• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mystery surrounds the sale of 5 wet markets to Sheng Siong

kojakbt

This was reported in the newspaper:

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>22129.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>Sale of five wet markets hits a snag
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD>No approval yet as HDB has not received application for sale to Sheng Siong </TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- Author --></TD></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Jessica Lim
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
c1-1.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

The stallholders at this wet market in Serangoon Avenue 3, among the few privately owned wet markets in Singapore, have been given their eviction letters. The HDB has said, however, that it has yet to give the go-ahead to the developer for the sale of the markets. -- ST PHOTO: CAROLINE CHIA
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->
A QUESTION mark now hangs over the sale and impending closure of five heartland wet markets, a development which has riled residents and stallholders in those neighbourhoods.

The Housing Board (HDB) has stepped in to say that it has yet to receive an application from boutique property developer Heeton Holdings for clearance to sell the wet markets to supermarket chain Sheng Siong.

Without the HDB's go-ahead, the sale would be illegal.
Sheng Siong had told The Straits Times that it planned to build 'air-conditioned markets' on the sites, and affected stallholders said letters they received last month gave them until mid-December to move out.

The five wet markets - in Choa Chu Kang Street 62, Choa Chu Kang Avenue 1, Serangoon Avenue3, Bukit Batok West Avenue 8 and Fajar Road - are among the few privately owned wet markets here. Heeton bought them between 1994 and 1996 for use as wet markets in separate tenders called by the HDB.

The HDB's remarks yesterday were a reminder that, although Heeton is now landlord to the individual stallholders, the sale and change of use of such public-housing facilities are still subject to official approval.
An HDB spokesman, noting the news reports, said it wished to clarify that such a sale of HDB premises would first require the board's approval.

She added that if there was to be a change of use, other relevant authorities would also need to give the go-ahead.
Contacted, Sheng Siong said the sale would take another four months to close, as it had only exercised the option to buy the sites and placed a deposit.

Heeton said it was aware that it had to put in the relevant paperwork to the HDB and that it was doing so.

Its chief operating officer Danny Low, when asked why the company had sent out eviction letters to the stallholders before the sale had been approved, said it had agreed to hand over the markets to Sheng Siong in early January.
'The approvals from the relevant authorities will take a while. If we wait until we receive the approvals, then it will be short notice to the stallholders.'

Sheng Siong, when asked the same question, said it did not have anything to add to what Heeton had already said.
A new development may offer some relief to stallholders anxious about their livelihoods: Heeton, which also owns the 58-stall Tampines Mart wet market, said it will offer 20 for rent on a case-by-case basis and at a 20-per-cent discount to stallholders left jobless.

'This is to give them a new head start at the new premises as well as to soften their start-up costs,' said Mr Low.
Although the mid-December deadline for moving out has since been pushed back by between three and six months for the markets, stallholders still feel hard done by.

Fishmonger Sia Chen Theng, 39, a father of two who has been at the Serangoon Ave 3 wet market for two years, said: 'This is not the way things should be done. The market should be sold first. How can they just ask us to move out like that? There is no approval to change the use of the market.'

Stallholders said that when they asked Sheng Siong and Heeton repeatedly whether approval had been obtained to change the use of the premises, they were told 'the sale would definitely get through'.

So father of three Ong Teck Huat, 40, who has a vegetable stall in the Choa Chu Kang St 62 market, is keeping his fingers crossed: 'At least now, there is some hope that their application will not be approved.'

kojakbt

> Heeton said it was aware that it had to put in the relevant paperwork to the HDB and that it was doing so. Its chief operating officer Danny Low, when asked why the company had sent out eviction letters to the stallholders before the sale had been approved, said it had agreed to hand over the markets to Sheng Siong in early January. 'The approvals from the relevant authorities will take a while. If we wait until we receive the approvals, then it will be short notice to the stallholders.'

Stallholders said that when they asked Sheng Siong and Heeton repeatedly whether approval had been obtained to change the use of the premises, they were told 'the sale would definitely get through'.

Reading between the lines, one thing is for sure. It shows that Heeton is "so confident" of approval that they went ahead with the sending out of the eviction notices to stall holders!

One must then ask the question - why is Heeton so confident of the approval?

WHERE DID THEY GET THEIR CONFIDENCE FROM?

