• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nice PSLE and family story

I thought this is one of the best feel good stories that I have come across for along while. Click the URL to see the kid posing with his market vendor mother. The family is indeed tight having lost their father to cancer in May.

The govt has also realised that publicising the names of overaged FT kids scoring top grades in PSLE is only making things worse and its in their interest to tone it down before they lose East Coast GRC. The real challenge is hand the country back to Singaporeans before it is too late.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Edvantage/Story/A1Story20121123-385220.html

By Gwendolyn Ng
My Paper
Friday, Nov 23, 2012

SINGAPORE - Gathered at Loyang Primary School in Pasir Ris yesterday morning were eager parents waiting for the release of their child's Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE) results.

But one particular pupil, Jaren Pang, 12, had his three siblings - Jason, 21, Jamie, 19, and Jacob, 15 - with him.

The siblings are a close-knit bunch, having had to rely mostly on each other for support at home.

This is because their father died from intestinal cancer in May and their mother, the family's sole breadwinner, works long hours as a market vendor.

Jamie, a National University of Singapore business undergraduate, said: "We make it a point to be there for Jaren."

After his name was called in the school hall and he was handed his results slip, Jaren ran straight towards his siblings.

He scored an aggregate of 232, achieving straight As for four subjects, including an A-star for Mathematics.

He hopes to qualify for a place in Anglican High School. Jaren was among a total of 48,333 Primary 6 pupils who sat the PSLE this year.

Of these, 97.6 per cent can proceed to secondary school.

In terms of course eligibility, 63.1 per cent are eligible for the Express course, 23.1 per cent for Normal (Academic) and 11.4 per cent for Normal (Technical).

My Paper understands that this year's top PSLE scorer garnered an aggregate of 285, while the lowest score was 43, which were both printed on pupils' results slips.

Preparing for the PSLE was a gruelling feat for Jaren, who spent an hour each day at Changi General Hospital as his father's condition worsened over the months.

Jaren, who shared a close bond with his late father, said: "I knew that (our time together) was limited, so I really cherished it."

He also had to help out at his mother's stall in a Bedok market on weekends, stopping only three weeks before the PSLE began in September.

His form teacher, Mrs Emily Tan, 50, was full of praise for Jaren. She said: "He tries to be very attentive in class, despite the emotional turmoil that he had to go through.

"At home, he has his sister to help him with his studies. So, there was no need for tuition."

In the afternoon, the siblings made a trip to their mother's stall with the news.

Jaren ran to hug his mother when he caught sight of her.

Madam Susan Lim, 46, who earns about $1,000 a month selling bananas, tapioca and coconut shreds, told My Paper: "I'm proud of Jaren. I'm really lucky to have children who are so sensible and independent."

i am still waiting eagerly to know which school whom PSLE student has the highest aggregate...:D

wonder if there is typical story of JB kid who travel daily in and out of s'pore to go to school, i am sure there are and they make good reflectional stories for sinkie spoilt brats.:rolleyes:

how did you know...? may i ask, where are your sources or just some hear say again?

There is the infamously stress-inducing but absolutely essential kiasuparents.com.
Everything is there.

There is the infamously stress-inducing but absolutely essential kiasuparents.com.
Everything is there.
That website is now in panic mode. Without official news on top scorers, that site is relying on self reporting without verification. You will see people who claim to be colleagues of someone who has kids in certain schools who heard that the top score is xxx, and the site take it at face value without even an image of that result slip. All schools are strongly advised against publicizing top scores, so not a single soul out there will dare to put up any image of result slip with names and score on Internet.

The site's founder was quoted in shit times today, slamming the latest MOE move. The founder clearly realized that his online business will decline significantly as a result. Good riddance for promoting this unhealthy obsession with PSLE scores and so-called top primary schools.

PSLE scores seems to determine whether in future a person can be minister quality or not.
A fucking pack of LKY bullshit and social engineering.
Hope he dies painfully!

there are actually quite a lot of mothers who think that PSLE will decide the kid's future, I was surprised when I first heard that - especially when they are educated and a working professional. They think by getting into a good sec sch will determine if they will get into a good JC followed by Uni. I think it's a joke for a parent to think a child's future is decided at the age of 12, I am just sad what the kid will learn from the parents' attitude in life.

This one is a different story of what many kids go through. Singaporean parents are very kiasu not able to recognise that kids have their own dreams and special talents.

The govt has also realised that publicising the names of overaged FT kids scoring top grades in PSLE is only making things worse and its in their interest to tone it down before they lose East Coast GRC.

Aljunied GRC, East Coast GRC, Tampines GRC, Joo Chiat SMC... would be nice if Ang Mo Kio GRC falls too :D:D:D

Dong Su Hua

wonder if there is typical story of JB kid who travel daily in and out of s'pore to go to school, i am sure there are and they make good reflectional stories for sinkie spoilt brats.:rolleyes:

Dong Su Hua ?

sh52fc.jpg

PSLE scores seems to determine whether in future a person can be minister quality or not.
Hope he dies painfully!
Well, LKY famously compared shorty mah's 'O' levels result against Chiam See Tong's

Heard some kid committed suicide over psle....
Someone can post report here?

In the end, it's not the PSLE that determines success. It's which family you are born or married into into.

PS. LEE.

i find secondary school that you go to very important,kind of network, those years are very good in bonding friendships, me and my friends went to SAP school, in there, there are rich chinese indonesians and all other very studious characters. now, when i flip papers, they are either successful lawyers, doctors, MPs and even entrepreneurs. The alumni is very important too. as you progress into university, friendship bonding is not that pure anymore.:o

In the end, it's not the PSLE that determines success. It's which family you are born or married into into.

PS. LEE.

... wonder if there is typical story of JB kid who travel daily in and out of s'pore to go to school, i am sure there are and they make good reflectional stories for sinkie spoilt brats.:rolleyes:
y muz bring in msian kids? ...

travelling from pulau ubin 2 main island no goot enuff meh? ...

Hope he dies painfully!

Bro, chee bye lah. Dun link every thread with PAP can or not?

You not sian meh??

Give us a break leh!! Thanks.

Bro, chee bye lah. Dun link every thread with PAP can or not?

You not sian meh??

Give us a break leh!! Thanks.

Pappies are the root cause for all sinkies woes....
Fuckturd pap ib like you keep throwing smoke here....
YOU BEH SIAN AH!