• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

One Malaysia with Singapore? 2020?

fivestars

1Malaysia is an on-going campaign announced by Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak on September 16, 2008, calling for the cabinet, government agencies, and civil servants to more strongly emphasize ethnic harmony, national unity, and efficient governance.

1Malaysia strongly emphasizes national unity, ethnic tolerance, and government efficiency. The eight values of 1Malaysia as articulated by Najib Razak are perseverance, a culture of excellence, acceptance, loyalty, education, humility, integrity, and meritocracy.

Ketuanan Melayu (Malay for Malay supremacy or Malay dominance[1]) is the claim that the Malay people are the tuan (masters) of Malaysia. The Malaysian Chinese and Indian-Malaysians who form a significant minority in Malaysia, are considered beholden to the Malays for granting them citizenship in return for special privileges as set out in Article 153 of the Constitution of Malaysia.

This quid pro quo arrangement is usually referred to as the Malaysian social contract. The concept of ketuanan Melayu is usually referenced by politicians, particularly those from the United Malays National Organisation (UMNO), the most influential political party in Malaysia.

Although the idea itself predates Malaysian independence, the phrase ketuanan Melayu did not come into vogue until the early 2000s. Historically, the most vocal political opposition towards the concept has come from non-Malay-based parties, such as the Malaysian People's Movement Party (Gerakan) and Democratic Action Party (DAP); in the 2000s, the multiracial Parti Keadilan Rakyat also positioned itself against ketuanan Melayu, advocating instead ketuanan rakyat (supremacy of the people).

The idea of Malay supremacy gained attention in the 1940s, when the Malays organized themselves to protest the Malayan Union's establishment, and later fought for independence. During the 1960s, there was a substantial effort challenging ketuanan Melayu led by the People's Action Party (PAP) of Singapore — which was a state in Malaysia from 1963 to 1965 — and the DAP after Singapore's secession.

However, the portions of the Constitution related to ketuanan Melayu were "entrenched" after the racial riots of 13 May 1969, which followed an election campaign focused on the issue of non-Malay rights and ketuanan Melayu. This period also saw the rise of "ultras" who advocated a one-party government led by UMNO, and an increased emphasis on the Malays being the "definitive people" of Malaysia — i.e. only a Malay could be a true Malaysian.

The riots caused a major change in the government's approach to racial issues, and led to the introduction of an aggressive affirmative action policy strongly favouring the Malays, the New Economic Policy (NEP). The National Culture Policy, also introduced in 1970, emphasized an assimilation of the non-Malays into the Malay ethnic group. However, during the 1990s Prime Minister Mahathir bin Mohamad rejected this approach, with his Bangsa Malaysia policy emphasising a Malaysian instead of Malay identity for the state. During the 2000s politicians began stressing ketuanan Melayu again, and publicly chastised government ministers who questioned the social contract.

senatorabudelai

malaysia is a poor and backwards second world, bordering on third world country in the same league as thailand, south africa and china. singapore will NEVER be part of Malaysia. our languages (english vs malay), cultures (singaporean vs malaysian) and way of living (bumiputra policies, business, culture, food, education, ideals etc) is entirely different.

eyes on the scoreboard:

malaysia gdp per capita - ~6900usd
singapore gdp per capita - ~37,000usd

fivestars

If Malaysia Public housing converted from low cost house to middle and executive public housing. Malaysia Govt also can be rich too. Malaysia GDP go up too

fivestars

Malaysia also can follow Singapore Replace Malaysian with new Permanent Resident who can help to contribute more CPF. Increase CPF rate 20% Employee and 20% Employer total 40% of total salary. Increase Malaysian Salary to get higher CPF contribution.

wrcboi

What is "Singapore culture" and how does it differ from "Malaysian culture"? Please elaborate.

there is difference.....we are only about 80% similarities....that is if you notice....

think further open up and u can see the difference

there is difference.....we are only about 80% similarities....that is if you notice....

I have my own thoughts. I'm asking the question to see how others define what sinkie culture is.. apart from the kiasu syndrome and the quest for 5cs which is common to ALL chinkie societies.

pocoyo

malaysia is a poor and backwards second world, bordering on third world country in the same league as thailand, south africa and china. singapore will NEVER be part of Malaysia. our languages (english vs malay), cultures (singaporean vs malaysian) and way of living (bumiputra policies, business, culture, food, education, ideals etc) is entirely different.

eyes on the scoreboard:

malaysia gdp per capita - ~6900usd
singapore gdp per capita - ~37,000usd

You literally believe in gdp shit just like the pap.

While Malay is truly most Malaysian's language, are you sure English is 'Our' lanauage? Unless you are just like some china oldman who thinks he's a pure ang mo.

And it's alarming that you still think that China is a third world country..

saratogas

I heard from CNA, BN brought along lots of $resources$ to win yesterday hulu By-election. I believe $$$can win votes!

senatorabudelai

What is "Singapore culture" and how does it differ from "Malaysian culture"? Please elaborate.

