Warning by FTrash leh! *shivers* *balls dropped*?
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_275631.html
</TD></TR><TR><TD>
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : start --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Please give PRs a break
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I HAVE lived in Singapore for four years, working in a restructured hospital. I got my permanent residence (PR) only after living here for eight months. I am bonded to the hospital for six years because it sponsored my education to be a radiographer in Australia, and for this I am grateful to my employer. I got married in Australia at the end of my studies, and my husband and I moved to Singapore. Soon we started a family. My daughter is now nearly three. All three of us are PRs. My husband and daughter are Australian, and I am Malaysian.
Nearly half my colleagues are also PRs or work permit holders, or 'foreigners' for short. I guess my colleagues and I are 'foreign workers' because we don't live in a condo and earn a five-digit salary. Those who do are called 'expatriates'.
The purpose of this letter is to remind Singaporeans that middle-class 'foreign workers' exist in this country. We are your nurses, bank executives, IT professionals and so on. We pay taxes, contribute to CPF and send our children to childcare. And when our male children turn 18, they are liable for national service.
=> Liable only hor! Have not actually served hor! And start to ask for the sky and ptui at citizens already leh! Thank you, 66% coolie rice bowlers for supporting the Familee regardless!
So why are we always left out? We are not allowed to buy HDB flats because Singaporeans think we can afford condos. Now some even say we shouldn't be allowed to buy resale flats because property prices are so high. So the rest of us have to rent HDB flats. Then you cut medical subsidies at polyclinics because citizens think it is not fair that we get the same benefit as them. And from next year, there will be no childcare subsidies for PRs because citizens think we shouldn't enjoy such benefits.
So why did I became a PR? I am thinking of staying in Singapore permanently. We feel more comfortable in an Asian country and Singapore has a lot to offer. But being from another country will always be a stigma. Most of us choose not to become citizens because we still have family in our home country and we still want to visit them regularly.
We came to Singapore seeking a better life. We have a home here but we need to be reminded of our roots.
So why are we penalised? Now that the childcare subsidy has been doubled, can't PRs get at least half the amount? We should be entitled to at least half the benefits a citizen gets. In Britain and Australia, PRs enjoy the same benefits as citizens, except the right to vote. If the Government does not want to hand out freebies to so many PRs, tighten the requirements to become a PR.
Chan Mei Kuen (Ms)
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_275631.html
</TD></TR><TR><TD>
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : start --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Please give PRs a break
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I HAVE lived in Singapore for four years, working in a restructured hospital. I got my permanent residence (PR) only after living here for eight months. I am bonded to the hospital for six years because it sponsored my education to be a radiographer in Australia, and for this I am grateful to my employer. I got married in Australia at the end of my studies, and my husband and I moved to Singapore. Soon we started a family. My daughter is now nearly three. All three of us are PRs. My husband and daughter are Australian, and I am Malaysian.
Nearly half my colleagues are also PRs or work permit holders, or 'foreigners' for short. I guess my colleagues and I are 'foreign workers' because we don't live in a condo and earn a five-digit salary. Those who do are called 'expatriates'.
The purpose of this letter is to remind Singaporeans that middle-class 'foreign workers' exist in this country. We are your nurses, bank executives, IT professionals and so on. We pay taxes, contribute to CPF and send our children to childcare. And when our male children turn 18, they are liable for national service.
=> Liable only hor! Have not actually served hor! And start to ask for the sky and ptui at citizens already leh! Thank you, 66% coolie rice bowlers for supporting the Familee regardless!
So why are we always left out? We are not allowed to buy HDB flats because Singaporeans think we can afford condos. Now some even say we shouldn't be allowed to buy resale flats because property prices are so high. So the rest of us have to rent HDB flats. Then you cut medical subsidies at polyclinics because citizens think it is not fair that we get the same benefit as them. And from next year, there will be no childcare subsidies for PRs because citizens think we shouldn't enjoy such benefits.
So why did I became a PR? I am thinking of staying in Singapore permanently. We feel more comfortable in an Asian country and Singapore has a lot to offer. But being from another country will always be a stigma. Most of us choose not to become citizens because we still have family in our home country and we still want to visit them regularly.
We came to Singapore seeking a better life. We have a home here but we need to be reminded of our roots.
So why are we penalised? Now that the childcare subsidy has been doubled, can't PRs get at least half the amount? We should be entitled to at least half the benefits a citizen gets. In Britain and Australia, PRs enjoy the same benefits as citizens, except the right to vote. If the Government does not want to hand out freebies to so many PRs, tighten the requirements to become a PR.
Chan Mei Kuen (Ms)
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>