• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New ERP gantries on AYE

SINGAPORE — The Land Transport Authority will be implementing four new Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) gantries along the Ayer Rajah Expressway (AYE) between Jurong Town Hall Road and North Buona Vista Road to better manage traffic congestion in the area.

The gantries are expected to be activated by the middle of next year.

Three gantries will be built on the eastbound AYE towards the city and will be implemented during both morning and evening peak hours on weekdays.

They will located at AYE (City) before the Clementi Avenue 6 exit, the slip road into AYE (City) from Clementi Avenue 6 and the slip road into AYE (City) from Clementi Avenue 2.

This means that eastbound motorists will have to go through at least two gantries on the AYE when travelling into the city.

Another gantry will be built on the westbound AYE towards Tuas before the Clementi Road exit and will be activated during evening peak hours on weekdays.

Construction for the gantries are commencing end of this year.

Cars affordable because of ERP Mon, Aug 18, 2008

http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story/A1Story20080818-82990.html

An increased number of households now own cars, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

There are now 430,000 households who own cars, as compared to 320,000 households in 2000. This is due to lower vehicle taxes, a move made possible by the increase in ERP charges, he said.

In his National Day Rally speech on Sunday night, PM Lee explained that government taxes on cars have been reduced despite the increased ERP charges - a move that saves commuters money because they pay less road tax.

"The trouble is," said PM Lee, "people may not realise or remember how much road tax they are paying, or even worse, how much road tax they paid last year."

PM Lee elaborates on the ERP charges in the transcript below:

"In 2000, how much do you think it costs to buy a Toyota Corolla all in? $110,000. This year, same car, in fact the salesman will tell you it's a better car, the price has gone down to $64,000. And this is mainly because the government taxes have come down, because the OMV has remained about the same. It's about $19,000 before, now it's $16,000 now. So basically, the government taxes have made the cars a lot more affordable. So the result of this is that there are more cars around us. You can see it, HDB car parks getting more crowded. You can see it on the roads. And therefore because of this, this year we've had to increase ERP charges.

"I know many people are upset by these ERP charges but we have to see the bigger picture because in fact, the ERP charges are enabling us to benefit Singaporeans so as to reduce the burden on you and to enable more Singaporeans to own cars. So when we have to make the adjustment this year, we considered it very carefully, how could we do this without increasing the burden on Singaporeans? And we worked out an ERP package, not just raising the ERP or putting more gantries but reducing road tax at the same time so as to offset it and overall to bring down the cost.

"Let me show you how this works. Before the package, let's take the 1.6L car again. Probably a Toyota but could be another one. Before the package, the ERP was $122, after the package, it's gone up, nearly $200. So it looks very frightening but in fact if you consider the road tax which you have to pay and which we have adjusted, you used to pay $874 of the road tax and now it's come down to $744. So the net effect is that you have a saving, in fact you are saving money rather than out-of-pocket because of the ERP changes. How much? Let's do the sums.

"ERP increase, $76. Road tax reduction, $130. Net savings, $54. So overall, there's a net saving from this package. So we have not increased the burden on Singaporeans, we've actually reduced the burden on Singaporeans by some. The trouble is people may not realise or remember how much road tax they are paying, or even worse, how much road tax they paid last year. And sometimes they may not be the one to pay it.

"I asked one driver how much road tax she paid because she was complaining about the gantries she went through and the beeps which she heard. So she thought a while and then she said to me, I'm not sure, I have to ask my husband. Because she didn't pay the bill, her husband paid the bill and I'm not sure even when the husband paid the bill, he noticed that it was smaller this year. And furthermore, when the husband pays the bill, there's no beep, beep. But when the wife drives the car, each gantry, one beep. So, that is a problem and I think that's part of the reason why people are not happy. And so we have to draw the connections and get people to understand that actually the middle-income Singaporeans have benefited from government policies."

A Toyota Altis inclusive of COE cost more than $110k now leh. :oIo:
https://www.borneomotors.com.sg/asp/ToyotaPriceListPassenger.aspx

Nothing is going to alleviate traffic congestion unless the population is reduced. Tinkering with COE and ERP will not work... they'll only further enrich the govt's coffers.

Maybe that was the whole idea to begin with: leech more money under the guise of attempting to solve a problem.

Totally agreed. And do you agree with Penang Cow that you don't need to have a college degree to succeed in life? One doesn't need a degree to leech more money?

very cheem (deep) logic to understand. only those who major in mathematics will understand. machiam increase gst to help the poor logic. till today still don't understand.

Good.I always support higher ERP price double the current rate or tripple. Traffic congestion really wasting time. Just few dollar if can save 20~30min why not.

People should demand that for every new ERP gantry, there should be 5000 more additional COE quota every year. Tax usage, not ownership. Why should people care if a rich man likes to keep 10 ferraris in his bungalow? Other than bruised ego, the rich man's cars do no harm to normal sinkies.

From the Cartoon Press.
184547_583717924994532_1111417372_n.jpg

Good news for the 60.1%

More gantries on AYE by mid-2014

By Hetty Musfirah Abdul Khamid
POSTED: 16 May 2013 11:12 AM

stock-erp-03-close-up.jpg

ERP gantry in Singapore.The locations of new ERP gantries along Ayer Rajah Expressway.

SINGAPORE: To further ease traffic congestion, the Ayer Rajah Expressway will have four more ERP gantries come mid-2014.

Three new gantries towards the city between Jurong Town Hall Road and Clementi Road will be operational during the morning and evening peak hours on weekdays.

The first gantry will be located just before Clementi Avenue 6 exit, while the other two gantries will be located at the slip roads into AYE from Clementi Avenue 6 and Clementi Avenue 2.

The fourth gantry located just before the Clementi Road exit towards Tuas (between North Buona Vista and Clementi Road) will be operational only during the weekday evening peak hours.

The Land Transport Authority said over the past one and a half years, traffic speeds at both locations have dipped, going as low as 35 kilometres per hour.

This is below the optimal speed range of 45 to 65 kilometres per hour for expressways.

Traffic conditions along the corridor are also expected to worsen when traffic demand goes up with future developments such as the Jurong Gateway.

Construction of the ERP gantries will start in the later part of this year.

LTA said it will announce the operating hours and charges closer to the implementation of the gantries.

LTA said motorists who wish to avoid paying the ERP charges can make use of alternative routes including the West Coast Highway and Commonwealth Avenue-Tiong Bahru Road corridor.

Public transport alternatives in the west will also be ramped up for motorist who wants to make the switch.

From the third quarter of 2013, commuters in Jurong West will have a City Direct bus service during peak hours.

LTA is also looking at having a similar service from Clementi.

- CNA/fa

Re: Good news for the 60.1%

satellite tracking and billing doesn't work?

must go back to old school gantries?

satellite tracking and billing doesn't work?

must go back to old school gantries?

And good old fashion screwing and fucking of sinkies of even more billions

i thought the introduction of erp is to prevent jam in the cbd...so that money generating workers in the cbd is not late for work.how come evening..no body rushing to work also got erp