don't depend on Singaporeans to be responsible citizens and do the research themselves.

Have the opposition parties considered merging into one party?

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Not happy with PAP, not happy with oppositions.
Void your votes then.

:o :( :o

Those that void their votes are like they did not exist. And, if you did not exist, why live?

If you really want to consider voiding your votes in the coming election. May I suggest you to jump from the nearest hdb flat, because you don't count.:mad:

fivestars

Many Opposition GRC Team leader had their own plan:-

1) If lose the team leader will be NCMP

2) Town Council theme, cheapest Town Council charges, Garden New Town, Free Town Council Charger for one year?

3) Shadow Minister:- Goh Meng Seng Minister of National Development, Sylvia Minister of Law, Elvin Ong Minister of Sport, Youth and Community Development.

iamtalkinglah

You're waiting for the Straits Times to publish the info?:rolleyes:

What a twit you must be.

You don't need to do any "research". All it take is 5 seconds using your favourite search engine.

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/the-party/our-manifesto
http://wp.sg/our-beliefs/

You think the Aunties and Uncles will bother doing research or know how to use internet search? You think the average Singaporean will do the research or are knowledge in politics?

What I say is very true, what are the opposition parties doing? If they want our vote, they should start marketing themselves and reach out to all Singaporeans from all walks of life.

You don't know shit! E.g. Christians want to "save" people, they actively "persuade" people to go to church. If you want people to buy your product you should sell your product.

Well said. Singaporeans have been brought up in a environment where the control of the mainstream media is absolute that the level of decent political maturity is non-existent. If not for the internet and likes of yourself, and many of the opposition political identities that are ready to post comments, run blogs, many Singaporeans will be clueless.

Even today, Singaporeans cannot even contemplate a life without PAP. It has been become their mother and father and life long guardian. A long term Stockholm syndrome in operation.

Just take the thread-starter and his previous posts and one can't help notice the dependence on the PAP in thought. A very good example is PAP's Nick Lazarus who genuinely feels that opposition is redundant. This coming from a lawyer.

popdod

Those that void their votes are like they did not exist. And, if you did not exist, why live?

If you really want to consider voiding your votes in the coming election. May I suggest you to jump from the nearest hdb flat, because you don't count.:mad:

steady lah....just 1 reply...
u encourage ppl go jump...
Outstanding.

icon14.gif
icon14.gif

Perspective

I don't feel that void votes should be seen in this way.

Let's say (eg) that you very far from being a fan of the PAP but the opposition candidate is someone you know personally who once burnt down your house and on election day bumps into you and expresses no remorse but glee. What would you do?

Sideswipe

some might think of our oppositions as pure opportunists who only appear during GE and hoping to strike it lucky, win a MP seat and get $13K per month.

I like to think of our oppositions as aspiring politicians whose ideology is to curb PAP power in Singapore, toward a two party system which either party could form govt during elections. That's what I believe in.

Being a opposition politician is not great. I don't know but I think there's no benefits out of being associated with SDP, WP or NSP nor can you expect to earn a tidy sum of money out of political donations when you run for elections unlike in many countries.

iamtalkinglah

I like to think of our oppositions as aspiring politicians whose ideology is to curb PAP power in Singapore, toward a two party system which either party could form govt during elections. That's what I believe in.

Being a opposition politician is not great. I don't know but I think there's no benefits out of being associated with SDP, WP or NSP nor can you expect to earn a tidy sum of money out of political donations when you run for elections unlike in many countries.

I like to see that too. I do wonder whether the opposition tried getting funds from companies/etc for their campaigns.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I don't feel that void votes should be seen in this way.

Let's say (eg) that you very far from being a fan of the PAP but the opposition candidate is someone you know personally who once burnt down your house and on election day bumps into you and expresses no remorse but glee. What would you do?

That is an outrageous example, have no comment.

IR123

This point has been raised many times. There are many good points in having a united opposition but the drawback is who will be the Chief and on whose platform. Besides they don't really trust each other given LTK-JBJ and CSJ-CST interactions. Only those who are insiders can make an informed decision as to whether it is justified but it is apparent from outsiders' perspective that the level of trust amongst them is insufficient to foster an overall leader.

