• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

North Korea has fired several artillery shells into South Korea

postnew

720x.jpg

810x.jpg

Anti-war protestors hold signs in front of the White House in Washington, DC, on November 27, 2010 against escalation between North and South Korea as the US and South Korea go ahead with naval exercises in the Yellow Sea, days after North Korea launched a deadly attack on the South.​

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
both usa n china are playing chess lah!:biggrin:
obama playing international chess n hujintao playing chinese chess.
the korean peninsular is the chess board: south rep by usa, north rep by china.:wink:
can u imagine this picture?
hujintao got all his 车、马、炮、相、士、帅、兵 on his side.
obama got all his castle, knight, bishop, queen, king, pawns on his side.
the 38th parallel becomes the 楚河汉界 in china side whereas international chess no such boundary leh.:p
"Checkmate! 将军!"
now whose turn?:confused:

wahlaneh...
both usa n china are playing chess lah!:biggrin:
obama playing international chess n hujintao playing chinese chess.
the korean peninsular is the chess board: south rep by usa, north rep by china.:wink:
can u imagine this picture?
hujintao got all his 车、马、炮、相、士、帅、兵 on his side.
obama got all his castle, knight, bishop, queen, king, pawns on his side.
the 38th parallel becomes the 楚河汉界 in china side whereas international chess no such boundary leh.:p
"Checkmate! 将军!"
now whose turn?:confused:

International Chess have one powerful Queen and Chinese Chess have canon can penetrate wall.
But in the end Chinese will WIN because of the logistic near to home ground. Shoot the US air craft carrier is check mate.

postnew

820x.jpg

South Korean protesters hold candles during a rally opposing a joint military exercise between South Korea and the US, in Seoul on November 28, 2010. The United States and South Korea began a major naval exercise designed to deter North Korea, after the communist state warned of 'unpredictable consequences' if the drill goes ahead.​

postnew

780x.jpg

Members of the National Emergency Management Agency check their gas masks as they inspect emergency evacuation facilities at a subway station in Seoul, South Korea, Sunday, Nov. 28, 2010. South Korea, Sunday, Nov. 28, 2010. The rattle of new artillery fire from North Korea just hours after the U.S. and South Korea launched a round of war games in Korean waters sent residents, journalists, police and troops on a front-line island scrambling for cover Sunday.​

postnew

850x.jpg

A K10 Ammunition Resupply Vehicle is seen at the South Korean marines' base on Yeonpyeong island November 27, 2010. North Korea has placed surface-to-surface missiles on launch pads in the Yellow Sea, Yonhap news agency reported on November 28, 2010, as the United States and South Korea began joint military exercises. Picture taken November 27, 2010​

postnew

780x.jpg

840x.jpg

South Korean Coast Guard members run to shelter as sirens and broadcast warnings go off on Yeonpyeong Island on November 28, 2010. People on a South Korean border island were briefly ordered to shelter in bunkers after explosions were heard from the direction of North Korea, officials said. Reporters, soldiers and a few residents on Yeonpyeong island, which was hit by deadly North Korean shellfire five days ago, were ordered to take shelter for 40 minutes.​

postnew

810x.jpg

South Korean officers from the Special Sea Attack Team rush to find civilians to take them to a bunker on Yeonpyeong Island after an alarm sounded to take shelter against a possible North Korean rocket attack Sunday, Nov. 28, 2010. North Korean artillery was heard Sunday on the frontline South Korean island attacked last week, though no shells landed on the island, South Korea's military said.​

postnew

810x.jpg

South Korean President Lee Myung-Bak (R) meets Chinese State Councillor Dai Bingguo at the presidential Blue House in Seoul November 28, 2010. The United States and South Korea began joint military exercises in waters west of the Korean Peninsula Sunday that have been opposed by regional giant China and have led to North Korea threatening "consequences".​

postnew

840x.jpg

South Korean soldiers march past residents along a coastal road near a beach in the town Taean, around 170 km southwest of Seoul on November 28, 2010. The US and South Korea staged a potent show of naval strength as residents of a border island bombarded last week by North Korea scurried for shelter for fear of a new attack.​

postnew

780x.jpg

880x.jpg

The U.S. Navy's USS George Washington aircraft carrier. Joint exercises between the U.S. and South Korean militaries have begun in the Yellow Sea, west of the Korean peninsula, an official from U.S. Forces Korea said on Sunday. The nuclear-powered carrier has joined the exercise, the official told Reuters.​

postnew

840x.jpg

In this Wednesday Nov. 24, 2010 photo, the U.S. military aircraft carrier USS George Washington sets sail from Yokosuka naval base, south of Tokyo, heading to Korean waters to take part in a joint military exercises with South Korea later this week.

x870.jpg

File photo dated July 21, 2010 shows the U.S. Navy's USS George Washington aircraft carrier in Busan.​

kensington

South Korea Rejects China's Call for Six-Party Talks as Naval Drills Begin

South Korea rejected China’s call to resume six-party talks with North Korea today, as its navy began maneuvers with U.S. warships amid threats of a “merciless” response by Kim Jong Il’s regime.

