• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New rules governing Speakers’ Corner commence

zack123

SINGAPORE: New rules allowing public outdoor demonstrations at the Speakers’ Corner in Hong Lim Park kick in on September 1.

The initiative comes as the Singapore government seeks to open up the space for political engagement in the country.

The day began much as any other for Speakers’ Corner, with little action apart from people walking through.

But in the afternoon, a businessman was seen putting up leaflets about a business venture that turned sour in an unnamed ASEAN country.

Teng Liang Huat said while the government is encouraging more businesses to venture abroad, they have nowhere to seek help when they run into problems.

And as the day wore on, more people turned up.

One man said: "Well, I’m here just to see and hopefully to see the scenario of eight years ago where there was a crowd of two to three hundred people."

The first demonstration happened at 7pm.

Six Singaporeans from a group called Hearers of Cries highlighted the problem of maid abuse.

Its founder Mike Goh said: "Relax of rules, I take it as an opportunity for activists like us to propagate a cause, a good cause to help the under—privileged people in the society."

New rules signalling what authorities call a lighter touch approach include Police giving up management of the Speakers’ Corner to the National Parks Board, no more permit needed for Singaporeans who want to demonstrate, and allowing the use of loud hailers at the site.

But some observers remain cynical.

Choo Zheng Xi, Editor of The Online Citizen, said: "I don’t think we were expecting a huge crowd to turn up to demonstrate all of a sudden. I think the laws have changed but people’s mindsets will take time to adjust accordingly."

In the past eight years since it started, only about 60 people per year have spoken at the site.

Still critics question if the new rules will inject vibrancy to the Speaker’s Corner.

It’s still early days but if Monday’s demonstration is anything to go by, more groups may follow suit.

For more information on the new rules at Speakers’ Corner, log on to the NParks website at www.nparks.gov.sg.

-------------

In summary 1 failed businessman asking gahmen for help? KNN your business fail also gahmen must help? Dats the mentality of Sporean....
If you cannot stand the heat, get out of the kitchen. Get a job and stay off businesss.

2nd demo for abused maids - Like there are no other pertinent issues in Spore? Where's the opposition? Busy at court, IMH, organizing Hawaiian Dinner, complain about bicycle trip which was not approved....