• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MIW has yet to reflect on GE2011 results

No see coffin no shed tears....

Next GE they still can afford to 'let' you handicap of 5-8% of total votes.....and with the GRC system in place....at most sacrifice a few more seats to oppositition.....still far from losing 1/3 seats....dun worry be happy.

khaw struggling with housing, so i have no complains about him. at least he is trying and not one year yet so i still give him chance. transport is fucked. manpower is fucked.

You are just as forgiving as the 60.1%

lol you make me laugh!
Its no laughing matter....the country is already doomed when we sinkies think like that.....no complains and always give chance.

If Khaw is struggling then he is not up to the job or deserving of his million dollars salary.
1 year honeymoon period like how we are according 5 years OJT to TPL?
He screwed up Health and pat backside and landed here....his predecessor MBT messed up but now still shake legs drawing MP allowance monthly.
You say the rest are fucked, but yet the people supposedly in charge are still sitting pretty getting paid with bonuses....paycut not withstanding.
Its time the 60.1% wake up or at least open their eyes!

I like to hear you views

bro,
these folks are known to be reactive to ground sentiments :):):)
good to note that Aljunied GRC folks received photocopies of an apology back in GE06 on the eve of polling day. all that after the JG fiasco :p:p:p

Do you agree?

Yes I agree, by ISSUING LETTER OF DEFAMATION, PAP is not admitting to being a servant to the people. They are taking many steps behind for every sueing letter issued.

Trying? When taxpayers pay him tons of money, we expect results! If he were an ordinary Sinkie on his new job, he would have been told to leave after the end of his 3 months probation! For Cow, how many months already?

Do you agree?

wat u toking abt????? newly wed couples sooooo happy wif khaw the dog and his upcoming HDB projects!!!!! then nw my neighbour upstairs so happy to knw tat mcys is finally giving more help for the elderlyyy!!!

Do you agree?

wat u toking abt????? newly wed couples sooooo happy wif khaw the dog and his upcoming HDB projects!!!!! then nw my neighbour upstairs so happy to knw tat mcys is finally giving more help for the elderlyyy!!!

They reflected and came to a conclusion that too many negative articles circulating in the net unchecked was one of the key reasons that led to their loss of votes. They lost a GRC. It's time to turn on the machinery. It worked in the past and it will still work now.

you have a point...

Do you agree?

I have to disagree.

Here's a few points
1)Most obvious one, immediately get the salary review going and reduce a large chunk of it. To anti-PAP it's still insanely high, to the pple on the fence, they are doing something about it

2)Budget 2012. During the election, the opposition kept bombarding them about the poor, the old, those that got left behind and of coz FT. The latest budget basically address all those points

3)Losing the online battle, PAP finally realize they cannot ignore the internet community anymore. Post GE2012, every MP and constituency now have their own Facebook page. There seem to be a greater presences of PAP supporters and more importantly, they start hitting the major players in realy life. Alex Au, this forum and TRE all got lawyer letters. The focus was not to sue any of them, but to ensure they tone down. PAP supporters loss the online war previously coz they got flamed to death. The flames have since receded slightly.

4)Seemingly more reaction to public opinions. This is related to point 3. When complain comes in about problems, ministers now blog how they are dealing with it. It doesn't mean it solve the problems but it certainly help shield against some complains. Khaw in particular have been largely successful with this tactic.

It's obvious they have been reacting quite a bit to whatever happened last GE. Anti-PAP do not notice this coz most of you guys just ditch anything they try to do. However U are missing the most important point, PAP isn't trying to win your vote. The are trying to win back the loss middle ground.

I have to disagree.