Is it because Heeton's management went to see a temple medium and the medium told them not to worry and it would sure to be okayed by HDB one? I think there is something more than meets the eye here....

kojakbt

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Heeton has 7 members on their Board of Directors. It is essentially owned by the Toh family.

BUT, 2 of the independent directors on the board are:

Dr Low Seow Chay
Non-executive,
Independent Director

Dr Low was appointed as an independent director of the Company on 27 December 2002. Dr Low has been a member of parliament from 1988 to 2006. He is currently lecturing and is an associate professor of the School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Nanyang Technological University. Dr Low is the Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit Committee.

Dr Koh Lip Lin
Non-executive,
Independent Director

Dr Koh was appointed as an independent director of the Company on 27 December 2002. Dr Koh is a tutor at the Department of Chemistry, National University of Singapore, where he conducts research and development and lectures. Dr Koh was a member of parliament from 1979 to 1996. Dr Koh is the Chairman of the Nomination Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee.

TeeKee

Those greedy men in whites again!

Back out after realized incur the wrath of the peasants voters

kojakbt

Dr Low Seow Chay was the MP for Chua Chu Kang for 4 elections: 1988, 1991, 1997, 2001. He stepped down in 2006 before the 06 election, making way for Gan Kim Yong.

http://www3.ntu.edu.sg/home/msclow/political.html

Previous Political Appointment :

* Chairman of Goverment Parliament Committee for the Environment

* Vice-Chairman of Goverment Parliament Committee for National Development & Housing

* Vice-Chairman, National Preparatory Committee for UN Summit on Sustainable Development

* Board Member of Housing and Development Board

* Member of Social Welfare Review Committee

* Member of Parliament Estimate Committee

* Vice-Chairman, Hong Kah Town Council

[COLOR=_______]I leave it to you to draw your own conclusion why Heeton sent out eviction notices to the poor stall holders even before they got any official approval from HDB![/COLOR]

ttan77

If I'm not wrong the actual landloard for the 5 wet markets are HDB, Heeton is the main tenant and decided to assign the wet markets to Sheng Siong; therefore need around 2-3 weeks from HDB to approve. Even if it is wet markets are already sold to Heeton few years back, a change of hand still require HDB approval.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Just a side note.

Contrary to the general believe, Sheng Shiong wet market produce are one of the most expensive around, though the general provision is still cheaper then others.

So, hopefully HDB don't say they are unable intervene, because it's free market. Otherwise, good luck to those affected resident.

cocobobo

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Heeton has 7 members on their Board of Directors. It is essentially owned by the Toh family.

BUT, 2 of the independent directors on the board are:

Dr Low Seow Chay
Non-executive,
Independent Director

Dr Low was appointed as an independent director of the Company on 27 December 2002. Dr Low has been a member of parliament from 1988 to 2006. He is currently lecturing and is an associate professor of the School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Nanyang Technological University. Dr Low is the Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit Committee.

Dr Koh Lip Lin
Non-executive,
Independent Director

Dr Koh was appointed as an independent director of the Company on 27 December 2002. Dr Koh is a tutor at the Department of Chemistry, National University of Singapore, where he conducts research and development and lectures. Dr Koh was a member of parliament from 1979 to 1996. Dr Koh is the Chairman of the Nomination Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee.

good work kojak

Nice-Gook

Just a side note.

Contrary to the general believe, Sheng Shiong wet market produce are one of the most expensive around, though the general provision is still cheaper then others.

Suspect Sheng Siong is a proxy for PAP funds.Similarly heard from reliable sources that Mustaffa is actually controlled by OCBC; another proxy for PAP funds...No retail outlet of any importance are allowed in peesai without the invicible hands of PAP.

Nice-Gook

FYI.Sheng Siong is alive and kicking because of foreign workers.Don't believe ;just go to any of its outlets in Jurong--than you know.Ah Tiongs in bicycles stream in and out every minute.Every Ah Tiong you see in Jurong in the evening carries a bagful with the the word 'sheng siong'Their staffs are entirely Malaysian Chinese.Sheng Siong is a symbol of FT infestation.