“Emergency” discussions involving the Koreas, China, the U.S., Russia and Japan should be held next month in Beijing to address increasing military tensions on the Korean Peninsula, Wu Dawei, China’s top envoy for the negotiations, told reporters in Beijing today. The time isn’t right for such a meeting South Korean President Lee Myung Bak told visiting Chinese State Councilor Dai Bingguo today in Seoul, Yonhap News said.

North Korea “will deal a merciless military counter-attack at any provocative act of intruding into its territorial waters,” according to a Rodong newspaper commentary carried today by the North’s official Korean Central News Agency. U.S. and South Korean warships led by the aircraft carrier USS George Washington today began four days of drills in the region.

Residents of South Korea’s Yeonpyeong island, where four people were killed and 20 wounded in a Nov. 23 artillery bombardment by the North, were temporarily ordered to take refuge in bomb shelters today after more shelling was heard on the North Korean mainland. U.S. Admiral Michael Mullen, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, said the U.S. is trying to prevent tensions over last week’s attack on the disputed maritime border from escalating into a more significant confrontation.

‘Focused on Restraint’

“We’re very focused on restraint and not letting this thing get out of control,” Mullen told CNN in an interview scheduled for broadcast on “Fareed Zakaria GPS” today and posted on the network’s Website. “Nobody wants this thing to turn into a conflict.”

The shelling of Yeonpyeong revived tensions that flared after an international inquiry concluded that North Korea torpedoed the South Korean warship Cheonan in March and following North Korea’s claims of advances in its nuclear program. North Korea said that, if true, reported civilian casualties in its artillery attack were “very regrettable.”

“But the enemy should be held responsible for the incident as it took such inhuman action as creating ‘a human shield’ by deploying civilians around artillery positions and inside military facilities,” state-run Korean Central News Agency said yesterday.

‘Defensive’ Drills

The U.S. called the naval drills, which include four smaller warships as well as the George Washington, “defensive in nature” and said they were initially planned before last week’s shelling of Yeonpyeong.

The nuclear-powered carrier, which holds about 85 aircraft and is served by a crew of 6,500, was last in waters off the Korean Peninsula in July as part of drills after the Cheonan’s sinking, which killed 46 sailors.

China’s Xinhua News Agency said Choe Tae Bok, chairman of North Korea’s Supreme People’s Assembly, will visit China Nov. 30 to Dec. 4.

The Korean won was Asia’s worst-performing currency against the dollar on Nov. 26, sliding 1.9 percent versus the dollar, as the risk of conflict deterred investment in the nation. The Kospi stock index fell 1.3 percent.

Shipping was warned to avoid an area of the Yellow Sea parallel to China’s northeastern city of Qingdao while gunnery exercises take place from Nov. 29 to Dec. 3, according to the U.S. National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency. Qingdao lies about 615 kilometers west of Seoul.

China Influence

China’s Foreign Ministry warned against having the exercises in China’s “exclusive economic zone” without its authorization, Xinhua reported. The Pentagon reiterated that the U.S. military notified China of the planned exercise, as it has in the past.

President Barack Obama, along with Japan’s Prime Minister Naoto Kan and South Korean President Lee, have called on China to use its influence to temper North Korea’s actions. China is North Korea’s main economic and political benefactor.

China has the most leverage with North Korea and “it’s really important that Beijing lead here,” Mullen said.

North Korea’s actions destabilize the region, “and China has as much to lose as anybody in that region with the continuation of this kind of behavior,” he said.

The shelling of Yeonpyeong, which has a military base and a civilian fishing community, was the first attack of its kind since the 1950-1953 Korean War, which ended with an armistice rather than a treaty.

South Korea is considering reinstating North Korea as the “main enemy” in its defense guidelines, Yonhap News reported yesterday, citing a government official it didn’t identify. The term may be restored in a Defense White Paper following North Korea’s artillery attack, the Korean-language news agency said.

New Defense Minister

President Lee on Nov. 26 appointed former Joint Chiefs of Staff Chairman Kim Kwan Jin, 61, to replace Defense Minister Kim Tae Young, who quit amid criticism that the military’s response to the shelling was inadequate.

Russia’s Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov and his Chinese counterpart Yang Jiechi urged prevention of further escalation on the peninsula and vowed to “work toward easing the tension between the two Korean parties, as well as resuming the six- party talks” aimed at ending North Korea’s nuclear arms program, during a telephone call yesterday, according to an e-mailed statement from the Russian ministry.

