• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mysterious Old AngMoh with Very Young Singaporean Wife Was Infected with China Virus in Mandarin Hotel

JurongEast

'Frustrating' to have possibly caught Covid-19 while on SHN at Mandarin Orchard, says Briton

INGAPORE - They had taken extra precautions before a much-anticipated trip to Singapore to visit relatives over the year-end festive season, including self-isolating at home in Britain for more than two weeks before arriving in Singapore on Oct 26.

But the 64-year-old Briton and his Singaporean wife ended up being among the 13 cases that were suspected to have been infected with Covid-19 while under stay-home notices (SHNs) at the Mandarin Orchard Singapore hotel.

"We didn't even go to the supermarket as we wanted to ensure that we were clean before arriving in Singapore...that made it even more frustrating for us (when we found out about the suspected transmission)," the Briton, who declined to be named, told The Straits Times on Sunday (Dec 20).

"We had put in so much effort to avoid people, as cases in the United Kingdom were much worse."

Responding to this news, the Briton, a retiree who worked in banking, told The Straits Times that he hoped to have a "full and frank discussion" with the authorities about what had happened, once investigations into the cases have been concluded.

His wife, 34, had tested positive for Covid-19 on Nov 6, as part of a mandatory test that all travellers had to take towards the end of their SHN period.

"It was very scary to learn that I had Covid-19, given my age and my history of asthma. I always believed that if I caught Covid, I probably wouldn't survive it because of (my risk factors). But it was a huge relief that I managed to come through, and I was lucky to have received great care at the NCID," said the man.

"The biggest frustration was that I lost the first 34 days of my holiday...we had been looking forward to getting a little bit of release after what had been a terrible year for everybody."

Big deal. This legend shagged a girl a third of his age.

191230_Patrick-Coco_Stomp.jpg

"The biggest frustration was that I lost the first 34 days of my holiday...we had been looking forward to getting a little bit of release after what had been a terrible year for everybody."
Not wise to travel now. you need quarentine and tests. why all the hassle? just stay at home and country to relax and take it easy.

The hotel's central aircon system is to be blamed for the cluster.
yes

prior to covid, mandarin hotel tio novavirus
spread via its air con system

Mandarin Orchard food poisoning: 'Strong evidence of severe contamination', say authorities

www.channelnewsasia.com

SINGAPORE: Authorities on Friday (Dec 14) said there was strong evidence of severe contamination of the Grand Ballroom at the Mandarin Orchard Hotel, where a food poisoning outbreak occurred earlier this month.

A total of 315 people fell ill after attending five separate events at the Grand Ballroom held between Dec 1 and 3.

AdvertisementAdvertisement

After completing their investigations into outbreak at Mandarin Orchard Hotel, as well as those involving FoodTalks Caterer and Manufacturer and Tung Lok Millennium, the Ministry of Health, the National Environment Agency and the Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority of Singapore issued a joint statement on Friday saying that the outbreaks were not related.

On the incident at the Mandarin Orchard, the statement said that investigations suggest that this was an outbreak of norovirus gastroenteritis.

READ: NEA, AVA to prioritise checks on food caterers during festive season

It added: "There is strong evidence of severe contamination of the Grand Ballroom with norovirus from poor environmental and personal hygiene practices.

AdvertisementAdvertisement

"Norovirus was detected from the stool samples collected from five cases, three food handlers and 28 service staff, including banquet servers who reported to have continued working while they were ill."

NOROVIRUS ON UNUSED TABLE CLOTHS, CUTLERY, DRINKING GLASSES

The events that were affected by the Mandarin Orchard outbreak included at least one with food from a different source.

Food for a Dec 2 dinner to celebrate the Jewish festival Hanukkah had been prepared by a separate caterer, due to the guests' special dietary requirements.

Advertisement

In Friday's statement, authorities said that norovirus was found on multiple surfaces, including carpet, tables, chairs, unused table cloths, cutlery and drinking glasses.

READ: Food poisoning: Can you really avoid it?

Faecal coliforms were also detected in food samples, as well as Bacillus cereus from environmental swabs taken from other surfaces such as utensils and door handles.

Interviews that were conducted with the staff at Mandarin Orchard also revealed "improper cleaning of vomitus in the Grand Ballroom, and banquet servers had continued to work while ill", the statement said.

READ: Children, teachers fall ill after food poisoning incident at camp; caterer under investigationREAD: NEA suspends TungLok Catering at Singapore Expo after 190 people fall ill, including SCDF officers

Joint inspections were conducted by the authorities on Dec 4, 5, 6 and 10.

The banquet kitchen serving the Grand Ballroom was suspended on Dec 5 and the hotel was instructed to close and conduct thorough cleaning and disinfection of the area.

"The suspension of the banquet kitchen and closure of the Grand Ballroom will continue to be in place until NEA is satisfied that the public health risks including the satisfactory disinfection of the premises, have been addressed," the statement said.

READ: Spize food poisoning: 6 types of pathogens found

Among those who fell ill, 14 were hospitalised. All but one have since been discharged, and the remaining patient is in stable condition, said the statement.

In response to Channel NewsAsia's queries, Mandarin Orchard said it is doing all it can to ensure it thoroughly addresses any issues that led to the outbreak of gastroenteritis.

"Our team continues to step up efforts to ensure that all relevant personnel are trained in and observe proper personal hygiene and food handling practices, in addition to enforcing stringent standards of cleanliness and sanitation across all our food and beverage premises," said the hotel.

Countries ban UK flights as Britain says new coronavirus strain ‘out of control’

A highly infectious strain of COVID-19 tearing through the UK has forced Europe to block flights and close the Eurotunnel, isolating Britain.

I feel the focus on this thread is on how young the wife is to a man who is double her age rather than the virus story itself.

Boomers, pls take it easy, another man around your age can have a young wife, it is their life, you dun have to feel envy over it.

Concentrate on yourself and pursue excellence, not woman. Once you have the excellence, younger women will come.

KNN my uncle thinking what is so strange to get covid19 while having shn at any common place dedicated for shn KNN if there is an expectation of no virus with all the shn participants leeporting to the same location then why they need to be put on shn in the first place ??? KNN

Fucking stoopid briton dare to call himself a leetired banker :rolleyes: KNN

when one is retired, one is a nobody
the professional occupation before retirement doesn't mean a fucking thing
all retired and waiting for the day to kick the bucket and pass on
KNN no wonder many people leefused to leetire KNN

More importantly...who is paying for their SHN @ 5 star 14 day Mandarin Hotel staycation ?

I feel the focus on this thread is on how young the wife is to a man who is double her age rather than the virus story itself.

Boomers, pls take it easy, another man around your age can have a young wife, it is their life, you dun have to feel envy over it.

Concentrate on yourself and pursue excellence, not woman. Once you have the excellence, younger women will come.

my was is 10 years younger then me. i was 31 and she 21 we got married :)
now i am this year 47 and my wife is 37 year old :)

when one is retired, one is a nobody
the professional occupation before retirement doesn't mean a fucking thing
all retired and waiting for the day to kick the bucket and pass on

What about still working and waiting for the day to kick the bucket and pass on?

I would say that's almost everybody right?