The very resaon why PAP funds and Sheng Siong sleeps togather.

blackmore

FYI.Sheng Siong is alive and kicking because of foreign workers.Don't believe ;just go to any of its outlets in Jurong--than you know.Ah Tiongs in bicycles stream in and out every minute.Every Ah Tiong you see in Jurong in the evening carries a bagful with the the word 'sheng siong'Their staffs are entirely Malaysian Chinese.Sheng Siong is a symbol of FT infestation.

The very resaon why PAP funds and Sheng Siong sleeps togather.

Sheng Siong now song song singing to the bank.

Sheng Siong fill with Malaysian CHinese is an understatement. Just look at Sheng Siong at Jalan Bahar; out of 10 staff, 6 are Ah Tiong. Also the Food Court basically manned by Ah Tiong with the exception of the Muslim and Indian stalls.

We are truly screwed by the Ah Tiong invasion.

Nice-Gook

Sheng Siong now song song singing to the bank.

Sheng Siong fill with Malaysian CHinese is an understatement. Just look at Sheng Siong at Jalan Bahar; out of 10 staff, 6 are Ah Tiong. Also the Food Court basically manned by Ah Tiong with the exception of the Muslim and Indian stalls.

We are truly screwed by the Ah Tiong invasion.

Ah,Yes ! I missed out the Ah Tiongs in Sheng Siong.Notwithstanding the whole operandi is ala carte Malaysian Chinese.Even in their Food Court in Jalan Bahar including the Malay/Muslim stalls.The cooks are Malay women but the boss is a Malaysian Chinese.Perhaps a staff of Sheng Siong too.

Sheng Shiong is getting into cooked food business.Jalan Bahar is an experimental beginning?

But I do agree with you.Every other backroom staffs are Ah Tiongs.

Nice-Gook

Just want to add this.I do think the real operators of Sheng Siong are PAP.It is now cornering the wet market business and the cooked food businesses thru Sheng Siong.

NTUC had wiped out every Ah Peh provision shops save some in matured HDB estates.Now it is hawkers turn.Sheng Siong is a convenient vehicle.Ah Tiongs are brought in enmass to learn to cook for local taste.Eventually it is PAP who would cook your food.You have no choice but to eat their cooked food.

Watchman

Just want to add this.I do think the real operators of Sheng Siong are PAP.It is now cornering the wet market business and the cooked food businesses thru Sheng Siong.

NTUC had wiped out every Ah Peh provision shops save some in matured HDB estates.Now it is hawkers turn.Sheng Siong is a convenient vehicle.Ah Tiongs are brought in enmass to learn to cook for local taste.Eventually it is PAP who would cook your food.You have no choice but to eat their cooked food.

Yeah man !

shelltox

In the first place , most of the children of the stall holders are no longer interested in the fathers' business . They had seen their parents worked 24/7 and most likely do not want to follow their parents foot step.

borom

I still shop at NTUC Fairprice (despite their ownership being you know who) as I can see that their staff are locals

I have stopped going to SS as I believe we should take care of our own-
those who side outsiders are traitors.

Nice-Gook

I still shop at NTUC Fairprice (despite their ownership being you know who) as I can see that their staff are locals

I have stopped going to SS as I believe we should take care of our own-
those who side outsiders are traitors.

Bet you don't know how NTUC operates right?Just loitter around their store rooms.You won't find a single local.It is Ah Tiong's tuft.The visible cashiers are all locals no doubt.Paid about S$800/ for standing to serve endless que of customers for 8 to 12 hours.How do I know?I bothered to chat with them.

The only difference is Ah Tiongs are visible in Sheng Siong but NTUC cares to hide them.That is all....and to think NTUC is an organisation of workers for workers...Harrr Ptui !

Nice-Gook

In the first place , most of the children of the stall holders are no longer interested in the fathers' business . They had seen their parents worked 24/7 and most likely do not want to follow their parents foot step.

Who say so?I personally patronize a provision shop operated by a father and 2 sons.Who takes turn to sit on the till from 6 in the morning to 12 midnight.If you care to observe almost all convenience shops around the MRT stations or bus stops are operated by shopkeepers in their forties.....Operating as a shopkeeper is really tough but it is not out of choice that those in the 30s and 40s opt to be taxi drivers or shop keepers...It is a thankless job performed for the sake of their family....Even here Ah Tiongs are giving the locals a run for their money.