• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Name Of Busted Contractor , Please : Upgrading works at Rivervale Plaza

• Thread starter Thread starter Mdm Tang
  • Start date Start date
This is the problem in our gahmen tendering for projects like Punggol Plaza,
to get the project Company must tender the Lowest in order to get the project,
some of this project are money loosing big time, that's why contractors go bust!!!

Bid high they don't get! Bid low they died!

when bids success they contractors pocket and run.

Ah Tiong and Ah Neh got hit big time.

The biggest con job !!!

Technobuilt Construction & Engineering ? This type of SME always got cashflow problems.U know lah,when first got the 10% downpayment,drive big cars lah,wear rolex watches,go Tian An Men for entertainment....in the end no money to pay workers' salaries....the cycle repeat......

Now , not ready for Christmas and New Year and also Chinese New Year .

if go for By Election sure finished !!!

Contractor Busted must also explain !!!

You chek ark leh, Contractor gone kaput & lost $ must also explain ? ?..:*:

Update Rivervale Plaza : 23 Dec 2012

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1244211/1/.html

Rivervale Plaza upgrading to be completed in June 2013

23 December 2012 1712 hrs

SINGAPORE:

Upgrading work at Sengkang's Rivervale Plaza will be completed in June next year, said North East District mayor Teo Ser Luck.

Mr Teo, who was tasked to oversee the Punggol East ward following the resignation of MP Michael Palmer, visited the mall on Sunday.

Mr Palmer, who was also the Speaker of Parliament, resigned over an improper relationship with a staff member of the People's Association.

A new contractor has been appointed to take over the project. The upgrading project has been plagued by a series of delays and complaints.

Renovations at the Sengkang mall had started in mid-2011 and was expected to complete in September this year.

Works have stalled since August after the contractor, Technobuilt Construction & Engineering, went bust.

The newly-appointed contractor, Hak Kian Enterprise, will start work next month in January.

Mr Teo said: "Work starts immediately and the contractor will have to review the whole site and quickly get into the work itself. Of course we'd like them to complete earlier than expected, but we want to ensure residents' safety. Inconvenience to residents will all be lessened, and also safety to the workers (has to be considered) as well, just to make sure that even if (the workers) complete the project, it has to be of quality."

In October, the area's former MP, Mr Palmer had said it will take three months to award the project to a new contractor. Hak Kian, one of nine bidders, was awarded the project recently.

The delays have resulted in falling profits for tenants as customers started going to nearby shopping malls such as Compass Point and Rivervale Mall.

"Business is very poor. Sales dropped by about 70 per cent," lamented a tenant in Mandarin.

Tenants also complained about poor ventilation and leakages.

The management said they have received feedback from the tenants and they have put up bigger signage boards, as well as light fixtures. They also are trying to tackle water leakages and ventilation problems.

The Housing and Development Board (HDB) said the facelift will convert the mall into an air-conditioned one and also expand its floor space to add more shops, toilets and an escalator.

The Rivervale Plaza was completed in 1999, and HDB decided last year to upgrade the mall to better serve the residents.

Tenants have been given a 40 per cent rental rebate from January to June 2013 to help ease their operating costs.

Mr Teo also gave an update on how he has been juggling constituency work and looking after the needs of Punggol East residents.

The Meet The People session at Punggol East has been moved from Monday to Tuesday, so that Mr Teo can attend to his residents in Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC on Mondays.

"I think for Michael, he has to move on from here and I think he also needs the space," Mr Teo said. "I try not to disturb him and I think as a friend and as a close friend and as a good colleague, I should do my part to help him move on with his life."

Mr Teo added that he has spoken to Mr Palmer after his resignation about handover matters.

- CNA/xq

Quite a lot of small and medium sized contractors bid low for projects in the hope of securing them. Yet the reality is that they will lose money on the project. Some who try to cover costs would stinge on materials. Why is it potholes appear in some new roads? An example of this is the viaduct above Telok Blangah Road -- there are potholes galore. (http://sports.groups.yahoo.com/group/longhouse5am/message/19903) I remember that the previous contractor for that viaduct went bust too.

