• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No Porn Lui: Be GRATEFUL for Regular Property Tax Hike!

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Can u believe this shit from Lui Fark U?</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>10:05 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>24810.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Nov 23, 2009

Timing of HDB tax hike 'avoids bigger increases later'

<!-- by line -->By Sue-Ann Chia, Senior Political Correspondent
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
THE property tax of HDB flats is being raised next year partly to avoid having to introduce a bigger increase later should home prices continue to rise, said Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts Lui Tuck Yew.
He gave the reason yesterday, after being asked at a dialogue with Aljunied-Hougang residents whether the Government could delay it, as the recession has just started to ease.
Noting that the adjustment had been delayed once, Rear-Admiral (NS) Lui said: 'The problem is, the longer you defer it, the larger the increase will be...if HDB prices continue to go up.'
He also pointed out that the Government is taking steps to soften the impact of the tax rise early next year. It is giving HDB homeowners a one-off rebate, set at 50per cent of the property tax payable and capped at $120. This means low-income families with homes whose property tax is $50 and less will not have to pay any such tax next year.
The property tax rate is 10 per cent of a property's annual value, although homes that are owner-occupied enjoy a concessionary 4 per cent tax rate. The annual value has increased with rising property prices.
HDB resale prices have risen a hefty 31.2per cent in the past two years, and a further 3.8per cent in the first nine months of this year.
Hence, the Government has decided to raise the property tax 'to reflect the prevailing movement of HDB prices and also to give rebates', said Rear-Adm Lui.
He also addressed residents' concerns about the affordability of HDB flats.
Noting that existing owners gain from their asset's increasing value, he said: 'If they eventually need to sell...(it) releases more money for their old age.'
But the anxieties of those planning to buy a flat are not lost on him. He assured them that an HDB flat would not be beyond their means, saying that the Ministry of National Development has matched the prices of different flat types against the salaries of different groups of people in the population. 'It tries to make sure that for every group, there is a flat type that meets their needs,' he said.
In doing so, it aims for homeowners to pay no more than 30per cent of their salary every month towards their home loan.
More than 75per cent of HDB dwellers use only the contributions to their CPF savings to make their monthly loan payments, he said, urging residents to buy what is affordable.

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot> </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>10:06 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(2 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>24810.2 in reply to 24810.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>>THE property tax of HDB flats is being raised next year partly to avoid having to introduce a bigger increase later should home prices continue to rise, said Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts Lui Tuck Yew.
What kind of a farking reason is this? I don't get it? U bros get his logic?

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Slice off your flesh bit by bit so that that u won't die so quickly and your flesh stays fresh when they decide to slice another piece of you again. That's the message.

Devil Within

Why need to be taxed in the first place??? It should not be taxed at all! And why must increase later? It should not have been increased at all!

THE property tax of HDB flats is being raised next year partly to avoid having to introduce a bigger increase later should home prices continue to rise, said Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts Lui Tuck Yew. ...
yes ...

since "to avoid having to introduce a bigger increase later should home prices continue to rise" ... kindly oso increase hdb rents ...

as rent increases, transport costs will oso increase ... so, kindly oso increase transport fares ...

poor ppl wil nid mor help den ... kindly oso increase gst ...

10q, sir! ...

takcheksian

His logic is easy to understand.

Raise taxes now or else we will raise it later even more jialat.

I also propose a similar logic.

Make PAP lose 70 seats at the next election or we will make it lose even more seats later.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>10:06 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(2 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>24810.2 in reply to 24810.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>>THE property tax of HDB flats is being raised next year partly to avoid having to introduce a bigger increase later should home prices continue to rise, said Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts Lui Tuck Yew.
What kind of a farking reason is this? I don't get it? U bros get his logic?

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Slice off your flesh bit by bit so that that u won't die so quickly and your flesh stays fresh when they decide to slice another piece of you again. That's the message.

bryanlim1972

Why need to be taxed in the first place??? It should not be taxed at all! And why must increase later? It should not have been increased at all!

the article is just badly written, because we have lousy editors at ST.

what they mean is that Annual Value of HDB flats are being raised to reflect higher flat valuations. there is no change in the property tax rates, as one might be misled into thinking from reading the poorly written ST article

so either they gradually readjust the AV of flats, or one shot raise it high high.

substandard Editors at ST to blame.