The truth of the matter is that this is beyond probability on present-day terms. That is why you need to gauge them as individual parties.

Their main strategy is the same: PAP bad, opposition good.

The main inference by the common man is incorrect: that the oppositions will speak with a common voice in Parliament in favour of you. On a certain matter, one may take the PAP's stand, others will provide an alternative viewpoint. It all depends on their leaders' perceptions and what they stand for.

For that reason, you need to vote according to the individual parties: WP, SDA, NSP, RP, etc - if they are contesting in your district, then ask if the specific leader will behave according to what you believe they will do.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I applauded the way you link things here.
Have a good day.

:p :biggrin: :p

I am only making a point, no life lost.

My only quarrel is why advise others to void their precious vote, that you know in our current political situation is as good as voting for PAP.

:smile:

kingrant

There is nothing wrong, no moral hazard, to spoil a vote. If you don't like the Opp member or party standing in yr constituency, for heaven's sake, cast a protest vote than vote for the PAP. Try to do everybody a service.
A protest vote sends a strong signal to the PAP that they are no longer popular.

On Opp uniting together, it is not realistic to expect them to merge into one entity with one leader. But, we could ask them to sit together and plan a unified attack plan and develop a grand strategy how to fight the elections - starting with where not to contest so as to allow a simple PAP majority via walkovers, then pick and agree on the rest where each will stand to avoid 3 corner fights; if at all possible, agree on main issues to drive the wedge into, and then sharpen the axes.

Also, it is not realistic to expect any single Opposition party to win a majority to form the next govt. What we could and should expect is that we get more Opp members into Parliament. This way, the PAP will have no choice not to listen more to the voters. Voters must not be frightened easily by PAP scaremongering and threats; Opp parties must try to avoid defamation traps.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
There is nothing wrong, no moral hazard, to spoil a vote. If you don't like the Opp member or party standing in yr constituency, for heaven's sake, cast a protest vote than vote for the PAP. Try to do everybody a service.
A protest vote sends a strong signal to the PAP that they are no longer popular.

After all this kpkb here, all we want is to send a protest vote to voice our dissatisfaction?:confused:

Sorry does not gel well with me.

If we are unhappy with the current ruling party that messes up our life, then we should send a strong signal and vote them out!

We shouldn't even need to consider whose who in opposition.:mad:

kingrant

Agree with you bro. But trouble is some people cannot see that, and say that if they cant find good Opp, they are like they have to vote PAP. And my msg is to tell them spoil that vote than vote PAP.

Of course, all sane people here will vote the Opp whoever/whatever he is.

After all this kpkb here, all we want is to send a protest vote to voice our dissatisfaction?:confused:

Sorry does not gel well with me.

If we are unhappy with the current ruling party that messes up our life, then we should send a strong signal and vote them out!

We shouldn't even need to consider whose who in opposition.:mad:

Frankly, I don't know why I should vote for the opposition party (other than the fact that you are unhappy about PAP polices). I don't even know their objectives and their plans or what they want to do for us or their strengths.

If you want people to vote for you, you must sell yourself to the voters.
Don't depend on Singaporeans to be responsible citizens and do the research themselves.

And do you know what the pap wants to do for you, their strengths and their objectives?

iamtalkinglah

But, we could ask them to sit together and plan a unified attack plan and develop a grand strategy how to fight the elections - starting with where not to contest so as to allow a simple PAP majority via walkovers, then pick and agree on the rest where each will stand to avoid 3 corner fights; if at all possible, agree on main issues to drive the wedge into, and then sharpen the axes.

Also, it is not realistic to expect any single Opposition party to win a majority to form the next govt. What we could and should expect is that we get more Opp members into Parliament. This way, the PAP will have no choice not to listen more to the voters. Voters must not be frightened easily by PAP scaremongering and threats; Opp parties must try to avoid defamation traps.

That's a good strategy.