Here's a few points
1)Most obvious one, immediately get the salary review going and reduce a large chunk of it. To anti-PAP it's still insanely high, to the pple on the fence, they are doing something about it

2)Budget 2012. During the election, the opposition kept bombarding them about the poor, the old, those that got left behind and of coz FT. The latest budget basically address all those points

3)Losing the online battle, PAP finally realize they cannot ignore the internet community anymore. Post GE2012, every MP and constituency now have their own Facebook page. There seem to be a greater presences of PAP supporters and more importantly, they start hitting the major players in realy life. Alex Au, this forum and TRE all got lawyer letters. The focus was not to sue any of them, but to ensure they tone down. PAP supporters loss the online war previously coz they got flamed to death. The flames have since receded slightly.

4)Seemingly more reaction to public opinions. This is related to point 3. When complain comes in about problems, ministers now blog how they are dealing with it. It doesn't mean it solve the problems but it certainly help shield against some complains. Khaw in particular have been largely successful with this tactic.

It's obvious they have been reacting quite a bit to whatever happened last GE. Anti-PAP do not notice this coz most of you guys just ditch anything they try to do. However U are missing the most important point, PAP isn't trying to win your vote. The are trying to win back the loss middle ground.

You're right, but only to a certain extent. What the PAP had done post GE2011 are only limited responses to the issues that surfaced at GE time, and any changes are at best minor tweaks and cosmetic. The PAP has yet to show us that they have changed its mindset and they basically approach these issues in similar fashion. For example, its solution to any problem such as the influx of foreign workers is to raise levies and charges. They do not get to the root of the problem and the people continues to suffer.

As I posted at other threads in this forum, there will not be any real change as long as the Old Fart is still alive. He's far too powerful for anyone, including his son, who dare to move away from the position he has taken. The recent spate of lawsuits that TRE was threatened with is proof of that. Likely LHL wanted to show restraint in the light of the recent GE results, but the Old Man would have none of that and forced LHL's hands to throw the lawsuits at TRE. Only after he dies, will changes come about, and even then, it will only be very slowly. So till this happens, S'poreans will only be kidding themselves if they think the PAP has truly reflected on the last GE results and had changed its ways.

You're right, but only to a certain extent. What the PAP had done post GE2011 are only limited responses to the issues that surfaced at GE time, and any changes are at best minor tweaks and cosmetic. The PAP has yet to show us that they have changed its mindset and they basically approach these issues in similar fashion. For example, its solution to any problem such as the influx of foreign workers is to raise levies and charges. They do not get to the root of the problem and the people continues to suffer.

As I posted at other threads in this forum, there will not be any real change as long as the Old Fart is still alive. He's far too powerful for anyone, including his son, who dare to move away from the position he has taken. The recent spate of lawsuits that TRE was threatened with is proof of that. Likely LHL wanted to show restraint in the light of the recent GE results, but the Old Man would have none of that and forced LHL's hands to throw the lawsuits at TRE. Only after he dies, will changes come about, and even then, it will only be very slowly. So till this happens, S'poreans will only be kidding themselves if they think the PAP has truly reflected on the last GE results and had changed its ways.

With the example of the FTs, the biggest incentive for the FTs(as per popular belief) is that FTs are cheaper then Singaporeans. By increasing the levies to FTs, it effective brings up the FT wages hence reduce the incentive for hiring them coz they are cheap. And 2ndly they've already reduced the % quota for FTs, something they have been reluctant to do until recently

The issue here is that there is nothing fundamentally wrong with how SG is run as is evident by the healthy and fairly resilient economy as well as relatively high standard of living and low unemployment. It's the details and the executions are flaw and needs changing. To radically change something that isn't exactly broken isn't a good idea. And don't forget they still have a lot of voters they need to retain

And like I said, PAP isn't changing to win votes from the opposition hardcore coz no matter how they change, they are still going to vote for the other guy. The most important thing on their mind is to get the middle ground which they loss. Many of whom still agrees with how the country is run however are unhappy with a number of issues that have came up over the last 6 years. The swing votes were more a case of pple being unhappy with PAP then them being happy with what the opposition are doing. This is the group that PAP is working on