• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NWC says must cut pay, I agree

besotted

Yes, local expectations too high and pay must be cut

For the pay of one local worker, I can get 2 PRC or Burmese who works twice as hard, so productivity is actually 4 times!

NWC is right, but it should be more forceful and stop being shy-shy about it

Just say it. By demanding high pay, unrealsitic S'poreans price themselves out of a job.

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
June 3, 2009

NWC 2009/2010 recommendations

Reduce pay, or freeze wages
By Aaron Low, Political Correspondent

THE National Wages Council (NWC) wants employers to stick to the recommendations it had made six months ago: reduce pay or freeze wages.

It does not see the need to make more drastic recommendations despite no improvement in the gloomy economic conditions.

The reason is Government measures have helped to buffer companies against the force of the recession as well as minimise job losses, said NWC chairman Lim Pin on Wednesday.

Citing a survey of 1,900 employers at end-March, Prof Lim said more than six in 10 say they do not intend to retrench because of measures like the $4.5 billion Jobs Credit scheme, in which the Government subsidises a worker's salary.

'The measures have made a significant impact in helping companies and workers cope with the downturn,' said Prof Lim, while urging companies to continue tapping on such schemes.

The Government has accepted the recommendations, saying it supports the call 'for employers to look at ways to manage costs, stay viable and save jobs'.

In announcing the wage guidelines on Wednesday, Prof Lim cautioned against expecting a quick economic recovery, despite 'green shoots' suggesting an imminent recovery.

Read the full story in Thursday's edition of The Straits Times.

Companies like Temasek cut your pay !

But to lose 200 over billions it's ok !

Cut temasek pay! Cut scholar pay! Knn lose so much money!

If pay habe to be cut, the rest of costs should follow as well. Transport, food, housing, rental, retail, ciggie, liquior and GST. And not to forget the white scum and their lackeys pay!

Those white scum really have a way of trying to cut the peasant owning while always forgetting to do that on themselves. :oIo:

CCB CPF just UP minimum sum, they want CUT pay? Like this how to meet minimum sum? Who is not performing? The people who drive up inflation protecting the property investors but cut our pay to feed the rental costs increase by cutting manpower costs?

KNN!

See the news report make people tulan. The KNN picture of the person next to headline say NWC RECOMEND PAY CUT has the officer SMILING HAPPILY!

CCB! SO happy we get pay cut? This is the PROGRESS you promise us?

For the pay of one local worker, I can get 2 PRC or Burmese who works twice as hard, so productivity is actually 4 times!

Just say it. By demanding high pay, unrealsitic S'poreans price themselves out of a job.

June 3, 2009

THE National Wages Council (NWC) wants employers to stick to the recommendations it had made six months ago: reduce pay or freeze wages.

It does not see the need to make more drastic recommendations despite no improvement in the gloomy economic conditions.

The reason is Government measures have helped to buffer companies against the force of the recession as well as minimise job losses, said NWC chairman Lim Pin on Wednesday.

Citing a survey of 1,900 employers at end-March, Prof Lim said more than six in 10 say they do not intend to retrench because of measures like the $4.5 billion Jobs Credit scheme, in which the Government subsidises a worker's salary.

'The measures have made a significant impact in helping companies and workers cope with the downturn,' said Prof Lim, while urging companies to continue tapping on such schemes.

The Government has accepted the recommendations, saying it supports the call 'for employers to look at ways to manage costs, stay viable and save jobs'.

In announcing the wage guidelines on Wednesday, Prof Lim cautioned against expecting a quick economic recovery, despite 'green shoots' suggesting an imminent recovery.

Besotted: MOM combing through your records. Make sure your phantom workers are physically in your workplace. Remember, 7 more days ;)

CCB CPF just UP minimum sum, they want CUT pay? Like this how to meet minimum sum? Who is not performing? The people who drive up inflation protecting the property investors but cut our pay to feed the rental costs increase by cutting manpower costs?

KNN!

Why let CPF control your money ? You dunno how to save issit?

Government dangle a carrot asking you to work for CPF and actually hiding more from you.

Only know how to Singaporeans to cut pay, they themselves the PAP keep increasing everything, they should cut SC&C, PUB, ERP, patrol and the most important thing is their BIG FAT PAY

OK to Cut pay! Fuck U lah. Here cut pay, there lock more of my CPF $$$ and very soon increase my electric bills!

Let's bring Obama and Bush to run Singapore and we still save quite a substantial amount by sacking PAP.

The lesser mortals outnumber the elites. Cost of living should be pegged to the lesser mortals standard. The elites have nothing to lose.

If pay habe to be cut, the rest of costs should follow as well. Transport, food, housing, rental, retail, ciggie, liquior and GST. And not to forget the white scum and their lackeys pay!

Those white scum really have a way of trying to cut the peasant owning while always forgetting to do that on themselves. :oIo:

You should wind up your local business and start a restaurant chain in China. The returns will be much higher but please make sure you learn from the SIP and ComfortCab sagas.

June 3, 2009

You should wind up your local business and start a restaurant chain in China. The returns will be much higher but please make sure you learn from the SIP and ComfortCab sagas.

Margins much higher here lah

Suzhou is wonderful, you should go there when you are free. Suzhou women are hot.

Margins much higher here lah

Suzhou is wonderful, you should go there when you are free. Suzhou women are hot.

yeah sure shanghai bitch,

suzhou mei mei are good for fuck and forget..:oIo::oIo:

yes yes fire all the sinkies and hire cheap and hardworking FT/FW.

They deserve it.

June 3, 2009

There are lots of talks about cutting wages, but there is no talk about cutting or reducing cost of living.

so with cutting or freezing wages and yet increase cost of living, what difference does it make? the economy wont recover as better when people still do not have the money to spend to bolster this economy.

There are lots of talks about cutting wages, but there is no talk about cutting or reducing cost of living.

so with cutting or freezing wages and yet increase cost of living, what difference does it make? the economy wont recover as better when people still do not have the money to spend to bolster this economy.
ya , u are right. Yes , we can cut our wage , bite the bullet.

But can our stat board do that ? Cut wastage and stop regular increase !