I have my own thoughts. I'm asking the question to see how others define what sinkie culture is.. apart from the kiasu syndrome and the quest for 5cs which is common to ALL chinkie societies.

here let me help you..

Singapore -> english educated, english speaking, secular state with buddhism as its biggest religion; doesn't jail gays for 6 years, does not have "bumiputra policies", clean, green, lots of high rise, efficient public transport, does not have a shadow cabinet, first world country with gdp per capita ~38k usd.

Malaysia -> malay educated, malay speaking, english is not even an official language, constituition specifies islam as the religion of malaysia and islam is its biggest religion; homosexual activities warrants 6 years in prison (anwar's sodomy case), women who drink alcohol will be charged in court and sentenced to community service/canining, has "bumiputra policies", public gathering is not illegal, has a shadow cabinet, public transport is inefficient, third/second world country gdp per capita ~7k usd, which is only 17% of singapore's wealth.

see the differences in cultures?

singaporeans pursue the "5Cs" and are "kiasu" ? that is just an extremely ignorant and bigoted view.

i would say 10% similar. which really means different as night and day. malaysia and singapore is like mexico and america, we dont even speak the same language for the most part.

You literally believe in gdp shit just like the pap.

While Malay is truly most Malaysian's language, are you sure English is 'Our' lanauage? Unless you are just like some china oldman who thinks he's a pure ang mo.

And it's alarming that you still think that China is a third world country..

english is singapore's first language, there is no denying that. what language are you typing in now?

go get an education, stupid boy. probably 80% of caucasians in the world dont even speak english. if english is not singapore's language then english is not america's language as well since their populace is mainly non english but german, irish etc. same goes for every english speaking country (including wales, scotland, cornwall in Britain) except england.

china is a thoroughly third world country and will remain so for the next 2 decades, or maybe forever. it is a terrible place to live in, one of the poorest, most polluted and most autocratic countries in this planet.

wrcboi

singlish is spore national language its about 85-90% similar with manglish of msia....

i would prefer a merger with Johore to form People's Republic of Singapore...(PRS) and with the vast land space and resources we be formidable....

pocoyo

english is singapore's first language, there is no denying that. what language are you typing in now?

go get an education, stupid boy. probably 80% of caucasians in the world dont even speak english. if english is not singapore's language then english is not america's language as well since their populace is mainly non english but german, irish etc. same goes for every english speaking country (including wales, scotland, cornwall in Britain) except england.

When you use a language, doesn't mean it's yours. You see? Or you don't? I guess you don't..anyway you have said it all by yourself..what an educated dumbass.

senatorabudelai

When you use a language, doesn't mean it's yours. You see? Or you don't? I guess you don't..anyway you have said it all by yourself..what an educated dumbass.

singlish is spore national language its about 85-90% similar with manglish of msia....

i would prefer a merger with Johore to form People's Republic of Singapore...(PRS) and with the vast land space and resources we be formidable....

standard english, not singlish, is an official language in singapore and the most dominant language out of alll the four. all singaporeans are educated in english and most use english daily, obviously it is singapore's language.

what are you typing in?

anyway pocoyo, what do you propose is singapore's first language then?

senatorabudelai

malaysians dont even speak english. many speak pidgin english or broken english. only a handful are fluent but even then, they are not that fluent.

they are malay educated so of course they are not fluent. english is a foreign language to them.

how is malaysia same as singapore except both being under the british invaders for 200 years?

there is really nothing similar. one trip to johor bahru will tell.

senatorabudelai

malaysians dont even speak english. many speak pidgin english or broken english. only a handful are fluent but even then, they are not that fluent.

they are malay educated so of course they are not fluent. english is a foreign language to them.

how is malaysia same as singapore except both being under the british invaders for 200 years?

there is really nothing similar. one trip to johor bahru will tell.

It clearly shows you were seriously abused by some adult when you were a poor little boy or girl. Suggest you see a psychiatrist or stop mumbling here.

malaysia, china and indonesia are third world countries through and through. poorer than botswana and libya.

they are poor, their governments are rife with corruption, dirty, polluted, undeveloped and just run down countries.

all these talk about ASEAN and China makes me feel nauseous. china is 1/3 as rich as libya and half as rich as botswana. china will be the next great country? ha ha ha i laughed so hard that i nearly fainted.

malaysia wants to be a great power in east asia? ha ha ha, try being the next libya first before being a great power.

eyes on the scoreboard:

malaysia's gdp per capita - 6900usd
china's gdp per capita - 3500 usd
indonesia's gdp per capita - 2300 usd

libya's gdp per capita -9500 usd
Botswana's gdp per capita - 6400 usd

singapore's gdp per capita - 37,000usd

senatorabudelai

will malaysia, indonesia and china ever become as "rich" as the african nations of Equatorial Guinea, Libya and Gabon or is it unachieveable for them?