• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM LEE : Shock Absorbers ??

congo9

Is there any shockaborbers ? Or they prepare to raise the GST further to cushion for the 3 billion ? Is he talking abt the $3 billion ?

==========================================================
SINGAPORE: Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has provided some assurance as the country faces a bumpier road ahead with slower growth and soaring inflation.

Speaking to his constituents at the Tanjong Pagar National Day celebration dinner, Mr Lee said Singapore has some shock absorbers to buffer the setbacks. For the needy, the government has put aside over S$3 billion this year in various support schemes.

He added that Singapore could grow 5 to 6 per cent or even 7 to 8 per cent if there is no long-term recession in the United States or EU, but should the giants go into a recession, then growth may be at 3 to 5 per cent.

Mr Lee said Singapore has massive investments with long-term implementation periods. When the integrated resorts are completed, there will be demand for workers, softening the impact of retrenchments.

"We have an economy which is diversified. We have a workforce that we have upgraded year by year, better educated, better able to earn more because we are connected with the world and our incomes can rise because of our higher skills and higher technology," said Mr Lee.

He said work-permit foreign workers will take the brunt of any lay-offs, saving many Singaporeans their jobs. And due to the fact that the country has been increasing its investments with China and India, the impact of the slowdown in the US and EU will be buffered.

Mr Lee also noted that the government is taking care of the lower income. "We have succeeded so far in housing, in health, in education, in job facilities.

"We will do our best to re-train people who are being retrenched to upgrade their skills. But we must face facts, this gap is going to remain for five, ten or more years."

In the region, the minister mentor pointed to the political flux in Malaysia and Thailand, and said that money politics is at the heart of problems in many Asian countries. The good thing for Singapore, he said, is that there is no money politics.

He also highlighted Singapore's political stability, saying the frequent chop and change in governments and policies have caused instability in countries like Thailand and Taiwan.

madmansg

<<
In the region, the minister mentor pointed to the political flux in Malaysia and Thailand, and governments and policies have caused instability in countries like Thailand and Taiwan.
>>

It is always us NS slaves who suffer the brunt of the fallout from his war inducing big mouth . Looks like more recalls and standbys coming. I feel like a shock absorber abused by the SAF NS system by our party leaders.

kitkat

"We have a workforce that we have upgraded year by year, better educated, better able to earn more because we are connected with the world and our incomes can rise because of our higher skills and higher technology," said Mr Lee.

The more you upgrade, the more Sinkies lose job :confused:

annexa

You see ah, when they up GST 2% is for your good. Because now they can down it by 1.5% as shock absorber. Same as importing foreign trash mah.

It is like adding Hum to Mee Siam, so when you ganna shock, they can remove 1% of the hum for you to absorb the shock mah.

Temujin

You mean you are not happy serving NS. What is a few recalls for the nations, you wanna bne ready or gbet slaughtered when it really happen. Just some recall and you kpkb

<<
In the region, the minister mentor pointed to the political flux in Malaysia and Thailand, and governments and policies have caused instability in countries like Thailand and Taiwan.
>>

It is always us NS slaves who suffer the brunt of the fallout from his war inducing big mouth . Looks like more recalls and standbys coming. I feel like a shock absorber abused by the SAF NS system by our party leaders.

Temujin

<<
>>

It's time he introduced something extra absorbent for the Golden Period

What the heck are you talking about ... be more specific, got no idea what you talking about

Ah Guan

What the heck are you talking about ... be more specific, got no idea what you talking about

Ok since you don't get it I'll show it to you ....

485456.JPG

matrix

KNN talking cock
wat do they know abt low income s/poreans suffering
nabei pay themselves $million salary n talking abt more good yrs
KNN we shd vote them out next election n free our CPF monies