• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

OH MY GOD, BREAKING TOP STORY: GIC lost $10 billion on UBS

SORRY AMIGO! The intention perhaps was NOT to strike a win at all from all the investment punting.

Let's say I have access to all your funds to invest on your behalf. Then I set up 2 proxy companies: Company X and Company Y; both in actual fact belong to me even though my name may not be listed clearly as the owner.

Next, I invest your funds in Company X that somehow keep making loses to Company Y which of course profits. COMPREHENDO AMIGO!

Of course proving that is extremely difficult. But the possibility of such a shrewd scheme is not far fetch, don't you think?

That would make it the biggest scam in history! Even Singaporeans, smart as they are, could be ponzied and madoffed!:)

Don't over sensationalise lah

Only cut part of the report is it?

It is $7.7 billion, not $10 billion, although it is still a huge amount

There was interest payment on the notes of 2 billion francs or 2.6 billion in Sing dollars

See full Reuters report at this link:

http://uk.reuters.com/article/idUKSGE61A0CJ20100211

This is the Today newspaper report

http://www.todayonline.com/Business/EDC100212-0000110/GIC-sitting-on-$7,7b-loss-in-UBS-stake

GIC sitting on $7.7b loss in UBS stake

05:55 AM Feb 12, 2010

SINGAPORE - The Government of Singapore Investment Corp (GIC) may be sitting on as much as $7.7 billion in unrealised losses from its investment in troubled Swiss bank UBS, based on calculations derived from its latest regulatory filing.

The GIC will convert 11 billion Swiss francs ($14.6 billion) worth of its UBS notes into 230.7 million ordinary shares of the bank on March 5, according to a regulatory filing in the United States on Wednesday.

The conversion will reduce the sovereign wealth fund's stake in UBS from an original 9 per cent to 6.6 per cent, the filing stated.

The lowering of the stake had been flagged earlier after GIC opted not to take part in additional funding that saw the Swiss government becoming the lender's biggest shareholder.

The Swiss government divested that stake last August at a 1.2 billion franc profit and GIC is now reportedly the largest shareholder.

According to calculations by Dow Jones and Reuters yesterday, the conversion price for the notes held by GIC will be 47.7 Swiss francs per UBS share, indicating a paper loss of about 71 per cent when compared with UBS' closing price of 13.67 Swiss francs on Wednesday.

Taking into account the 2 billion francs that GIC would get over two years from the 9 per cent annual coupon on the notes, the sovereign wealth fund is in the red to the tune of 5.9 billion francs, or about $7.7 billion at the current exchange rate.

A GIC spokesperson declined to comment when contacted by Today.

The latest news comes just a month after GIC booked losses of as much as US$675 million ($952.4 million) from its exposure to Stuyvesant Town, one of New York's biggest apartment complexes

s'poreans are numb and apathetic to such news..
surely another GST increase is coming..

guarantee you no GST increase this year but after that dunno

that is a very serious accusation if true. if u got evidence of this, u can topple gahmen

That is very Sinkie thinking. By the time you get hold of concrete evidence, all your money may be in Timbuktu or God knows where. The moment they lost massive billions, all Sinkies should be out on the streets baying for their blood and asking for an independent audit.

When GIC or Temasek make some money in investments (with our money) the people in there gets mega bonus. Guess who paid for these.When they make losses we are also paying for it.

Just make your voices heard thru the ballot and boot out these shitty people who created the blood sucking system. And don't forget to convince others to vote likewise.

We will still survive without them. They are NOT indispensable though they keep trying to tell us so with their cheap propaganda.

We shall give Zero tolerance for such practices that
contradicts Singapore citizen's way of life !

Let's see budget got how much for citizens since elections coming but don't think got $7.7 billion