The western sea border, demarcated by the UN after the war and never accepted by North Korea, was the scene of deadly naval skirmishes in 1999 and 2002. The North contends the border should have been drawn further south in order to include Yeonpyeong and four neighboring islands as part of its territory.

To contact the reporters on this story: Sungwoo Park in Seoul at [email protected]; Bomi Lim in Seoul at [email protected]

To contact the editors responsible for this story: Bill Austin at [email protected]; Paul Tighe at [email protected]

-----------------------------

McCain Says China Not Behaving Responsibly on Restraining Ally North Korea

U.S. Senator John McCain said China’s response to North Korea’s deadly shelling last week shows that the Beijing government isn’t taking on the responsibilities of a world power.

China is not doing enough to restrain its ally North Korea following the Nov. 23 artillery attack on the island of Yeonpyeong that killed four South Koreans, McCain, a member of the Senate Armed Services Committee, said today on CNN’s State of the Union. China is North Korea’s biggest trading partner.

“We have to understand that China is not behaving in a responsible fashion as a world power,” McCain said. “We have to make adjustments to our policies regarding China.”

Until now, Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao has pushed for stability without ascribing any blame to North Korea for the shelling, which also wounded 20 South Koreans, mostly soldiers. China today called for emergency talks during December among the six countries that have been discussing relations in the region: the two Koreas, China, Japan, Russia and the U.S.

McCain, a Republican from Arizona who lost to Barack Obama in the 2008 campaign to become U.S. president, said on CNN that the six-party talks would be “a fine first step.” McCain then went on to suggest that North Korea’s “long history of confrontation” wouldn’t end until the Communist nation is hit with “significant penalties.”

Graham on China

Senator Lindsey Graham, a Republican from South Carolina who also serves on the armed forces panel, said today on Fox News Sunday the U.S. “should push China hard” to get North Korea to refrain from aggressive actions. Senator Claire McCaskill said on the same show that China’s bid for a resumption of the six-party talks was an “important” development. McCaskill, a Missouri Democrat, is also a member of the Armed Services Committee.

Obama, along with Japanese Prime Minister Naoto Kan and South Korean President Lee Myung Bak, has called on China to use its influence on Kim Jong Il’s government to temper North Korean acts of aggression. China, having fought alongside North Korea against U.S.-led United Nations forces during the 1950-53 Korean War, now serves as that country’s main economic and political benefactor.

As a show of force in the wake of the Nov. 23 shelling, the U.S. sent the aircraft carrier USS George Washington to take part in joint military exercises in the waters west of the Korean Peninsula. North Korea has warned that the U.S.-South Korea drills, scheduled to last until Dec. 1, could take the region to the “brink of war.”

McCaskill and Graham both voiced support for the naval exercises on Fox News Sunday.

“You go forward with the exercises, you don’t flinch,” Graham, said. “We need to take a very strong stand, as this is brazen and this is belligerent,” McCaskill said of the North Korean shelling.

To contact the reporter on this story: Miles Weiss in Washington at [email protected]

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Mark Silva at [email protected]

wahlaneh

International Chess have one powerful Queen and Chinese Chess have canon can penetrate wall.
But in the end Chinese will WIN because of the logistic near to home ground. Shoot the US air craft carrier is check mate.

wahlaneh...
now we know why the US aircraft carrier must come in to intercept liao.
obama must be saying to hujintao: "u chinese play dirty. u got cannon we only got a formidable queen. not fair!":biggrin:
hujintao rebutted obama: "dun always hide under a woman's skirt lah. if u gentleman come lets fight face to face lah!":biggrin:
“我出炮轰死你的二卒,再将你一军!“:biggrin:

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
now we know why the US aircraft carrier must come in to intercept liao.
obama must be saying to hujintao: "u chinese play dirty. u got cannon we only got a formidable queen. not fair!":biggrin:
hujintao rebutted obama: "dun always hide under a woman's skirt lah. if u gentleman come lets fight face to face lah!":biggrin:
“我出炮轰死你的二卒,再将你一军!“:biggrin:

edited: “我若出双炮将军你就死棋了!看你能嚣张多久。“:biggrin:

postnew

610x.jpg

820x.jpg

South Korean President Lee Myung-bak bows to the nation during a news conference at the presidential house in Seoul November 29, 2010. Lee on Monday labelled North Korea's artillery attack on a southern island a crime against humanity and said Pyongyang will pay the price for any further provocation.​

no_faith

if nk really wan war, why would dey wan to 打草惊蛇?
might as well give them a full force surprise bombing, caught them unaware.

imho, must be sum political game using them as pawn.