This seems to be the govt's mentality. Squeeze every ounce of money from everybody else. Only the govt and its agencies are entitled to make profits, and vast profits at that.

too many contractors going bust while doing govt works .

why give contracts to low bids to financially weak companies ??? :(

By the look at the name : "Technobuilt Construction & Engineering" - a sole proprietor company.

a sole proprietor can Bid a such big Project ? :(

And less than one-year old when given the project. Whatever happened to those guidelines in terms of track-record, paid up capital etc etc?
Anything smelly in HDB, after the recent incidents with other ministries/departments/boards?

And less than one-year old when given the project. Whatever happened to those guidelines in terms of track-record, paid up capital etc etc?
Anything smelly in HDB, after the recent incidents with other ministries/departments/boards?

You know, what about performance bonds?

Most small and medium sized contractors should simply exit the industry when it comes to bidding for huge projects. They should leave such projects to the large firms which have the financial muscle.

Why did the government award them the tender in the 1st place? Don't they qualify the contractors before giving them the contract? This is a failure of the government.

Ai peen Ai cheen Ai tua liap nee.

Why did the government award them the tender in the 1st place? Don't they qualify the contractors before giving them the contract? This is a failure of the government.

Ai peen Ai cheen Ai tua liap nee.

It is very clear that cost considerations are paramount. This is shortsighted and stingy.
To me I always work on the basis that you need to pay extra for quality, and, most importantly to allow the vendor to make a reasonable profit. (How many people think of that last element?) Unfortunately, the govt's mindset mirrors the mindset of many folks who live in pigeonholes, i.e., to attempt to get the best for the cheapest price. That formula simply DOES NOT work. It is a recipe for fiascoes. Simple as that!

Quite a lot of small and medium sized contractors bid low for projects in the hope of securing them. Yet the reality is that they will lose money on the project. Some who try to cover costs would stinge on materials. Why is it potholes appear in some new roads? An example of this is the viaduct above Telok Blangah Road -- there are potholes galore. (http://sports.groups.yahoo.com/group/longhouse5am/message/19903) I remember that the previous contractor for that viaduct went bust too.

This seems to be the govt's mentality. Squeeze every ounce of money from everybody else. Only the govt and its agencies are entitled to make profits, and vast profits at that.
Many of these cover back from the hiring commission from employing FTs.......this is what those in the industry tell me.

Most small and medium sized contractors should simply exit the industry when it comes to bidding for huge projects. They should leave such projects to the large firms which have the financial muscle.

Simple la........NTUC start a construction arm lor........Fairprice Construction.......problem solve!

too many contractors going bust while doing govt works .

why give contracts to low bids to financially weak companies ??? :(

It is no secret that 99% of the time, the govt automatically gives the contract to the lowest bidder.
No need to look at the contents of the proposal. Offer the lowest bid = you get the business.

Perhaps the folks working in the public sector are miserly bean counters. Perhaps they line their own pockets, and by gouging the contractors, they can line more.

It is very clear that cost considerations are paramount. This is shortsighted and stingy.

Short-sighted and stingy. Aren't those the hallmark traits of the PAP govt? It always has been penny wise, pound foolish.

It is no secret that 99% of the time, the govt automatically gives the contract to the lowest bidder.
No need to look at the contents of the proposal. Offer the lowest bid = you get the business.

Perhaps the folks working in the public sector are miserly bean counters. Perhaps they line their own pockets, and by gouging the contractors, they can line more.

You know building is part of military science too. How much energy, resources, money and technique to build a building to last is already a science. If you want to build a building that just stands for a short period of time, build it like the farmers in sichuan. It can go as low as you want. Hell, you can build an entire shopping mall for 10 million. It will not stand very long but it may last through 1 year defective period. This is how you cab bidd for 20 million and still fuck mei mei and go HFJ 5 times a week.

Many of these cover back from the hiring commission from employing FTs.......this is what those in the industry tell me.

Yup . Indeed . Little bird told me a certain Contractor / Contractors pocketed more

than S$6 Million in "blood and sweat " money just by securing a highway building project. :(

during those good times per head of Foreign Worker the Construction Boss pocket S$7k .

imagine 500 workers will nett Him how much blood money ??? :(